Summary Report of the Meeting of the Cross-Cultural Roundtable on Security

November 3-5, 2017 Regina, Saskatchewan

For the first time since its inception, the Cross-Cultural Roundtable on Security (CCRS) met in Regina, Saskatchewan. The 31st meeting of the Roundtable offered members an opportunity to share community-based insights with the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness as well as senior officials from the Canada Border Services Agency, the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS), the Department of Justice, Global Affairs Canada, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP). CCRS members also had the chance to hear from and exchange with two local organizations—the Islamic Association of Saskatchewan and the Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations—on their realities and initiatives being undertaken to address challenges faced.

Both Minister Goodale and Public Safety Associate Deputy Minister, Vincent Rigby, took the opportunity to thank members for their participation in the Roundtable. They acknowledged the significance of CCRS members’ unique perspectives on strategies to protect the safety and security of Canadians. The breadth and diversity of their experiences and background yields invaluable input that helps the Government of Canada make decisions about complex issues.

The meeting theme, “Continuing the Dialogue on Canada’s Safety and Security”, served as a platform for government officials to gain community-based insight from CCRS members on several policy files and initiatives. CSIS obtained input on effective strategies for building trust with the public and fostering confidence in the Service. Suggestions included increased investing in a diverse corporate culture, fostering long term relationships with key people within communities, re-visiting its website content to promote a more positive image of the work CSIS does, and translating communications products into multiple languages.

The Department of Justice also benefitted from members’ perspectives with respect to the Canadian Criminal Justice System review. The need to focus on preventative measures, address the issue of Indigenous overrepresentation and thoroughly consider the implications associated with mandatory minimum sentencing were emphasized by the Roundtable. Members cautioned on the overreliance on mandatory minimum sentencing, particularly as it relates to crimes that are not serious in nature, as they believe it may do more harm than good for achieving societal change. Alternatively, increasing the focus on preventative approaches was advocated as a more efficient and effective way forward. Justice’s forthcoming consultation efforts will offer formal opportunities for the CCRS members to contribute.

A concrete initiative brought forward to the Roundtable for members’ awareness and comment was Public Safety’s national public awareness campaign on drug-impaired driving targeting youth aged 16 to 24. PS presented a series of animatics considered as a basis for the video that will launch the advertising campaign. Members commended the project and saw potential in every scenario given that they all featured youth characters at the forefront. The Roundtable put forward ideas to further help grab the target audience’s attention such as amplifying slower reaction times, incorporating consequences to a youth’s appearance / physical self (e.g., wheelchair), and involving the death of a youth’s friend.  

PS also provided an update on the Canada Centre for Community Engagement and Prevention of Violence at this meeting. According to CCRS members, the occurrence of radicalization to violence among youth continues to be of ongoing concern to communities across the country. Members’ recommendation for raising public awareness and understanding, as well as to help reduce the sense of marginalization, is to invest in horizontal versus vertical relationships (such as with other community groups). In addition, they recognized the importance of cultivating relationships with local law enforcement agencies and broader community groups. Civic engagement, getting people involved in their communities, was also seen as an important step to preventing radicalization.   

As a precursor to more in-depth consultations in the near future, an IRCC representative briefed CCRS members on settlement stressors and integration challenges faced by newcomers to Canada as well as on the complexity of the human trafficking issue in Canada. On the former subject, members agreed with IRCC that there are many critical factors at play vis-à-vis an immigrant’s ability to settle and integrate in Canada (e.g., cultural diversity, gender, language, employment, mental health, and availability of social programing). Regarding human trafficking, members expressed an interest to learn more about the issue in Canada such as trends on successful convictions and effective deterrent factors. The contextual information presented as part of these discussions has set the stage for the Roundtable to provide knowledgeable input on key initiatives over the coming months.

When asked about the efforts undertaken by the Government to engage Canadians, in terms of the value and frequency, CCRS members shared the view that public consultations can be valuable if they are targeted to relevant segments of the population. Members were also of the opinion that both traditional as well as newer methods of engagement need to be taken into consideration and long processes should be avoided so as to not delay actions or decision making.

Throughout the weekend, topics were raised by CCRS members as being of importance to their communities. This included the settlement of Syrian refugees and the irregular border crossing of asylum seekers, racial profiling, guns and gangs and the number of youth from minority groups that are incarcerated / in protective services. The upcoming legalization of marijuana was also identified as a concern in terms of its potential impact on the youth crime rate. These suggestions, along with timely government priorities, will be considered for the next Roundtable meeting in early 2018.

Date modified:

Rapport sommaire sur la réunion de la Table ronde transculturelle sur la sécurité

Les 3 et 5 novembre 2017 Regina, Saskatchewan

Pour la première fois depuis sa création, la Table ronde transculturelle sur la sécurité (TRTS) s’est réunie à Regina, en Saskatchewan. La 31è réunion de la Table ronde a offert aux membres l’occasion de communiquer des idées axées sur la communauté avec le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile ainsi qu’avec les cadres supérieurs de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS), le ministère de la Justice, Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC), Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC). Les membres de la TRTS ont également eu l’occasion d’entendre deux organismes locaux et de dialoguer avec eux – la Islamic Association of Saskatchewan et la Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations – au sujet de leur réalité et de leurs initiatives entreprises pour surmonter les défis auxquels ils font face.  

Le ministre Goodale et le sous-ministre délégué de Sécurité publique Canada, Vincent Rigby, ont profité de l’occasion pour remercier les membres de leur participation à la Table ronde. Ils reconnaissent l’importance des points de vue uniques des membres de la TRTS en ce qui a trait aux stratégies pour protéger la sûreté et sécurité des Canadiens. L’ampleur et la diversité de leurs expériences et antécédents apportent une contribution précieuse qui aide le gouvernement à prendre des décisions sur des enjeux complexes.

Le thème de la réunion, « Poursuite du dialogue sur la sûreté et la sécurité du Canada », a servi de plateforme pour les représentants du gouvernement pour obtenir des idées axées sur la communauté auprès des membres de la TRTS concernant plusieurs dossiers de politique et les initiatives. Le SCRS a obtenu des commentaires sur les stratégies efficaces pour renforcer la confiance avec le public et raffermir l’assurance dans le Service. Parmi les suggestions données, notons l’investissement accru dans une culture d’entreprise diversifiée, la promotion des relations à long terme avec les personnes clés dans les communautés, la révision du contenu du site Web pour promouvoir une image plus positive du travail que le SCRS fait, et la traduction des produits de communication en diverses langues.

Le ministère de la Justice a aussi tiré profit des points de vue des membres sur l’examen du Système canadien de justice pénale. La nécessité de porter notre attention sur les mesures préventives, aborder la question de surreprésentation des Autochtones et examiner en profondeur les incidences liées aux peines minimales obligatoires a été mise en relief par la Table ronde. Les membres mettent en garde contre le recours excessif aux peines minimales obligatoires, plus particulièrement en ce qui concerne les crimes qui ne sont pas sérieux de nature, car ils estiment que cela peut faire plus de mal que de bien pour atteindre le changement social. Par ailleurs, un accent accru sur les approches préventives a été préconisé comme moyen plus efficace et efficient de progresser. Les efforts de consultation à venir du ministère de la Justice offriront des possibilités officielles pour les membres de la TRTS.

Une initiative concrète présentée à la Table ronde aux fins de sensibilisation et de commentaires des membres était la campagne nationale de sensibilisation publique de Sécurité publique sur la conduite avec facultés affaiblies par la drogue ciblant les jeunes âgés de 16 à 24 ans. SP présente une série d’animation d’images considérée comme fondement pour la vidéo qui lancera la campagne publicitaire. Les membres se réjouissent du projet et ont vu un potentiel dans chaque scénario donné qu’ils présentaient tous des personnages jeunes au premier plan. La Table ronde a présenté des idées pour aider davantage à attirer l’attention du public, tel qu’amplifier les temps de réaction plus lents, incorporer les conséquences sur l’apparence des jeunes, sur le plan physique (p. ex. fauteuil roulant) et impliquer le décès d’un ami de jeunesse.  

SP a également fourni une mise à jour sur le Centre canadien d’engagement communautaire et de prévention de la violence à cette réunion. Selon les membres de la TRTS, l’incidence de la radicalisation à la violence parmi les jeunes demeure une préoccupation continue dans les communautés de l’ensemble du pays. La recommandation des membres pour accroître la sensibilisation et la compréhension du public, ainsi que pour aider à réduire le sentiment de marginalisation, est d’investir dans les relations horizontales par rapport aux relations verticales (telles qu’avec des autres groupes communautaires). De plus, ils reconnaissent l’importance de tisser de bonnes relations avec les organismes locaux d’application de la loi et les groupes communautaires plus vastes. L’engagement civique, faire participer les gens à leurs communautés, a été aussi déterminé comme une étape importante de la prévention de la radicalisation.   

En tant que précurseur à des consultations plus approfondies à l’avenir, un représentant de l’IRCC a informé les membres de la TRTS des facteurs de stress liés à l’établissement et des défis à l’intégration auxquels font face les nouveaux arrivants au Canada ainsi que la complexité du problème de la traite de personne au Canada. Quant à l’ancien sujet, les membres ont convenu avec IRCC qu’il existe beaucoup de facteurs essentiels en jeu relativement à la capacité de l’immigrant à s’établir au Canada et à s’intégrer (p. ex., la diversité culturelle, le sexe, la langue, l’emploi, la santé mentale et la disponibilité des programmes sociaux). Concernant la traite des personnes, les membres souhaitent en apprendre davantage sur l’enjeu au Canada, tels que les tendances en matière de condamnations réussies et de facteurs efficaces. Les renseignements contextuels présentés dans le cadre de ces discussions ont préparé le terrain pour la Table ronde afin de fournir des commentaires éclairés sur les initiatives clés au cours des prochains mois.

Lorsqu’on s’est enquis des efforts déployés par le gouvernement pour mobiliser les Canadiens, en matière de valeur et de fréquence, les membres de la TRTS ont fait part du point de vue selon lequel les consultations publiques peuvent être précieuses si elles sont ciblées à des segments pertinents de la population. Les membres étaient également d’avis que les anciennes et les nouvelles méthodes de mobilisation doivent être prises en considération et que les longs processus devraient être évités afin de ne pas retarder les mesures ou la prise de décisions.

Tout au long de la fin de la semaine, des sujets ont été soulevés par les membres de la TRTS comme points importants pour leurs communautés. Parmi ceux-ci, notons l’établissement des réfugiés syriens et le franchissement irrégulier de la frontière par les demandeurs d’asile, le profilage racial, les armes et les gangs et le nombre de jeunes des groupes minoritaires qui sont incarcérés ou dans les services de protection. La légalisation imminente de la marijuana a aussi été mentionnée comme un sujet de préoccupation, concernant son incidence éventuelle sur le taux de délinquance juvénile. Ces suggestions, ainsi que les priorités opportunes du gouvernement, seront examinées à la prochaine réunion de la Table ronde au début de 2018.

Date de modification :