Exceptions To The Travel Ban, Including For Students, Temporary Foreign Workers And Permanent Residents

Classification: Unclassified

Branch/Agency: IRCC

Proposed Response:


On March 16, 2020, the Government announced travel restrictions for people presenting symptoms and foreign nationals, with a number of exceptions including to reunite immediate family members, individuals with protected persons status, accredited diplomats to Canada and their family, and when in the national interest. These measures applied to all air travel, unless the individual was in Canada or the United States in the last 14 days.

On March 17, 2020, the Government announced further travel restrictions for the Canada-U.S. border, restricting travel to essential purposes only. These measures aim to ensure that critical services such as food supplies, health and emergency services and border community movement can continue, while preventing travel for tourism purposes. These measures came into force on March 21, 2020, for travel between Canada and the United States in all transportation modes (air, land and marine).

On March 20, the Government also announced additional exemptions on the travel restrictions to authorize temporary foreign workers, students and new permanent residents to travel to Canada.

Temporary Foreign Workers:


Permanent Residents:


Prepared by: Emmanuelle Deault-Bonin, Director, 613-415-4737

Approved by: Natasha Kim, AADM Strategic and Program Policy

Date modified: