Fifth Regional Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction in the Americas

The Government of Canada hosted the Fifth Session of the Regional Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction in the Americas (RPA) that was held in Montreal, Canada, on March 7-9, 2017. The RPA brought together some 900 participants from across the Americas, with representation from national and local governments, inter-governmental organizations, non-governmental organizations, mayors and parliamentarians, local communities, Indigenous peoples, and leaders from business, academia and science. This RPA was the largest to date.

The three-day event included four plenary sessions, nine parallel sessions, a marketplace, multiple side-events, an Indigenous art exhibit as well as craft fair and an Ignite Stage. The Montreal session of the Regional Platform included two innovative initiatives: the launching of a Youth Video Challenge in the Americas and the hosting of a Public Forum with discussion topics that aligned with the Platform’s agenda and priorities.

A new element of the RPA was a dialogue session that brought together Ministers and officials to discuss implementation of the Sendai Framework 2015-2030 in the Americas. The session was attended by representatives of the countries throughout the Americas, as well as representatives from regional, international and inter-governmental organizations and other major stakeholder groups.

The Montreal Declaration and Regional Action Plan (RAP), adopted at the dialogue session, outline priority initiatives that countries in the region can undertake to advance implementation of the Sendai Framework and to reduce disaster risk across the hemisphere. The RAP will serve as a model for future Regional Platforms and marks an important development in the region.

For more information on the Regional Platform, including copies of the outcome documents,see the United Nations Website.

RP17 Report - Short Video Series

Date modified:

Cinquième Plate-forme régionale pour la réduction des risques de catastrophes dans les Amériques

Le gouvernement du Canada a accueilli la cinquième session de la Plate‑forme régionale pour la réduction des risques de catastrophes dans les Amériques (PRA), qui a été tenue à Montréal, au Canada, du 7 au 9 mars 2017. La PRA a réuni environ 900 participants de partout dans les Amériques et comptait des représentants des gouvernements nationaux et locaux, d’organisations intergouvernementales, d’organisations non gouvernementales, de maires et de membres du Parlement, de collectivités locales, d’Autochtones et de chefs de file des secteurs commercial, universitaire et scientifique. Cette PRA était la plus importante à ce jour.

L’événement de trois jours comprenait quatre séances plénières, neuf séances parallèles, un marché, plusieurs événements parallèles, une exposition d’art autochtone ainsi qu’une foire artisanale et une tribune Ignite. La Plate-forme régionale tenue à Montréal comportait deux initiatives novatrices : le lancement d’un défi vidéo pour les jeunes dans les Amériques et la tenue d’une tribune publique dont les sujets de discussion s’harmonisaient avec le programme et les priorités de la PRA.

La PRA incluait un nouvel élément : une séance de dialogue de haut niveau qui réunissait les ministres et les responsables de haut niveau pour qu’ils discutent de la mise en œuvre du Cadre d’action de Sendai 2015‑2030 dans les Amériques. Des représentants de pays de l’ensemble des Amériques ainsi que d’organisations régionales, internationales et intergouvernementales et d’autres groupes d’intervenants majeurs ont participé à la séance.

La Déclaration de Montréal et le plan d’action régional (PAR), adopté lors du dialogue de haut niveau, décrivent les initiatives prioritaires que les pays de la région peuvent entreprendre pour faire progresser la mise en œuvre du Cadre Sendai et pour réduire les risques de catastrophes dans tout l’hémisphère. La PAR servira de modèle pour les plates-formes régionales futures et témoigne d’un développement important dans la région.
Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur la réunion de la Plate-forme régionale, y compris des copies des documents de résultats,consulter le site Web des Nations Unies.

Série de courtes vidéos sur la Plateforme régionale de 2017

Date de modification :