Building the Evidence – Project Summaries – LINK –LINKing Refugee Youth and Families to Positive Social Supports

PDF (231KB)

Table of Contents

Introduction

LINKing Refugee Youth and Families to Positive Social Supports (LINK) is an innovative program designed to prevent the involvement of refugee youth in criminal and gang-related activity.

The National Crime Prevention Centre (NCPC) defines innovative as prevention programs that test new approaches, theories and interventions with at-risk populations. They are based on a strong theoretical framework that links the proposed intervention to the risk factor(s), target population and desired outcomes. Innovative projects verify changes through limited research design and require causal confirmation using appropriate experimental techniques. These programs are recognized and encouraged with the caution that they be carefully evaluated.Footnote 1

Public Safety Canada's National Crime Prevention Strategy provided funding to implement the LINK pilot project in Winnipeg, Manitoba between September 2009 and March 2013. LINK was implemented by the Newcomers Employment and Education Development Services (N.E.E.D.S.) Inc. and assisted 229 youth.

Participants

LINK participants were referred to N.E.E.D.S. by the Manitoba Interfaith Immigration Council, Winnipeg's largest settlement agency, through their “Welcome Place” temporary housing residence. Referrals were made within two weeks of arrival in Canada.

Youth referred to the program underwent an assessment of risk and those who participated in the program were between 12 and 18 years and were deemed at risk of involvement in gang activity due to factors such as:

Among the youth accepted into the LINK project, those assessed at the highest risk were identified and provided with additional components of intensive programming, as described below.

All the participants had Government Assisted Refugee (GAR) status, 47% had prior exposure to trauma and violence and, according to self-reports, none of them had a prior record of offending. The LINK program engaged both male and female youth, with 119 female and 110 male clients making up the total in the pilot project. Thirty-five of the participants fell in the highest risk category. Although GAR youth are accepted from various countries around the world, the majority of the LINK participants came from Congo, Bhutan, Somalia, Iraq, Ethiopia, and Afghanistan.

Key Elements of the Program

The LINK program has six components provided over one year. All participants received the first four components while those assessed at the highest risk received all the components and had their families involved.

  1. Education on Canadian Society – each client participated in 60 hours of workshops designed to provide information on Canada and to help reduce isolation and increase success at school, home and with peers.
  2. Mentorship – participants received 72 hours of one-on-one or group-based mentoring designed to introduce them to community resources, provide social and emotional support and supervision, and provide positive adult role models for youth.
  3. Educational Support to increase chances of success in school – Activities included LINK staff liaison with teachers and administrative school staff, in‑school visits to provide support, advice, and cultural information.
  4. Recreational Activities – designed to decrease isolation and loneliness and increase the development of positive peer relationships.
  5. Family mentorship – designed to provide opportunities to strengthen parent-child bonds and reduce the risk of developing intergenerational cultural conflict. LINK matched families of higher risk participants with Canadian families. The families met on a regular basis to attend workshops and activities.
  6. Referrals – Many of the refugee families participating in LINK had experienced severe trauma before arrival in Canada. Referrals to counseling and mental health services, cultural associations, housing, employment, and education supports were important aspects of the LINK project.

Staffing

Three full-time staff (one Coordinator, one Curriculum Facilitator, and one Mentorship Facilitator) and two part-time (20 hour/week) support employees implemented the LINK program.

Staff were required to have:

Fifty percent (50%) of LINK employees had non-Canadian (African) origins and, on average, were fluent in three languages.

Monthly training for staff was provided on issues such as legal boundaries for working with children and youth and strategies to help young newcomers integrate.

One hundred and eight (108) volunteers were involved in the LINK project and interpreters were hired when needed to help run the activities.

All mentors had to undergo screening through a Criminal Record Check as well as a Child Abuse Registry Check to ensure they were a proper fit for the program, and a Mentorship Training Manual was developed (33 training sessions took place, with an average of five mentors in each session).

Partnerships

LINK relied on many partners including:

Findings

Implementation Observations

Cost

The total cost of implementing the LINK project was $2,234,949 (53% funded by the NCPC).

The main in-kind contributions came from the Newcomers Education and Employment Development Services Inc. (N.E.E.D.S.), the Province of Manitoba, Winnipeg Harvest, and Momenta.

Additional financial contributions were provided by the Child Nutrition Council of Manitoba (CNCM).

Sustainability

Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) has fully adopted the LINK program and will be providing funding for at least the next two years.

Sponsoring Organization Contact Information

N.E.E.D.S. Inc.
251-A Notre Dame Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
R3B 1N8
Phone: 204-940-1260
Fax: 204-940-1272
needsinc@mts.net
http://www.needsinc.ca/about-us/index.html

End Notes

1 Promising and Model Crime Prevention Programs - Volume I, 2008

Date modified:

L'épreuve des faits – Sommaires de projets – LINK – LINKing Refugee Youth and Families to Positive Social Supports

PDF (231Ko)

Table des matières

Introduction

Le projet LINKing Refugee Youth and Families to Positive Social Supports (LINK) est un programme novateur visant à prévenir la participation des jeunes réfugiés à des activités criminelles et de gangs.

Le Centre national de prévention du crime (CNPC) définit les programmes novateurs comme des programmes de prévention qui mettent à l'essai de nouvelles approches, théories et interventions auprès des populations à risque. Ces programmes prennent appui sur un cadre théorique solide qui fait le lien entre l'intervention proposée et les facteurs de risque, la population cible et les résultats visés. Les programmes novateurs font appel à un devis de recherche limité pour vérifier les changements, et ils nécessitent une confirmation causale à l'aide des techniques expérimentales appropriées. Ces programmes sont reconnus et encouragés à condition d'être soigneusement évaluésFootnote 1.

La Stratégie nationale pour la prévention du crime de Sécurité publique Canada a octroyé un financement pour la mise en œuvre du projet pilote LINK à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, entre septembre 2009 et mars 2013. Le projet LINK a été exécuté par l'organisme Newcomers Employment and Education Development Services Inc. (N.E.E.D.S.), et est venu en aide à 229 jeunes.

Participants

Les participants au projet LINK ont été dirigés vers l'organisme N.E.E.D.S. par la résidence de logements temporaires Welcome Place du Conseil multiconfessionnel d'aide à l'établissement des immigrants au Manitoba, le plus grand organisme d'aide à l'établissement de Winnipeg. Les références étaient effectuées dans les deux semaines suivant l'arrivée au Canada.

Les jeunes dirigés vers le programme ont fait l'objet d'une évaluation du risque; ceux qui ont participé au projet étaient âgés de 12 à 18 ans et considérés comme étant susceptibles de s'adonner à des activités de gangs en raison des facteurs suivants :

Parmi les jeunes admis au projet LINK, les plus vulnérables ont bénéficié de composantes additionnelles intensives, suivant la description ci-dessous.

Tous les participants avaient le statut de réfugié parrainé par le gouvernement (RPG), 47 % avaient déjà été exposés au traumatisme et à la violence et, selon les jeunes eux-mêmes, aucun n'avait commis d'acte criminel par le passé. Le projet LINK ciblait les deux sexes, 119 filles et 110 garçons composant le total des participants au projet pilote. Trente-cinq participants se trouvaient dans la catégorie du risque le plus élevé. Bien que des jeunes de partout dans le monde puissent accéder au statut de RPG, la majorité des participants au projet venaient du Congo, du Bhoutan, de la Somalie, de l'Iraq, de l'Éthiopie et de l'Afghanistan.

Éléments clés du programme

Le projet LINK compte six composantes qui ont été offertes sur un an. Tous les participants ont reçu les quatre premières composantes, mais seuls les plus vulnérables et leurs familles ont bénéficié des deux dernières.

  1. Éducation sur la société canadienne – chaque client a participé pendant 60 heures à des ateliers visant non seulement à le renseigner sur le Canada, mais aussi à réduire son isolement et à favoriser sa réussite à l'école, à la maison et avec les pairs.
  2. Mentorat – les participants ont bénéficié de 72 heures de mentorat individuel ou en groupe visant à leur présenter les ressources communautaires, à leur offrir un soutien et un encadrement sociaux et affectifs, et à leur fournir des modèles adultes positifs.
  3. Soutien pédagogique pour augmenter les chances de réussite scolaire – les activités comprenaient la communication des employés du projet LINK avec les enseignants et le personnel administratif de l'école, ainsi que les visites à l'école pour offrir soutien, conseils et information culturelle.
  4. Activités récréatives – conçues pour réduire l'isolement et la solitude, de même que pour accroître le développement de relations positives avec les pairs.
  5. Mentorat familial – vise à donner l'occasion de renforcer les liens parent-enfant et de réduire le risque de conflits culturels intergénérationnels. Le projet LINK jumelait les familles des participants à risque élevé avec des familles canadiennes, les deux familles se rencontrant régulièrement dans le cadre d'ateliers et d'activités.
  6. Références – de nombreuses familles de réfugiés participant au projet LINK ont vécu un traumatisme grave avant d'arriver au Canada. Parmi les aspects importants du projet, mentionnons les références vers les services de counseling et de santé mentale, les associations culturelles, le logement, l'emploi et les soutiens pédagogiques.

Dotation

Le projet LINK a été mis en œuvre par trois employés à temps plein (un coordonnateur, un animateur pour le cursus et un animateur pour le mentorat), et deux employés de soutien à temps partiel (20 heures/semaine).

Les employés devaient posséder :

Cinquante pour cent (50 %) des employés du projet LINK avaient des origines non canadiennes (africaines) et, en moyenne, parlaient couramment trois langues.

Le personnel a reçu une formation mensuelle sur des questions comme les limites juridiques du travail auprès des enfants et des jeunes, ainsi que les stratégies pour faciliter l'intégration des nouveaux jeunes arrivants.

Les responsables du projet ont obtenu l'aide de cent huit (108) bénévoles, et ils ont embauché des interprètes lorsque ceux-ci étaient nécessaires à la prestation des activités.

Les responsables du projet ont soumis tous les mentors à un processus de filtrage comportant une vérification du casier judiciaire et une vérification du registre des cas d'enfants maltraités, afin de s'assurer qu'ils cadraient bien avec le projet, en plus de préparer un manuel de formation sur le mentorat (33 séances de formation ont eu lieu, pour une moyenne de cinq mentors par séance).

Partenariats

Le projet LINK comptait sur l'appui de nombreux partenaires, notamment :

Résultats

Observations relatives à la mise en œuvre

Coûts

La mise en œuvre du projet LINK a coûté au total 2 234 949 $ (53 % du financement provenait du CNPC).

Les principales contributions en nature provenaient de l'organisme N.E.E.D.S., de la Province du Manitoba, de Winnipeg Harvest et de Momenta.

Le projet a également bénéficié de l'appui financier du Child Nutrition Council of Manitoba.

Pérennisation

Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada a pleinement adopté le projet LINK et octroiera des fonds pour les deux prochaines années, au minimum.

Coordonnées de l'organisme responsable du projet

N.E.E.D.S. Inc.
251-A, avenue Notre Dame
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3B 1N8
Canada
Téléphone : 204-940-1260
Télécopieur : 204-940-1272
needsinc@mts.net
http://www.needsinc.ca/about-us/index.html

Notes

1 Programmes prometteurs et modèles pour prévenir la criminalité – volume I, 2008

Date de modification :