Emergency Management Planning

Natural disasters, pandemics, cyber incidents and terrorism can all cause emergencies in Canada. Emergencies can quickly escalate in scope and severity, cross jurisdictional lines and take on international dimensions. Emergency Management Planning can save lives, preserve the environment and protect property by raising the understanding of risks and contributing to a safer, prosperous, sustainable, disaster resistant and resilient society in Canada.

Emergency Management is a core responsibility of the Government of Canada and a collective responsibility of all federal government institutions. This is why Public Safety Canada is taking steps to promote a coordinated approach and more uniform structure to the management of emergencies by providing guidance to federal government institutions on how to develop  emergency management plans. A coordinated approach to emergency management planning will strengthen the Government of Canada's capacity to prevent, protect against, respond to and recover from major disasters and other emergencies.

The Emergency Management Planning Guide supports federal institutions in meeting their responsibilities under the Emergency Management Act to prepare and maintain mandate-specific emergency management plans. The Guide provides the framework for federal government institutions to undertake mandate-specific all-hazards risk assessments and planning activities within all four integrated functions of emergency management:

The Emergency Management Planning Guide – How to Develop a Strategic Emergency Management Plan (SEMP)

The Emergency Management Planning Guide supports the implementation of the Federal Policy for Emergency Management and the Emergency Management Act (2007). The Guide provides step-by-step instructions of the planning process across the four pillars of Emergency Management Planning. It is the key tool designed to help federal institutions meet their responsibilities with respect to the management of emergencies.

A Guide to Business Continuity Planning – How to Develop a Business Continuity Plan (BCP)

When critical services and products cannot be delivered, consequences can be severe. All organizations are at risk and face potential disaster if unprepared. A Business Continuity Plan is a tool that allows institutions to not only moderate risk, but also continuously deliver products and services despite disruption.

The Business Continuity Planning Guide was developed in support of the Policy on Government Security and the Operational Security Standard – Business Continuity Planning Program. The Guide provides summary and general guidelines for business continuity planning (BCP).

The Emergency Management Vocabulary

The Emergency Management Vocabulary fosters interoperability and promotes the use of standard emergency management terminology for all federal government institutions and at all levels of government in Canada. Developed by Public Safety Canada in collaboration with the Translation Bureau and Defence Research Development Canada, the Vocabulary lists over 200 terms and definitions for concepts, which are used in emergency management publications as well as in operational and research contexts.



Date modified:

Planification de la gestion des urgences

Les catastrophes naturelles, les pandémies, les incidents informatiques et le terrorisme peuvent tous entraîner des situations d'urgence au Canada. Les urgences peuvent rapidement s'aggraver et prendre de l'ampleur, dépasser les frontières et prendre des dimensions internationales. La planification de la gestion des urgences peut sauver des vies, préserver l'environnement et protéger les biens en assurant une meilleure compréhension des risques et en contribuant à une société canadienne plus sécuritaire, prospère, durable, résistante et résiliente aux catastrophes.

La gestion des urgences constitue une des responsabilités fondamentales du gouvernement du Canada et une responsabilité collective de toutes les institutions gouvernementales fédérales. C'est la raison pour laquelle Sécurité publique Canada prend des mesures pour favoriser une approche coordonnée et une structure plus uniforme de gestion des urgences en fournissant des conseils aux institutions gouvernementales fédérales sur la façon d'élaborer des plans de gestion des urgences. Une approche coordonnée en matière de planification de la gestion des urgences permettra de renforcer la capacité du gouvernement du Canada à prévenir les catastrophes importantes et d'autres urgences, à se protéger, à intervenir lors de ces situations et à se rétablir de ces événements.

Le Guide pour la planification de la gestion des urgences aide les institutions fédérales à respecter leurs responsabilités, en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des urgences, en matière de préparation et de tenue à jour de plans de gestion des urgences propres à leur mandat particulier. Le Guide fournit un cadre de travail aux institutions gouvernementales fédérales pour entreprendre des évaluations tous risques propres à leur mandat et des activités de planification au sein des quatre fonctions intégrées de la gestion des urgences :

Guide pour la planification de la gestion des urgences - Comment élaborer un plan stratégique de gestion des urgences (PSGU)

Le Guide pour la planification de la gestion des urgences appuie la mise en œuvre de la Politique fédérale en matière de gestion des urgences et de la Loi sur la gestion des urgences (2007).Le guide présente des directives étape par étape sur le processus de planification qui repose sur les quatre piliers de la planification de la gestion des urgences. Il s'agit de l'outil clé conçu pour aider les institutions fédérales à respecter leurs obligations en matière de gestion des urgences.

Guide de planification de la continuité des activités  – Comment élaborer un plan de continuité des activités (PCA)

L'impossibilité d'assurer la prestation de services et de produits essentiels peut avoir de graves conséquences. Une organisation mal préparée s'expose à des risques et à des catastrophes éventuelles. Un plan de continuité des activités est un outil qui permet aux organismes non seulement d'atténuer les risques, mais aussi d'assurer la prestation continue de produits et de services malgré une interruption.

Le Guide de planification de la continuité des activités a été élaboré à l'appui de la Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement et de la Norme de sécurité opérationnelle - Programme de planification de la continuité des activités. Le Guide présente des lignes directrices sommaires et générales relatives à la planification de la continuité des activités (PCA).

Vocabulaire de la gestion des urgences

Le Vocabulaire de la gestion des urgences vise à favoriser l'interopérabilité et l'adoption d'une terminologie normalisée en matière de gestion des urgences pour toutes les institutions du gouvernement fédéral, et ce, à tous les paliers de gouvernement au pays. Élaboré par Sécurité publique Canada en collaboration avec le Bureau de la Traduction et Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada, le Vocabulaire renferme des termes et des définitions qui recouvrent plus de 200 concepts de la gestion des urgences qui sont utilisés dans les publications sur la gestion des urgences ainsi que dans des contextes opérationnels et de recherche.



Date de modification :