National Public Alerting System

The National Public Alerting System (NPAS) is a multi-channel Federal-Provincial-Territorial (FPT) all-hazards system that provides emergency management organizations throughout Canada with a standard alerting capability to warn the public of imminent or unfolding hazards to life through such means as radio, cable television, satellite television, email and SMS text services. The NPAS complements existing public alerting systems and tools in a number of FPT jurisdictions.

Following a 2009 decision by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission, Pelmorex Communications Inc. was designated as Canada's aggregator and disseminator of emergency public alert messages.  On June 9, 2010, Pelmorex launched the National Alert Aggregation and Dissemination (NAAD) System. 

The NAAD System is based on the Common Alerting Protocol (CAP), an international open data standard for exchanging public warnings and emergency messages between alerting technologies.  The NAAD System only accepts emergency alerts from Authorized Government Agencies.  These alerts are then made available in CAP format for broadcasters and other media distributors who voluntarily distribute them to the Canadian public.

For more information on the NAAD System and currently participating jurisdictions in the NPAS / NAAD initiatives, please consult the Pelmorex web site.

Canadian Profile of the Common Alerting Protocol (CAP)

The Canadian Profile of the Common Alerting Protocol (CAP) is a set of rules, and managed lists of values, that are recommended for use in Canada. It is often referred to as the CAP-Canadian Profile or simply CAP-CP.

Common Look and Feel Guidance

The CLF Guidance document presents the current collection of specifications, policy decisions and recommended practices related to the Common Look and Feel of public alerts associated with the NPAS initiative for alerting authorities, last mile distributors, and developers of applications.



Date modified:

Système national d'alertes au public

Le Système national d'alertes au public (SNAP) est un système multivoie tous risques fédéral, provincial et territorial (FPT) qui fournit aux organismes responsables de la gestion des urgences de partout au Canada une capacité d'alerte normalisée afin d'avertir les Canadiens des risques pour la vie, qui sont imminents ou en cours, notamment à l'aide de la radio, de la télévision par câble et par satellite, par courriel ou par messagerie texte. Le SNAP vient appuyer les outils et les systèmes d'alertes au public qui sont en place dans plusieurs administrations FPT.

À la suite d'une décision rendue en 2009 par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, Pelmorex Communications Inc. a été choisi comme responsable canadien de l'agrégation et de la dissémination des alertes au public. Le 9 juin 2010, Pelmorex a lancé le Système d'agrégation et de dissémination national d'alertes (système ADNA). 

Le système ADNA est fondé sur le Protocole d'alerte commun (PAC), une norme internationale relative aux données ouvertes régissant l'échange d'avertissements au public et de messages d'urgence entre les technologies d'alerte. Le système ADNA n'accepte que les alertes d'urgence provenant des organismes fédéraux autorisés. Ces alertes sont alors normalisées selon le format PAC et mises à la disposition des diffuseurs et autres distributeurs de médias qui les diffusent volontairement au public canadien.

Pour en savoir plus sur le système ADNA et les administrations qui participent actuellement aux initiatives liées au SNAP et au système ADNA, veuillez consulter le site Web de Pelmorex.

Le Profil canadien du Protocole d'alerte commun (PAC)

Le Profil canadien du Protocole d'alerte commun (PAC) constitue un ensemble de règles et de listes gérées de valeurs, dont l'utilisation est recommandée au Canada. Il est souvent désigné sous l'appellation Profil canadien-PAC ou simplement PC-PAC.

Directives sur la présentation uniforme

Le document Directives sur la présentation uniforme présente l'état de l'ensemble des spécifications, des décisions stratégiques et des pratiques recommandées actuellement en ce qui a trait à la présentation uniforme des alertes au public liées à l'initiative du Système national d'alertes au public (SNAP) qui sont destinées aux responsables des messages d'alerte, aux distributeurs de fin de ligne (DFL) et aux concepteurs des applications.



Date de modification :