Terms of reference of the Cross-Cultural Roundtable on Security


Overview

The Government is committed to addressing national security and public safety issues such as terrorism and hate crimes in collaboration with concerned communities across the country. Security and intelligence agencies, law enforcement and other government departments are committed to engaging and working with communities and families to develop an improved understanding of issues such as hate crimes and extremism in order to more effectively prevent terrorism and promote social cohesion.

A key component of the Government's citizen engagement initiatives is the Cross-Cultural Roundtable on Security (CCRS), created to engage the Government and Canadian communities in a long-term dialogue on matters related to national security as they impact a diverse and pluralistic society.

The Government needs the help and support of Canadians to make its approach to security effective. The CCRS will provide a forum to discuss emerging trends and developments emanating from national security matters and it will serve to better inform policy makers.

Mandate

The mandate of the CCRS is to engage Canadians and the Government of Canada in an ongoing dialogue on national security in a diverse and pluralistic society.

Scope

The CCRS will accomplish this by:

Reports

Regular reports following meetings of the CCRS will be provided to the Minister of Public Safety and the Minister of Justice, and to relevant stakeholders within the Government of Canada. The Ministers will consider the CCRS' input in the development of policy relating to national security.

Membership

Appointments

The Minister of Public Safety and the Minister of Justice will appoint a maximum of 15 members, not including ex-officio members, to the CCRS. Members may not send substitutes to meetings. The Minister of Public Safety and the Minister of Justice will appoint members for a term of two years, with a possibility of an additional one year term at the discretion of the Minister of Public Safety and the Minister of Justice.

Eligibility

Consideration will be given to Applicants with the following experience:

To ensure that membership reflects a diversity of individuals, expertise and experience, a screening panel will periodically review all applications and select those applications that meet the aforementioned advertised criteria. The panel will also take into consideration a number of other factors that would contribute to the CCRS reflecting Canadian diversity. These factors include:

A list of qualified candidates will be provided to the Minister of Public Safety and the Minister of Justice who will appoint members from the pool of recommended applications.

CCRS Functions

Chair and Vice-Chair

The Minister of Public Safety and the Minister of Justice will jointly appoint a Chair and Vice-Chair from among CCRS members.

Role of the Chair and Vice-Chair

Role of the Chair

Role of the Vice-Chair

Members

Members of the CCRS will:

Meetings

Meetings of the CCRS will be held at least twice a year and no more than four times a year.

Meetings of the CCRS may be either in person or by any other effective means of communication.

Meetings of the CCRS will be held in camera.

The Minister of Public Safety and the Minister of Justice will meet with the CCRS at least once per year. The Minister responsible for Multiculturalism will be invited by the Minister of Public Safety and the Minister of Justice to CCRS meetings.

Government of Canada officials will attend meetings of the CCRS, as appropriate.

The Secretariat, in consultation with the Chair, will request meetings of the CCRS be held on specific issues, where appropriate.

CCRS dialogue is not intended to seek a consensus view, but rather ensure that security-related decisions by the Government of Canada continue to be well-informed as to the impact, or potential impact, on Canadian communities, and that members are similarly well informed regarding security matters as they engage in their community work.

Secretariat

The Department of Public Safety, through the CCRS Secretariat will:

Official languages

CCRS deliberations will be in English and French.

Simultaneous translation in English and in French will be provided at CCRS meetings.

All documents issued by the CCRS will be in English and French.

Review

At the discretion of the Minister of Public Safety and the Minister of Justice, the terms of reference and membership of the CCRS may be reviewed and adjusted to respond to changing needs.

Conflict of interest

As a forum for dialogue with the Government of Canada, it is vital that the members of the CCRS provide objective perspectives on national security measures and policies. In discussing the impacts national security measures have on Canada's diverse and pluralistic communities it is important that conflicts of interest by members of the CCRS be avoided. This will help ensure that the most benefit for all participants is derived from the CCRS. Therefore, the following Code applies to each member upon appointment.  

Public Scrutiny

  1. Members have an obligation to perform their functions and arrange their private affairs in a manner that will not place or be seen to place them in a real or potential conflict with the mandate and scope of the CCRS.
  2. Members must not have private interests that would be affected particularly or significantly by suggestions or recommendations that the CCRS may make to the Government of Canada.

Public Interest

  1. After appointment, members must arrange their private affairs in a manner that will prevent real, potential or apparent conflicts of interest from arising. The member shall disclose in writing to the Minister of Public Safety and the Minister of Justice the circumstances of a conflict between the private interests of a member and their functions with the CCRS.

Preferential Treatment

  1. Members shall not use their position on the CCRS to assist private entities or persons if this would result in preferential treatment to any entity or person.

CCRS Information

  1. Members shall not knowingly take advantage of or benefit from, information that is obtained in the course of their functions that is not generally available to the public. A member shall not use information obtained in their position as a member that is not generally available to the public so as to further their private interests or those of their relatives or friends, or to further another person's private interests.
  2. Members shall not, after they cease being members of the CCRS, act in such a manner as to take improper advantage of their previous office.
  3. A member shall not use their position as a member to influence or attempt to influence a decision of another person so as to further the public office holder's private interests or those of his or her relatives or friends or to improperly further another person's private interests.
  4. A member who is not in compliance with this Code, may have their appointment terminated.

Compensation

Members will serve on a voluntary basis but will be reimbursed for travel and accommodation costs related to their participation at meetings of the CCRS in accordance with Treasury Board Guidelines.



Date modified:

Mandat de la Table ronde transculturelle sur la sécurité

Aperçu

Le gouvernement s'est engagé à s'occuper des questions liées à la sécurité nationale et à la sécurité de la population comme le terrorisme et les crimes haineux en se concertant avec les collectivités concernées partout au pays. Les organes de sécurité et de renseignement ainsi que les organismes d'exécution de la loi et d'autres ministères se sont engagés à dialoguer et à travailler avec les collectivités et les familles en vue d'améliorer la compréhension de problèmes comme les crimes haineux et l'extrémisme afin d'adopter des tactiques préventives plus efficaces et de promouvoir la cohésion sociale.

Un élément clé de la politique du gouvernement pour susciter l'engagement des citoyens est la création de la Table ronde transculturelle sur la sécurité (TRTS), dont le but est de mobiliser les Canadiens et Canadiennes ainsi que le gouvernement du Canada en vue d'un dialogue à long terme sur des questions liées à la sécurité nationale ayant un impact sur la société pluraliste et diversifiée qu'est la nôtre.

Le gouvernement a besoin de l'appui de la population pour assurer l'efficacité de son approche en matière de sécurité. La TRTS sera un forum de discussion sur les nouvelles tendances et les faits nouveaux découlant des questions liées à la sécurité nationale, et elle permettra de fournir aux décideurs les moyens d'élaborer des politiques mieux éclairées.

Mandat

La TRTS a pour mandat de faire participer les Canadiens et Canadiennes et le gouvernement du Canada à un dialogue soutenu sur la sécurité nationale au sein d'une société pluraliste et diversifiée.

Portée

La TRTS remplira son mandat en :

Rapports

Des rapports des réunions de la TRTS seront présentés régulièrement au ministre de la Sécurité publique et au ministre de la Justice ainsi qu'aux intervenants pertinents travaillant au sein du gouvernement du Canada. Les ministres tiendront compte des observations de la TRTS dans l'élaboration des politiques liées à la sécurité nationale.

Composition des membres

Nominations

Mis à part les membres d'office, le ministre de la Sécurité publique et le ministre de la Justice nommeront un maximum de 15 membres à la TRTS, sans compter les membres nommés d'office. Les membres ne peuvent pas se faire remplacer aux réunions. Les membres sont nommés par le ministre de la Sécurité publique et le ministre de la Justice pour un mandat de deux ans, avec la possibilité de prolonger le mandat d'une autre année, à la discrétion du ministre de la Sécurité publique et du ministre de la Justice.

Admissibilité

Pour que leur demande soit prise en considération, les candidats et candidates doivent :

Pour s'assurer que la composition de la Table ronde reflète une diversité des membres de la société, des compétences et de l'expérience, un comité de contrôle étudiera périodiquement toutes les demandes et sélectionnera celles qui répondent le mieux aux critères susmentionnés annoncés. Le comité tiendra aussi compte d'un certain nombre d'autres facteurs qui permettront à la TRTS de mieux refléter la diversité canadienne. Ces facteurs comprennent ce qui suit :

Une liste de candidates et de candidats qualifiés sera remise au ministre de la Sécurité publique et au ministre de la Justice, qui choisiront les membres de la TRTS dans la réserve des demandes recommandées.

Fonctions de la TRTS

Présidence et vice-présidence

Le ministre de la Sécurité publique et le ministre de la Justice nommeront conjointement un président ou une présidente et un vice-président ou une vice-présidente qu'ils choisiront parmi les membres de la TRTS.

Rôles des personnes nommées à la présidence et à la vice-présidence

Rôle de la personne nommée à la présidence

Rôle de la personne nommée à la vice-présidence

Membres

Les membres de la TRTS sont tenus de faire ce qui suit :

Réunions

Les membres de la TRTS se réunissent au moins deux fois par an, mais pas plus de quatre fois.

Les réunions de la TRTS peuvent avoir lieu en personne ou être organisées selon d'autres moyens de communication efficaces.

Les réunions de la TRTS se tiennent à huis clos.

Le ministre de la Sécurité publique et le ministre de la Justice se réunissent avec les membres de la TRTS au moins une fois par an. Ils inviteront le ministre d'État au Multiculturalisme à participer aux réunions de la TRTS.

Au besoin, des fonctionnaires du gouvernement fédéral peuvent assister aux réunions.

Le cas échéant, le Secrétariat, en collaboration avec la personne nommée à la présidence, peut demander que des réunions de la TRTS soient tenues pour discuter de problèmes particuliers.

Les discussions des membres ne visent pas nécessairement à obtenir un point de vue consensuel, mais plutôt à s'assurer que les décisions prises par le gouvernement du Canada sur le plan de la sécurité continuent d'être bien éclairées en ce qui concerne leurs répercussions ou leurs répercussions éventuelles sur les collectivités canadiennes, et à ce que les membres soient également bien informés des questions liées à la sécurité alors qu'ils s'apprêtent à entreprendre leur travail dans les communautés.

Secrétariat

Par l'entremise du Secrétariat de la TRTS, le ministère de la Sécurité publique peut :

Langues officielles

Les délibérations de la TRTS se font en français et en anglais. Un service de traduction simultanée en français et en anglais est fourni pendant les réunions. Tous les documents publiés par la TRTS sont disponibles en français et en anglais.

Révision

À la discrétion du ministre de la Sécurité publique et du ministre de la Justice, le mandat et la composition de la TRTS peuvent être revus et modifiés afin de satisfaire aux besoins changeants.

Conflits d'intérêts

À titre de cadre d'un dialogue avec le gouvernement du Canada, il est essentiel que les membres de la TRTS fournissent des points de vue objectifs sur les politiques et les mesures de sécurité nationale. Au cours de leurs discussions sur les répercussions que les mesures de sécurité nationale pourraient avoir sur les collectivités diversifiées et pluralistes du Canada, il est important que les membres de la TRTS évitent tout conflit d'intérêts. Cela permet à tous les participants de tirer les meilleurs avantages de la TRTS. Par conséquent, le Code suivant s'applique à tous les membres désignés.

Surveillance du public

  1. Les membres doivent exécuter leurs fonctions et organiser leurs vies privées de manière à ne pas les mettre ou sembler les mettre dans une position de conflit réel ou potentiel à l'égard du mandat ou de la portée de la TRTS.
  2. Les membres ne doivent pas avoir d'intérêts personnels pouvant être touchés d'une manière explicite ou de façon importante par des suggestions ou des recommandations que la TRTS pourrait présenter au gouvernement du Canada.

Intérêt public

  1. Après leur nomination, les membres doivent organiser leurs vies privées de manière à ce que des conflits d'intérêts réels, potentiels ou apparents ne puissent survenir. Les membres sont tenus de communiquer par écrit au ministre de la Sécurité publique et au ministre de la Justice les situations de conflit entre les intérêts privés d'un membre et leurs fonctions au sein de la TRTS.

Traitement préférentiel

  1. Les membres ne doivent pas utiliser leur poste de membre de la TRTS pour venir en aide à des personnes physiques ou morales si cela peut occasionner un traitement de faveur.

Renseignements obtenus dans le cadre des activités de la TRTS

  1. Il est interdit aux membres de tirer avantage ou bénéfice des renseignements obtenus dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions qui, de façon générale, ne sont pas accessibles au public. Il est interdit aux membres d'utiliser les renseignements qu'ils ont obtenus dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions au sein de la TRTS et qui, de façon générale, ne sont pas accessibles au public, de façon à favoriser leurs intérêts personnels ou ceux de parents ou d'amis ou pour favoriser ceux de toute autre personne.
  2. Il est interdit aux anciens membres de la TRTS d'agir de manière à tirer un avantage indu de leurs charges antérieures.
  3. Un membre ne peut se prévaloir de sa charge au sein de la TRTS pour influencer ou tenter d'influencer la décision d'une autre personne de façon à favoriser ses intérêts personnels ou ceux d'un membre de sa parenté ou d'un ami, ou encore, d'une façon indue, ceux de toute autre personne.
  4. La nomination d'un membre peut être résiliée s'il ne respecte pas ce Code.

Rémunération

Les membres participeront bénévolement à la Table ronde, mais les frais de déplacement et d'hébergement engagés dans le cadre de leur participation aux réunions de la TRTS leur seront remboursés, conformément aux lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor.



Date de modification :