Post-Traumatic Stress Injuries and Support for Public Safety Officers

Overview

Public safety officers play a critical role in keeping our communities safe from a range of threats, putting their lives on the line to protect us. In the course of their daily work, public safety officers are repeatedly exposed to traumatic incidents, which can put them at great risk for operational stress injuries (OSI), including post-traumatic stress injuries (PTSI).

In recognition of the profound and lasting impacts that repeated traumatic exposures can have on mental health and personal resilience of public safety officers, Budget 2016 reiterated the Government's commitment to ensuring that public safety officers have the support and treatment they need when facing post-traumatic stress injuries.

Public Safety Canada (PS) is working closely with a broad stakeholder community, including all levels of government, along with other government departments and associations of first responders to develop a coordinated action plan on post-traumatic stress injuries in support of public safety officers. To date, PS and the Public Health Agency of Canada have hosted two roundtable discussions to facilitate stakeholder input into this action plan, and have stood up a Tri-Services Advisory Committee made up of representatives from firefighting, police and paramedic professional organizations to support a collaborative approach in its development and implementation.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a public safety officer?

Public safety officer is a broad term meant to include front-line personnel who ensure the safety and security of Canadians. These include first responders such as fire fighters, police, and paramedics, search and rescue volunteers, correctional services officers, border services officers, operational intelligence analysts, Indigenous emergency managers, and others working in the field.

What is an operational stress injury?

An operational stress injury is a non-medical term that is generally defined as “persistent, psychological difficulties resulting from operational duties”.

Within the broad category of operational stress injuries related to public safety officers and other operational personnel, a number of mental health issues can be described as Post-Traumatic Stress Injuries (PTSI), including depression, substance abuse, and clinically diagnosed post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

Why does Public Safety use the term “post-traumatic stress injury” rather than “post-traumatic stress disorder”?

While consulting with public safety officers, PS heard about the impact of mental health stigma in the public safety community, and how terms like “disorder” can have a negative connotation, which can deter public safety officers from seeking help or treatment for occupation-related mental health issues. As such PS and federal partners have adopted the term “post-traumatic stress injuries” to better characterize occupation-related mental health issues as injuries resulting from their daily work, and to help increase awareness that the mental health impacts of exposure to traumatic events extend beyond clinically diagnosed PTSD and include other issues, such as drug and alcohol abuse, anxiety, depression and others. The intent is that this language will help to reduce the stigma associated with mental health issues and build an environment of acceptance and inclusion.

What is the clinical definition of PTSD?

PTSD is an anxiety-related disorder caused by experiencing traumatic events, such as combat situations, physical or sexual assaults, disasters, terrorist attacks and serious accidents that, may lead to problems in functioning in social or family life, and at work or at school.

What are some of the symptoms associated to PTSD?

PTSD may include the following:

PTSD must be diagnosed by a certified clinician. If you or someone you know has experienced any of these symptoms, contact your doctor, or a registered mental health professional to discuss them.

Related links

Date modified:

Blessures de stress post traumatique et soutien aux agents de la sécurité publique

Aperçu

Les agents de la sécurité publique jouent un rôle essentiel dans le maintien de la sécurité de nos collectivités contre toute une gamme de menaces, risquant leur vie tous les jours pour nous protéger. Dans le cadre de leur travail quotidien, les agents de la sécurité publique sont exposés de manière répétitive à des incidents traumatisants, ce qui augmente leurs risques de blessures de stress opérationnel (BSO), y compris les blessures de stress post-traumatique (BSPT).

Reconnaissant les répercussions profondes et durables que des expositions à des événements traumatisants peuvent avoir sur la santé mentale et la résilience personnelle des agents de la sécurité publique, le gouvernement, dans le budget de 2016, réitère son engagement à s'assurer que les agents de la sécurité publique ont le soutien et les traitements dont ils ont besoin lorsqu'ils font face à des blessures liées au stress post-traumatique.

Sécurité publique Canada (SP) collabore étroitement avec une vaste communauté d'intervenants, y compris tous les paliers de gouvernement, ainsi que tout autre ministère et organisme gouvernemental représentant les premiers répondants afin d'élaborer un plan d'action coordonné sur les blessures de stress post-traumatique en appui aux agents de la sécurité publique. À ce jour, SP et l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada ont animé deux discussions en table ronde afin de faciliter les suggestions des intervenants pour ce plan d'action et ils ont mis sur pied un comité consultatif triservices composé de représentants provenant des organismes professionnels représentant les pompiers, les policiers et les ambulanciers afin de soutenir une approche collaboratrice pour son élaboration et sa mise en œuvre.

Foire aux questions

Qu'est-ce qu'un agent de la sécurité publique?

Le terme « agent de la sécurité publique » est un terme générique qui comprend le personnel de première ligne qui assure la sécurité des Canadiens. Cela comprend les premiers répondants comme les pompiers, les policiers, les ambulanciers, les bénévoles en recherche et sauvetage, les agents des services correctionnels, les agents des services frontaliers, les analystes des renseignements opérationnels, les gestionnaires des situations d'urgence autochtones et d'autres personnes travaillant sur le terrain.

Qu'est-ce qu'une blessure de stress opérationnel?

Une blessure de stress opérationnel est un terme non médical qui se définit, en général, comme étant des « difficultés psychologiques persistantes résultant des tâches opérationnelles. »

Au sein de la catégorie élargie des blessures de stress opérationnel liées aux agents de la sécurité publique et autre personnel opérationnel, il y a un certain nombre de problèmes de la santé mentale qui peuvent être décrits comme étant des blessures liées au stress post-traumatique (BSPT), y compris la dépression, la toxicomanie et le trouble de stress post-traumatique (TSPT) cliniquement diagnostiqué.

Pourquoi Sécurité publique utilise le terme « blessure de stress post-traumatique » plutôt que « trouble de stress post-traumatique »?

Pendant la consultation avec les agents de la sécurité publique, SP a entendu parlé des répercussions des stigmates liées à la santé mentale dans la communauté de la sécurité publique et de la manière dont le terme « trouble » peut être perçu de façon négative, ce qui peut rebuter les agents de la sécurité publique à demander de l'aide ou un traitement pour des problèmes de santé mentale professionnels. Par conséquent, SP et les partenaires fédéraux ont adopté le terme « blessures de stress post-traumatique » pour mieux caractériser les problèmes de santé mentale professionnels comme étant des blessures résultant des tâches quotidiennes et pour aider à sensibiliser les gens au fait que les répercussions sur la santé mentale de l'exposition à des événements traumatiques vont au-delà du TSPT cliniquement diagnostiqué et comprend d'autres problèmes, comme la toxicomanie et l'alcoolisme, l'anxiété, la dépression et autres. Le but est que ce libellé aidera à réduire les stigmates associés aux problèmes de santé mentale et créera un milieu d'acceptation et d'inclusion.

Quelle est la définition clinique du TSPT?

Le TSPT est un trouble anxieux causé par des événements traumatisants vécus, comme des situations de combat, des agressions physiques ou sexuelles, des catastrophes, des attaques terroristes et des accidents graves qui peuvent mener à des problèmes de comportement sociaux ou familiaux ainsi qu'au travail ou à l'école.

Quels sont certains des symptômes associés au TSPT?

Le TSPT peut comprendre les symptômes suivants :

Le TSPT doit être diagnostiqué par un clinicien certifié. Si vous, ou une personne que vous connaissez avez ressenti certains de ces symptômes, communiquez avec votre médecin ou un professionnel qualifié de la santé mentale afin d'en discuter.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :