Mandatory Quarantine

Date: August 6, 2020
Classification: Unclassified
Fully releasable (ATIP)? Yes
Branch / Agency: TB/CBSA

Proposed Response:

If pressed on contact information collection:

If pressed on information collection from exempt persons


Effective April 15, 2020, the Government of Canada has implemented a federal Emergency Order under the Quarantine Act requiring anyone entering Canada, whether by air, land or sea, to isolate for 14 days if they have symptoms of COVID-19 or, if not exempted, to quarantine themselves for 14 days if they do not have symptoms, in order to limit the introduction and spread of COVID-19.

This applies to all people entering Canada with few exceptions — and captures those who have symptoms of COVID-19 and those who do not have symptoms.

These measures will help protect the health of individuals in question, any individuals with whom they may live and Canadians in general, including people who are vulnerable, such as adults aged 65 years or over and people with pre-existing medical conditions who are at greatest risk of severe COVID-19 disease.

The Order in Council (colloquially referred to as OIC 18), entitled Minimizing the Risk of Exposure to COVID-19 in Canada Order (Mandatory Isolation), No. 3, was made pursuant to section 58 of the Quarantine Act. OIC 18 has effect for the period beginning on June 29, 2020 (11:59:59 PM) and ending on August 31, 2020 (11:59:59 PM). The Order repeals and replaces the Order in Council P.C. 2020-0260 (OIC 10) and Order in Council P.C. 2020-0468 (OIC 15).

Exemptions to the mandatory quarantine order are as follows:

Trade or Transport

Essential Services

Cross Border Worker

Medical Support

Approved by: Denis Vinette, Vice-President, Travellers Branch, [Redacted]

Date modified: