Canada's Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction: Advisory Committee

Canada's Platform Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from seven organizations, who hold permanent organizational membership seats, and four elected members elected biennially by the General Membership of Canada's Platform.

The Advisory Committee’s goal is to represent the shared views of the Canadian society by encouraging both membership among private, public and non-government sectors; Indigenous, and` academic groups; community and faith-based organizations; and professional/industrial associations.

Advisory Committee Tasks and Activities

In support of the development and implementation of Canada's Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) the Advisory Committee will:

Guiding Principles

The following principles will be used to guide the activities of Canada's Platform Advisory Committee:

Advisory Committee Membership

There are two types of members sitting on the Advisory Committee; permanent and elected members. Permanent members are drawn from established engagement fora while elected members represent key sectors to ensure representation of organizations and interests beyond the permanent members’ engagement fora. Members of the Committee are appointed for a 2 year term.

Advisory Committee Membership

Permanent Members


Public Safety Canada (PS)

Stephanie Durand, Director General, Policy and Outreach Directorate

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Senior Officials Responsible for Emergency Management

Michael Templeton, Yukon Emergency Measures Organization

Critical Infrastructure National Cross-Sector Forum

Francis Bradley, Canadian Electricity Association

Domestic Group for Emergency Management

Sarah Sargent, Canadian Red Cross

Canadian Risk and Hazards Network

Marion Boon

Federal Directors General Emergency Management Committee

David McCormack, Natural Resources Canada

Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM)

Alana Lavoie

Elected Members

Elected Member (2014-2016)

Laurie Pearce

Elected Member (2014-2016)

Rodney Yip

Elected Member (2014-2016)

John Saunders

Elected Member (2014-2016)

Ian Burton

Other special guests or advisors may be invited to participate in Advisory Committee meetings as required, depending on the issues to be addressed.

Meeting Information

The Advisory Committee meets bi-monthly with additional meetings as required.  Members will need to commit to participating in at least four meetings. Members will be reimbursed for expenses incurred during their work on the Advisory Committee, such as travel and accommodation, according to the National Joint Council Travel Directive.

All decisions are recorded in a formal record of decision and are available upon request to the Disaster Risk Reduction Secretariat.

Please contact us should you wish to receive a copy of the Advisory Committee record of discussion.

How to Apply

Public Safety Canada will be launching an electoral process fall 2016. For more information, please contact us.

Contact Information

Secretariat functions to the committee are provided by Public Safety Canada’s Emergency Management and Programs Branch. For any further questions or inquiries please contacts Canada’s Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction Secretariat.
Phone: 613-991-9748

Date modified: