Countering the Proliferation of Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear Weapons

Counter-proliferation

What is Counter-proliferation?

Counter-proliferation generally refers to the principle of preventing the spread of weapons of mass destruction (WMD) as well as the items and materials that can aid in their development. Our counter-proliferation community defines “counter-proliferation” as: The efforts undertaken by the Government of Canada to detect, investigate, prevent, deter and disrupt activities and transactions in or through Canada involving the illicit acquisition, export or diversion of goods, technology or knowledge relevant to the development of chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear weapons (“weapons of mass destruction”, or WMD), their delivery systems, dual-use items of concern, and sensitive defence technologies, including space technology, which could constitute a threat to Canada and its allies.

What does Canada do?

The Government of Canada uses a range of tools and policies to address the diversity of proliferation threats. Canada's Controlled Goods Program regulates goods within Canada, including technical data that have military or national security significance. Canada then has export and border controls to ensure that goods leaving the country do so lawfully and are not sent to countries or entities which would misuse them, thus preventing them from becoming a threat to our national security and the security of our allies. Law enforcement also plays an important role in countering proliferation through the investigation of proliferation-related criminal activity or when someone tries to get around these controls. In addition, Canada actively supports a number of allied partnership and international initiatives to improve global counter-proliferation cooperation and to build resilience to prevent the proliferation of WMD and the illicit acquisition of other items of proliferation concern.

What does Public Safety do?

Public Safety plays a lead role in coordinating the policy work of the federal counter-proliferation community in order to identify and address potential gaps in Canada's counter-proliferation regime. The Department also works closely with three Public Safety portfolio agencies: the CBSA, CSIS and the RCMP. In addition, Public Safety, in coordination with federal partners, engages in awareness and outreach activities such as Safeguarding Science.

The Counter-proliferation Threat

Proliferation is evolving in ways we have never seen before. People, goods, and money flow quickly and easily around the globe thanks to modern transportation, trade, financial networks, and the Internet. Technology is rapidly advancing in areas such as encryption and cryptocurrency, which can be used to hide illicit activities from authorities. As well, many goods and technologies – including everyday items – have the potential to be used or modified to produce weapons and military items. These are called “dual-use items of proliferation concern,” and their illicit acquisition and potential misuse is an important concern to the Government of Canada.

Many states and non-state actors, including terrorist organizations, continue to actively seek the materials, means, and know-how to advance their aspirations for Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) and to otherwise improve their military capabilities. In response, Canada, along with our allies and partners, is involved in a number of international initiatives and activities to build global resilience to prevent WMD proliferation and the acquisition of items of proliferation concern that could threaten our security. This includes enhancing the security of chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear (CBRN) materials and the sites that house them around the globe, collectively reducing the threat posed by WMD terrorism, and building the capacity of at-risk states to carry out counter-proliferation activities.

Despite concerted international efforts aimed at restricting the spread of WMD, sensitive defence technologies, and items of proliferation concern, challenges remain.

Definitions of proliferation threats of concerns

Chemical Weapons: These weapons encompass any of the following: a toxic chemical or its precursors; a munition specifically designed to deliver a toxic chemical; or, any equipment specifically designed for use with toxic chemicals or munitions. Toxic chemical agents are gaseous, liquid, or solid chemical substances that use their toxic properties to cause death or severe harm. Chemical weapons include blister, nerve, choking, and blood agents, as well as non-lethal incapacitating agents and riot-control agents when deliberately used to harm people.

Biological Weapons: Weapons that derive their primary destructive effects from living organisms or materials that intentionally cause disease or harm in humans, animals, or plants, or cause deterioration of living material. Biological agents such as bacteria, viruses, parasites, fungi, prions, or toxins can be turned into weapons delivered as liquid droplets, aerosols, or dry powders.

Radiological Weapons: Commonly known as “dirty bombs”, these weapons use conventional explosives or other means to spread radioactive material which may lead to short- and long-term health problems for an affected population and severely radioactive-contaminated areas. Radiological weapons do not require nuclear weapon materials, only radioactive substance of sufficient potency to achieve their desired effect.

Nuclear Weapons: While there are different types of nuclear weapons, all employ a nuclear fission or fusion reaction for its explosive power. Most nuclear weapons today are two-stage thermonuclear weapons that derive their explosive energy from the combined power of nuclear fission and fusion. That is, an initial fission reaction generates high temperatures needed to trigger a secondary – and much more powerful – fusion reaction, hence the term “thermonuclear”.

Dual-Use Items of Proliferation Concern: Goods and technology that are capable of, or designed for use in, peaceful and legitimate civilian or commercial purposes, but which also have potential applicability in such activities as enhancing the capabilities of foreign adversaries, including their space capabilities, in relation to the development or enhancement of weapons programs, including weapons of mass destruction.

Countering Proliferation

Canada's international commitments

In response to the global threat of proliferation, Canada is signatory to four key treaties and conventions, which aim to prevent and combat the proliferation of weapons. To implement these conventions and treaties, Canada is also member of the four multilateral export control regimes listed below.

Canada's domestic programs

The Controlled Goods Program

The Controlled Goods Program administers the Controlled Goods Regulations and the Controlled Goods List found in the Defence Production Act. It is responsible for the registration and, as applicable, exemption of any person who intends to possess, examine, or transfer controlled goods in Canada. The Program's scope covers a wide array of activities, ranging from security assessment of key individuals, and training and certification, to compliance inspection and enforcement.

Export Controls

The principle objective of export controls is to ensure that exports of certain goods and technology are consistent with Canada's foreign and defence policies. Canada participates in several international regimes that regularly review and publish updated lists of controlled items for export. Canada's Export Control List (ECL) is updated annually to reflect changes agreed by the regimes. In addition to the ECL, Canada maintains a list of countries called the Area Control List (ACL), to which any Canadian exports – regardless of whether they are on the ECL or not – require a permit.

Sanctions

Global Affairs Canada implements sanctions pursuant to the United Nations Act, or on a national (autonomous) basis under the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA). Such sanctions are targeted on specific countries, organizations, or individuals. Sanctions are used to restrict or prohibit trade and other economic activity, as well as the possible seizure or freezing of assets and property on Canadian soil. Sanctions can vary and can encompass a variety of measures, including arms embargos and prohibitions on technical assistance (e.g. training) in specific sectors and financial transactions.

Border Controls

Canada has a responsibility to ensure that goods entering the global market from this country do not pose a threat to our national security and the security of our allies. The Customs Act establishes reporting requirements for the export of goods from Canada and gives Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) officers specific authorities to examine and detain goods for export, to ask questions about goods for export, and to take enforcement actions when non-compliance is identified.

The Human Pathogens and Toxins Act Licensing Program

The Human Pathogens and Toxins Act came into effect in 2015 to address health and safety concerns of an accidental or deliberate release of a human pathogen or toxin. Any stakeholder conducting controlled activities (possessing, handling, using, producing, storing, permitting access, transferring, importing, exporting, releasing, abandoning, disposing of a human pathogen or toxin) is required to apply for a license under the Act. All licensed facilities that intend to carry out scientific research on a regulated pathogen or toxin must also develop a plan regarding the administrative measures for managing dual-use concerns. The purpose of this plan is to warrant internal accountability on the identification, risk analysis, and mitigation of risks that come with the use of dual-use products that may be misused to pose a threat to public health and safety.

Foreign Investment Review

The Investment Canada Act provides for the review of significant acquisitions of control of Canadian businesses to ensure their likely net economic benefit. All foreign investments are subject to the multi-step national security review process set out in the Act, which takes into account factors such as the potential effects of the investment on the transfer of sensitive technology or know-how outside of Canada, as well as any involvement in the research, manufacture or sale of goods/technology identified in Section 35 of the Defence Production Act.

Investigations and Prosecutions

Law enforcement can investigate and bring charges for criminal offences related to proliferation, proliferation financing, and illicit procurement and trafficking. Both the Canadian Border Services Agency (CBSA) and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) have mandates to conduct investigations, while the Public Prosecution Service of Canada has the mandate to conduct prosecutions. There is a wide range of penalties that can be applied against proliferators and other individuals in Canada.

Outreach and Awareness

One of the Government's most effective tools to counter proliferation is raising Canadians' knowledge and awareness of proliferation risks. Many departments and agencies across the Government already have established public outreach initiatives with stakeholders, including Canadian industry, the scientific community, and the broader public.

Safeguarding Science

Public Safety Canada, in collaboration with the Public Health Agency of Canada, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission and other government partners, is leading the Safeguarding Science initiative in support to Canada's counter proliferation efforts.

Safeguarding Science is an outreach initiative aiming to raise awareness within the scientific and academic communities of the risks of chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear proliferation, as well as the potential for proliferation of dual-use technology. Through interactive workshops delivered to academic and scientific institutions across Canada, Safeguarding Science informs participants about Canada's counter-proliferation efforts, including legislation and regulation, and offers tools to help recognize and mitigate the specific risks Canadian institutions are facing.

For more about Safeguarding Science or to arrange for a workshop at your institution, contact ps.safeguardingscience-scienceensecurite.sp@canada.ca.

Date modified:

La lutte contre la prolifération des armes chimiques, biologiques, radiologiques et nucléaires

Lutte contre la prolifération

Qu'est-ce la lutte contre la prolifération?

La lutte contre la prolifération renvoie généralement au principe de la prévention de la propagation d'armes de destruction massive (ADM) ainsi qu'aux produits et matériaux qui peuvent contribuer à leur développement. Notre communauté de lutte contre la prolifération définit la « lutte contre la prolifération » comme suit : Les efforts déployés par le gouvernement du Canada pour déceler, examiner, prévenir, décourager et faire cesser les activités et les transactions au Canada ou passant par le Canada impliquant l'acquisition, l'exportation ou le détournement illicites de biens, de technologies ou de connaissances liés à la mise au point d'armes chimiques, biologiques, radiologiques et nucléaires (« armes de destruction massive », ou ADM), de leurs systèmes de dissémination, des articles à double usage préoccupants, des technologies militaires de nature délicate, y compris la technologie spatiale, qui pourraient constituer une menace pour le Canada et ses alliés.

Que fait le Canada?

Le gouvernement du Canada utilise une gamme d'outils et de politiques pour s'attaquer à la multitude de menaces en matière de prolifération. Le Programme des marchandises contrôlées du Canada constitue le premier niveau de la lutte contre la prolifération. Il réglemente les marchandises au sein du Canada, y compris les données techniques qui ont une importance militaire ou pour la sécurité nationale. Le Canada effectue ensuite des contrôles à l'exportation et à la frontière pour s'assurer que les marchandises qui quittent le pays le font légalement et ne sont pas envoyées à des pays ou à des entités qui en feraient un mauvais usage, ce qui les empêche de devenir une menace à notre sécurité nationale et à celle de nos alliés. Les organismes d'application de la loi jouent également un rôle important dans la lutte contre la prolifération en enquêtant sur les activités criminelles liées à la prolifération, ou lorsque quelqu'un essaie de contourner ces contrôles. De plus, le Canada appuie activement un certain nombre d'initiatives internationales visant à améliorer la coopération mondiale en matière de lutte contre la prolifération et à renforcer la résilience afin de prévenir la prolifération des ADM et l'acquisition illicite d'autres articles préoccupants en matière de prolifération.

Que fait Sécurité publique Canada?

Sécurité publique Canada joue un rôle de premier plan dans la coordination du travail stratégique de la communauté fédérale de lutte contre la prolifération afin de cerner et de combler les lacunes potentielles du régime canadien de lutte contre la prolifération. Le Ministère travaille également en étroite collaboration avec trois organismes de son portefeuille : l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC). En outre, Sécurité publique Canada, en coordination avec ses partenaires fédéraux, se livrent à des activités de sensibilisation, telles que l'initiative Science en sécurité.

La menace de la prolifération

La prolifération évolue comme jamais vu auparavant. Les personnes, les marchandises et l'argent circulent rapidement et aisément à travers le monde grâce aux réseaux de transport, aux réseaux commerciaux et financiers modernes, et grâce à Internet. Les technologies connaissent des avancées rapides dans des domaines tels que le chiffrement et la cryptomonnaie, qui peuvent être utilisés pour cacher des activités illicites aux autorités. De plus, plusieurs marchandises et technologies – y compris des articles courants – peuvent être utilisées ou modifiées pour fabriquer des armes et des articles militaires. On appelle ces articles des « articles à double usage qui suscitent des préoccupations en matière de prolifération ». L'acquisition illicite et l'utilisation potentiellement abusive de ces articles constituent une source importante de préoccupation pour le gouvernement du Canada.

De nombreux acteurs étatiques et non étatiques, y compris des organisations terroristes, continuent de rechercher activement les matériaux, les moyens et le savoir-faire nécessaires pour faire progresser leurs aspirations en matière d'ADM et pour améliorer leurs capacités militaires. C'est pourquoi le Canada, de concert avec ses alliés et partenaires, participe à un certain nombre d'initiatives et d'activités internationales visant à renforcer la résilience mondiale pour prévenir la prolifération des ADM et l'acquisition d'articles préoccupants qui pourraient menacer notre sécurité. Il s'agit notamment de l'amélioration de la sécurité du matériel chimique, biologique, radiologique et nucléaire (CBRN) et des sites qui l'hébergent partout dans le monde, de la réduction réduire de la menace posée par le terrorisme faisant usage d'ADM et du renforcement de la capacité des États à risque afin qu'ils puissent mener des activités de lutte contre la prolifération.

En dépit d'efforts internationaux concertés visant à limiter la diffusion des ADM, des technologies de défense de nature délicate et des articles suscitant des préoccupations en matière de prolifération, plusieurs défis demeurent.

Définitions des menaces de prolifération préoccupantes

Armes chimiques : Ces armes englobent tous les éléments suivants : un produit chimique toxique ou ses précurseurs, une munition spécialement conçue pour transporter un produit chimique toxique ou tout équipement spécialement conçu pour être utilisé avec des produits chimiques toxiques ou des munitions. Les agents chimiques toxiques sont des substances chimiques gazeuses, liquides ou solides qui utilisent leurs propriétés toxiques pour causer la mort ou de graves dommages. Les armes chimiques comprennent les agents suffocants, vésicants, hémotoxiques et neurotoxiques, ainsi que les agents incapacitants non mortels et les agents antiémeutes lorsqu'ils sont utilisés en temps de guerre.

Armes biologiques : Armes dont les principaux effets destructeurs proviennent d'organismes vivants ou de substances qui en dérivent, et qui causent intentionnellement des maladies ou des dommages aux êtres humains, aux animaux, aux plantes ou aux matériaux non vivants. Les agents biologiques comme les bactéries, les virus, les parasites, les champignons, les prions ou les toxines peuvent être transformés en armes et véhiculés sous forme de gouttelettes liquides, d'aérosol ou de poudre sèche.

Armes radiologiques : Communément appelées « bombes sales », ces armes utilisent des explosifs conventionnels ou d'autres moyens pour propager des matières radioactives qui peuvent entraîner des problèmes de santé à court et à long terme pour une population affectée et des zones gravement contaminées. Par ailleurs, une source radiologique stationnaire peut exposer les personnes à proximité à des radiations, sans utiliser d'explosifs. Les armes radiologiques n'ont pas besoin de matériaux d'armes nucléaires, mais seulement d'une substance suffisamment radioactive pour obtenir l'effet désiré.

Armes nucléaires : Bien qu'il existe différents types d'armes nucléaires, toutes utilisent une réaction de fission ou de fusion nucléaire pour leur puissance explosive. Les armes thermonucléaires modernes à deux phases tirent leur énergie explosive de la puissance combinée de la fission nucléaire et de la fusion (c'est-à-dire qu'une première réaction de fission génère les températures élevées nécessaires au déclenchement d'une réaction de fusion secondaire – et beaucoup plus puissante, d'où le terme « thermonucléaire »).

Articles à double usage qui suscitent des préoccupations en matière de prolifération : Biens et technologies pouvant être utilisés, ou conçus pour être utilisés, à des fins civiles ou commerciales pacifiques et légitimes, mais qui ont également des applications potentielles pour des activités comme le renforcement des capacités d'adversaires étrangers, y compris leurs capacités aérospatiales et leurs capacités en matières d'élaboration ou du renforcement de programmes d'armement, notamment d'armes de destruction massive.

Lutter contre la prolifération

Engagements internationaux du Canada

En réponse à la menace mondiale de prolifération, le Canada est signataire de quatre traités et conventions clés qui visent à prévenir et à combattre la prolifération. Afin de mettre en œuvre ces conventions et traités, le Canada participe également aux quatre régimes multilatéraux de contrôle des exportations énumérés ci-dessous.

Programmes nationaux du Canada

Programme des marchandises contrôlées

Le Programme applique la Règlement sur les marchandises contrôlées et la Liste des marchandises contrôlées qui se trouvent dans la Loi sur la production de défense. Il est responsable de l'enregistrement et, le cas échéant, de l'exonération de toute personne qui a l'intention d'examiner, de posséder ou de transférer des marchandises contrôlées au Canada. La portée du Programme couvre un large éventail d'activités, allant de l'évaluation de la sécurité à l'inspection de la conformité et à l'application de la loi, en passant par la formation et l'accréditation des personnes clés.

Contrôles à l'exportation

Les contrôles à l'exportation visent principalement à faire en sorte que l'exportation de certaines marchandises et technologies soit conforme à la politique étrangère et à la politique en matière de défense du Canada. Le Canada participe à plusieurs régimes internationaux qui examinent et publient régulièrement des listes à jour articles contrôlés aux fins d'exportation. La Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée (LMTEC) du Canada est mise à jour chaque année pour tenir compte des changements convenus par les régimes. En plus de la LMTEC, le Canada tient à jour une liste de pays appelée la Liste des pays visés (LPV), vers lesquels toute exportation canadienne – qu'elle figure ou non sur la LMTEC – nécessite une licence.

Sanctions

Affaires mondiales Canada met en œuvre des sanctions en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies ou sur une base nationale (autonome) en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales (LMES). Ces sanctions visent des pays, des organisations ou des individus en particulier. Les sanctions ont pour objectif de restreindre ou d'interdire le commerce et les autres activités économiques, ainsi que la saisie ou le gel possible de biens et de propriétés en sol canadien. Les sanctions peuvent varier et englobent diverses mesures, notamment des embargos sur les armes et l'interdiction d'aide technique dans des secteurs spécifiques et pour des opérations financières.

Contrôles frontaliers

Le Canada a la responsabilité de veiller à ce que les marchandises provenant de notre pays et qui entrent sur le marché mondial ne constituent pas une menace pour notre sécurité nationale et celle de nos alliés. La Loi sur les douanes établit des exigences en matière de déclaration pour l'exportation de marchandises provenant du Canada et confère aux agents de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) certains pouvoirs permettant d'examiner et retenir des marchandises destinées à l'exportation, de poser des questions sur les marchandises destinées à l'exportation et de prendre des mesures coercitives en cas de non-conformité.

Programme de délivrance de permis en vertu de la Loi sur les agents pathogènes humains et les toxines (LAPHT)

La Loi sur les agents pathogènes humains et les toxines est entrée en vigueur en 2015 afin de répondre aux préoccupations en matière de santé et de sécurité liées à la dissémination accidentelle ou volontaire d'un agent pathogène humain ou d'une toxine. Tout intervenant qui exerce des activités réglementées (possession, manipulation, utilisation, production, entreposage, stockage, autorisation d'accès, transfert, importation, exportation, rejet, abandon, élimination d'un agent pathogène humain ou d'une toxine) est tenu de demander un permis en vertu de la Loi.

Toutes les installations autorisées qui ont l'intention d'effectuer des recherches scientifiques sur une toxine ou un agent pathogène réglementé doivent également élaborer un plan concernant les mesures administratives à prendre pour gérer les préoccupations liées au double usage. Le but de ce plan est de garantir une responsabilité interne en ce qui concerne l'établissement, l'analyse des risques et l'atténuation des risques associés à l'utilisation de produits à double usage qui pourraient être utilisés à mauvais escient et poser une menace pour la santé et la sécurité du public.

Examen de l'investissement étranger

La Loi sur Investissement Canada prévoit l'examen des acquisitions importantes du contrôle d'entreprises canadiennes pour s'assurer qu'ils auront vraisemblablement des retombées économiques nettes. Tous les investissements étrangers sont assujettis au processus d'examen en plusieurs étapes de la sécurité nationale établi dans la Loi, qui tient compte des effets potentiels de l'investissement sur le transfert de technologie ou de savoir-faire de nature délicate à l'extérieur du Canada, ainsi que de toute participation à la recherche, à la fabrication ou à la vente des produits ou technologies visés par l'article 35 de la Loi sur la production de défense.

Enquêtes et poursuites

Les organismes d'application de la loi peuvent faire enquête et déposer des accusations pour des infractions criminelles liées à la prolifération, au financement de la prolifération et aux achats et au trafic illicites. L'ASFC et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) ont le mandat de mener les enquêtes, tandis que le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada a le mandat d'intenter des poursuites. Une vaste gamme de sanctions peut être imposée aux proliférateurs et à d'autres personnes au Canada.

Engagement et sensibilisation

Sensibiliser les Canadiens aux risques liés à la prolifération et les informer davantage à ce sujet constitue l'un des outils les plus efficaces du gouvernement. De nombreux ministères et organismes du gouvernement ont déjà établi des initiatives de sensibilisation du public avec les intervenants, y compris l'industrie canadienne, le milieu scientifique et le grand public.

Science en sécurité

Sécurité publique Canada, en collaboration avec l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire et d'autres partenaires gouvernementaux, dirige l'initiative Science en sécurité à l'appui des efforts de lutte contre la prolifération du Canada.

Science en sécurité est une initiative visant à sensibiliser les milieux scientifiques et universitaires aux risques de prolifération chimique, biologique, radiologique et nucléaire, ainsi qu'au potentiel de prolifération des technologies à double usage. Au moyen d'ateliers interactifs offerts à des établissements universitaires et scientifiques de partout au Canada, Science en sécurité informe les participants des efforts de lutte contre la prolifération du Canada, y compris la législation et la réglementation, et offre des outils pour aider à reconnaître et à atténuer les risques particuliers auxquels les établissements de recherche canadiens font face.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'initiative Science en sécurité ou organiser un atelier à votre institution, communiquez avec nous à l'adresse ps.safeguardingscience-scienceensecurite.sp@canada.ca.

Date de modification :