Building the Evidence – Crime Prevention in Action The X-Roads Crime Prevention Program (X-Roads)

Table of Contents

Introduction

The X-Roads Crime Prevention Project (X-Roads) provided prevention and intervention activities for Aboriginal children and youth aged 6–18 years and at risk of becoming involved in gang activity in The Pas, Manitoba.

X-Roads was funded by Public Safety Canada between September 2009 and August 2012, and was implemented by The Pas Family Resource Centre with support from community partners.

Goal and Objectives

X-Roads' goal was to see participants in the project gradually integrated into schools and existing systems, community organizations and programs.

The objectives of the project were to:

Participants

This project reached over 500 children and youth but focused their core activities on 56 of those at the highest risk.

The participants were identified through referrals (from schools, social service and health agencies, RCMP, community organizations), outreach activities (mall walks, going to schools, door to door visits), public relations activities (posters, pamphlet distributions, radio campaigns), incentives to involve the youth, and contact with parents.

Most of the participants were living in conditions of risk socially and economically. Almost all of them were from low income and single parent families, had no sense of future, low literacy levels, were struggling academically, and 75% had additional needs such as mental health needs, learning disabilities, ADHDFootnote 1, or FASD/ARNDFootnote 2. These needs were higher than anticipated: 21% had an observed or diagnosed mental health illness, 7% had drug abuse issues, 7% used both drugs and alcohol. Four participants entered X-Roads with an offending history.

It was anticipated that youth aged 13–18 would be the highest risk, but in fact, the highest number of participants identified by referrals were between 6–11 years of age.

The majority of the participants were male, but project activities specific to girls were also developed and implemented to ensure that the diverse needs and interests of all participants were met.

The average length of stay in the program was 95 weeks.

Key Elements of the Program

A detailed assessment of each person in the project was undertaken and individual case management plans were developed. These plans integrated activities and interventions to reduce risk and build on protective factors specific to each participant's situation. Case management drew on resources from law enforcement/juvenile justice, schools, families and the X-Roads project staff. A Case Management Team worked to ensure coordination, integration and access to services. Monthly plan reviews and re-assessments were conducted by the Project service Coordinator and quarterly (or more frequently if required) case management meetings with other providers connected to the participant were held. Regular reviews ensured appropriate implementation and monitoring of the plans and assessment of the effectiveness and impacts along the way.

The activities for participants focused on five main elements: sports and fitness, the arts, character and leadership development, health and life skills, and education. Individual case management placed emphasis on law enforcement/juvenile justice, school, and family. Intervention activities for youth who were in need included—but were not limited to—substance abuse treatment, life skills training and educational support. All activities were informed by Aboriginal culture.

X-Roads also developed and implemented activities, in cooperation with community partners, to increase understanding and awareness in the community of the underlying factors that made involvement in gangs attractive to some children and youth.

Staffing

The project was staffed with 4.5 full time staff (1 Project Coordinator, 1 Case Management Coordinator, 2.5 Project Coaches). Part time, in-kind staffing was provided by the Town of The Pas (Recreation Director), the Manitoba Metis Federation (Community Liaison Worker) and the RCMP (2 part time RCMP personnel).

Given its northern location, the costs and time required to travel made it difficult for staff to access training. However, the staff was able to take part in some training focused on engaging with high-risk youth, gang prevention, risk of sexual exploitation, positive parenting, addictions, as well as cultural training to better understand Aboriginal values, traditions and history.

Partnerships

X-Roads relied on many partners, including:

A Community Advisory Team, consisting of representatives from these organizations, was established at the start of the project and met quarterly. They discussed all aspects of the project, provided direction and support through sharing information, networking, generating ideas and troubleshooting issues.

Findings

The main findings for the X-Roads pilot project show:

The majority of the participants matched those the community was most concerned about and the project sought to reach.

The high levels of risk and needs of the children and youth required more intensive interventions than anticipated. As a result, the number of participants was lower than planned.

The project fostered numerous protective factors, including:

One of the key accomplishments of the project was to provide a place for the youth that was perceived as safe. Anecdotal evidence from parents and teachers of participants point to the concrete changes for the youth as they participated in the project. Reports of increased respect and cooperation, better focus in class, being more academically receptive and productive, and reductions in risk-taking behaviour were common.

Implementation Lessons Learned

Building and nurturing partnerships is complex and challenging work. The trust placed in the project and staff from members of the community was fundamental for the implementation of the X-Roads Project. It was through these partnerships that activities could be offered and case management plans could be developed and implemented.

Recruitment of staff took longer than anticipated and no applicants emerged in two rounds of advertisements for the X-Roads Coach positions. This is not an uncommon challenge in smaller, more remote communities. New ideas and strategies for recruitment were implemented, such as diversifying the format of the advertisement, including information about the wage, and focusing on spreading the word.

Keeping the older youth (14 to 18 years) engaged in the project was a key challenge. Funding from the Government of Manitoba Neighbourhoods Alive! Program supported a separate location for this age group and enabled better participation.

To meet the different developmental needs of boys and girls and older and younger youth, participants were grouped by age and gender for project activities and the intensity and format of program activities varied for each demographic.

Activities and services were delivered in a holistic, inclusive, and culturally sensitive manner. Project activities were also delivered in structured and unstructured formats using innovative and creative techniques. This approach accommodated the diverse learning styles of the participants.

Transportation for participants to attend programming was challenging. The majority of project participants did not own or have access to private vehicles and there was no bus service within the community. Funds were raised to purchase a used van.

To raise community awareness about the project, public relations events were held with the local radio station; pamphlets and door knob hangers were created and left by staff at homes in the community. Project participants took part in local festivals, and won awards in arts and crafts and snow sculptures.

Cost Information

Total cost to implement X-Roads was $973,396 (67% funded by Public Safety Canada).

The main in-kind contributions came from the Town of The Pas, the Manitoba Metis Federation – the Pas Region, Kelsey Community School, Kelsey School Division, Manitoba Housing, the RCMP and The Pas Family Resource Centre.

The Government of Manitoba's Neighbourhoods Alive! Program provided financial assistance.

Sponsoring Organization Contact Information

The Pas Family Resource Centre
The Pas, MB R9A 1K3
Phone: 204-623-4841
Fax: 204-623-4346

End Notes

1 Attention deficit-hyperactivity disorder

2 Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders/ Alcohol-Related Neurodevelopmental Disorder

Date modified:

L'épreuve des faits – Prévention du crime en action – Le programme de prévention du crime X-Roads

Table des matières

Introduction

Le projet de prévention du crime X-Roads a offert des activités de prévention et d'intervention aux enfants et aux jeunes autochtones de 6 à 18 ans qui étaient susceptibles de s'adonner à des activités de gangs à The Pas, au Manitoba.

Le projet X-Roads a été financé par Sécurité publique Canada entre septembre 2009 et août 2012, et a été mis en œuvre par l'organisme The Pas Family Resource Centre avec l'appui de partenaires communautaires.

Buts et objectifs

Le projet X-Roads visait l'intégration graduelle des participants dans les écoles ainsi que les systèmes, organismes communautaires et programmes existants.

Le projet avait pour objectifs :

Participants

Ce projet a profité à plus de 500 enfants et jeunes, mais ses activités de base ciblaient 56 des plus vulnérables.

On a recruté les participants au moyen de références (écoles, services sociaux, organismes de santé, GRC, organismes communautaires), d'activités d'approche (promenades dans les centres commerciaux, visites dans les écoles, porte-à-porte), d'activités de relations publiques (affiches, dépliants, campagnes radiophoniques), d'incitatifs à la participation des jeunes, et d'appels aux parents.

La plupart des participants vivaient dans des conditions de risque sur les plans social et économique. Ils venaient presque tous de familles monoparentales à faible revenu, n'avaient aucune foi en l'avenir, présentaient de faibles niveaux d'alphabétisation et éprouvaient des difficultés scolaires, sans compter que 75 % d'entre eux souffraient d'autres problèmes tels que les troubles mentaux, les difficultés d'apprentissage, le THADAFootnote 1 et l'ETCAF/TNDLAFootnote 2. Ces problèmes étaient plus présents que prévu : 21 % des participants étaient atteints d'une maladie mentale observée ou diagnostiquée, 7 % éprouvaient des problèmes de toxicomanie, et 7 % consommaient à la fois de la drogue et de l'alcool. Quatre participants avaient des antécédents de délinquance lorsqu'ils ont entamé le projet.

On s'attendait à ce que les jeunes de 13 à 18 ans soient les plus vulnérables, mais en fait, les participants les plus nombreux à être dirigés vers le programme avaient entre 6 et 11 ans.

La majorité des participants étaient des garçons, mais on a aussi conçu et réalisé des activités pour les filles afin de s'assurer de prendre en considération les différents besoins et intérêts de tous les participants.

En moyenne, les participants ont suivi le programme pendant 95 semaines.

Éléments clés du programme

On a entrepris une évaluation détaillée de chaque participant au projet et dressé des plans de gestion du cas personnalisés. Ces plans comportaient des activités et des interventions visant à réduire le risque et à renforcer les facteurs de protection propres à la situation de chaque participant. La gestion du cas prenait appui sur des ressources humaines provenant des organismes d'application de la loi et du système judiciaire pour les jeunes, des écoles, des familles et du projet X-Roads. Une équipe de gestion du cas assurait la coordination et l'intégration des services, ainsi que l'accès à ceux-ci. Le coordonnateur du projet procédait chaque mois à des révisions et à des réévaluations du plan, et on tenait des rencontres de gestion du cas tous les trois mois (ou plus fréquemment au besoin) avec d'autres fournisseurs ayant des liens avec le participant. Des examens réguliers permettaient de s'assurer que les plans étaient réalisés et surveillés de manière appropriée, et que l'efficacité et les répercussions du projet étaient évaluées en cours de route.

Les activités proposées aux participants ciblaient cinq principaux éléments : le sport et le conditionnement physique, les arts, le développement de la personnalité et du leadership, la santé et les aptitudes à la vie quotidienne, ainsi que l'éducation. La gestion du cas personnalisée se concentrait sur l'application de la loi et le système judiciaire pour les jeunes, l'école et la famille. Les activités d'intervention auprès des jeunes dans le besoin comprenaient, sans s'y limiter, le traitement de la toxicomanie, la formation sur les aptitudes à la vie quotidienne et l'encadrement pédagogique. Toutes les activités tenaient compte de la culture autochtone.

Les responsables du projet X-Roads ont également conçu et réalisé, en coopération avec les partenaires communautaires, des activités visant à accroître la compréhension et la connaissance, dans la collectivité, des facteurs sous-jacents qui attirent certains enfants et jeunes vers les gangs.

Dotation

Le projet comptait 4,5 employés à temps plein (1 coordonnateur du projet, 1 coordonnateur de la gestion du cas, 2,5 coachs du projet). Le projet a aussi bénéficié des services d'employés à temps partiel, contribution de la Ville de The Pas (directeur récréatif), de la Fédération des Métis du Manitoba (agent de liaison communautaire) et de la GRC (2 employés).

Puisque le projet était mis en œuvre dans le Nord, les coûts et le temps requis pour les déplacements permettaient difficilement aux employés d'obtenir de la formation. Néanmoins, les employés ont pu suivre une formation axée sur le travail auprès des jeunes à risque élevé, la prévention des activités de gangs, le risque d'exploitation sexuelle, les pratiques parentales positives et les dépendances, de même qu'une formation portant sur la culture pour mieux comprendre les valeurs, les traditions et l'histoire autochtones.

Partenariats

Le projet X-Roads comptait sur l'appui de nombreux partenaires, notamment :

Une équipe consultative communautaire, composée de représentants de ces organismes, a été formée au début du projet et se réunissait tous les trois mois. Elle abordait tous les aspects du projet, en plus de fournir une orientation et un soutien par l'échange d'information, le réseautage, la génération d'idées et la résolution de problèmes.

Résultats

Le projet pilote X-Roads a donné les principaux résultats suivants :

La majorité des participants correspondaient à ceux qui préoccupaient le plus la collectivité et que le projet ciblait.

En raison des grands risques et besoins que présentaient les enfants et les jeunes, il a fallu réaliser des interventions plus intensives que prévu, ce qui a fait baisser le nombre de participants.

Le projet a favorisé le renforcement de nombreux facteurs de protection, notamment :

Comme l'une de ses principales réalisations, le projet a offert aux jeunes un milieu qu'ils percevraient comme étant sûr. Les preuves anecdotiques provenant des parents et des enseignants des participants laissent à penser que les jeunes ont subi des changements concrets à mesure de leur participation au projet : on entendait souvent parler d'une augmentation du respect et de la coopération, d'une amélioration de la concentration en classe, d'une meilleure réceptivité et productivité en classe, et d'une réduction de la prise de risque.

Leçons tirées de la mise en œuvre

Il est complexe et difficile de nouer et de maintenir des partenariats. La confiance accordée au projet et à son personnel par les membres de la collectivité était essentielle à la mise en œuvre du projet X-Roads. C'est grâce à ces partenariats qu'on a pu offrir des activités, et qu'on a pu dresser et exécuter des plans de gestion du cas.

Le recrutement du personnel a pris plus de temps que prévu, et aucun candidat ne s'est manifesté au cours des deux premières rondes d'annonces pour les postes de coach du projet X-Roads. Ce genre de difficulté n'est pas inhabituel dans les petites collectivités éloignées. On a adopté de nouvelles idées et stratégies de recrutement, comme diversifier le format des annonces, y compris l'information au sujet du salaire, et faire passer le mot.

Il s'est avéré particulièrement difficile de maintenir l'engagement des jeunes plus âgés (de 14 à 18 ans) dans le projet. Le programme Quartiers vivants! du gouvernement du Manitoba a financé la mise en œuvre du projet dans un site distinct pour ce groupe d'âge, ce qui a permis d'accroître la participation.

Afin de répondre aux différents besoins développementaux des garçons et des filles ainsi que des jeunes plus âgés et moins âgés, on a regroupé les participants en fonction de leur âge et de leur sexe pour les activités du projet; l'intensité et la formule des activités variaient d'un groupe à l'autre.

On a assuré les activités et les services de façon holistique, inclusive et adaptée à la culture. On a aussi mené les activités du projet de manières structurées et non structurées, à l'aide de techniques novatrices et créatives. Cette approche tenait compte des divers styles d'apprentissage des participants.

Il était difficile pour les participants de se rendre aux activités du projet. La majorité d'entre eux ne possédaient pas de véhicule privé ou n'y avaient pas accès, et aucun service d'autobus ne desservait la collectivité. On a amassé des fonds pour acheter une camionnette usagée.

Pour faire connaître le projet à la collectivité, on a organisé des événements de relations publiques avec la station de radio locale; on a préparé des dépliants et des affichettes de porte, que le personnel a laissés aux portes des maisons. Les participants ont pris part aux festivals locaux et remporté des prix en artisanat et en sculptures sur neige.

Information relative aux coûts

La mise en œuvre du projet X-Roads a coûté au total 973 396 $ (67 % du financement provenait de Sécurité publique Canada).

Les principales contributions en nature provenaient de la Ville de The Pas, de la Fédération des Métis du Manitoba – région de The Pas, de la Kelsey Community School, de la Kelsey School Division, de Logement Manitoba, de la GRC et de l'organisme The Pas Family Resource Centre.

Le projet a également bénéficié de l'appui financier du programme Quartiers vivants! du gouvernement du Manitoba.

Coordonnées de l'organisme responsable du projet

The Pas Family Resource Centre
The Pas (Manitoba)  R9A 1K3
Téléphone : 204-623-4841
Télécopieur : 204-623-4346

Notes

1Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention

2Ensemble des troubles causés par l'alcoolisation fœtale/trouble neurologique du développement lié à l'alcool

Date de modification :