Common Look and Feel Guidance

This webpage is devoted to the National Public Alerting System initiative.

Common Look and Feed Guidance Version 1.2

The National Public Alerting System (NPAS) Common Look and Feel (CLF) Working Group has updated the CLF Guidance document, which presents the current collection of specifications, policy decisions and recommended practices related to the Common Look and Feel of public alerts associated with the NPAS initiative for alerting authorities, last mile distributors, and developers of applications. Additionally, this document includes a limited number of forward leaning statements relating to efforts to overcome identified near term challenges associated with achieving CLF objectives. Following this external review process, and once ultimately approved by the Senior Officials Responsible for Emergency Management, the CLF Guidance document will be published as a final version on the Public Safety Canada website and made available to the stakeholder community. Decisions on implementation of any components of the recommendations found in the CLF Guidance document will fall to the various governance bodies which are responsible for public alerting.

To encourage public feedback, version 1.2 of the CLF Guidance document will be posted for a 30-day review period. The draft document will be available, and comments accepted by email at Interoperability@ps-sp.gc.ca, until December 2, 2016 at 9:00 p.m. EST. Any comments, or proposed edits, will be considered by the CLF Working Group and accepted, rejected or deferred.

Common Look and Feed Guidance Version 1.1 (ARCHIVE)

Common Look and Feed Guidance Version 1.0 (ARCHIVE)

This document presents the current collection of specifications, policy decisions and recommended practices related to the Common Look and Feel (CLF) of public alerts associated with the National Public Alerting System (NPAS) initiative; for alerting authorities, last mile distributors (LMD), and developers of applications that support the distribution of Canadian public alerts to the CLF objectives. Additionally, this document includes a limited number of forward leaning statements relating to efforts to overcome recognized near term challenges associated with achieving CLF objectives.

NPAS Communications Model

The NPAS all channel communications model supports alerting authorities publishing a single alerting information file to a central collection point for distribution through a variety of communications mediums to the public. As illustrated below, there are five key functions within NPAS: Create an alert, aggregate all alerts, share through efficient communications channels, distribute to the public through a variety of media, and receiving the alert through a variety of communications tools and applications.

NPAS Communications Model
Image Description

Text

Key NPAS functions

Distribution of alert messages is voluntary, and the alert authority has limited influence over the channels the alert message will be distributed through once they are in the public domain.

As with all digital content, alert messages may also be redistributed through multiple communications media by other LMDs and the public. In some cases alerting authorities maintain distribution systems, through which they may distribute the alert messages of other alert authorities.

Alerting authorities should note that all alerts issued in NAAD System and the Alberta Alert System will also be available through the Multi-Agency Situational Awareness Systems - National Information Exchanges (MASAS-X), which serves the Canadian public safety community.

Role of CAP - Message Protocol

The Common Alerting Protocol (CAP), which is an alerting message protocol, plays a key role in the NPAS communications model. CAP defines a single alert message file which includes a collection of one or more audience alert messages (and referenced content) to be presented to the public. Additionally, sufficient information, along with some supplemental guidance, is present for the last mile distributor to determine if the message(s) is relevant for distribution through its medium(s). See illustration.

Role of CAP - Message Protocol
Image Description

Text

CAP is replacing the use of email, fax and phone calls between alerting authorities and LMDs, because it supports the automated processing and distribution of alert messages by LMDs, and more efficient and complete distribution to the multitude of LMDs.

Specification Approach

The Common Alerting Protocol is but one of a number of specifications required by the NPAS, and there is a hierarchy to them as illustrated below.

Specification Approach
Image Description

Text

The international CAP standard is purposely flexible to the needs of all countries, all systems, and all communities of practice. The Canadian Profile of the CAP (CAP-CP) is a set of rules and managed lists of values that are recommended for all uses of CAP in Canada. This NPAS document provides additional rules and guidance specific to public alerting, but not other uses of CAP-CP. System specific specifications, such as the one for the NAAD System, identify the versions of the higher level documents supported, technical specifications for distribution channels, etc. Each document is to comply with the one above it in the hierarchy. The documents below are more prescriptive than those above.

An objective of this approach is to ensure that the requirements of one community of practice do not negatively impact those of another, while establishing sufficient rules to ensure interoperability between the systems. E.g. Authorities can impose the inclusion of a broadcast immediately flag for public alerts associated with NPAS without burdening issuers of CAP-CP compliant alerts within the Multi-Agency Situational Awareness Systems (MASAS), where it would serve no purpose. NPAS is to also cover end-to-end public alerting system objectives whereas the NAAD System specification can be limited to system specific details like URL's, digital signatures, heartbeat, etc. Additionally, and whereas changes to CAP and CAP-CP may require an engineering change, changes to NPAS and NAAD System specifications are more likely to require only configuration changes.

This approach also supports decision making closest to the requirements, by the people best suited to make such decisions. i.e. The international CAP community does not define system specific requirements for NAAD System, and NAAD System changes do not result in changes for international users of CAP.

Additionally, CAP “layers”, which are simple extension mechanisms for adding more nonstandard information to a CAP alert message, may be used. Alerting Authorities may define CAP <parameter><valueName>s and <values> in their layers for which they are responsible for formally documenting. Examples of layer information include the SOREM Layer - Broadcast Immediately value, Environment Canada's addition of warning/watch/advisory values for weather alerts, and Natural Resources Canada earthquake magnitude in their CAP alerts. Consistent with Extensible Mark-up Language (XML) practices, alert recipients may simply ignore elements they do not recognize, which means that the addition of “layers” does not impact the integrity of CAP, so long as they are implemented in compliance with CAP accepted practices.

Date modified:

Directives sur la présentation uniforme

Le systéme national d'alertes au public

Version 1.2 des Directives sur la présentation uniforme


Version 1.1 des Directives sur la présentation uniforme (ARCHIVÉ)

Version 1.0 des Directives sur la présentation uniforme (ARCHIVÉ)

Ce document présente l'ensemble des spécifications, des décisions stratégiques et des pratiques recommandées relatives à la présentation uniforme des alertes au public liées à l'initiative du Système national d'alertes au public (SNAP). Il est destiné aux responsables des messages d'alerte, aux distributeurs d'information au public ci‐après nommés distributeurs de fin de ligne (DFL) et aux concepteurs des applications de diffusion de messages d'alertes au public canadien et des objectifs relatifs à l'uniformisation de la présentation. En outre, le présent document comprend un nombre limité d'énoncés sur l'intensification des efforts déployés pour relever les défis à court terme liés à la réalisation des objectifs pour une présentation uniforme.

Modèle de communication du SNAP

Le modèle de communication tous canaux du SNAP permet aux responsables de messages d'alerte de transmettre un seul fichier d'information portant sur une ou plusieurs alertes dans un point central de collecte pour diffusion au public au moyen d'un grand nombre de médias de communication. Comme il est illustré dans le tableau ci-après, cinq fonctions clés sont définies pour le SNAP : rédaction d'un message d'alerte, agrégation de tous les messages d'alerte, communication des messages d'alerte par l'entremise de canaux communications efficaces et diffusion des messages d'alerte au public par l'entremise d'un éventail de médias; enfin, le public reçoit le message d'alerte grâce à divers outils et applications de communication.

Modèle de communication du SNAP
Description d'image

Text

Principales fonctions du SNAP

La diffusion de messages d'alerte est volontaire, et le responsable des messages d'alerte exerce peu d'influence sur les modes de diffusion des messages d'alerte une fois qu'ils sont rendus publics.

À l'instar du contenu numérique, d'autres DFL et la population peuvent aussi rediffuser les messages d'alerte au moyen de plusieurs médias de communication. Dans certains cas, les responsables des messages d'alerte disposent de systèmes de diffusion, ce qui leur permet de transmettre des messages d'alerte à leurs homologues.

Les responsables des messages d'alerte doivent noter que toutes les alertes émises dans le système ADNA et dans celui de l'Alberta Emergency Alert se trouveront aussi dans le Système interorganisationnel de connaissance de la situation - échanges d'informations à l'échelle nationale (SICS-X), qui dessert le milieu de la sécurité publique au Canada.

Rôle du PAC - Protocole de message

Le Protocole d'alerte commun (PAC) est déterminant pour le modèle de communication du SNAP. Le PAC crée un seul fichier de message d'alerte, qui comprend un ensemble de messages d'alerte à diffuser au public (et les contenus auxquels ils font référence). En outre, un nombre suffisant de données, de même que certaines directives supplémentaires, sont transmises au distributeur de fin de ligne qui doit déterminer si les messages peuvent être diffusés par ses médias. Voir l'illustration ci-dessous.

Rôle du PAC - Protocole de message
Description d'image

Text

Grâce au PAC, les responsables des messages d'alerte peuvent communiquer avec les DFL autrement que par courriel, télécopieur et téléphone, puisque le PC prend en charge le traitement et la diffusion automatisés des messages d'alerte par les DFL, de même que la diffusion à la multitude de DFL de façon plus complète et efficace.

Approche en matière de spécification

Le Protocole d'alerte commun n'est que l'une des nombreuses spécifications requises par le SNAP, et une hiérarchie est établie pour ces spécifications comme il est illustré ci-après.

Approche en matière de spécification
Description d'image

Text

La norme internationale du PAC a été adoptée pour s'adapter aux besoins de l'ensemble des pays, des systèmes et des communautés de pratique. Le Profil canadien du PAC (PC-PAC) est un ensemble de règles et de valeurs contrôlées qui doivent être appliquées conformément à la norme du PAC au Canada. Le présent document prévoit d'autres règles et directives concernant particulièrement les alertes au public, à l'exclusion des autres éléments du PC-PAC. Les spécifications particulières du système, à l'instar de celles du système ADNA, présentent notamment les versions des documents plus importantes à l'appui et les spécifications techniques à l'intention des canaux de distribution. Chaque document doit se conformer aux directives figurant dans le document de niveau supérieur dans la hiérarchie. Les documents de niveau inférieur sont de nature plus normative que ceux de niveau supérieur.

Un des objectifs de cette approche consiste à s'assurer que les exigences d'une communauté de pratique n'ont pas de conséquences négatives sur celles d'une autre communauté de pratique tout en établissant un nombre suffisant de règles pour assurer l'interopérabilité entre les systèmes. Par exemple, les autorités peuvent imposer l'inclusion d'un signal indiquant une diffusion immédiate pour les alertes au public liées au SNAP sans imposer un fardeau aux émetteurs d'alertes du PC-PAC conformes au Système interorganisationnel de connaissance de la situation (SICS), où ce signal serait inutile. Le SNAP doit permettre de réaliser les objectifs du système d'alerte au public alors que la spécification du système ADNA peut se limiter à des détails particuliers à un système (p. ex. les adresses URL, les signatures numériques, le logiciel Heartbeat). En outre, alors que des changements au PAC et au PC-PAC peuvent nécessiter des modifications techniques, les changements au SNAP et aux spécifications du système ADNA sont plus susceptibles de nécessiter uniquement une modification de la configuration.

Cette approche appuie le processus décisionnel qui satisfait le plus possible aux exigences des décideurs les plus compétents (c.-à-d. les utilisateurs internationaux du PAC ne définissent pas les exigences particulières au système ADNA, et les changements apportés à ce système n'entraînent pas de changements pour les utilisateurs internationaux du PAC.

Les couches (<layers>) du PAC ne sont que de simples mécanismes permettant d'ajouter des informations qui ne sont pas standardisées à un message d'alerte du PAC. Les responsables des messages d'alerte peuvent définir le paramètre (<parameter>) le nom de la valeur (<valueName>) et les valeurs (<values>) dans les couches qu'ils sont chargés de documenter officiellement. Voici des exemples de couches d'information : les CSRGU peuvent ajouter une couche des CSRGU - Diffusion immédiate dont la valeur est « Oui » (<Yes>), Environnement Canada peut ajouter des valeurs touchants des avertissements, des veilles, des avis dans les alertes météorologiques et Ressources naturelles Canada peut indiquer la magnitude d'un séisme dans les alertes du PAC. Conformément aux pratiques du Langage de balisage extensible (LBE), les destinataires peuvent simplement ignorer les éléments qui ne les concernent pas, ce que signifie que l'ajout de couches (<layers>) n'influe pas sur l'intégrité du PAC tant et aussi longtemps que ces couches sont ajoutées en conformité avec les pratiques acceptées du PAC

Date de modification :