International Police Peacekeeping and Peace Operations

Canada's police are building a more secure world.

Canadian police have been participating in international peacekeeping missions since 1989.  Since then, more than 3,000 Canadian police have been part of more than 53 missions around the globe, supporting the Government of Canada's commitment to global peace and security.

By building the capacity of foreign police to maintain law and order, Canadian police, in cooperation with international partners, help create a safer and more stable global environment. This paves the way for long-term development and can prevent illicit activities from spilling across borders into other countries, including Canada.

Foreign Policy and International Assistance

International policing efforts are an essential element of Canada's goal to build a more secure world by working to stabilize fragile and conflict-affected states such as Haiti, Afghanistan and Sudan.

Deploying police into fragile and conflict-affected states is in line with commitments made by Canada and other G8 countries to strengthen the international availability of civilian experts to support the rule of law, security institutions and international peace operations.

Benefits to Domestic Policing

Twenty-six municipal and provincial police agencies from across Canada make up approximately 70% of all Canadian deployments, with the RCMP comprising the other 30%.

By participating in missions, police officers gain invaluable professional development experience such as leadership opportunities and greater cultural awareness. Once police officers have returned from mission to their home police service, their experiences can help strengthen police services relationships with diaspora communities. In certain cases, it can even bolster domestic police capacity to investigate transnational crimes.

The Canadian Police Arrangement (CPA)

The Canadian Police Arrangement (CPA) is the framework through which Canadian police are deployed to international police peacekeeping and peace operations (IPP) around the world.

The CPA is a partnership between Public Safety Canada, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT), the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP).

The CPA assesses international requests for Canadian engagement and recommends IPP operations for Canadian police participation.

International Peace Operations Branch

The RCMP's International Peace Operations Branch (IPOB) manages the deployment of Canadian police, including planning and evaluating missions, selecting and training personnel from across the country and providing support throughout deployment.

For current mission information, deployment schedule, information of partner police organizations and peacekeeper diaries please visit the IPOB site.

Related Links

Government of Canada

International Organizations

Date modified:

Missions internationales des policiers affectés au maintien de la paix

Les policiers canadiens bâtissent un monde plus sécuritaire.

Les policiers canadiens participent aux opérations de paix internationales depuis 1989. Depuis ce temps, plus de 3000 policiers canadiens ont participé à plus de 53 opérations de paix partout dans le monde, soutenant ainsi l'engagement de paix et de sécurité dans le monde du gouvernement du Canada.

En aidant la police étrangère à être mieux en mesure de maintenir l'ordre public, les policiers canadiens, en collaboration avec des partenaires internationaux, contribuent à instaurer un climat plus sécuritaire et plus stable dans ces pays. Un tel climat facilite ensuite le développement à long terme et permet d'éviter que des activités illicites ne franchissent les frontières d'autres pays, y compris celles du Canada.

La politique étrangère et l'aide internationale

Les efforts des services de police internationaux sont un élément essentiel pour réaliser l'objectif du Canada qui est de bâtir un monde plus sécuritaire en travaillant à stabiliser les États fragiles et touchés par un conflit, comme en Haïti, en Afghanistan et au Soudan.

Le déploiement de policiers dans les États fragiles et touchés par un conflit est conforme aux engagements pris par le Canada et d'autres pays du G8 de renforcer l'accès international à des experts civils, à l'appui de la primauté du droit et aux institutions de sécurité ainsi que les missions de paix internationales.

Avantages pour les services de police nationale

Environ 70 % de tous les déploiements canadiens est composé de 26 services de police municipaux ou provinciaux dans l'ensemble du Canada, et l'autre 30 % représente la GRC.

En participant à des missions, les policiers acquièrent une expérience précieuse de perfectionnement professionnel comme les possibilités de leadership et une plus grande sensibilisation culturelle. Une fois que les policiers sont rentrés de mission et qu'ils retournent à leur service de police à domicile, leurs expériences permettent de renforcer les relations avec les collectivités dispersées des services de police. Dans certains cas, il peut même améliorer la capacité de la police nationale d'enquêter sur les crimes transnationaux.

Arrangement sur la police civile au Canada (APCC)

L'Arrangement sur la police civile au Canada (APCC) constitue le cadre qui régit le déploiement de policiers canadiens à l'appui d'opérations de paix et de maintien de la paix partout dans le monde.

Il s'agit d'un partenariat conclu entre Sécurité publique Canada, le ministère des Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, l'Agence canadienne de développement international et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

L'APCC évalue et recommande les opérations de paix et de maintien de la paix qui nécessitent la participation des policiers canadiens.

Sous-direction des missions de paix internationales

La Sous-direction des missions de paix internationales gère le déploiement des policiers canadiens, en veillant notamment à planifier et à évaluer les missions, à sélectionner et à former le personnel provenant de partout au pays, puis à lui fournir du soutien tout au long de la mission.

Pour obtenir de l'information sur la mission actuelle, le calendrier des déploiements, les organisations de policières partenaires et les histoires des gardiens de la paix, veuillez consulter le site Web de la Sous-direction des missions de paix internationales.

Liens connexes

Gouvernement du Canada

Organisations internationales



Date de modification :