The Canadian Disaster Database

The Canadian Disaster Database geospatial view is temporarily out of service. We apologize for the inconvenience. The standard view of the database is still available. If you have any questions, please contact us.

The Canadian Disaster Database (CDD) contains detailed disaster information on more than 1,000 natural, technological and conflict events (excluding war) that have happened since 1900 at home or abroad and that have directly affected Canadians.

The CDD tracks significant disaster events that conform to the Emergency Management Framework for Canada definition of a disaster and meet one or more of the following criteria:

The CDD describes:

Symbols and definitions used in the CDD

Searching the CDD

You can choose to display search results in the CDD in either a standard or geospatial view. The standard view displays the results in a table, while the geospatial view displays them on a map and allows you to search using a spatially-defined area.

You can export geospatial disaster data from the CDD through KML or GeoRSS feeds. You can also download data in a report format.

Mapping credits:

Information about data in the CDD

The CDD is reviewed and updated periodically to add disasters that have occurred since the last update and to reflect new information that has become available about past disasters.

It is important to note that:

CDD data sources

The purpose of the CDD is to share information on disasters, supported by a variety of sources. Data sources include federal institutions, provincial/territorial governments, non-governmental organizations, and publicly available data sources.

The CDD aggregates and displays data, but should not be considered a primary data source in itself.

Normalization of costs

The CDD displays cost data in the dollar amount of the year that the event took place or the year the specific payment was made. Normalization is used to compare cost data from different time periods. This can help to determine whether costs have increased or decreased over time, or whether preventative/mitigating measures have helped to lower the cost of disasters.

The CDD’s “Consumer Price Index Normalization” conversion tool can be used to normalize CDD cost data. The tool works by converting the "raw" cost data from the entered year a disaster occurred to the equivalent dollar amount for a chosen year.

The CDD uses the Consumer Price Index (CPI) to normalize cost data because it is widely used and accepted. However, it is important to note that:

Disclaimer

Canada endeavours to provide the best information possible; however, the information contained in the Canadian Disaster Database (CDD) is based on information that is sourced from outside parties and may not be accurate. Canada makes no representations, warranties, or guarantees, express or implied, that the data contained in the CDD may be relied upon for any use whatsoever. Canada accepts no responsibility or liability for inaccuracies, errors or omissions in the data and any loss, damage or costs incurred as a result of using or relying on the data in any way. The CDD may contain material that is subject to licensing requirements or copyright restrictions and may not be reproduced, published, distributed or transferred in whole or in part without the consent of the author.

Contacting the Canadian Disaster Database Secretariat

If you have technical questions about accessing or using the data in the CDD, please write to us at ps.cdd-bdc.sp@ps-sp.gc.ca.

For other questions, please use Public Safety Canada’s general inquiries form.

Date modified:

Base de données canadienne sur les catastrophes

La Base de données canadienne sur les catastrophes (BDC) comprend des renseignements détaillés sur plus de 1 000 catastrophes naturelles, incidents technologiques et conflits (à l’exception des guerres) qui ont eu lieu depuis 1900 au pays ou à l’étranger et ont touché directement des Canadiens.

Elle permet de trouver les « catastrophes importantes » qui correspondent à la définition utilisée dans le document Un cadre de sécurité civile pour le Canada et satisfont à l’un ou à plusieurs des critères suivants :

On y trouve de l’information sur :

Symboles et définitions utilisés dans la BDC

Recherche dans la BDC

Les résultats de recherche dans la BDC peuvent être affichés dans un mode standard ou dans un mode géospatial. Le mode standard affiche les résultats dans un tableau, et le mode géospatial montre les résultats sur une carte, en vous permettant de limiter les résultats à une région définie.

Les données géospatiales de la BDC peuvent être exportées au moyen des fils KML ou GeoRSS. Les données peuvent aussi être téléchargées en format de tableau.

Services cartographiques :

Renseignements sur les données dans la BDC

La BDC est actualisée sur une base régulière pour y ajouter les catastrophes qui se sont produites depuis la dernière mise à jour et pour inclure de nouveaux renseignements au sujet d’anciennes catastrophes.

Il est important de noter que :

Sources des données de la BDC

La BDC sert à diffuser des renseignements sur les catastrophes en s’appuyant sur de nombreuses sources. Ces sources comprennent des institutions fédérales, des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, des organisations non gouvernementales et d’autres sources accessibles au public.

La BDC compile les données et les affiche, mais ne devrait pas être considérée comme source primaire de ces données.

Normalisation des coûts

La BDC affiche les données relatives aux coûts en fonction du montant en dollars de l’année durant laquelle la catastrophe a eu lieu ou encore de l’année durant laquelle un paiement particulier a été effectué. La normalisation est utilisée pour comparer les données sur les coûts de différentes périodes. Cela peut aider à déterminer si les coûts ont augmenté ou diminué avec le temps, ou si les mesures d’atténuation et de prévention ont contribué à réduire le coût des catastrophes.

L’outil de conversion « Normalisation de l’indice des prix à la consommation » de la BDC est utilisé pour normaliser les données sur les coûts. L’outil prend les données brutes sur les coûts pour l’année à laquelle une catastrophe a eu lieu, et les convertit en dollars normalisés pour l’année de leur choix.

La BDC se sert de l’indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) pour normaliser les données de coût, car cet indice est largement accepté. Toutefois, il est important de noter ce qui suit :

Avertissement

Le Canada s’efforce de fournir la meilleure information possible; toutefois, les renseignements présentés dans la Banque de données canadienne sur les catastrophes (BDC) sont fondés sur des données fournies par des tiers et pourraient ne pas être exacts. Le Canada ne fait aucune assertion et n’offre aucune garantie, explicite ou implicite, quant à la fiabilité des données présentées, pour quelque usage que ce soit. Le Canada décline toute responsabilité quant à leur inexactitude, des omissions ou des erreurs qui pourraient s’y glisser et à toute perte, dommage ou frais découlant de leur utilisation. La BDC peut contenir des données assujetties à des conditions de licence et qui ne peuvent pas être reproduites, publiées, distribuées ou transférées en tout ou en partie sans le consentement de l’auteur.

Pour communiquer avec le secrétariat de la Base de données canadienne sur les catastrophes

Si vous avez des questions d’ordre technique sur l’accès aux données de la BDC ou sur leur utilisation, veuillez nous écrire au ps.canadiandisasterdatabase-basededonneescanadiennesurlescatastrophes.sp@canada.ca.

Pour toute autre question, veuillez utiliser le formulaire de renseignements généraux de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :