Research Summary: Improving Police Efficiency

PDF (118 Kb)

The police experience inefficiencies when interacting with prosecution, defense and the courts. Most sources of inefficiency are amenable to mutually developed solutions.

Background

In 2013, all Federal, Provincial and Territorial (FPT) Ministers responsible for Justice and Public Safety approved the “Shared Forward Agenda,” a strategy for the future of policing in Canada. This strategy is built upon three pillars, one of which focuses on efficiencies within the larger criminal justice system. Police believe their current interactions with the criminal justice system (i.e., the courts, prosecutions) result in inefficiencies in the processing of criminal offences. 

A number of recent committee reports (Kramp, 2014) and academic panels (Goudge, 2014) have started to examine the economics of policing with a particular focus on how to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of policing in Canada. The objective of the present study was to contribute to an understanding of the interactions between the police and the larger justice system, to record perceptions of the justice system, and to identify those initiatives that have been taken in an attempt to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the police.

Method

A consultation guide was developed by Public Safety Canada which consisted of eight questions. The sample (N=40) was a purposive sample. The respondents were selected for their position and their geographic representation and included police officers at the senior management level, mid-management, and line levels who are involved in policing in a variety of settings from large urban centres to remote, fly-in communities; civilian managers in police services; provincial and federal Crown; court administrators; persons in research and policy positions in police services and in the courts; and senior provincial/territorial justice officials.

In addition to conducting interviews, the project team reviewed a number of recent reports and investigations into the delivery of policing services that have been conducted as part of the larger discussion of the economics of policing.  An attempt was also made to document initiatives that had been taken, both successful and unsuccessful, to improve the efficiency of the police. In addition, one focus group was held with police experts at a national conference.

Findings

The respondents identified a number of areas in the interaction between police and prosecution, defense or the courts that affected the efficiency of the police. The most-frequently mentioned were: 1) unique challenges in policing in northern and remote communities; 2) disclosure; 3) scheduling officers for court; 4) the lack of collaborative relationships between police and Crown; 5) the absence of standardized practices; 6) the activities of defence counsel; 7) issues surrounding court facilities; and 8) the use of technology. Other issues mentioned included: justices of the peace; the transport of prisoners; the downloading of costs; and structural problems in police organizations.

A table on the next page reveals that the majority of the issues are the result of external or internal policy and/or a lack of training and supervision. These areas would be most amenable to reform and to the implementation of standardized practice.

Respondents to the study identified a number of initiatives taken in jurisdictions across the country intended to decrease police inefficiencies. Some have been replicated; others are “one-offs,” even within the same jurisdiction. A number of the initiatives are specific to a municipality; others are examples of jurisdiction-wide efforts to increase efficiency. In some cases critical events and/or the failure of the justice system were the catalysts for reform and innovation.  Few of the initiatives have been subjected to independent evaluation or to cost-benefit analysis which makes it difficult to determine their effectiveness in reducing inefficiencies.

The respondents in this study and the numerous reports that have been produced on various facets of the economics of policing have documented the interconnectedness of the police and the criminal justice system. Efforts to address police inefficiencies cannot be taken in isolation from an examination of the activities of Crown, defence, and the judiciary.

Source

Griffiths, Curt T., Murphy, Joshua J., and Tatz, Mark. (2015). Improving Police Efficiency: Challenges and Opportunities. 2015-R021. Ottawa, Ontario: Public Safety Canada.

Police Inefficiencies and Their Source, as Identified by Study Respondents
Inefficiency

External / Internal Policy / Procedure

Legislation

Training / Supervision

Case Law / Charter

Electronic court briefs

X

     

Incomplete briefs

   

X

 

Officer scheduling

X

     

Bail hearings

X

     

Show cause reports

X

 

X

 

Video editing

   

X

 

Standardization of court brief

X

     

Disclosure

     

X

Tele-warrants

 

X

   

Scheduling of police officers for court

X

     

Electronic disclosure

X

X

   

Court security

X

X

   

Case management

X

   

X

Lengthy trials

 

X

 

X

Witness management

X

   

X

Custody management

X

     

Video remands

X

     

Bail remands

X

     

Judicial pre-trials

X

     

Adoption of technology

X

     

Bail hearings late in the day

X

     

Preliminary hearings

     

X

Court time

X

     

Search warrants

     

X

Release from locations other than court

X

     

PPSC downloading costs

X

     

MHA assessments

X

     

Video statements

X

   

X

Other Sources

Kramp, D. (Chair). Parliament of Canada. 2014. Economics of Policing: Report of the Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security. Ottawa: Parliament of Canada.

Goudge, S. Hon. (Chair). 2014. Policing Canada in the 21st Century: New Policing for New Challenges. Ottawa: Council of Canadian Academies.

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:

Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors’ findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche : Accroître l’efficience de la police

PDF (118 Ko)

La police manque d’efficience dans ses interactions avec les services des poursuites, la défense et les tribunaux. La plupart des sources de pratiques non efficientes sont propices à l’élaboration de solutions

Context

En 2013, tous les ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux (FPT) responsables de la justice et de la sécurité publique ont approuvé le programme commun, une stratégie sur l’avenir des services de police au Canada. Cette stratégie repose sur trois piliers, dont l’un porte sur les gains d’efficience au sein du système de justice pénale en général. La police estime que ses interactions actuelles avec le système de justice pénale (tribunaux, services des poursuites) donnent lieu à des pratiques non efficientes dans le traitement des infractions criminelles.

Récemment, un certain nombre de comités (Kramp, 2014) et de groupes d’experts du milieu universitaire (Goudge, 2014) ont commencé à examiner les paramètres économiques des services de police, en s’attardant particulièrement aux moyens d’accroître l’efficacité et l’efficience des services de police au Canada. L’objectif de l’étude consistait à favoriser la compréhension des interactions entre la police et le système de justice en général, à consigner les perceptions du système de justice, et à définir les mesures qui ont été prises dans le but d’accroître l’efficience et l’efficacité de la police.

Méthode

Sécurité publique Canada a rédigé un guide de consultation qui se composait de huit questions. L’échantillon (N=40) était un échantillon calculé. Les répondants ont été sélectionnés en fonction de leur poste et de leur représentation géographique; il s’agissait notamment de policiers occupant des postes de cadres supérieurs, de cadres intermédiaires et de première ligne qui contribuent au maintien de l’ordre dans divers contextes allant des grands centres urbains aux collectivités éloignées accessibles par voie aérienne; de gestionnaires civils dans les services de police; d’avocats de la Couronne provinciaux et fédéraux; d’administrateurs de tribunaux; de personnes occupant des postes en recherche et en politiques dans les services de police et les tribunaux; et de hauts représentants officiels des systèmes de justice provinciaux et territoriaux.

En plus de mener des entrevues, l’équipe de projet a examiné des rapports récents découlant de recherches et d’enquêtes sur la prestation des services de police qui s’inscrivaient dans le cadre de la discussion globale sur les paramètres économiques des services de police. L’équipe a également tenté de consigner les mesures prises (qu’elles se soient avérées efficaces ou non) pour accroître l’efficience de la police. Par ailleurs, l’équipe a tenu un groupe de discussion avec des experts de la police lors d’une conférence nationale.

Constatations

Les répondants ont relevé un manque d’efficience dans certains aspects de l’interaction entre la police et les services des poursuites, la défense ou les tribunaux. Ce sont les aspects suivants qui revenaient le plus souvent : 1) les défis uniques liés au maintien de l’ordre dans les collectivités éloignées et du Nord; 2) la divulgation; 3) l’établissement de l’horaire de comparution des policiers; 4) le manque de relations de collaboration entre la police et la Couronne; 5) l’absence de pratiques normalisées; 6) les activités des avocats de la défense; 7) les enjeux entourant les installations judiciaires; et 8) l’utilisation de la technologie. Les enjeux mentionnés incluent aussi les juges de paix, le transport des prisonniers, le renvoi des coûts et les problèmes structuraux au sein des services de police.

Le tableau présenté ci-après révèle  que la majorité des enjeux résultent d’une politique externe ou interne, ou encore d’un manque de formation et de supervision. Ces aspects de la relation seraient les plus propices à une réforme et à la mise en œuvre de pratiques normalisées.

Les répondants ont recensé des mesures prises dans les administrations de partout au pays dans le but de réduire les pratiques non efficientes au sein de la police. Certaines ont été reproduites, tandis que d’autres sont des mesures ponctuelles, même au sein d’une même administration. Certaines sont propres à une municipalité, alors que d’autres ont été mises en œuvre dans toute l’administration à des fins d’efficience. Parfois, le processus de réforme et d’innovation a été déclenché par un événement crucial ou l’échec du système de justice. Les mesures ayant rarement fait l’objet d’une évaluation indépendante ou d’une analyse coûts-avantages, il est difficile de déterminer leur efficacité pour ce qui est de réduire les pratiques non efficientes.

Les personnes interrogées et les nombreux rapports produits sur différentes facettes des paramètres économiques des services de police sont également venus étayer l’interdépendance de la police et du système de justice pénale. Aucune mesure pour éliminer les pratiques non efficientes au sein de la police ne peut être prise indépendamment d’un examen des activités de la Couronne, de la défense et de la magistrature.

Pratiques non efficientes au sein de la police et leur source, selon les personnes interrogées

Pratique non efficiente

Procédure ou politique externe ou interne

Législation

Formation / supervision

Jurisprudence / Charte

Dossiers d’audience électroniques

X

     

Dossiers incomplets

   

X

 

Horaire des policiers

X

     

Audiences sur le cautionnement

X

     

Rapports pour les enquêtes concernant la libération provisoire

X

 

X

 

Montage vidéo

   

X

 

Normalisation du dossier d’audience

X

     

Divulgation

     

X

Télémandats

 

X

   

Horaire de comparution des policiers

X

     

Divulgation électronique

X

X

   

Sécurité des tribunaux

X

X

   

Gestion des causes

X

   

X

Longs procès

 

X

 

X

Gestion des témoins

X

   

X

Gestion de la détention

X

     

Renvois par vidéo

X

     

Renvois sur le cautionnement

X

     

Conférences préparatoires

X

     

Adoption de la technologie

X

     

Audiences sur le cautionnement en fin de journée

X

     

Audiences préliminaires

     

X

Temps d’audience

X

     

Mandats de perquisition

     

X

Mise en liberté d’autres endroits que les tribunaux

X

     

Renvoi des coûts par le SPPC

X

     

Évaluations en vertu de la Loi sur la santé mentale

X

     

Déclarations sur vidéo

X

   

X

Source

Griffiths, Curt T., Joshua J. Murphy et Mark Tatz. Accroître l’efficience de la police : Défis et possibilités, rapport no 2015‑R021, Ottawa (Ontario), Sécurité publique Canada, 2015.

Sources additionnelles

Kramp, D. (président). Parlement du Canada. Aspects économiques liés aux services de police : Rapport du Comité permanent de la sécurité publique et nationale, Ottawa, Parlement du Canada, 2014.

Goudge, S., l’honorable (président). Le maintien de l’ordre au Canada au XXIe siècle : Une nouvelle police pour de nouveaux défis, Ottawa, Conseil des académies canadiennes, 2014.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :