First Nations Youth and Restorative Healing Project

PDF Version (984 KB)

First Nations - young man at workThe First Nations Youth and Restorative Healing Project was a culturally-based community-based crime prevention strategy.

The project targeted youths, living on and off the reserve, who showed signs of exposure to addiction, family violence and abuse. The objective was to replace anti-social behaviour and criminal activity with conflict management based on resiliency, pride, self-esteem and respect for elders.

The project was coordinated by the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN). Based on their high crime rates, the Cote First Nation and Battlefords communities were selected as sites to implement the project. Youth aged 15 to 20 were targeted in Cote and youth aged 12 to 18 in Battlefords.

Project assessment

Process evaluation was conducted on the experiences of the project planning and implementation. Site visits were carried out and interviews were conducted with key stakeholders in both the Cote First Nation and Battlefords communities. Stakeholders included the project coordinator, band councilor, First Nation's Probation Officer, Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) officers, and the school guidance counselor.

Key findings

Lessons learned

The project generated a number of valuable lessons.

Toward the end of the project the Battlefords community launched a new coordination initiative with youth agencies titled 'Promoting Youth Success: A comprehensive strategy designed to promote a safer community by reducing youth crime.' This outcome indicated that the 'First Nations Youth and Restorative Project' was well received by the community.

Conclusion

Despite the fact that the evaluation encountered a few difficulties, it is clear that the 'First Nations Youth and Restorative Project' succeeded in producing positive experiences for the youth participants. In both the Cote First Nation and Battlefords communities, the general consensus was that children and youth benefited from a program based on their culture.

First Nations youth get involved and participate in cultural and spiritual activities and learn the traditional teachings with the help of Elders and through community programs based on restorative healing.

For more information or to receive a copy of the final evaluation report please contact the National Crime Prevention Centre at 1-800-830-3118.

You can also visit the web site of the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations.

Date modified:

Projet Approche de guérison fondée sur la justice réparatrice pour les jeunes des Premières nations

Version PDF (997 Ko)

Jeune des Premières nations au travailLe projet Approche de guérison fondée sur la justice réparatrice pour les jeunes des Premières nations peut se définir comme une stratégie communautaire de prévention du crime adaptée à la culture.

Le projet visait les jeunes vivant ou non sur la réserve, qui présentaient des signes de toxicomanie et qui semblaient être victimes de violence familiale et de mauvais traitements. L'objectif était de modifier le comportement antisocial et les activités criminelles par une gestion des conflits axée sur la résilience, la fierté, l'estime de soi et le respect des Aînés.

La Fédération des nations indiennes de la Saskatchewan (FNIS) était responsable de la coordination du projet. Présentant un haut taux de criminalité, les collectivités de la Première nation de Côté et de Battlefords ont été choisies pour la mise en œuvre du projet. Les jeunes âgés entre 15 et 20 ans de la Première nation de Côté, et ceux entre 12 et 18 ans de Battlefords étaient visés.

Évaluation du projet

On a procédé à une évaluation des processus axée sur les expé-riences relatives à la planification et la mise en œuvre du projet. Des visites ont été effectuées dans les deux localités, et des entrevues ont été menées auprès des principaux intervenants. Figurent au nombre de ces principaux intervenants le coordonnateur du projet, l'agent de probation de la Première nation, des agents de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) et le conseiller scolaire.

Principaux résultats

Leçons apprises

Plusieurs leçons ont été tirées du projet :

Vers la fin du projet, la collectivité de Battlefords a mis sur pied une nouvelle initiative de coordination avec les organismes jeunesse, Promoting Youth Success: A Comprehensive Strategy Designed to Promote a Safer Community by Reducing Youth Crime. Cette initiative illustre bien que le projet visant la justice réparatrice pour les jeunes des Premières nations a été bien reçu par la collectivité.

Conclusion

Malgré les difficultés d'établir l'impact du projet, l'expérience d'une approche fondée sur la justice réparatrice semble avoir été positive pour les jeunes qui y ont participé. Dans les deux collectivités, il ressort comme impression générale que ce projet axé sur la culture a été bénéfique pour les enfants et les jeunes.

Les jeunes des Premières nations participent et s'impliquent dans les activités culturelles et spirituelles et apprennent les enseignements traditionnels, avec l'aide des Aînés et au moyen de programmes, qui respectent leur culture et les principes de justice réparatrice pour gérer les conflits.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou un exemplaire du rapport final d'évaluation, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre national de prévention du crime au 800-830-3118.

Vous pouvez également consulter le site Web (en anglais) de la Fédération des nations indiennes de la Saskatchewan.

Date de modification :