National Office for Victims

Contact us

The National Office for Victims (NOV) is a central resource working to improve victims’ experience with the federal corrections and conditional release system. To do this it:

In 2020, the NOV celebrated its 15th anniversary. Check out some highlights from the work of the NOV during the 2019-2020 fiscal year.

Information for Victims of Federal Offenders

Under the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, victims of federal offenders (i.e., an offender who has been sentenced to serve two years or more in federal custody) may receive certain information about the person who harmed them. They may also provide a victim statement about the emotional, physical and financial impact the crime has had on their life and any safety concerns they may have. These statements can be updated any time while the offender is under sentence and can be considered in case management decisions. To send and/or receive information from the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) and/or the Parole Board of Canada (PBC) electronically, victims may register through the Victims Portal, a secure online service available to them and/or their named representative(s).

Victims of federal offenders can receive certain notifications about the person who harmed them, including:

To find out how to register for the federal victim notification service, please call:
Correctional Service of Canada
1-866-806-2275 (toll-free)
csc-scc.gc.ca/victims/

Parole Board of Canada
1-866-789-4636 (toll-free)
canada.ca/en/parole-board/services/victims

  Video - Services for Victims of Crime

Publications

An important part of the NOV’s mandate is to write, publish and distribute information packages and guides for victims, the organizations that help them, and members of the general public. These publications include:

To order hardcopies of any of these publications free of charge, please complete the Publication Order Form.

For more information

The Canadian Victims Bill of Rights

The Canadian Victims Bill of Rights (CVBR) created four statutory rights for victims of crime: the right to information, protection, participation and to seek restitution. It also ensures that victims who are of the opinion that their rights under the CVBR have been denied or infringed in any way by a federal department or agency can file a complaint.

Learn more about Making a Complaint under the CVBR to the Public Safety Portfolio.

The NOV has been hosting stakeholder engagement sessions about the role of victims in the federal corrections and conditional release system and victims’ rights to information, participation and protection under the CVBR. The Summary reports are available below:

Definitions

Victim
The Corrections and Conditional Release Act defines a victim as someone who was harmed or who suffered physical or emotional damage as the result of an offence. If a victim has died, is ill, or is otherwise unable to act for him or herself, the victim's spouse, common-law partner, relative, dependent or anyone who has in law or fact custody or is responsible for the care or support of the victim may request and receive information on behalf of the victim.
Federal offender
A federal offender is someone who has been sentenced to two years or more in federal custody. The Correctional Service of Canada is responsible for managing federal offenders in institutions of various security levels and supervising these offenders when under conditional release in the community. The Parole Board of Canada is an independent administrative tribunal that makes quality conditional release and record suspension decisions, and clemency recommendations.
Date modified:

Bureau national pour les victimes d'actes criminels

Nous joindre

Le Bureau national pour les victimes d’actes criminels (BNVAC) est une ressource centrale qui vise à améliorer l’expérience des victimes avec le système correctionnel fédéral et le système de mise en liberté sous condition. Pour ce faire, il :

En 2020, le BNVAC a célébré son 15e anniversaire. Découvrez quelques faits saillants des travaux du BNVAC au cours de l'exercice 2019-2020.

Information pour les victimes de délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale

En vertu de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, les victimes de délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale (c.‑à‑d. une personne condamnée à deux ans ou plus en détention fédérale) peuvent obtenir certains renseignements concernant le délinquant qui leur a causé des torts. Elles peuvent également fournir une déclaration à propos des conséquences émotionnelles, physiques et financières qu’a eues l’acte criminel sur leur vie et des préoccupations qu’elles peuvent avoir au chapitre de la sécurité. Ces déclarations peuvent être mises à jour en tout temps pendant que le délinquant purge sa peine et peuvent être prises en compte dans les décisions sur la gestion des cas. Afin de recevoir des renseignements de la part du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) et/ou de la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada (CLCC) et leur transmettre des renseignements électroniquement, les victimes peuvent s’inscrire au Portail des victimes, un service en ligne sécurisé qui leur est offert et est offert à leur(s) représentant(s).

Les victimes de délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale peuvent recevoir des avis sur la personne qui leur a causé des torts, y compris :

Pour savoir comment vous inscrire aux services fédéraux de notification aux victimes, veuillez appeler aux numéros suivants :
Service correctionnel du Canada
1‑866‑806‑2275 (sans frais)
csc-scc.gc.ca/victims-victimes

Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada
1‑866‑789‑4636 (sans frais)
canada.ca/fr/commission-liberations-conditionnelles/services/victimes

  Vidéo - Services pour les victimes d'actes criminels

Publications

Une grande partie du mandat du Bureau est de rédiger, de publier et de diffuser des trousses d’information et des guides pour les victimes, les organismes qui les aident ainsi que le grand public. Les titres suivants comptent parmi ses publications.

Pour commander des copies papier sans frais de ces publications, veuillez compléter le formulaire pour la commande de publication.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements

La Charte canadienne des droits des victimes

La Charte canadienne des droits des victimes (CCDV) confère quatre droits aux victimes : le droit à l’information, le droit à la protection, le droit à la participation et le droit au dédommagement. Elle veille également à ce qu’une victime qui estime qu’un ministère ou un organisme fédéral a violé un droit qui lui est conféré par la CCDV, ou l’en a privée, puisse déposer une plainte. Apprenez-en davantage sur le dépôt d’une plainte en vertu de la CCDV auprès du portefeuille de Sécurité publique Canada.

Le BNVAC a tenu des séances de mobilisation des intervenants au sujet du rôle des victimes dans le système correctionnel fédéral et de mise en liberté sous condition et de leurs droits à l’information, à la participation et à la protection en vertu de la CCDV. Les rapports sommaires sont disponibles ci-dessous.

Définitions

Victime
Selon la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, une victime est une personne qui a subi des dommages corporels ou moraux par suite de la perpétration d’une infraction. Si cette personne est décédée, malade ou incapable, son époux, la personne qui vit avec elle, l’un de ses parents, une personne à sa charge, quiconque en a la garde, en droit ou en fait, de même que toute personne aux soins de laquelle elle est confiée ou qui est chargée de son entretien peut demander et recevoir de l’information au nom de la victime.
Délinquant sous responsabilité fédérale
Un délinquant sous responsabilité fédérale est un individu qui a été condamné à une peine de deux ans ou plus en détention fédérale. Le Service correctionnel du Canada est responsable de la gestion des délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale dans les établissements de divers niveaux de sécurité et de la surveillance des délinquants libérés sous condition dans la collectivité. La Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada est un tribunal administratif indépendant qui prend des décisions de qualité en matière de mise en liberté sous condition et de suspension du casier et formule des recommandations relatives à la clémence.
Date de modification :