Firearms Legislation to Make Communities Safer

With communities across the country facing a steady increase in gun violence over the past five years, the Government of Canada is strengthening Canada's gun laws in a common-sense, focused and effective way. Legislation introduced prioritizes public safety and effective police work, while respecting law-abiding firearms owners.

Enhance background checks

The legislation proposes to enhance background checks on those seeking to acquire firearms by eliminating the existing provision that focuses those checks primarily on just the five years immediately preceding a licence application.

Enhance effectiveness of existing licencing system

The Government of Canada aims to reduce the risk of non-restricted firearms being sold or given to those without a valid licence. The proposed measures would require individuals and businesses transferring a non-restricted firearm to confirm the validity of the firearms licence of the person acquiring it with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)’s Canadian Firearms Program prior to completing the transfer.

Standardize existing best practices among commercial retailers

The Government of Canada is proposing measures to require firearms businesses to retain transfer and inventory records related to non-restricted firearms in order to strengthen due diligence practices and support the tracing of firearms. Tracing firearms is useful in informing law enforcement during criminal investigations.

Ensure the impartial, professional, accurate and consistent classification of firearms

The Government of Canada is proposing to ensure the impartial, professional, accurate and consistent classification of firearms as either "non-restricted" "restricted" or "prohibited" - by restoring a system in which Parliament defines the classes but entrusts experts in the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) to classify firearms, without political influence.

Bolster community safety by requiring specific transportation authorizations for restricted and prohibited firearms

The Government of Canada is proposing to repeal measures that allow restricted and prohibited firearms to be more freely transported, and to reinstate Chief Firearm Officer’s discretion to issue authorizations to transport such firearms to certain locations.

Related Links



Date modified:

Projet de loi sur les armes à feu pour accroître la sécurité des communautés

Alors que de nombreuses collectivités ont été confrontées à une augmentation constante de la violence commise à l’aide d’armes à feu au cours des cinq dernières années dans l’ensemble du pays, le gouvernement fédéral renforce les lois canadiennes concernant les armes à feu d’une manière sensée, ciblée et efficace. Le projet de loi présenté donne la priorité à la sécurité du public et à l’efficacité des services policiers, tout en respectant les propriétaires légitimes d’armes à feu.

Améliorer les vérifications d’antécédents

La nouvelle loi propose d’améliorer les vérifications d’antécédents pour les individus cherchant à acquérir des armes à feu en supprimant la disposition existante qui concentre la vérification uniquement sur les cinq dernières années précédant la demande de permis

Accroître l’efficacité du système de délivrance de permis actuel

Le gouvernement du Canada travaille à réduire le risque que des armes sans restriction soient vendues ou données à des personnes sans permis valide. Les mesures proposées exigeraient que tout individu et tous les détaillants commerciaux vérifie la validité du permis de l’acheteur auprès du Programme canadien des armes à feu de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada avant de compléter le transfert.

Uniformiser les meilleures pratiques qui existent au sein des détaillants commerciaux

Le gouvernement du Canada propose des mesures pour exiger que les entreprises d’armes à feu conservent un historique des transferts et de l’inventaire des armes à feu sans restriction pour renforcer les pratiques de diligence raisonnable et favoriser la localisation des armes à feu. La localisation des armes à feu est utile pour orienter les forces de l’ordre au cours des enquêtes criminelles.

Assurer le caractère impartial, professionnel, précis et cohérent de la classification des armes à feu

Le gouvernement du Canada propose d’assurer le caractère impartial, professionnel, précis et cohérent de la classification des armes à feu, soit en tant qu’arme « sans restriction », « à autorisation restreinte » ou « prohibée » – par la restauration d’un système dans lequel le Parlement définit les catégories, mais confie aux experts de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) la tâche de classifier les armes à feu, sans influence politique.

Renforcer la sécurité communautaire en exigeant des autorisations de transport des armes à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibées

Le gouvernement du Canada propose d’abroger les mesures qui permettent aux armes à feu à autorisation restreinte et prohibées d’être transportées plus librement, et le transport de telles armes à feu à certains endroits serait à la discrétion du contrôleur des armes à feu.

Liens connexes



Date de modification :