Youth gang involvement: What are the risk factors?

PDF (407 KB)

Table of Contents

The National Crime Prevention Centre (NCPC) of the Public Safety Canada is committed to developing and disseminating practical knowledge to address the problem of youth gangs. This information sheet is one of a series providing information related to youth gang involvement. It is designed to assist those who are concerned about youth gangs and who are working to help prevent youth from becoming involved in gangs or to help them leave gangs.

The vast majority of young people never get involved in crime or join gangs. Those who do join gangs tend to have specific risk factors that influence their involvement and membership in gangs.

To effectively prevent youth from joining gangs it is essential to understand these risk factors.

What is a risk factor?

Risk factors can be defined as life events or experiences that are associated with an increase in problem behaviours, such as drug use or gang activities Footnote 1. For example, being the child of a single-parent who is often absent from the home and lacks adequate support, can be considered a risk factor. The negative influence of a friend Footnote 2 or sibling can be another.

Risk factors can be divided into five categories:

Major risk factors

Long-term studies of adolescents in Canadian and American cities (Montréal, Seattle, Washington and Rochester) suggest that the most important risk factors for gang involvement include:

The Seattle study found that children and youth are two to four times more likely to join gangs if they are affected by these factors Footnote 3.

Youth at risk or already involved in gangs tend to be from groups that suffer from the greatest levels of inequality and social disadvantage Footnote 4.

Major risk factors associated with youth gang involvement

Individual

Peer group

School

Family

Community

Source: Adapted from Howell (1998, 2005).

Evolving risk factors

Gang involvement is a process that happens over time. This process is influenced by the life trajectory and individual, familial and social experiences of a young person.

Several studies indicate that risk factors associated with gang involvement are present long before a youth joins a gang Footnote 5. For example, youths who were the most behaviourally and socially maladjusted in childhood were found to be the most likely to join and stay in gangs for several years Footnote 6.

Unless appropriate actions are taken to address the factors that result in more serious crime or gang involvement, early negative life experiences and subsequent involvement in crime will only reinforce the path towards continued delinquency.

Additionally, it appears that not only entry into gangs, but also prolonged membership is associated with a greater risk of delinquency Footnote 7.

Risk factors and prevention

The identification of the specific risk factors associated with youth gang involvement helps us determine where and how to focus prevention efforts.

Briefly, we know that:

The above-mentioned Montréal study also provides evidence for a significant "gang effect" among youth gang members linked to the experience of the gang itself.

This gang effect adds to the social and family risk factors that may be present prior to joining a gang.

Protective factors and prevention

In addition to preventing youth from joining gangs, it is important to reduce membership duration for youth who belong to a gang and to provide appropriate services (drug treatment, employment and educational opportunities) once they leave the gang.

Strengthening protective factors plays an important role in reducing youth gang involvement. Protective factors are positive influences that mitigate the impact of risk factors and decrease the likelihood of problem behaviour.

Drawing on evidence regarding gang prevention, the Community Solutions to Gang Violence project in Edmonton helps increase protective factors among youth by:

Community Solutions to Gang Violence (CSGV)

This initiative is most concerned with young people who come together to engage in profit-driven criminal activity and violence.

With a large number of partners in the fields of law enforcement, health, and child and social services, this project put together a community-wide action plan and network of support to find solutions to the gang violence problems in the Greater Edmonton Area. This involved developing a comprehensive listing of risk and protective factors related to gang involvement.

In addition, CSGV has launched a website (www.csgv.ca) that keeps people informed of ongoing activities and provides resources, tools and information that can be used to prevent young people from being drawn into gangs.

Conclusion

Understanding why some young people join gangs while others do not is key to effective prevention efforts.

Current research suggests the need to address specific risk factors that lead youth to violence and gangs. It is also important to enhance protective factors that can play a role in keeping youth out of gangs.

Notes

  1. 1 Howell, James C. "Moving Risk Factors into Developmental Theories of Gang Membership," Youth Violence and Juvenile Justice 3, 4 (2005): 334-354.
  2. 2 Ibid.
  3. 3 Hawkins, J. David and John A. Pollard, (1999). "Risk and protective factors: Are both necessary to understand diverse behavioral outcomes in adolescence?," Social Work Research 23, 3: 145-158.
  4. 4 Wortley, Scot and Julian Tanner. "Social Groups or Criminal Organizations? The Extent and Nature of Youth Gang Activity in Toronto" in From enforcement and prevention to civic engagement: research on community safety / edited by Bruce Kidd and Jim Phillips. Toronto: Centre of Criminology, University of Toronto, 2004: 59-80; Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN), 2003.
  5. 5 Howell, James C. (2005).
  6. 6 Gatti, Uberto, Tremblay, Richard E., Vitaro, Frank and McDuff, Pierre. "Youth gangs, delinquency and drug use: a test of the selection, facilitation, and enhancement hypotheses," Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry 46, 11 (2005): 1178-1190; Hill, 2001.
  7. 7 Ibid.
  8. 8 Wyrick, Phelan and James C. Howell. "Strategic Risk-Based Response to Youth Gangs." Juvenile Justice Journal 9, 1 (2004).
  9. 9 Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN). Alter-Natives to Non-Violence Report: Aboriginal Youth Gangs Exploration: A community development process. Saskatchewan, FSIN, 2003; Lafontaine et al.,2005; Royal Canadian Mounted Police, 2006.
  10. 10 Gatti et al., 2005.

References

Date modified:

Les gangs de jeunes : Les facteurs de risque favorisant l'adhésion

PDF (403 Ko)

Table des matières

Le Centre national de prévention du crime (CNPC) de Sécurité publique Canada s'est engagé à élaborer et à diffuser des connaissances pratiques afin de lutter contre le problème des gangs de jeunes. Ce bulletin d'information fait partie d'une série sur l'appartenance aux gangs de jeunes. Il est conçu pour aider les personnes qui se préoccupent du problème des gangs de jeunes et qui s'efforcent d'empêcher les jeunes de se joindre à un gang ou de les aider à s'en sortir.

La vaste majorité des jeunes ne commettent jamais de crimes et ne deviennent pas membres d'un gang. Ceux qui se joignent à un gang ont tendance à présenter des facteurs de risque précis, qui les amènent à s'impliquer dans les activités d'un gang.

Il est essentiel de comprendre ces facteurs de risque si l'on veut empêcher les jeunes d'adhérer à un gang.

Qu'est-ce qu'un facteur de risque?

Les facteurs de risque peuvent se définir comme des événements ou des expériences de vie qui sont associés au renforcement de comportements à problème, tels que la consommation de drogue ou l'appartenance à un gang Footnote 1.

Par exemple, le fait d'être l'enfant d'un parent célibataire qui est souvent absent de la maison et l'absence d'un soutien adéquat peuvent être considérés comme des facteurs de risque. L'influence négative d'un ami Footnote 2, d'une sour ou d'un frère peut en constituer un autre.

Les facteurs de risque peuvent être répartis dans cinq catégories :

Principaux facteurs de risque

Des études à long terme auprès d'adolescents dans des villes canadiennes et américaines (Montréal, Seattle, Washington et Rochester) montrent que les principaux facteurs de risque favorisant l'adhésion à un gang comprennent :

L'étude menée à Seattle montre que les enfants et les adolescents qui présentent ces facteurs sont de deux à quatre fois plus susceptibles de devenir membres d'un gang Footnote 3.

Les jeunes susceptibles de se joindre à un gang ou qui en sont déjà membres proviennent généralement de groupes qui souffrent le plus d'inégalités et qui sont les plus désavantagés sur le plan social Footnote 4.

Principaux facteurs de risque associés à l'adhésion à un gang de jeunes

Caractéristiques personnelles

Groupe de pairs

École

Famille

Collectivité

Source : Texte adapté de Howell (1998, 2005)

Facteurs de risque en évolution

L'adhésion à un gang découle d'un long processus. Ce processus est façonné par la trajectoire de vie et les expériences individuelles, familiales et sociales vécues par le jeune.

Plusieurs études révèlent que les facteurs de risque associés à l'adhésion à un gang sont présents bien avant qu'un jeune devienne membre d'un gang Footnote 5. Par exemple, les jeunes qui, pendant leur enfance, étaient les plus inadaptés sur les plans comportemental et social étaient les plus susceptibles d'adhérer à un gang et d'y rester pendant plusieurs années Footnote 6.

Si des mesures appropriées ne sont pas prises pour composer avec les facteurs qui aggravent la criminalité ou qui provoquent l'adhésion à un gang, les expériences de vie négatives précoces et la criminalité qui s'en suit ne feront que renforcer l'adoption durable d'un comportement délinquant.

De plus, il semble que non seulement l'adhésion à un gang, mais aussi l'appartenance prolongée à celui-ci soient associées à un grand risque de délinquance Footnote 7.

Facteurs de risque et prévention

La connaissance de facteurs de risque précis associés à l'appartenance à un gang nous aide à déterminer quelle orientation il faut donner aux efforts de prévention et de quelle manière cela doit être fait.

En bref, nous savons que :

Cette étude menée à Montréal prouve également qu'il existe un « effet gang » important chez les membres des gangs de jeunes qui est lié à l'expérience du gang lui-même. Cet effet vient s'ajouter aux facteurs de risque sociaux et familiaux qui peuvent être présents avant l'adhésion à un gang.

Facteurs de protection et prévention

En plus d'empêcher les jeunes de devenir membres de gangs, il est important d'essayer de les aider à s'en sortir et de leur fournir des services appropriés (traitement de la toxicomanie, occasions d'emploi et études) une fois qu'ils sont sortis du gang.

Le renforcement des facteurs de protection joue un rôle important dans la réduction du nombre de jeunes qui adhèrent à des gangs. Ces facteurs sont des influences positives qui atténuent les répercussions engendrées par les facteurs de risque et qui diminuent les probabilités de comportements à problème.

S'appuyant sur les connaissances issues de la recherche sur la prévention de l'adhésion à des gangs, le projet Community Solutions to Gang Violence, mis en œuvre à Edmonton, contribue à renforcer divers facteurs de protection chez les jeunes tels :

Community Solutions to Gang Violence (CSGV)

Cette initiative s'adresse principalement aux jeunes qui se regroupent pour s'adonner à des activités criminelles par appât du gain et à la violence.

Un grand nombre de partenaires des milieux de l'application de la loi, de la santé, des services à l'enfance et des services sociaux contribuent à ce projet, ce qui a permis d'élaborer un plan d'action et un réseau de soutien à l'échelle communautaire en vue de trouver des solutions aux problèmes de la violence perpétrée par des gangs dans l'agglomération d'Edmonton. Ce projet comprend l'élaboration d'une liste exhaustive des facteurs de risque et de protection liés à l'appartenance à un gang.

En outre, on a créé un site Web (en anglais) pour le CSGV (www.csgv.ca), où l'on peut obtenir de l'information sur les activités en cours. Le site présente aussi des ressources, des outils et des renseignements qui peuvent être utiles pour empêcher les jeunes d'adhérer à des gangs.

Conclusion

Pour optimiser l'efficacité des efforts de prévention, il est essentiel de bien cerner les facteurs qui font que certains jeunes joignent des gangs alors que d'autres ne le font pas.

Les recherches actuelles montrent qu'il faut diminuer les facteurs de risque qui mènent les jeunes à la violence et aux gangs. Il est aussi important de renforcer les facteurs de protection qui aident les jeunes à éviter les gangs.

Notes

  1. 1 Howell, James C. « Moving Risk Factors into Developmental Theories of Gang Membership », Youth Violence and Juvenile Justice, vol. 3, no 4, (2005) p. 334-354.
  2. 2 Ibid.
  3. 3 Hawkins, J. David et John A. Pollard. « Risk and protective factors: Are both necessary to understand diverse behavioral outcomes in adolescence? », Social Work Research, vol. 23, no 3, (1999) p. 145-158.
  4. 4 Wortley, Scot et Julian Tanner. « Social Groups or Criminal Organizations? The Extent and Nature of Youth Gang Activity in Toronto » in From Enforcement and Prevention to Civic Engagement: Research on Community Safety, publié sous la direction de Bruce Kidd et Jim Phillips. Toronto, Centre of Criminology, Université de Toronto, 2004, p. 59-80; Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN), 2003.
  5. 5 Howell, James C., 2005.
  6. 6 Gatti, Uberto, Richard E. Tremblay, Frank Vitaro et Pierre McDuff. « Youth Gangs, Delinquency and Drug Use: A Test of the Selection, Facilitation, and Enhancement Hypotheses », Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry, vol. 46, no 11, (2005) p. 1178-1190; Hill, 2001.
  7. 7 Ibid.
  8. 8 Wyrick, Phelan et James C. Howell. « Strategic Risk-Based Response to Youth Gangs », Juvenile Justice Journal, vol. 9, no 1, (2004).
  9. 9 Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN). Alter-Natives to Non-Violence Report: Aboriginal Youth Gangs Exploration: A community development process. Saskatchewan, FSIN, 2003; Lafontaine et al., 2005; Gendarmerie royale du Canada, 2006.
  10. 10 Gatti et al., 2005.

Bibliographie

Date de modification :