Canada Centre for Community Engagement and Prevention of Violence

The Canada Centre for Community Engagement and Prevention of Violence (Canada Centre) was launched in 2017 and leads the Government of Canada’s efforts to counter radicalization to violence. The Canada Centre’s activities include:

The Canada Centre does not manage, or advise on, individual cases.

National Strategy on Countering Radicalization to Violence

On December 11, 2018, the Canada Centre launched the National Strategy on Countering Radicalization to Violence. The National Strategy explains radicalization to violence and the destructive and harmful behaviours involved, and outlines the Government of Canada’s approach and key priorities in countering and preventing radicalization to violence.

Overview of Prevention Efforts

Prevention efforts can include activities to support individuals and groups pushing back against violent extremism, addressing terrorist propaganda and recruitment online, and rehabilitating and reintegrating individuals who want to leave violent extremism behind.

Intervention programs in Canada

The Canada Centre funds programs in Canada that can intervene with people who are, or at risk of, radicalizing to violence. Find out more about these intervention programs.

Outreach and Engagement

In Canada, the rate of people becoming radicalized to violence is relatively low compared to other countries, but even one violent act can result in tragic consequences for victims and inspire fear, hatred, and further violence.  

The Canada Centre supports efforts designed at the local level, while informed by the best available evidence. This approach aims to prevent radicalization to violence in ways that are tailored to the needs and strengths of communities.

Community Resilience Fund

The Canada Centre provides funding to organizations that work to counter radicalization to violence in Canada through the Community Resilience Fund. Projects under the Community Resilience Fund will improve Canada's ability to address radicalization at the local level by supporting intervention research and programming, information sharing, and outreach activities.

Research Catalogue

The Canada Centre conducts, coordinates, and funds research in Canada and with leading international experts. Our focus is on action-oriented research that is practical and can be used by people working on the frontlines in Canada.

The catalogue provides information on terrorism and radicalization to violence research funded by the Community Resilience Fund and Kanishka Project.

Date modified:

Centre canadien d'engagement communautaire et de prévention de la violence

Le Centre canadien d’engagement communautaire et de prévention de la violence (Centre canadien) a été lancé en 2017 et dirige les efforts du gouvernement du Canada pour lutter contre la radicalisation menant à la violence. Les activités du Centre canadien comprennent :

Le Centre canadien ne gère pas, ou ne donne aucun conseil sur, les cas individuels.

Stratégie nationale sur la lutte contre la radicalisation menant à la violence

Le 11 décembre 2018, le Centre canadien a lancé la Stratégie nationale sur la lutte contre la radicalisation menant à la violence. La Stratégie nationale explique la radicalisation menant à la violence et les comportements destructifs et néfastes concernés et souligne l’approche et les priorités clés du gouvernement du Canada pour lutter contre la radicalisation menant à la violence.

Survol des mesures de prévention

Les mesures de prévention incluent les activités qui visent à soutenir les personnes et les groupes qui luttent contre l'extrémisme violent, la propagande terroriste et le recrutement en ligne, et qui ouvrent à la réadaptation et à la réinsertion sociale des personnes qui veulent quitter l'extrémisme violent.

Programmes d’interventions au Canada

Le Centre canadien finance des programmes au Canada permettant d’intervenir auprès des personnes qui se radicalisent ou qui sont à risque de se radicaliser. Apprenez-en davantage au sujet de ces programmes d’interventions.

Sensibilisation et mobilisation

Au Canada, le taux de personnes qui adoptent la voie de la radicalisation menant à la violence est relativement faible en comparaison d'autres pays, mais même un seul acte violent peut entraîner des conséquences tragiques pour les victimes et inspirer la crainte, la haine et encore plus de violence.

Le Centre canadien soutient les mesures mises au point à l'échelon local, qui s'appuient sur les meilleures données qui soient. Cette approche vise à prévenir la radicalisation menant à la violence grâce à des moyens adaptés aux besoins et aux forces des collectivités.

Fonds pour la résilience communautaire

Le Centre canadien offre un financement aux organismes qui s'emploient à lutter contre la radicalisation menant à la violence au Canada dans le cadre du Fonds pour la résilience communautaire. Les projets qui bénéficient du Fonds pour la résilience communautaire augmenteront la capacité du Canada à lutter contre la radicalisation à l'échelon local en soutenant la recherche et les programmes dans le secteur de l'intervention, l'échange de renseignements et les activités de sensibilisation.

Catalogue de recherche

Le Centre canadien dirige, coordonne et finance la recherche au Canada, notamment avec des experts internationaux de premier plan. Nous mettons l'accent sur la recherche axée sur l'action qui est pratique et qui peut être utilisée par les personnes qui travaillent aux premières lignes au Canada.

Le catalogue contient des renseignements sur la recherche portant sur le terrorisme et la radicalisation menant à la violence que financent le Fonds pour la résilience communautaire et le projet Kanishka.

Date de modification :