Public Safety Broadband Network

Public Safety Broadband Networks are secure high-speed wireless data communications networks. These can be used by emergency responders and public safety personnel to communicate with each other in emergency situations and during day-to-day operations, and hold the potential to improve the effectiveness and safety of first responders and the public safety community.

New technology offers the potential to improve the safety and security of Canadians, including through improved communications infrastructure for first responders and governments.

The Government of Canada, through a newly-created Federal PSBN Task Team, is consulting provincial, territorial, and municipal governments, first responders, and the private sector on implementation models for a potential PSBN in Canada.

This Federal PSBN Task Team is comprised of representatives from Public Safety Canada, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, and Defence Research and Development Canada’s Centre for Security Science (DRDC CSS) to advance work on this file.

The multi-disciplinary Task Team will help ensure that all relevant stakeholders are engaged and that future decisions around potential PSBN options are evidence-based.

Targeted Stakeholder Engagement

The implementation of a PSBN in Canada would require close collaboration between governments, industry, and end-users of the system. Working in coordination with these partners, the Government of Canada continues to make progress to inform decisions around the potential implementation of a PSBN in Canada.

The Federal PSBN task team is leading targeted stakeholder engagement to ensure key stakeholders have the opportunity to share their views on implementation models for a potential PSBN. In addition to FPT stakeholders, Tri-Services (police, paramedics and firefighters), and the municipalities, the Task Team will be engaging a range of stakeholder groups including industry (e.g., commercial carriers, telecommunications sector and related equipment providers), critical infrastructure operators, representatives from rural and remote communities, Indigenous community representatives, academia and U.S. federal public safety counterparts.

Allocation of Public Safety Spectrum

In 2012, the Government of Canada allocated 10MHz of the 700MHz spectrum for the public safety community. It announced the intention to allocate an additional 10MHz of the spectrum in 2015.

Analysis

In order to build the evidence to inform future decisions, the Federal Task Team will be conducting in-depth economic and governance analysis of potential models. Results of these analyses will be shared with stakeholders.

Review and Validation of End-User Requirements

As part of the targeted stakeholder engagement, the Federal PSBN Task Team will also be engaging end-users of a PSBN in Canada. Parallel research and development activities being conducting by DRDC CSS will also simulate and validate many of these requirements in a test environment, working directly with emergency responders.

Related information

Date modified:

Réseau à large bande dédié à la sécurité publique

Les réseaux à large bande pour la sécurité publique sont des réseaux de communication de données sécurisés, à haute vitesse et sans fil. Les intervenants d’urgence et le personnel de la sécurité publique peuvent les utiliser pour communiquer entre eux dans les situations d’urgence et dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions au quotidien; ces réseaux peuvent améliorer l’efficacité et la sécurité des premiers intervenants et de la communauté de la sécurité publique.

La nouvelle technologie a le potentiel d’améliorer la sécurité des Canadiens, y compris au moyen d’une infrastructure de communication améliorée pour les premiers intervenants et les gouvernements.

Le gouvernement du Canada, par l’entremise d’une nouvelle équipe de travail fédérale sur le réseau à large bande pour la sécurité publique, consulte les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les administrations municipales, les premiers intervenants et le secteur privé sur des modèles de mise en œuvre d’un tel réseau au Canada.

Cette équipe de travail fédérale sur le réseau à large bande pour la sécurité publique est composée de représentants de Sécurité publique Canada, de Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada et du Centre des sciences pour la sécurité de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada. Elle a pour but de faire progresser les travaux dans ce dossier.

Cette équipe de travail multidisciplinaire veillera à ce que tous les intervenants concernés soient mobilisés et que les décisions futures concernant les options possibles d'un RLBSP soient fondées sur des données probantes.

Mobilisation ciblée des intervenants

La mise en œuvre d'un réseau à large bande pour la sécurité publique au Canada nécessiterait une étroite collaboration entre les gouvernements, l'industrie et les utilisateurs finaux du système. Le gouvernement du Canada, en travaillant en coordination avec ces partenaires, continue de faire des progrès afin d'éclairer les décisions entourant la mise en œuvre possible d'un réseau à large bande pour la sécurité publique au Canada.

L’équipe de travail fédérale sur le réseau à large bande pour la sécurité publique dirige une mobilisation ciblée des intervenants afin de veiller à ce que les principaux intervenants aient l'occasion échanger leurs perspectives sur les modèles de mise en œuvre d'un possible réseau à large bande pour la sécurité publique. En plus des intervenants fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux, les trois services d'intervention d'urgence (les policiers, les ambulanciers paramédicaux et les pompiers) et les municipalités, l'équipe de travail mobilisera une variété de groupes d'intervenants, y compris l'industrie (par exemple les transporteurs commerciaux, le secteur des télécommunications et les fournisseurs de matériel connexe), les exploitants d'infrastructures essentielles, les représentants des collectivités rurales et éloignées, les représentants des communautés autochtones, le milieu universitaire et nos homologues fédéraux de la sécurité publique aux États‑Unis.

Attribution du spectre pour la sécurité publique

En 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a alloué 10 des 700 mégahertz (MHz) du spectre dédié à la communauté de la sécurité publique. En 2015, il a annoncé son intention d'allouer 10 MHz additionnels inclus dans ce spectre.

Analyse

L'équipe de travail fédérale mènera une analyse fondée sur des données probantes des modèles possibles afin d'établir les éléments probants visant à éclairer les décisions à venir.

Examen et validation des besoins des utilisateurs finaux

Dans le cadre de la mobilisation ciblée des intervenants, l'équipe de travail fédérale sur le réseau à large bande pour la sécurité publique mobilisera également les utilisateurs finaux d'un tel réseau au Canada. De plus, dans le cadre des activités de recherche et de développement menées en parallèle par le Centre des sciences pour la sécurité de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada, on effectuera une simulation et une validation de bon nombre de ces besoins dans un environnement d'essai, en travaillant directement avec les intervenants d'urgence.

Renseignements connexes

Date de modification :