Research Summary - What We Know and Don’t Know About Risk Assessment with Offenders of Indigenous Heritage

Research supports using validated risk tools with Indigenous offenders; however, more research is needed to determine why differences exist

PDF (214 Kb)

Background

Given that many decisions throughout an offender’s progression through the criminal justice system are guided by risk assessment, it is important that risk assessments be structured, objective, reliable and transparent. One assumption behind the use of risk assessment scales in practice is that the offenders being assessed are similar to those on which the scale was developed or validated. The over-representation of Indigenous offenders in the criminal justice system highlights the need for research on the applicability of risk assessment for this group in particular.  

Research has demonstrated that Indigenous offenders tend to score significantly higher than non-Indigenous offenders on most risk factors. For example, on average, Indigenous offenders are younger, have lengthier criminal histories, and report more negative childhood histories than non-Indigenous offenders. Likewise, in adulthood, Indigenous offenders are rated as higher need than non-Indigenous offenders in the domains of family and/or marital problems, education/employment, and substance abuse. Finally, compared to non-Indigenous sex offenders, Indigenous sex offenders have been found to have significantly higher lack of concern for others, impulsivity, poor cognitive problem-solving, and problems cooperating with supervision.

Indigenous offenders have also been found to have higher recidivism rates than non-Indigenous offenders.  It is important to emphasize, however, that this does not mean that risk factors (or scales) will predict recidivism differently for Indigenous offenders. Although higher risk scores among Indigenous offenders should be a call for greater resources for this group, it is not in itself a form a test bias. The main issue regarding the suitability of risk scales for Indigenous offenders concerns the extent to which the predictive accuracy of the scale differ between Indigenous and non-Indigenous offenders. The purpose of this paper is to review research on structured risk assessment scales with Indigenous offenders and propose explanations for the findings of this research.

Findings

Meta-analyses and large-sample studies have demonstrated that the major risk factors and commonly used risk assessment scales (e.g., the Level of Service [LSI] risk scales, Static-2002R, etc.) predict recidivism for Indigenous offenders, but the predictive accuracy tends to be lower for Indigenous compared to non-Indigenous offenders. This holds true regardless of the type of recidivism (i.e., general, violent, or sexual recidivism) or type of risk tool (i.e., actuarial or structured professional judgement) examined.

Likewise, a large-sample study found that recidivism rates predicted from the LSI (Ontario revision) were well-calibrated for moderate and high scoring Indigenous offenders, but underestimated the absolute recidivism rates of low scoring Indigenous offenders (i.e., recidivism rates for Indigenous offenders with low scores on the LSI-OR were higher than what would be predicted by the risk scale).

There are at least four possible reasons for the lower level of predictive accuracy observed with Indigenous offenders. One possible explanation is racial discrimination in the criminal justice system. It may be harder for risk scales to discriminate between low and high risk offenders if recidivism rates are inflated because of systemic bias. A second possible explanation is that although the risk factors for recidivism are the same for Indigenous and non-Indigenous offenders, Indigenous offenders may exhibit many more risk factors, largely due to historical, social, and economic disadvantages. A third possible explanation is that the unique circumstances of Indigenous peoples are neglected in risk factors. For example, broader conceptualizations of family in Indigenous communities may not be incorporated when assessing risk factors in the family/marital domain (i.e., the risk-relevant construct may be similar for Indigenous and non-Indigenous offenders, however, the indicators of those constructs may differ across groups). A fourth hypothesis is that there are risk factors unique to Indigenous offenders that are not adequately captured in current risk scales. This suggests that risk scales specific for Indigenous offenders should be developed, or that culturally-specific risk factors should be incorporated into current assessments (e.g., cultural or spiritual isolation, loss of native language, lack/loss of pride in heritage). Unfortunately, little research has empirically tested how these potential risk factors/domains relate to recidivism.

Next Steps

Given the consequences of risk assessment for offenders and matters of public safety, the reasons for these differences in predictive accuracy remain an important topic of research. Despite the evidence gaps, the research available to date does support the use of empirically validated structured risk assessments with offenders of Indigenous heritage, until there is more research done to better understand differences in predictive accuracy.

Although the meta-analytic and large-sample studies reviewed in this paper suggest that some of the commonly used structured risk scales (e.g., the LSI scales and Static-99R) predict recidivism with Indigenous offenders, the accuracy of these tools is lower compared to non-Indigenous offenders. This finding necessitates additional caution in assessments with this group, particularly for life-changing decisions (e.g., Dangerous Offender designations). Given that these scales still predict recidivism with moderate accuracy, abandoning their use is not defensible, unless they are replaced with a method empirically demonstrated to have superior accuracy.

Given that Indigenous offenders face disadvantage in virtually every criminal justice decision and have more extensive criminal histories, we cannot rule out the possibility of discrimination against Indigenous offenders in correctional decision-making. One of the best ways to protect against bias in decision-making is to rely on objective, structured, and empirically defensible methods.

What we don’t know is why predictive accuracy is lower for Indigenous offenders. A better understanding of these differences is necessary to improve risk assessment for this subgroup of offenders and to inform how to intervene to reduce their risk of reoffending. Future research is therefore needed to better understand the meaning of commonly used risk factors and to explore the possibility of culturally-informed risk factors for this group.

Source

Gutierrez, L., Helmus, L. M., & Hanson, R. K. (2016). What we know and don’t know about risk assessment with offenders of indigenous heritage. Research Report 2017–R009. Ottawa, Ontario: Public Safety Canada.  

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:
Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche - Ce que nous savons et ne savons pas au sujet de l’évaluation du risque que présentent les délinquants d’origine autochtone

La recherche soutient l’utilisation d’outils validés d’évaluation du risque auprès des délinquants autochtones, mais de plus amples recherches sont nécessaires pour expliquer les écarts.

PDF (223 Kb)

Contexte

La plupart des décisions prises tout au long de la progression d’un délinquant au sein du système de justice pénale étant orientées par les résultats de l’évaluation du risque, ces évaluations se doivent d’être structurées, objectives, fiables et transparentes. Une des hypothèses sur lesquelles repose l’utilisation d’échelles d’évaluation du risque dans la pratique veut que les délinquants évalués ressemblent à ceux qui ont servi à créer ou à valider l’échelle. La surreprésentation des délinquants autochtones au sein du système de justice pénale fait ressortir la nécessité de mener des recherches sur l’applicabilité de l’évaluation du risque à ce groupe en particulier.

La recherche a démontré que les délinquants autochtones ont tendance à obtenir des scores considérablement plus élevés que les délinquants non autochtones pour la plupart des facteurs de risque. Par exemple, en moyenne, les délinquants autochtones sont plus jeunes, ont des antécédents criminels plus longs et ont connu une enfance plus négative que les délinquants non autochtones. De même, à l’âge adulte, les délinquants autochtones obtiennent des scores plus élevés que les délinquants non autochtones en ce qui a trait aux problèmes familiaux ou conjugaux, aux problèmes à l’école ou au travail ainsi qu’à la toxicomanie. Enfin, comparativement aux délinquants sexuels non autochtones, il est établi que les délinquants sexuels autochtones obtiennent des scores significativement plus élevés en ce qui concerne l’absence d’empathie à l’égard d’autrui, l’impulsivité, les faibles aptitudes cognitives pour la résolution de problèmes et les problèmes de coopération dans le cadre de la surveillance.

Il est également établi que les délinquants autochtones affichent des taux de récidive plus élevés que les délinquants non autochtones. Il importe cependant de souligner que les facteurs de risque (ou les échelles) ne prédiront pas pour autant la récidive différemment chez les délinquants autochtones. Même si les cotes de risque élevées chez les délinquants autochtones devraient conduire à l’accroissement des ressources consacrées à ce groupe, elles ne constituent pas en elles-mêmes une forme de partialité des tests. Lorsqu’il s’agit de déterminer si les échelles d’évaluation du risque conviennent aux délinquants autochtones, la principale question est de savoir dans quelle mesure la validité prédictive de l’échelle diffère entre les délinquants autochtones et non autochtones. Le rapport a pour objet d’examiner la recherche sur les outils structurés d’évaluation du risque utilisés auprès des délinquants autochtones, et de proposer des explications pour les conclusions de cette recherche.

Constatations

Les méta-analyses et les études fondées sur de vastes échantillons ont démontré que les principaux facteurs de risque et les échelles d’évaluation du risque couramment utilisées (la famille d’échelles d’évaluation du risque de l’Inventaire du niveau de service [INS], la Statique-2002R, etc.) arrivent à prédire la récidive chez les délinquants autochtones, mais que leur validité prédictive est moindre comparativement aux délinquants non autochtones. Cette conclusion s’applique à tous les types de récidive (générale, violente ou sexuelle) et à tous les types d’outils d’évaluation du risque examinés (outils actuariels ou jugement professionnel structuré).

De même, une étude fondée sur de vastes échantillons a conclu que les taux de récidive prédits à l’aide de l’INS (révision de l’Ontario) étaient bien étalonnés pour ce qui est des délinquants autochtones ayant obtenu un score modéré ou élevé, mais que les taux de récidive absolus étaient sous-estimés pour les délinquants autochtones ayant obtenu un score faible (c.‑à‑d. que chez les délinquants autochtones ayant obtenu un score faible à l’INS‑RO, les taux de récidive étaient plus élevés que ce que l’échelle d’évaluation du risque aurait prédit).

Il existe au moins quatre raisons possibles expliquant la validité prédictive moindre observée pour les délinquants autochtones. La première explication possible est la discrimination raciale au sein du système de justice pénale. Il peut être plus ardu pour les échelles d’évaluation du risque de faire la distinction entre les délinquants à risque faible et à risque élevé si les taux de récidive sont accrus par des préjugés systémiques. La deuxième explication possible réside dans le fait que même si les facteurs de risque de récidive sont les mêmes pour les délinquants autochtones et non autochtones, les délinquants autochtones peuvent afficher beaucoup plus de facteurs de risque, surtout en raison de désavantages historiques, sociaux et économiques. La troisième explication tient au fait que les facteurs de risque négligent les circonstances uniques des Autochtones. À titre d’exemple, les conceptualisations élargies de la famille dans les communautés autochtones ne sont peut-être pas incorporées à l’évaluation des facteurs de risque liés aux relations familiales et conjugales (c.‑à‑d. que les concepts pertinents pour le risque sont peut-être semblables pour les délinquants autochtones et non autochtones, mais les indicateurs de ces concepts peuvent différer entre les groupes). Une quatrième hypothèse veut que certains facteurs de risque uniques aux délinquants autochtones ne soient pas suffisamment représentés dans les échelles d’évaluation du risque actuelles. Il faudrait donc créer des échelles d’évaluation du risque propres aux délinquants autochtones, ou incorporer des facteurs de risque propres à la culture aux outils d’évaluation actuels (p. ex. isolement culturel ou spirituel, perte de la langue maternelle, manque ou perte de fierté envers le patrimoine). Malheureusement, peu de recherches ont testé empiriquement le lien entre ces facteurs de risque potentiels et la récidive.

Prochaines Étapes

Vu les conséquences de l’évaluation du risque pour les délinquants et les affaires de sécurité publique, les raisons expliquant ces écarts de validité demeurent un sujet de recherche important. Malgré le manque de données probantes, les recherches disponibles à ce jour appuient l’utilisation d’outils d’évaluation du risque structurés ayant été validés empiriquement auprès des délinquants d’origine autochtone, jusqu’à ce que de plus amples recherches permettent de mieux comprendre les écarts au chapitre de la validité prédictive.

Si les études méta-analytiques et fondées sur de vastes échantillons examinées dans le rapport indiquent que certaines des échelles structurées d’évaluation du risque couramment utilisées (comme la famille d’échelles de l’INS et la Statique‑99R) arrivent à prédire la récidive chez les délinquants autochtones, il n’en reste pas moins que la validité prédictive de ces outils est moindre par rapport aux délinquants non autochtones. Il faut donc faire montre d’une grande prudence dans les évaluations menées auprès de ce groupe, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux décisions qui changent une vie (p. ex. les désignations à titre de délinquant dangereux). Néanmoins, puisque ces échelles arrivent tout de même à prédire la récidive avec une validité modérée, il n’est pas défendable d’abandonner leur utilisation à moins de les remplacer par une méthode dont la validité supérieure a été démontrée empiriquement.

Les délinquants autochtones étant désavantagés dans pratiquement chaque décision du système de justice pénale et ayant de plus longs antécédents criminels, nous ne pouvons pas éliminer la possibilité que les délinquants autochtones soient victimes de discrimination dans le processus décisionnel correctionnel. L’un des meilleurs moyens de lutter contre les préjugés dans le processus décisionnel consiste à prendre appui sur des méthodes objectives, structurées et empiriquement défendables.

Nous ignorons par contre pourquoi la validité prédictive est moindre chez les délinquants autochtones. Il est nécessaire de mieux comprendre ces écarts afin d’améliorer l’évaluation du risque que présente ce sous-groupe de délinquants, et de déterminer comment intervenir pour réduire son risque de récidive. De plus amples recherches sont donc requises pour mieux comprendre la signification des facteurs de risque couramment utilisés, et pour étudier la possibilité d’ajouter des facteurs de risque propres à la culture pour ce groupe.

Source

Gutierrez, L., Helmus, L. M. et Hanson, R. K. (2016). Ce que nous savons et ne savons pas au sujet de l’évaluation du risque que présentent les délinquants d’origine autochtone. Rapport de recherche 2017-R009. Ottawa, Ontario : Sécurité publique Canada.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :
Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :