Nomination and Selection Processes

On this page:

Nominations should be for initiatives and achievements undertaken in the past two calendar years (this requirement is waived for recognition of outstanding careers). In addition to new nominations, nominators are permitted to resubmit unsuccessful nominations for initiatives and achievements undertaken in the past two calendar years.

For the Resilient Communities, Youth, and Outstanding Contribution to Emergency Management categories, the Federal/Provincial/Territorial jurisdictions will each conduct their own review of recipients submitted in their categories.

Each Federal/Provincial/Territorial jurisdiction, including Search and Rescue category awards, will make recommendations on award recipients to the Senior Officials Responsible for Emergency Management, which includes representatives from provincial and territorial Emergency Management Organizations and Public Safety Canada. This body will ultimately choose the Emergency Management Exemplary Service Award recipients.

Federal Nominations

Public Safety Canada is no longer accepting federal nominations at this time. For more information about the awards please contact

Search and Rescue Nominations

For Search and Rescue category awards (federal level, and all provinces/territories), nominations will flow through the National Search and Rescue Secretariat, who will engage the search and rescue community to select nominations for each jurisdiction.

Public Safety Canada is no longer accepting nominations for Search and Rescue category awards.

Provincial/Territorial Nominations

Provincial and territorial governments are leading the nomination process in their respective jurisdictions in the following categories:

Provinces and territories are no longer accepting nominations at this time.

If you would like to know more about the nomination process in your province or territory, visit the Provincial/Territorial Contacts page.

Date modified: