Awards of Excellence - Nomination Process

General Rules


Prospective nominees, as well as those forwarding nominations, must meet the eligibility criteria outlined on the Eligibility page.

Award categories

Nominations must be directed to one of the four (4) different award categories as shown on the Description of Awards page. While examples are provided of what might qualify a nominee for each award, these are to be used for general guidance only, and are not limiting. Each nomination will be evaluated on its own merit, and relative to the context and supporting information provided.


The nominee must not object to being nominated for an Award of Excellence. This will be verified through the nomination process.

Frequency of nominations

Individuals or groups may only be nominated in a single award category in a given year. If a nomination is not successful, it may be resubmitted for consideration in a subsequent year.

Repeat nominations

The recipient of a National SAR Program Award of Excellence cannot be nominated for a subsequent award in the same category. Previous recipients may, however, be nominated for new achievements in a different category. For example, the recipient of the 2010 Award of Excellence in Education and Training may be nominated for the Exemplary Service Award in 2012, for a lifetime of contributions to search and rescue as a team leader and front-line responder.

How to apply

To submit a nomination, please download the form.

Submission deadline - September 2nd 2016

Completed nominations must be sent electronically to  and must be received no later than September 2nd, 2016 at 23:59 hrs Eastern time.

Date modified: