The Aboriginal EMPATHIC Program

PDF Version (136 KB)

Introduction

The Aboriginal Emotional Maturity Problem-Solving & Awareness Targeting Higher Impulse Control (EMPATHIC) Program is a school-based curriculum designed for students in grades one to five. It was implemented in the Eskasoni Elementary and Middle School, Nova Scotia, between 2003 and 2006. EMPATHIC is based upon the Promoting Alternative Thinking Strategies (PATHS) program which is widely recognized in the United States as a proven program to prevent or reduce levels of violence, crime, or drug useNote 1. The program was modified to reflect Aboriginal cultural values and teachings.

The goal of the EMPATHIC program was to develop emotional awareness and impulse control among Aboriginal children as a means of reducing the likelihood of future violent and criminal behaviour. The expected outcomes included:

Students at each of the five levels of the program were required to attend 40 lessons. Important modules were repeated from year to year for positive reinforcement. The lesson activities included roleplaying, journal writing, picture-based scenarios, and story telling. In addition to the curriculum, a program representative conducted selected home visits each week to create a positive focus on the child.

Program Assessment

The project evaluation consisted of a process and outcome evaluation. Methods of data collection included school staff surveys, file reviews, class observation, student discussion groups and interviews with teachers, guidance counsellors, school administrators, program representatives, management-team members, community members, and family members.

The outcome evaluation was based on a quasiexperimental design that included a comparison school. A survey on general perceptions of school atmosphere and student behavior was administered to staff (teachers, guidance counsellors and school administrators) in the Eskasoni School and a comparison school. The survey was administered before, during and at the end of the project.

The design was supplemented by a second survey in the Eskasoni School to capture quantitative data on the types of disruptive behaviors teachers were experiencing in the classroom. All teachers completed the supplementary survey early in the project and again at the end of the project.

Data collection problems in the comparison school resulted in too few responses to permit the intended analyses. The analysis of the Eskasoni staff survey did not reveal changes in general perceptions of school atmosphere or student behavior. The supplementary teacher survey on the other hand reported several positive trends in terms of improved classroom behavior.

Key Findings

The process evaluation found that:

The outcome evaluation found that:

Lessons Learned

The program theory identified community involvement as a short-term outcome necessary to achieve the intermediate outcomes. Therefore, concerted efforts should be made to increase awareness of the program within the community.

Full support from many levels within the school system and commitment from those involved in program delivery was a key factor in the successful implementation of the program.

Home visits were an important component for increasing parents' understanding and awareness of the program. They also provided the entire family with a positive boost as parents were also praised for the efforts.

Training and orientation was important to the success of the program. The individual delivering the program needs to be familiar with the lesson content and possess an understanding of Aboriginal culture.

Collecting data for the evaluation required close attention to the school schedule.

Since the comparison school data was not useable, the use of multiple methods of data collection provided valuable information about the program's effectiveness. Using a comparison group design requires early consideration of the extent to which both groups are comparable and the ability to gain a sufficient sample size.

Conclusion

The evaluation findings suggest that students responded well to the adaptation of the program to reflect Aboriginal culture and teachings. Improvements were reported in the students' ability to understand and express their emotions. Students were also beginning to show signs of improved impulse control. Given that PATHS is a proven program and students in the Eskasoni School participated fully in the program activities, it is reasonable to conclude that aggressive and anti-social behavioral changes will occur in the longer term.

The EMPATHIC Program is a promising intervention for increasing resiliency among Aboriginal youth. By using culturally appropriate intervention methods and focusing on key risk factors, the program has the potential to prevent youth from future delinquency and criminal behaviour. There may be value in replicating the program in another Aboriginal community and conducting a more rigorous evaluation design to gain further evidence of the program's effectiveness.

  1. 1

    Delbert Elliott, Ph.D. , Blueprints Project for the Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence

Date modified:

Le Programme EMPATHIC pour les Autochtones

Version PDF (142 Ko)

Introduction

Le programme « Emotional Maturity Problem-Solving & Awareness Targeting Higher Impulse Control » (EMPATHIC) [maturité affective, résolution de problèmes et sensibilisation pour une meilleure maîtrise des impulsions] pour les Autochtones est un programme scolaire destiné aux élèves de la première à la cinquième année. Il a été mis en oeuvre de 2003 à 2006 à l'école primaire et intermédiaire d'Eskasoni, en Nouvelle Écosse. Le programme EMPATHIC s'inspire du programme « Promoting Alternative Thinking Strategies » (PATHS) [favoriser les stratégies de réflexion novatrices], dont l'efficacité pour prévenir ou réduire les actes de violence, les infractions ou la consommation de drogue est largement reconnue aux États UnisNote 1. Le programme a été modifié pour tenir compte des valeurs culturelles et des méthodes d'enseignement propres aux Autochtones.

L'objectif du programme EMPATHIC consistait à favoriser la conscience émotionnelle et la maîtrise des impulsions chez les enfants autochtones pour réduire les risques qu'ils adoptent, plus tard, des comportements criminels et violents. Avec ce programme, on espérait obtenir les résultats suivants :

Les élèves de chacun des cinq niveaux scolaires ont suivi 40 leçons, dont certaines étaient répétées d'une année à l'autre afin d'assurer une meilleure assimilation. Les activités auxquelles les élèves ont participé incluaient : jeux de rôle, rédaction d'un journal, mises en situation avec des images et narration d'histoires. En plus du programme d'enseignement, un intervenant se rendait chaque semaine à certains domiciles pour mettre l'accent sur le bien-être de l'enfant.

Évaluation du projet

Le projet a été évalué tant sur le plan des processus que sur celui des effets obtenus. Les données ont été recueillies à l'aide des méthodes suivantes : sondages auprès du personnel de l'école, examen de dossiers, observation en classe, groupes de discussion composés d'élèves et entrevues auprès d'enseignants, de conseillers en orientation, d'administrateurs scolaires, de représentants du programme, de membres de l'équipe de gestion, de membres de la collectivité et de membres de famille des élèves.

Pour évaluer les résultats, on a utilisé un modèle quasi expérimental, avec une école témoin. On a effectué un sondage auprès des employés (c.-à-d. les enseignants, les conseillers en orientation et les administrateurs scolaires) de l'école d'Eskasoni et de l'école témoin pour connaître leurs opinions générales sur l'ambiance et le comportement des élèves à leur école. Les employés ont répondu au sondage avant et pendant le projet ainsi qu'à la fin de celui-ci.

Outre ce modèle, on a effectué un deuxième sondage à l'école d'Eskasoni pour recueillir des données quantitatives sur les types de comportements perturbateurs auxquels les enseignants étaient confrontés en classe. Tous les enseignants ont répondu à ce sondage, et ce, au début et à la fin du projet.

À l'école témoin, des difficultés sont survenues sur le plan de la collecte des données et on n'a donc pas recueilli suffisamment de réponses pour réaliser les analyses voulues. L'analyse du sondage effectué auprès du personnel de l'école Eskasoni a montré que les opinions générales sur le climat scolaire et le comportement des élèves n'avaient pas changé. Par contre, le deuxième sondage effectué auprès des enseignants a révélé que le comportement des élèves en classe s'était amélioré à plusieurs égards.

Principaux résultats

L'évaluation des processus a révélé que :

L'évaluation des résultats a révélé que :

Leçons apprises

D'après la théorie du programme, la participation de la collectivité constitue un résultat qu'il faut obtenir à court terme pour atteindre les résultats voulus à moyen terme. Ainsi, il faudrait déployer des efforts concertés pour faire mieux connaître le programme à la collectivité.

L'appui unanime accordé par les différents niveaux du système scolaire et l'engagement des personnes qui ont offert le programme constitue des facteurs essentiels ayant contribué à son succès.

Les visites à domicile ont représenté une stratégie importante pour aider les parents à mieux connaître et comprendre le programme.

De plus, elles servaient à encourager toute la famille, puisqu'elles donnaient ainsi l'occasion de féliciter les parents pour leurs efforts.

Les séances de formation et d'orientation ont fortement contribué au succès du programme. Les personnes qui offrent le programme doivent bien connaître le contenu des leçons et elles doivent comprendre la culture autochtone.

Pour recueillir les données nécessaires à l'évaluation, il a fallu constamment tenir compte du calendrier scolaire.

Même s'il n'a pas été possible d'utiliser les données provenant de l'école témoin, le recours à de multiples méthodes de collecte de données a néanmoins permis d'obtenir des résultats très intéressants sur l'efficacité du programme. Lorsqu'on utilise un modèle avec un groupe témoin, il faut déterminer, dès le début du processus, à quel point les deux groupes sont comparables et dans quelle mesure il sera possible d'obtenir des échantillons de taille suffisante.

Conclusion

Les résultats de l'évaluation semblent indiquer que les élèves ont bien réagi à la version modifiée du programme, qui tenait compte de la culture et des méthodes d'enseignement propres aux Autochtones. On a rapporté que les élèves comprenaient mieux et exprimaient mieux leurs émotions. En outre, ils commençaient à mieux maîtriser leurs impulsions. Étant donné que le programme PATHS a déjà fait ses preuves et que les élèves de l'école Eskasoni ont participé activement aux activités du programme, il est raisonnable de conclure que, à long terme, on observera des changements dans leurs comportements agressifs et antisociaux.

Le programme EMPATHIC se révèle une intervention prometteuse pour renforcer la capacité de résilience des jeunes autochtones. Puisqu'il fait appel à des méthodes d'intervention appropriées à la culture et qu'il cible des facteurs de risque connus, ce programme est susceptible de prévenir la délinquance et les comportements criminels chez les jeunes. Il serait peut-être utile de reproduire le programme dans une autre collectivité autochtone et d'utiliser un modèle d'évaluation plus rigoureux pour obtenir d'autres données quant à son efficacité.

  1. 1

    Delbert Elliott, Ph. D., Blueprints Project for the Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence.

Date de modification :