Ndaawin Project

PDF Version (241 KB)

The Ndaawin Project was a culturally-based intervention aimed at preventing the sexual exploitation of children and youth in Winnipeg. Sponsored by New Directions, a multi-service agency for children, youth, adults and families, the project offered services to Aboriginal children aged 8 to 13 living in the Lord Selkirk Development in North Winnipeg.

The Ndaawin Project consisted of five program components:

Integral to the Ndaawin Project, the Advisory Council was composed of community and service agency representatives who helped staff by providing expertise, guidance, networking opportunities and linkages with relevant organizations.

Project assessment

A process and outcome evaluation was conducted. The results were derived primarily from qualitative information including observations and interviews.

In total, 29 children participated in the Prevention Curriculum program: 18 completed the pre- and post-test measures and 21 children participated in focus group session.

A cost avoidance analysis was conducted, which compared the costs of the program to the costs to individuals and society when young people become involved in prostitution. The intent was to determine how many children would have to be successfully dissuaded from becoming involved in prostitution to justify the cost of the program.

Key findings

The process evaluation showed that:

The outcome evaluation showed that:

Lessons learned

Lessons learned included:

Conclusion

The Ndaawin project helped reduce the risks of sexual exploitation for the children who participated in the program. The project helped them increase their self-esteem and self-worth, and they engaged in substantially less risky behaviour.

It is critical to reach out to parents and families, to educate them and to provide appropriate support for preventing the sexual exploitation of children and youth.

For more information or to receive a copy of the final evaluation report please contact the National Crime Prevention Centre at 1-800-830-3118, or visit our website.

The cost-avoidance study is available through most libraries. Its title is "An Examination of the Fiscal Impact from Youth Involvement in the Sex Trade: The Case for Evaluating Priorities in Prevention," by Linda DeRiviere. It appeared in Canadian Public Policy, Volume 31, No.2, pp. 181-206.

For more information, you can also visit the web site of New Directions.

Register for the NCPC mailing list to receive information from the Centre.

Date modified:

Projet Ndaawin

Version PDF (240 Ko)

Le projet Ndaawin était un programme d'intervention adapté à la culture qui visait à prévenir l'exploitation sexuelle sous forme de prostitution chez les enfants et les jeunes de Winnipeg. Ce projet s'adressait aux enfants autochtones âgés de 8 à 13 ans qui vivent à Lord Selkirk dans le nord de Winnipeg. Le projet était parrainé par New Directions, un organisme de services polyvalent pour les enfants, les jeunes, les adultes et les familles.

Le projet Ndaawin consistait en cinq composantes :

Une partie intégrante de ce projet est le conseil consultatif. Il était composé de représentants de collectivités et d'organismes de services. Ces derniers ont prêté main-forte aux employés en fournissant leur expertise, des possibilités de réseautage et des conseils et en établissant des liens avec les organisations appropriées.

Évaluation du projet

Une évaluation des processus et des résultats a été effectuée. Les analyses étaient principalement fondées sur de l'information qualitative, notamment les observations et les entrevues.

Au total, 29 enfants ont participé au programme scolaire de prévention : 18 ont complété les mesures avant et après le programme et 21 ont participé aux groupes de discussion.

Une analyse des coûts-bénéfices du projet a été effectuée. Elle consistait à comparer les coûts du programme aux coûts qui incomberaient aux citoyens et à la société si les jeunes s'adonnaient à la prostitution. Pour justifier le coût de ce projet, il s'agissait de déterminer le nombre d'enfants que le projet avait réussi à prévenir de l'exploitation sexuelle et de la prostitution.

Principaux résultats

L'évaluation des processus montre que :

Les résultats de l'évaluation ont révélé que :

Leçons apprises

Plusieurs leçons ont été apprises dont :

Conclusion

Le projet Ndaawin a contribué à réduire les risques d'exploitation sexuelle des enfants qui y ont participés. Ce projet leur a aussi aidé à acquérir une meilleure estime de soi, à être conscients de leur valeur personnelle et à adopter des comportements plus sains.

Il est important de sensibiliser les parents et les familles, de les éduquer et leur offrir un appui approprié en vue de prévenir l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants et des jeunes.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou recevoir un exemplaire du rapport final d'évaluation, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre national de prévention du crime au 800-830-3118, ou consulter notre site Web.

L'étude sur les coûts est disponible dans la plupart des bibliothèques. Le titre de l'ouvrage est : DeRiviere, Linda. « An Examination of the Fiscal Impact from Youth Involvement in the Sex Trade: The Case for Evaluating Priorities in Prevention », Analyse de politiques, Canadian Public Policy, volume 31, no 2, p. 181-206.

Vous pouvez aussi consulter le site Web de New Directions.

Pour recevoir des informations sur les activités du CNPC, nous vous invitons à vous inscrire à la liste d'envoi électronique du CNPC en visitant notre page d'enregistrement.

Date de modification :