Research Summary: Economics of Preclearance

PDF (100 Kb)

Potential benefits offered by preclearance operations are significant in all transportation modes. Benefits are greater for air travel and at the busiest border points. Many benefits of preclearance can be measured quantitatively.


Preclearance refers to a process in which customs, immigration and other border functions of a foreign country such as the United States (U.S.) are undertaken within a host country of Canada. Such operations can potentially generate significant benefits for governments, users and carriers. Preclearance benefits have not generally been the subject of much measurement.

Currently, air passengers can be precleared for U.S. travel at eight Canadian airports. For marine passengers, preclearance facilities are in place in Vancouver (cruise terminal) and Prince Rupert, while U.S. immigration pre-inspections are provided in Victoria and Sydney. For rail passengers, pre-inspections facilities are in place only at Pacific Central Station in Vancouver. Air preclearance has been formalized, while all other initiatives do not have a legal framework. Finally, a pilot project for freight pre-inspection is in operation, with Phase II currently taking place at the Peace Bridge at Fort Erie.


This report summarizes the international literature on the economic and social impact of preclearance operations. It identifies additional benefits of preclearance not well covered in the literature, and it proposes feasible methodologies to quantitatively measure the benefits to Canada of establishing preclearance processes and facilities in various contexts.

In general, the policy objectives of preclearance are centered on issues of security, service and cost optimization, and international cooperation. Internationally, the U.S. operates preclearance facilities in a number of countries, including Ireland and the United Arab Emirates. Mexican authorities operate an air cargo preclearance facility in Texas. Otherwise, the only other preclearance operations known to the research team – the juxtaposed controls between the UK, France and Belgium – are centered on reducing the number of asylum seekers and illegal immigrants.

In this report, benefits are defined to include the whole spectrum of positive consequences flowing from preclearance operations. Using this wide definition allows for a more complete understanding of the implications of preclearance and can inform policy discussions. Casting a wide net does not mean, however, that these benefits must be reported with care as they are not necessarily cumulative. The report provides guidance on this issue.


Based on the analysis and literature review, benefits fall into five categories; “Optimizing border resources” where preclearance can lead to better use of resources that are a direct benefit for border agencies and provide direct budget relief; “Improving security” where preclearance, by moving clearance to the perimeter, can lead to reduced threats and improved security; “Improving the Border Crossing Experience for Passengers” from more efficient border operations (faster, more reliable) and due to its unique characteristics (e.g., location of border clearance that can lead to reduced costs, more choices), preclearance provides clear advantages to passengers; “Improving the Border Crossing Experience for Commercial Entities” from more efficient border operations (faster, more reliable) and due to its unique characteristics (e.g., location of border clearance can lead to reduced costs, more operational flexibility), preclearance provides clear advantages to carriers and airports; and “Spin-Off Benefits,” which are benefits that flow directly or indirectly from the previous four categories. For example, reduced border costs for commercial operations can lead to increased trade or increased foreign investment.

Reduced wait time for passengers can lead to increased tourism. In general, benefits in the first four categories spans a wide range of beneficial impacts of preclearance which generally can only be assessed using input-output or computable general equilibrium models.

Proposing specific methods to measure the benefits of preclearance requires establishing clarity and trading-off between a number of factors, including: robustness and availability of data, the scope of the analysis, and the focus of the analysis. The report provides guidance and information on how each of these issues would impact the methodology proposed. One thing of particular importance is that it is almost impossible to accurately assess division between whether benefits accrue mostly to the host or the foreign country. As such, the research team strongly recommends that any framework adopted does not limit the scope of benefits (i.e., that it include benefits flowing outside of Canada), leaving discussions of the distribution of benefits as a qualitative component of the assessment.

Potential benefits offered by preclearance operations are significant. Indeed, a very preliminary assessment of the preclearance facility in Toronto’s Pearson Airport finds, based on a heavy set of assumptions which would be verified in any serious measurement endeavour that measurable preclearance benefits for these operations could be of the order of $47.3 million per year, or nearly $570 million dollars over a thirty year period (discounted at 8% per year). Most of the significant government-related savings (infrastructure, operational, administrative savings), which accrue solely to the U.S., are not included in this total. All benefits measured are shared between Canadian and American carriers and passengers, as well as with some international passengers.


Of course, benefits can differ widely, both in their nature and their magnitude, based on the mode and the port of entry. In most cases, benefits to passengers and carriers are driven by the potential for faster customs clearance and the associated time saved. In the air sector, however, the additional operational flexibility leads to much larger benefits, both to passengers (increased choices) and airlines (terminal fees).

The extent to which airlines are able to collect these benefits through higher fares (i.e., how the benefit is divided between passengers and airlines) is hard to establish.

In the trucking sector, the benefits associated with lower inventory carrying costs accruing to shippers are potentially significant. This benefit is contingent on saving time at the border. In some cases, the benefits from lower infrastructure or operational costs could be particularly interesting for border agencies. Similarly, while too hard to accurately value, security benefits are potentially very significant. Finally, it can be noted that other benefits, largely driven by the primary benefits noted above, can be measured using economic modeling. These models rely on a heavy set of assumptions and can be perceived as not being particularly transparent.

On the upside, they do capture a number of impacts which are otherwise practically impossible to capture directly, including potential for improved productivity, improved competitiveness and increased tourism. Unfortunately, because of the methodologies used to measure these benefits, they cannot be meaningfully compared with or added to other measurable benefits, nor can they be compared to the costs of the project/facility. They could, however, be reported separately to inform the discussion about the value of preclearance initiatives to specific stakeholders and the wider economic competitiveness of the country.


Arsenault, J.-F., J.Taylor, Roy, M.-A. and Pelletier, J.-F. (2014): 78 p, Economics of Preclearance: Literature Review, Discussion, and Proposed Measurement Methodologies.

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:

Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0P8

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors’ findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche : Paramètres économiques du précontrôle

PDF (140 Ko)

Les avantages potentiels offerts par les opérations de précontrôle sont significatifs dans tous les modes de transport. Les avantages sont les plus importants pour le transport aérien et aux points frontaliers les plus occupés. Bon nombre d’avantages du précontrôle peuvent être mesurés de manière quantitative.

Contexte

Le précontrôle s’entend d’un processus dans le cadre duquel les fonctions liées aux douanes et à l’immigration, ainsi que d’autres fonctions frontalières d’un pays étranger comme les États-Unis, sont exécutées dans un pays hôte, en l’occurrence le Canada. Les opérations de ce genre ont le potentiel de produire d’importants avantages pour les gouvernements, les utilisateurs et les transporteurs. Dans l’ensemble, toutefois, les avantages du précontrôle n’ont pas souvent été mesurés.

À l’heure actuelle, huit aéroports canadiens ont des installations de précontrôle des voyageurs à destination des États-Unis. Dans le cas des voyageurs maritimes, il y a des installations de précontrôle à Vancouver (port de croisière) et à Prince Rupert, ainsi que des services de préinspection américains à Victoria et à Sidney. Quant aux services ferroviaires, seule la gare Pacific Central à Vancouver a des installations de préinspection à l’intention des passagers. Le précontrôle a été établi officiellement dans le contexte du transport aérien, mais aucun cadre juridique n’est en vigueur pour les autre modes de transport. Enfin, mentionnons le projet pilote de préinspection des marchandise, dont la phase II se déroule actuellement au pont Peace de Fort Erie.

Méthode

Le rapport résume la littérature internationale sur les répercussions économiques et sociales des opérations de précontrôle; il cerne les avantages du précontrôle que la littérature n’examine pas bien; et il propose des méthodes réalisables pour mesurer de manière quantitative les avantages que représenterait, pour le Canada, la mise en place de processus et d’installations de précontrôle dans différents contextes.

En général, les objectifs stratégiques du précontrôle portent précisément sur les aspects sécurité, optimisation du service et des coûts, et coopération internationale. Les États-Unis exploitent des installations de précontrôle dans un certain nombre de pays, notamment l’Irlande et les Émirats arabes unis. Les autorités mexicaines exploitent une installation de précontrôle du fret aérien au Texas. À part cela, l’équipe de recherche n’a connaissance que d’une autre activité de précontrôle – les contrôles juxtaposés du Royaume-Uni, de la France et de la Belgique – dont l’objet est la réduction du nombre de demandeurs d’asile et d’immigrants clandestins.

Dans cette étude, la définition des avantages inclut toute la gamme des conséquences positives découlant des opérations de précontrôle et d’éclairer les discussions stratégiques. Toutefois, elle signifie également que les avantages doivent être présentés avec prudence, car ils ne sont pas forcément cumulatifs. Le rapport comporte des indications à cet égard.

Réponse

Selon l’analyse et la revue de la littérature, les avantages se classent en cinq catégories: l’optimisation des ressources frontalières, où le précontrôle peut mener à une meilleure utilisation des ressources, ce qui constitue un avantage direct pour les agences frontalières et peut représenter un allégement budgétaire direct; l’amélioration de la sécurité, où le précontrôle, en ayant lieu au niveau du périmètre, permet de réduire les menaces et d’améliorer la sécurité; l’amélioration de l’expérience des passagers à la frontière, où grâce à des opérations frontalières plus efficaces (plus rapides et plus fiables) et à ses caractéristiques particulières (p. ex. lieu du contrôle à la frontière pouvant mener à une réduction des coûts, davantage de choix), le précontrôle est clairement avantageux pour les passagers; l’amélioration de l’expérience des entités commerciales à la frontière, où grâce à des opérations frontalières plus efficaces (plus rapides et plus fiables) et à ses caractéristiques particulières (p. ex. lieu du contrôle pouvant mener à la réduction des coûts, souplesse opérationnelle accrue), le précontrôle est clairement avantageux pour les transporteurs et les aéroports; et les avantages dérivés, qui découlent directement ou indirectement des avantages cité dans les quatre catégories précédentes. Par exemple, la réduction du coût à la frontière des opérations commerciales peut mener à une augmentation du commerce ou à la hausse des investissements étrangers, et la réduction du temps d’attente des passagers peut mener à une augmentation du tourisme. En général, les quatre premières catégories représentent des avantages qui sont de nature cumulative, tandis que la dernière catégorie englobe une vaste gamme de retombées positives du précontrôle qui, en général, ne peuvent être évaluées qu’au moyen de modèles d’entrées-sorties ou de modèles informatiques d’équilibre général.

Pour proposer des méthodes précises permettant de mesurer les avantages du précontrôle, il faut définir clairement certains facteurs et faire des compromis entre ceux-ci, notamment la robustesse et la disponibilité des données; la portée de l’analyse; et l’aspect privilégié par l’analyse. Le rapport offre des renseignements et des indications sur l’incidence éventuelle de chacun de ces facteurs sur la méthodologie proposée. À noter en particulier le fait qu’il est presque impossible de déterminer avec précision si c’est le pays hôte ou le pays étranger qui bénéficie le plus des avantages. Cela étant, l’équipe de recherche recommande fortement l’adoption d’un cadre qui ne limiterait pas la portée des avantages (c.-à-d. qu’il comprendrait les flux d’avantages vers l’extérieur du Canada); la répartition des avantages serait alors analysée en tant qu’élément qualitatif de l’évaluation.

Les avantages potentiels du précontrôle sont considérables. En effet, une évaluation très préliminaire de l’installation de précontrôle à l’aéroport Pearson de Toronto révèle, en s’appuyant fortement sur une série d’hypothèses que vérifierait toute démarche de mesure sérieuse, que les avantages mesurables du précontrôle à ces installations seraient de l’ordre de 47,3 millions de dollars par année, soit près de 570 million de dollars sur trente ans (actualisés au taux de 8 p. 100 par année). Ce total ne comprend pas la majeure partie des économies importantes (sur les plans de l’infrastructure, des opérations et de l’administration) que le gouvernement américain réaliserait à lui seul. Tous les avantages mesurés sont des avantages dont profiteraient les transporteurs et passagers canadiens et américains, de même que certains passagers d’autres pays.

Répercussions

Bien sûr, la nature et l’ampleur des avantages peuvent varier grandement, selon le mode de transport et le point d’entrée. Dans la plupart des cas, les avantages pour les passagers et les transporteurs proviennent de la possibilité d’un contrôle douanier plus rapide et du gain de temps qui en découle. Dans le secteur du transport aérien, cependant, la souplesse opérationnelle accrue donne lieu à des avantages encore plus importants, tant pour les passagers (davantage de choix) que pour les transporteurs aériens (droits d’aérogare).

Il est difficile d’établir la mesure dans laquelle les transporteurs peuvent percevoir ces avantages par l’entremise de tarifs plus élevés (c.-à-d. la façon dont les avantages sont répartis entre les passagers et les transporteurs).

Dans le secteur du transport par camion, les expéditeurs pourraient bénéficier d’avantages considérables sur le plan de la réduction des coûts de possession des stocks. Ces avantages sont tributaires du temps gagné à la frontière. Dans certains cas, la réduction des coûts d’infrastructure ou des coûts opérationnels pourrait se révéler un avantage particulièrement intéressant pour les agences frontalières. De même, les avantages sur le plan de la sécurité pourraient être très importants, quoique trop difficiles à évaluer avec précision.

Enfin, il est important de souligner que d’autres avantages, découlant principalement des avantages primaires susmentionnés, peuvent être mesurés au moyen de modèles économiques. Ces modèles s’appuient fortement sur une série d’hypothèses et pourraient être considérés comme n’étant pas particulièrement transparents. Du côté positif, ils saisissent un certain nombre d’effets qu’il aurait été pour ainsi dire impossible de dégager directement, notamment le potentiel d’amélioration de la productivité, d’amélioration de la concurrence et d’augmentation du tourisme. Malheureusement, en raison des méthodes utilisées pour les mesurer, ces avantages ne peuvent être comparés de façon significative ni ajoutés aux autres avantages mesurables, et ne peuvent pas non plus être comparés aux coûts du projet ou de l’installation. On pourrait toutefois en rendre compte séparément pour éclairer le débat entourant la valeur des initiatives de précontrôle pour des intervenants précis, de même que pour la compétitivité économique du pays en général.

Source

Arsenault, J-F., J. Taylor, M-A. Roy et J-F. Pelletier. Paramètres économiques du précontrôle : Étude documentaire, discussion et méthodes de mesure proposées, préparé par CPCS, Inc., Ottawa (Ontario), Sécurité publique Canada, 2014.

Sources additionnelles

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :