Disaster Financial Assistance Arrangements (DFAA)

In the event of a large-scale natural disaster, the Government of Canada provides financial assistance to provincial and territorial governments through the Disaster Financial Assistance Arrangements (DFAA), administered by Public Safety Canada (PS).

New Guidelines for the DFAA came into effect on January 1, 2008. They will apply to natural disasters which occur on or after that date. The previous Guidelines still apply for events which occurred on or prior to December 31, 2007, and for which PS is currently working with provinces and territories on finalizing payments.

Overview

In the event of a large-scale natural disaster, the Government of Canada provides financial assistance to provincial and territorial governments through the DFAA, administered by PS. When response and recovery costs exceed what individual provinces or territories could reasonably be expected to bear on their own, the DFAA provide the Government of Canada with a fair and equitable means of assisting provincial and territorial governments.

Through the DFAA, assistance is paid to the province or territory – not directly to affected individuals, small businesses or communities. A request for reimbursement under the DFAA is processed immediately following receipt of the required documentation of provincial/territorial expenditures and a review by federal auditors.

Since the inception of the program in 1970, the Government of Canada has contributed more than $6 billion in post-disaster assistance to help provinces and territories with the costs of response and of returning infrastructure and personal property to pre-disaster condition.

DFAA Program Review

Disasters are growing in frequency and severity in Canada. Public Safety Canada is reviewing its program for post-disaster financial assistance to ensure there is an updated, comprehensive system available to provinces and territories for disaster recovery and to support the safety and well-being of Canadians.

The Honourable Bill Blair, President of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada and Minister of Emergency Preparedness, has appointed an advisory panel to review and make recommendations to update the DFAA.

Mandate

On behalf of the President of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada and Minister of Emergency Preparedness, the advisory panel on the DFAA will review Canada’s approach to post-disaster recovery and financing.

Membership

The advisory panel represents a diverse interdisciplinary group that:

Meet the advisory panel for the Disaster Financial Assistance Arrangements program review.

Timeframe

The advisory panel will meet virtually until September 2022 and submit its findings to the Minister in fall 2022. Its findings will inform the program’s policy review.

Roles and Responsibilities

The provincial or territorial governments design, develop and deliver disaster financial assistance, deciding the amounts and types of assistance that will be provided to those that have experienced losses. The DFAA place no restrictions on provincial or territorial governments in this regard - they are free to put in place the disaster financial assistance appropriate to the particular disaster and the circumstances, and the DFAA set out what costs will be eligible for cost-sharing with the federal government.

PS works closely with the province or territory to review provincial/territorial requests for reimbursement of eligible response and recovery costs.

Flow chart of the process of Disaster Financial Assistance Arrangements (DFAA)
Image Description

DFAA Process

In the event of a large-scale natural disaster, the Government of Canada provides financial assistance to provincial and territorial governments through the Disaster Financial Assistance Arrangements (DFAA).

When response and recovery costs exceed what individual provinces or territories could reasonably be expected to bear on their own, a province or territory may request Government of Canada disaster financial assistance. A request for reimbursement under the DFAA is processed immediately following receipt of the required documentation of provincial or territorial expenditures and a review by federal auditors.

The application process requires provincial or territorial action as well as federal action. Steps of the application process are outlined as follows:

Step 1 – Provincial or Territorial Action:

Following a natural disaster, the province or territory submits a request for assistance under the DFAA program through an Order-in-Council. As part of this request, the province or territory provides disaster information and financial estimates for approval and audit purposes.

Step 2 – Federal Action

The Order-in-Council is approved and financial cost-shared assistance under the DFAA is authorized.

Step 3 – Provincial or Territorial Action:

The province or territory may request advance interim payments by providing actual and estimated costs. This step is optional. Estimates and payment request timelines are revised every six months for the life of the Order-in-Council through a semi-annual exercise.

Step 4 – Federal Action:

The Government of Canada issues payment after completing a risk assessment of submitted costs. The Government of Canada assists the province or territory with early financial requirements.

Step 5 – Provincial or Territorial Action

The province or territory submits final audited costs. This is limited to a five year time period following the approval of the Order-in-Council.

Step 6 – Federal Action:

Final payment issued after completing a federal compliance audit. The file is then closed.

Cost-Sharing

A province or territory may request Government of Canada disaster financial assistance when eligible expenditures exceed an established initial threshold (based on provincial or territorial population). For more information, please consult Appendix A.

Eligible expenses include, but are not limited to, evacuation operations, restoring public works and infrastructure to their pre-disaster condition, as well as replacing or repairing basic, essential personal property of individuals, small businesses and farmsteads. For further information on eligible expenses, please consult Appendix B.

The Government of Canada may provide advance and interim payments to provincial and territorial governments as funds are expended under the provincial/territorial disaster assistance program. All provincial or territorial requests for DFAA cost-sharing are subject to federal audit to ensure that cost-sharing is provided according to the DFAA Guidelines.

Appendix A

Cost-Sharing Formula effective January 1, 2022

Effective January 1, 2022, the initial threshold for all new events is defined as $3.38 per capita of the provincial population (as estimated by Statistics Canada to exist on July 1st in the calendar year of the disaster). Once the threshold is exceeded, the federal share of eligible expenses is determined by the formula in Table 9.

Table 9 - Cost-sharing formula for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022
Eligible provincial expenses
(per capita of population)
Government of Canada share
(percentage)
First $3.38 0
Next $6.78 50
Next $6.78 75
Remainder 90

The formulas will be indexed to inflation annually based on the consumer price index published by Statistics Canada. For consistency purposes, national-level data will be used to calculate inflation.

The revised formula, adjusted for inflation, will take effect on January 1 of every subsequent year, starting in 2016. The DFAA Guidelines will be updated annually during the month of February to reflect the revised formula.

Please refer to Interpretation Bulletin 5 for more information regarding the changes to the cost-sharing formula.

Provincial and Territorial Thresholds effective January 1, 2022
Province/Territory Q4 2021* Threshold for DFAA
Newfoundland and Labrador 521,758 $1,763,542
Prince Edward Island 165,936 $560,864
Nova Scotia 998,832 $3,376,052
New Brunswick 794,300 $2,684,734
Quebec 8,631,147 $29,173,277
Ontario 14,915,270 $50,413,613
Manitoba 1,386,333 $4,685,806
Saskatchewan 1,180,867 $3,991,330
Alberta 4,464,170 $15,088,895
British Columbia 5,249,635 $17,743,766
Yukon 43,095 $145,661
Northwest Territories 45,515 $153,841
Nunavut 39,589 $133,811

*Population estimates will be revised quarterly as new data is made available by Statistics Canada.

Example: For a disaster in a province with a population of 1 million where the total eligible expenses for responding to and recovering from a disaster are $20 million, the table below shows how eligible expenditures would be cost-shared through the DFAA.

Example for a disaster in a province with a population of 1 million
Eligible Expenses Provincial or Territorial Government Government of Canada
First $3.38 per capita (100% provincial/territorial) $3,380,000 Nil
Next $6.78 per capita (50%) $3,390,000 $3,390,000
Next $6.78 per capita (75%) $1,695,000 $5,085,000
Remainder (90%) $306,000 $2,754,000
Total $8,771,000 $11,229,000

Appendix B

Examples of provincial/territorial expenses that may be eligible for cost-sharing under the DFAA:

Examples of expenses that would NOT be eligible for cost-sharing:

Date modified:

Accords d'aide financière en cas de catastrophe (AAFCC)

Dans l'éventualité d'une catastrophe naturelle de grande envergure, le gouvernement du Canada peut verser une aide financière aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux en vertu des Accords d'aide financière en cas de catastrophe (AAFCC), qui sont gérés par Sécurité publique Canada (SP).

Les nouvelles Lignes directrices sur les AAFCC sont en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2008. Elles s'appliqueront dans le cas des catastrophes naturelles qui surviendront à cette date ou après celle-ci. Les lignes directrices précédentes s'appliqueront encore dans le cas des catastrophes qui seront survenues le 31 décembre 2007 ou avant cette date. Par ailleurs, SP collabore actuellement avec les provinces et les territoires afin d'effectuer les derniers versements.

Aperçu

En cas de catastrophe naturelle importante, le gouvernement du Canada fournit une aide financière aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux dans le cadre des AAFCC qui sont gérés par SP. Quand les frais d'intervention et de rétablissement en cas de catastrophe excèdent ce dont peuvent raisonnablement s'acquitter les gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux, les AAFCC offrent au gouvernement du Canada un moyen juste et équitable de les aider.

L'aide financière apportée en vertu des AAFCC est versée à la province ou au territoire, et non pas directement aux particuliers, aux petites entreprises ou aux collectivités victimes de la catastrophe. Une demande de remboursement faite au titre des AAFCC est traitée immédiatement après la réception des documents requis sur les dépenses de la province ou du territoire et l'examen par les vérificateurs du gouvernement fédéral.

Depuis l'entrée en vigueur du programme en 1970, le gouvernement du Canada a contribué plus de 6 milliards de dollars en aide financière post-catastrophe, pour contrebalancer les dépenses engagées par les provinces et les territoires à la suite d'une catastrophe, au chapitre des mesures d'intervention nécessaires et de la remise des infrastructures et des biens personnels à leur état initial.

Examen du programme des AAFC

Les catastrophes sont de plus en plus fréquentes et de plus en plus graves au Canada. Sécurité publique Canada cherche à revoir le programme d’aide financière en cas de catastrophe pour s’assurer que les provinces et les territoires aient un système actualisé et viable pour aider leurs efforts de secours et soutenir la sécurité et le bien-être des Canadiennes et Canadiens.

L’honorable Bill Blair, président du Conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada et ministre de la Protection civile a nommé un comité consultatif pour examiner les AAFC et présenter des recommandations pour l’améliorer.

Mandat

Au nom du président du Conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada et ministre de la Protection civile, le comité consultatif revoit l’approche fédérale pour le versement de fonds après une catastrophe.

Membres

Le comité consultatif est un groupe interdisciplinaire très diversifié qui :

Consultez la biographie des membres du comité consultatif.

Échéancier

Le comité consultatif se rencontrera virtuellement jusqu’à la fin septembre 2022 et présentera ses conclusions au ministre en automne 2022. La politique sera ensuite revue en tenant compte de ces conclusions.

Rôles et responsabilités

Les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ont la responsabilité de l'élaboration des critères, de la mise en œuvre du programme et du versement des prestations d'aide financière en cas de catastrophe. Il leur revient de décider du type d'aide et des montants qui seront octroyés aux personnes sinistrées. Les AAFCC ne prévoient aucune restriction pour les gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux à ce sujet. Ils sont libres de mettre en place l'aide financière en cas de catastrophe qu'ils jugent appropriée selon les circonstances et le type de catastrophe. De plus, ils établissent les coûts qui seront considérés comme admissibles au partage des frais avec le gouvernement fédéral.

SP collabore étroitement avec la province ou le territoire pour examiner les demandes de remboursement des coûts admissibles liés à l'intervention et au rétablissement.

Organigramme du processus d’Accords d’aide financière en cas de catastrophe (AAFCC)
Description d'image

Dans le cas d’une catastrophe naturelle de grande envergure, le gouvernement du Canada verse une aide financière aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux dans le cadre des Accords d'aide financière en cas de catastrophe (AAFCC).

Quand les frais d'intervention et de rétablissement excèdent ce que peuvent raisonnablement assumer les gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux, ces derniers peuvent adresser une demande d’aide financière auprès du gouvernement du Canada. Toute demande de remboursement dans le cadre des AAFCC est traitée immédiatement après réception des pièces justificatives des dépenses par les provinces ou territoires et examen  par des vérificateurs fédéraux.

Le processus de demande comporte des actions de la part tant des provinces ou territoires que du gouvernement fédéral. Les étapes en sont les suivantes :

Étape 1 – Action provinciale ou territoriale

Après une catastrophe naturelle, la province ou le territoire présente par décret en conseil une demande d’aide dans le cadre du programme d’AAFCC. La province ou le territoire fournit les renseignements quant à la catastrophe ainsi que les prévisions financières pour approbation et vérification.

Étape 2 – Action fédérale

Le décret en conseil est approuvé et l’aide financière à coûts partagés aux termes de l’AAFCC est autorisée.

Étape 3 – Action provinciale ou territoriale

La province ou le territoire peut présenter une demande de paiements provisoires anticipés, en l’accompagnant des coûts réels et estimés. Cette étape est facultative. Les estimations et les délais de demande de paiement sont révisés tous les six mois pour la durée de vie du décret au cours d’un exercice semestriel.

Étape 4 – Action fédérale

Après évaluation des risques des coûts présentés, le gouvernement du Canada effectue le paiement. Il aide ainsi la province ou le territoire à assumer les premiers besoins financiers.

Étape 5 – Action provinciale ou territoriale

La province ou le territoire soumet l’état vérifié final des coûts. Cette action a une durée maximale de cinq ans après l’approbation du décret.

Étape 6 – Action fédérale

Le paiement final est émis après la vérification de la conformité fédérale. Le dossier est alors clos.

Partage des coûts

Une province ou un territoire peut faire une demande d'aide financière auprès du gouvernement du Canada lorsque ses dépenses admissibles à la suite de la catastrophe dépassent le seuil initial établi (selon la population provinciale ou territoriale). Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la formule de partage des coûts, veuillez consulter l'annexe A.

Les dépenses admissibles comprennent, sans s'y limiter, celles liées aux opérations de sauvetage, à la remise des services publics et des infrastructures à leur état initial, et au remplacement ou à la réparation des biens essentiels et fondamentaux des particuliers, des petites entreprises et des petites exploitations agricoles. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les dépenses admissibles, veuillez consulter l'annexe B.

Il est possible pour le gouvernement du Canada d'effectuer des versements provisoires aux provinces ou aux territoires, lorsque les fonds du programme provincial/territorial d'aide financière ont été dépensés. Toutes les demandes de paiement - anticipé ou final - présentées par les provinces et les territoires doivent faire l'objet d'une vérification de la part du gouvernement fédéral pour s'assurer que seuls les coûts admissibles énoncés dans les lignes directrices régissant les AAFCC sont partagés.

Annexe A

Formule de partage des coûts en vigueur à compter du 1er janvier 2022

À compter du 1er janvier 2022, le seuil initial pour tous les nouveaux événements est établi à 3,38 $ par habitant de la province (selon l'estimation de Statistique Canada au 1er juillet de l'année civile de la catastrophe). Une fois que ce seuil est dépassé, la part fédérale des dépenses admissibles est déterminée à l'aide de la formule que l'on trouve dans le tableau 9.

Tableau 9 – Formule de partage des coûts du 1er janvier 2022 au 31 décembre 2022
Dépenses provinciales admissibles (par habitant) Part du gouvernement du Canada (pourcentage)
Première tranche :  3,38 $ 0
Deuxième tranche : 6,78 $ 50
Troisième tranche : 6,78 $ 75
Le reste 90

La formule sera aussi indexée annuellement selon l'inflation en fonction de l'indice des prix à la consommation publié par Statistique Canada. Par souci d'uniformité, les données nationales serviront au calcul de l'inflation.

La formule ajustée par l'inflation entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier de chaque année à compter de 2016. Les lignes directrices sur les AAFCC seront mises à jour annuellement en février pour tenir compte de la nouvelle formule.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les changements apportés à la formule de partage des coûts, veuillez consulter le Bulletin d'interprétation 5.

Seuils provinciaux et territoriaux en vigueur au 1er janvier 2022
Province/territoire T4 2021* Seuil pour les AAFCC
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 521 758 1 763 542 $
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 165 936 560 864 $
Nouvelle-Écosse 998 832 3 376 052 $
Nouveau-Brunswick 794 300 2 684 734 $
Québec 8 631 147 29 173 277 $
Ontario 14 915 270 50 413 613 $
Manitoba 1 386 333 4 685 806 $
Saskatchewan 1 180 867 3 991 330 $
Alberta 4 464 170 15 088 895 $
Colombie-Britannique 5 249 635 17 743 766 $
Yukon 43 095 145 661 $
Territoires du Nord-Ouest 45 515 153 841 $
Nunavut 39 589 133 811 $

Les estimations de la population émises par Statistique Canada, seront révisées tous les trimestres dès que les nouvelles données seront disponibles.

Exemple : Dans une province dont la population serait d'un million d'habitants et où le total des dépenses admissibles découlant des efforts d'intervention et de rétablissement à la suite d'une catastrophe serait chiffré à 20 millions de dollars, on procéderait au partage des dépenses admissibles en vertu des AAFCC selon les critères indiqués dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Exemple de catastrophe dans une province d'un million d'habitants
Dépenses admissibles Contribution du gouvernement provincial ou territorial Contribution du gouvernement du Canada
Première tranche : 3,38 $ par habitant (100 % par la province ou le territoire) 3 380 000 $ Néant
Deuxième tranche : 6,78 $ par habitant (50 %) 3 390 000 $ 3 390 000 $
Troisième tranche : 6,78 $ par habitant (75 %) 1 695 000 $ 5 085 000 $
Le reste (90 %) 306 000 $ 2 754 000 $
Total 8 771 000 $ 11 229 000 $

Annexe B

Exemples de dépenses provinciales ou territoriales admissibles au partage des coûts en vertu des AAFCC :

Exemples de dépenses NON admissibles au partage des coûts :

Date de modification :