Five Country Ministerial 2017: Joint Communiqué

PDF (112 KB)

We, the Interior Ministers, Immigration Ministers, and Attorneys General of Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States met in Ottawa on June 26, 2017, to discuss both national security challenges facing our nations and proactive areas for collaboration. Our five country partnership, founded after the Second World War and strengthened during the Cold War, is more relevant today than ever as we deal with the relentless threats of terrorism, violent extremism, cyber-attacks, and international instability, while retaining our deep commitment to the shared values of democracy, human rights and the rule of law.

Countering violent extremism

The safety and security of our citizens, whether at home or abroad, continues to be threatened by terrorist groups and the individuals who support them. The recent attacks in Manchester; London; Melbourne; Flint, Michigan; Sainte-Foy, Quebec; and Finsbury Park have tragically demonstrated that our five countries are not immune to terrorism – and other forms of violent extremism – and can be targets of terrorist and violent extremist groups and those who support them. During the Five Country Ministerial meeting, we committed to joint efforts to counter the spread of violent extremism and recruitment efforts by extremist groups that advocate and utilize violence to achieve their objective. Ministers further committed to:

Global migration and refugee systems

We recognize the sovereign right of each nation to establish a lawful system of immigration that prioritizes public safety and the well-being of its citizens, while providing lawful immigrants an opportunity to make positive contributions to society. The Ministers affirmed that our countries intend to work together to understand global migration challenges, recognizing the importance of sovereignty, public safety, strengthened border security and human rights. The Ministers discussed joint efforts in border technology innovation and the importance of continued cooperation on screening and vetting of travelers, migrants and refugees. Ministers also committed to support border agencies in better using publicly available information for screening. They recognized the importance of distinguishing between economic migrants and those who seek protection, the potential benefits of legal pathways for migration depending on each country's domestic interests, and the right to return persons found not to have the legal right to remain. Ministers also discussed the importance of keeping refugees and migrants as close to home as possible - ideally in the country of first asylum - and the benefits of programs and support networks in countries neighbouring conflict zones.

Security cooperation on border management and human trafficking and aviation security

A joint meeting between the Five Country Ministerial and the Quintet of Attorneys General provided the opportunity to discuss the tools available for sharing information on criminal activities and national security issues, including terrorism and human trafficking. The recent brutal attacks in the UK, Afghanistan and elsewhere also serve as a reminder that Daesh and its affiliates will continue to attack soft targets in public spaces.  In order to help prevent these sophisticated and relentless plots, the Ministers and Attorneys General affirmed that sharing information among partners on known criminal and terrorist actors is vital. Therefore, we committed to explore more timely and detailed information sharing on the detection of terrorist and foreign terrorist fighter movements, and to explore possibilities to further improve criminal information sharing practices. We also discussed the need to enhance the international response to human trafficking and modern slavery.  To enable targeted action, the Ministers and Attorneys General agreed to direct their law enforcement agencies to share experiences of how partners are tackling this global challenge and identify opportunities for joint operations. Ministers also agreed to work together to better deter, detect and disrupt terrorist travel and to raise the baseline of aviation security globally to protect the traveling public against terrorist threats.

Cybersecurity

Ministers and Attorneys General noted their concerns with the recent cyber events that have affected various institutions and individuals in all of our countries. The “WannaCry” ransomware attack, which began on May 12th and impacted individuals in over 150 countries, is an unfortunate reminder that cyberattacks are increasing. To address cybersecurity threats, we note the robust cooperation underway between our five countries on cyber issues and note our collective efforts to study and assess key emerging issues and trends in cyber security to prevent, detect and respond to cyber threats.

Encryption

Ministers and Attorneys General also noted that encryption can severely undermine public safety efforts by impeding lawful access to the content of communications during investigations into serious crimes, including terrorism. To address these issues, we committed to develop our engagement with communications and technology companies to explore shared solutions while upholding cybersecurity and individual rights and freedoms.

Conclusion

We decided today on concrete steps to address issues and new challenges related to countering violent extremism, migration and refugees, security cooperation on border management and human trafficking, and encryption. While our five countries share similar security challenges that predicate this strong collective response, we more importantly share a history of cooperation, friendship, and common values. We are committed to building on this past cooperation in national security affairs and remain accountable for the steps we have pledged to take today. Throughout these discussions, we affirmed that building public trust within our countries is required to move forward on national security issues. Enhanced safeguards and greater efforts to promote transparency are critical in this respect.


The Five Country Ministerial and Quintet meeting of Attorneys General were hosted by Canada’s Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, the Honourable Ralph Goodale, and Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, the Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould, in collaboration with the Minister of Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship, the Honourable Ahmed Hussen. They met with their international counterparts from Australia, the United Kingdom, the United Sates and New Zealand. These included George Brandis, Australian Attorney General; Peter Dutton, Australian Minister for Immigration and Border Protection; Christopher Finlayson, New Zealand Attorney-General; Michael Woodhouse, New Zealand Minister of Immigration; Amber Rudd, United Kingdom Home Secretary; John Kelly, United States Secretary of Homeland Security; and Jeff Sessions, United States Attorney General.

Ottawa, June 27 2017

Date modified:

Réunion ministérielle des cinq pays 2017 : Communiqué conjoint

PDF (112 KB)

Nous, les ministres de l'intérieur, les ministres de l'immigration et les procureurs généraux de l'Australie, du Canada, des États-Unis, de la Nouvelle-Zélande, et du Royaume-Uni, nous sommes réunis à Ottawa le 26 juin 2017, pour discuter des défis de sécurité nationale que doivent relever nos nations, ainsi que des domaines proactifs de collaboration. Notre partenariat de cinq pays, fondé après la Seconde Guerre mondiale et renforcé au cours de la guerre froide, est aujourd'hui plus pertinent que jamais alors que nous devons faire face aux menaces incessantes du terrorisme, de l'extrémisme violent, des cyber-attaques et de l'instabilité internationale, tout en conservant notre profond attachement aux valeurs communes de la démocratie, des droits de l'homme et de la primauté du droit.

Lutter contre l'extrémisme violent

La sécurité de nos citoyens, que ce soit chez nous ou à l'étranger, continue d'être menacée par les groupes terroristes et les individus qui les soutiennent. Les attentats récents à Manchester; à Londres;  à Melbourne; à  Flint au Michigan; à Sainte-Foy, au Québec; et au Parc Finsbury ont tragiquement démontré que nos cinq pays ne sont pas immunisés contre le terrorisme et peuvent être la cible de groupes terroristes et de ceux qui les soutiennent. Au cours de notre réunion ministérielle, nous nous sommes entendus sur des efforts conjoints visant à lutter contre la propagation de l'extrémisme violent et les efforts de recrutement des groupes extrémistes qui font la promotion de la violence et l'utilisent pour atteindre leurs objectifs. Les ministres se sont entendus sur les mesures suivantes :

Systèmes d'immigration et d'octroi de l'asile mondiaux

Nous reconnaissons le droit souverain de chaque nation d'établir un système d'immigration qui accorde la priorité à la sécurité publique et au bien-être de ses citoyens tout en donnant aux immigrants légaux l'occasion d'apporter des contributions positives à la société. Les ministres ont affirmé l'intention de leur pays de travailler ensemble pour développer une compréhension commune des défis migratoires mondiaux tout en reconnaissant l'importance de la souveraineté, de la sécurité publique, d'une sécurité accrue aux frontières et des droits de la personne. Les ministres ont discuté des efforts conjoints en matière d'innovation technologique à la frontière et de l'importance de poursuivre la coopération en matière de vérification et de filtrage des voyageurs, des migrants et des réfugiés. Les ministres se sont également engagés à supporter leurs organismes frontaliers pour leur permettre de mieux exploiter les informations accessibles au public aux fins de vérification. Nous reconnaissons l'importance de différencier entre les migrants économiques et ceux qui ont besoin d'être protégés, les avantages potentiels des voies d'immigration légales selon les intérêts nationaux de chaque pays, et le droit de renvoyer des individus qui n'ont pas le droit légal de demeurer au pays. Les Ministres ont également discuté de l'importance de s'assurer que les réfugiées et les migrants demeurent le plus près possible de leur pays d'origine, idéalement dans le premier pays où ils peuvent faire une demande d'asile, et des avantages des programmes et des réseaux de soutien au sein des pays voisins de zones de conflits.

La coopération en matière de sécurité sur la gestion des frontières et la traite de personnes

La rencontre commune de la réunion ministérielle des cinq pays et la réunion du Quintet des procureurs généraux a permis de discuter des outils disponibles pour le partage d'informations sur les activités criminelles et les questions de sécurité nationale, y compris le terrorisme et la traite de personnes. Les récentes attaques brutales au Royaume-Uni, en Afghanistan et ailleurs servent également de rappel que Daesh et ses filiales continueront à attaquer des cibles faciles dans l'espace public.  Afin d'aider à prévenir ces complots sophistiqués et incessants, les ministres et les procureurs généraux ont convenu que le partage de renseignements entre les partenaires sur les acteurs criminels et terroristes connus est essentiel. Par conséquent, nous nous sommes engagés à explorer des façons d'échanger plus rapidement des renseignements détaillés sur la détection des terroristes étrangers et des combattants terroristes étrangers, et à étudier les possibilités d'améliorer davantage les pratiques de partage de renseignements criminels. Nous avons également discuté de la réponse fragmentée actuelle de l'application de la loi à la traite de personnes. Pour permettre une action ciblée, les ministres et les procureurs généraux se sont entendus pour demander à leurs organismes d'application de la loi de partager leurs expériences quant à la façon dont les partenaires s'attaquent à ce défi mondial et de déterminer des possibilités d'opérations conjointes. Les ministres se sont également accordés pour travailler ensemble afin de prévenir, déceler et empêcher les déplacements des terroristes ainsi que pour augmenter les mesures de sécurité aérienne en général afin de protéger les voyageurs contre les menaces terroristes.

Cybermenaces

Les ministres et les procureurs généraux ont fait part de leurs préoccupations relatives aux récents événements cybernétiques qui ont touché divers établissements et particuliers dans l'ensemble de nos pays. L'attaque du logiciel rançonneur « WannaCry », qui a commencé le 12 mai, et qui a eu des répercussions sur des particuliers dans plus de 150 pays, est un triste rappel de la croissance des cyber-attaques. Pour aborder les menaces à la cybersécurité, nous prenons note de la solide coopération en cours entre nos cinq pays sur les questions de cybersécurité et de nos efforts collectifs en vue d'étudier et d'évaluer les problèmes émergents ainsi que les tendances en cybersécurité pour prévenir, déceler et réagir aux cybermenaces.

Chiffrement

Les ministres et les procureurs généraux ont noté que le chiffrement peut grandement compromettre les efforts de sécurité publique en empêchant l'accès légal à la teneur des communications au cours des enquêtes sur les crimes graves, y compris le terrorisme. En réaction à ces enjeux, nous avons convenu que nos pays continueront de coopérer et de travailler avec les entreprises de communications et de technologie de l'information pour obtenir légalement les renseignements nécessaires pour protéger la sécurité nationale et la sécurité publique, tout en préservant la cybersécurité et les droits et libertés individuels.

Conclusion

Nous avons convenu aujourd'hui de mesures concrètes pour aborder les enjeux et les nouveaux défis liés à la lutte contre l'extrémisme violent, la migration et les réfugiés, la coopération en matière de sécurité sur la gestion des frontières et la traite de personnes, et le chiffrement. Alors que nos cinq pays partagent des défis semblables en matière de sécurité, sur lesquels est fondée notre réponse collective ferme, plus important encore, nous partageons une histoire de coopération, d'amitié et de valeurs communes. Nous sommes déterminés à prendre appui sur cette coopération passée en matière de sécurité nationale et à rester responsables des mesures que nous avons promis de prendre aujourd'hui. Tout au long de ces discussions, nous avons convenu que la confiance du public au sein même de nos pays respectifs est nécessaire pour aller de l'avant sur les questions de sécurité nationale. Les protections améliorées et les efforts accrus pour promouvoir la transparence sont critiques à cet égard.


La réunion ministérielle des cinq pays et la réunion du Quintet des procureurs généraux ont été accueillies par le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, l'honorable Ralph Goodale, et la ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada, l'honorable Jody Wilson-Raybould, en collaboration avec le ministre de l'Immigration, des Réfugiés et de la Citoyenneté, l'honorable Ahmed Hussen. Ils ont rencontré leurs homologues internationaux de l'Australie, des États-Unis, de la Nouvelle-Zélande et du Royaume-Uni. Ces homologues comprennent George Brandis, procureur général de l'Australie; Peter Dutton, ministre australien de l'immigration et de la protection des frontières; Christopher Finlayson, procureur général de Nouvelle-Zélande; Michael Woodhouse, ministre néo-zélandais de l'immigration; Amber Rudd, ministre britannique de l'intérieur; John Kelly, secrétaire de la sécurité intérieure des États-Unis; et Jeff Sessions, procureur général des États-Unis.

Ottawa, le 27 juin 2017

Date de modification :