Waterloo Regional Gang Prevention Project

PDF (130 KB)

The Waterloo Regional Gang Prevention Project is implementing a comprehensive and integrated strategy to address and prevent gang activity among youth in the Waterloo Region. The Project is supported by Public Safety Canada, National Crime Prevention Centre's Crime Prevention Action Fund and is delivered by the Regional Municipality of Waterloo Social Services, Social Planning, Policy and Program Administration Division. The project began in July 2008 and will be piloted and evaluated until May 2011.

The Waterloo Regional Police Service estimates that 300 – 400 youth are involved in street gangs in the Region of Waterloo.Footnote 1 When associate gang members are included, the estimate of youth gang participation increases to 1000.Footnote 2 Ten years ago only one known youth gang was operating in the area. Currently, there are approximately 20 active street gangs identified within the Region of Waterloo.Footnote 3 Similar to information available on gangs in other parts of Canada, those in Waterloo Region involve youth from various cultural backgrounds and members are predominantly males under the age of 18.Footnote 4

Gang recruitment and intimidation graffiti is clearly visible within neighbourhoods in Waterloo, especially near residential and homeless shelters for youth. In these areas youth involved in counselling report being recruited into gangs as young as Grade 8.Footnote 5

The Waterloo Regional Gang Prevention Project provides prevention and intervention activities for children and youth 13 - 24 years of age who are at risk of being recruited into gangs. To increase effectiveness, all activities have been developed to address known risk and protective factors and age and gender are key considerations in the approach.

The Evidence Base

The Waterloo Regional Gang Prevention Project activities were developed and designed by combining evidence from the Office of Juvenile Justice Comprehensive Gang (or “Spergel”) Model and the Milwaukee Wraparound approach.

OJJDP Comprehensive Gang (or “Spergel”) Model

The Spergel Model is a balanced, three-pronged approach that encompasses prevention, intervention and suppression activities. The model presumes that gangs become chronic and serious problems in communities where key organizations are inadequately integrated and sufficient resources are not available to target gang-involved youth. To address these problems, the Comprehensive Gang Model calls for community institutions - including law enforcement, social welfare agencies, and grass roots organizations - to work together to achieve a more integrated, team-oriented approach. The main goal of the Spergel Model is to reduce and prevent gang crime and violence.

The model was piloted in the Little Village neighbourhood of Chicago, Illinois, starting in 1992. With some subsequent modifications, this design gave rise to the OJJDP Comprehensive Community-Wide Gang Model in 1995 and has been implemented and tested in 5 sites across the United States.

The evaluation concluded that:

Milwaukee Wraparound

The Milwaukee Wraparound is a comprehensive program that focuses on delivering strength-based, individualized care to delinquent youth and their families. It was designed to reduce the number of youth being institutionalized by providing family-based treatment and programs within the community. The program targets youth ages 13 to 24 with serious emotional, behavioural, and mental health needs and their families.
The goals of Wraparound Milwaukee are to:

Evaluation has demonstrated that youth who received interventions from Wraparound Milwaukee had significant reductions in recidivism rates. They had significant decreases in felony referrals, misdemeanour referrals. They also committed fewer sex offences, property offences, assault offences, and weapons offences.Footnote 7

Program Participants

The project works with youth, aged 13 – 24 years old, who are at-risk of engaging in gang activity.

Program Components

Based on staff knowledge of youth involved in street lifestyle in the Waterloo Region, and the evidence of what works in addressing their needs, the Waterloo Regional Gang Prevention Project has developed the following five key components:

Social Intervention

Social intervention involves street outreach, counselling and individual case management. Staff spend time on the streets and in the community where youth gather. The goal of outreach workers is to get to know who the youth at risk are and to begin providing them with assistance to meet basic needs. As relationships develop, Outreach Workers assess barriers the youth are facing and identify which youth are involved or at highest risk of involvement in gang activity. This knowledge allows Outreach Workers to develop individual service plans designed to assist each youth and to accommodate particular needs such as literacy and social skills.

Provision of Opportunities

Youth participate in designated activities according to their age and the risk factors identified. Activities are meaningful and directly related to the issues and barriers the youth are facing. Examples of activities include building employment skills through education and training, increasing health and life skills through sports & fitness, the arts and leadership development.

Community Mobilization

The community mobilization component of the program engages the community in the development and delivery of activities for youth. Project staff identify and work with a variety of community partners who have mandates to assist youth at-risk. The project staff also facilitate meetings and workshops designed to provide education about gang activity, opportunities for open discussion and guidance for how people in different parts of the community can take action to help prevent youth from being recruited in to the gangs.

Suppression

Supporting the Waterloo Regional Police Service  with its gang strategy is also a major component of the Project. The project staff use their knowledge and community connections to help the Police devise and implement culturally responsive suppression plans. They assist in the coordination of suppression activities including arrest, warning, behaviour modeling, crisis intervention, neighbour patrol, reporting of criminal activities and parole/probation compliance.

Organizational Change and Development

Project staff provide outreach and support to institutions, public services, service providers and community based organizations to develop cultural and organizational competencies to work effectively with gang involved and high risk youth, including newcomers to Canada. They provide individual assistance to organizations to increase their knowledge of the gang phenomenon in Waterloo and guide them through a process of institutional change. A systematic review of the policies, programs and services of each participating organization is conducted and recommendations are made to improve access in the areas of education, family support, social services and recreation.

Key Partners

Many community organizations are involved in the delivery of program activities. Some of the key partners include:

Evaluation Design

A comprehensive evaluation of the project is being conducted by a third party evaluator. The purpose of the evaluation is to thoroughly document the Waterloo Regional Gang Prevention Project implementation and impacts, in order to contribute to the knowledge of what project components work best to prevent or reduce gang involvement.

The evaluation will address the outcomes from each of the components of the project. The evaluators will implement a pre/post test design to collect baseline data as well as outcome measures. Follow up will be done with youth participants at the six month and one year time periods as well as with a matched control group of youth not receiving services/interventions. The evaluation will include: participant assessments, participant and family interviews, focus groups, questionnaires, and stakeholder interviews (including community members, schools, service providers, police and advisory committee members), review of police reports/files, and school/activity attendance sheets.

Implementation Observations

Community Assessment and Response

Over the past few years, people in the Waterloo Region have recognized that youth gangs and the issues associated with them are real concerns. This awareness and general consensus that something needs to be done has led to new and productive collaboration among youth service providers to adjust services where possible to better meet the needs of youth at risk and to identify gaps in services. As a result, the Waterloo Gang Prevention Project has strong support from people in the community and this gives the work momentum and a strong foundation for delivery that would otherwise have to be built.

Developmental Resources of the Project

Given the community interest in addressing youth gang issues, the project development stages have been labour-intensive and have taken more resources than anticipated. The benefits of lots of interest leads to challenges as well! One of the challenges is the coordination of 6 different systems with community partners and the related administrative requirements.

For more information on this project please contact:

Waterloo Regional gang Prevention Project
Region of Waterloo
150 Frederick St.
P.O. Box 9051 Station 'C'
Kitchener, Ontario
N2G 4J3

Public Safety Canada
National Crime Prevention Centre
Ontario Region
25 St. Clair Ave E, Suite 401
Toronto, ON, M4T 1M2
Tel: 416-952-0395
Toll Free: 1-800-830-3118


Footnotes

  1. 1 For more information please contact the project sponsor.
  2. 2 Ibid.
  3. 3 Ibid.
  4. 4 Ibid.
  5. 5 Ibid.
  6. 6 For more information visit: http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/prmsng-mdl-vlm1/index-eng.aspx
  7. 7 Ibid.
Date modified:

Projet de prévention ciblant les gangs de jeunes de la région de Waterloo

PDF (133 Ko)

Le Projet de prévention ciblant les gangs de jeunes de la région de Waterloo, on met en œuvre une stratégie détaillée et intégrée visant à prévenir et à réduire la participation aux gangs chez les jeunes de la région de Waterloo. Le projet est appuyé par Sécurité publique Canada, au moyen du Fonds d'action en prévention du crime du Centre national de prévention du crime, et il est administré par la Social Services, Social Planning, Policy and Program Administration Division de la Municipalité régionale de Waterloo. La mise en œuvre du projet a commencé en juillet 2008, et il sera testé et évalué jusqu'en mai 2011.

Le service de police régional de Waterloo estime qu'entre 300 et 400 jeunes participent à des gangs de rue dans la région de WaterlooFootnote 1. Si on ajoute les membres de gangs associés, on estime que le nombre de jeunes participant aux activités de gangs s'élève à 1 000Footnote 2. Il y a dix ans, un seul gang de jeunes était connu et actif dans la région. Actuellement, on connaît l'existence d'une vingtaine de gangs de rue actifs dans la région de WaterlooFootnote 3. Comme c'est le cas pour les gangs d'autres régions du Canada (selon les renseignements disponibles), les gangs de la région de Waterloo sont formés de jeunes provenant de divers milieux culturels, et les membres sont majoritairement des jeunes de sexe masculin et de moins de 18 ansFootnote 4.

Dans les quartiers de Waterloo, particulièrement près des foyers pour jeunes et des refuges pour jeunes sans-abri, il n'est pas rare de trouver des signes évidents d'activités de recrutement par les gangs ainsi que des graffitis intimidants. Dans ces secteurs, les jeunes participant à des séances de soutien psychologique déclarent qu'on les approche pour faire partie d'un gang dès la huitième annéeFootnote 5.

Dans le cadre du projet, des activités de prévention et d'intervention sont organisées pour les jeunes de 13 à 24 ans susceptibles d'être recrutés par des gangs. Afin d'augmenter l'efficacité du projet, toutes les activités ont été élaborées dans le but de réduire les risques et de tenir compte des facteurs de protection connus, et l'âge et le sexe sont considérés comme des facteurs clés de l'approche adoptée.

Fondements scientifiques

Les activités du Projet de prévention ciblant les gangs de jeunes de la région de Waterloo ont été conçues en combinant les données scientifiques provenant du modèle exhaustif sur les gangs de l'Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) (ou modèle Spergel) et de l'approche Wraparound de Milwaukee.

Modèle exhaustif sur les gangs de l'OJJFP (ou modèle Spergel)

Le modèle Spergel est une approche équilibrée en trois volets qui comprend des activités de prévention, d'intervention et de répression. Le modèle repose sur l'hypothèse selon laquelle la présence de gangs devient un problème chronique et grave dans les collectivités où les organisations clés sont mal intégrées et où il n'y a pas suffisamment de ressources pour cibler les jeunes faisant partie de gangs. Afin de résoudre ce problème, le modèle exhaustif sur les gangs compte sur la collaboration entre des organismes d'application de la loi, des organismes de services sociaux et des organismes locaux, pour mettre en place une approche collective mieux intégrée.

Le modèle a été mis à l'essai dans le quartier Little Village de Chicago, en Illinois, à partir de 1992. Après avoir été modifié, il est devenu le Comprehensive Community­Wide Gang Model de l'OJJDP en 1995 et il a été mis en œuvre et testé dans cinq autres villes des États-Unis.

L'évaluation a permis de tirer les conclusions suivantes :

Le programme Wraparound de Milwaukee

Le programme Wraparound de Milwaukee est un programme intégréqui vise à fournir des soins personnalisés fondés sur les points forts des jeunes délinquants et de leur famille. Le programme a été conçu pour réduire le nombre de jeunes en établissement en fournissant des traitements et des programmes axés sur la famille dans la collectivité. Le programme cible les jeunes âgés de 13 à 24 ans qui ont de graves problèmes émotionnels et comportementaux et des besoins en santé mentale, ainsi que leur famille.

Les buts du programme Wraparound sont les suivants :

Une évaluation a révélé que les jeunes qui ont bénéficié d'interventions dans le cadre du programme Wraparound affichaient des taux de récidive beaucoup plus bas. En outre, ils étaient beaucoup moins fréquemment accusés d'actes délictueux graves et de délits mineurs. Ils commettaient aussi moins d'infractions à caractère sexuel, d'infractions contre les biens, d'infractions avec voies de fait et d'infractions relatives aux armesFootnote 7.

Participants du programme

Le projet vise les jeunes de 13 à 24 ans qui présentent des risques de participer aux activités d'un gang.

Composantes du programme

Le Projet repose sur les cinq composantes clés suivantes :

Intervention sociale

Le travail de rue, les services de soutien psychologique et la gestion de cas individuels font partie de l'intervention sociale. Les employés passent du temps dans la rue et dans la collectivité, là où les jeunes se rassemblent. Le but des intervenants est d'apprendre à connaître les jeunes à risque et d'amorcer le processus de soutien en vue de répondre à leurs besoins fondamentaux. À mesure qu'évoluent les relations, les intervenants évaluent les obstacles auxquels se heurtent les jeunes et déterminent quels jeunes participent aux activités des gangs ou sont le plus susceptibles d'y participer. Cette connaissance permet aux intervenants travaillant auprès des jeunes d'élaborer des plans de services individuels visant à aider chaque jeune et à répondre à ses besoins particuliers en ce qui a trait, par exemple, aux capacités de lecture et d'écriture, et aux aptitudes sociales.

Présentation d'occasions

Les jeunes participent à des activités attribuées en fonction de leur âge et des facteurs de risque déterminés. Les activités sont enrichissantes et directement liées aux problèmes et aux obstacles auxquels les jeunes sont confrontés. Le développement de compétences favorisant l'employabilité au moyen de cours et de formations, la promotion de la santé et de la vie active par le sport et le conditionnement physique, la promotion des arts ainsi que le développement du leadership sont des activités proposées.

Mobilisation de la collectivité

Ce volet du programme assure la participation de la collectivité à l'élaboration et à l'offre d'activités pour les jeunes. Les employés du projet travaillent avec divers partenaires communautaires ciblés qui ont le mandat d'aider les jeunes à risque. Les employés du projet animent aussi des réunions et des ateliers conçus pour sensibiliser des personnes de différents secteurs de la collectivité aux activités des gangs et leur donner la possibilité d'en discuter ouvertement et de trouver des façons d'intervenir et de prévenir le recrutement des jeunes par les gangs.

Répression

Le soutien apporté au Service de police régional de Waterloo et à sa stratégie de lutte contre les gangs constitue également une composante cruciale du projet. Les employés du projet utilisent leurs connaissances et leurs liens dans la collectivité pour aider le service de police à concevoir et à mettre en œuvre des plans de répression culturellement adaptés. Ils aident à la coordination d'activités de répression, notamment des arrestations, des avertissements, des techniques de modification du comportement, des interventions en situation de crise, des patrouilles dans les quartiers ainsi que la production de rapports sur des activités criminelles et sur le respect des conditions de libération conditionnelle ou de probation.

Changement et développement organisationnels

Les employés du projet fournissent des services de liaison et du soutien aux organismes, aux services publics, aux fournisseurs de services et aux organisations communautaires afin de développer des compétences culturelles et organisationnelles permettant de travailler efficacement auprès de gangs ciblés et de jeunes à risque élevé, notamment les nouveaux arrivants au Canada. Ils fournissent une aide personnalisée aux organisations afin d'augmenter leurs connaissances du phénomène des gangs dans la région de Waterloo et de les guider tout au long d'un processus de changement organisationnel. Un examen systématique des politiques, des programmes et des services de chaque organisation participante est effectué, et des recommandations sont formulées afin d'améliorer l'accès à l'éducation, au soutien familial, aux services sociaux et aux loisirs.

Partenaires clés

De nombreuses organisations communautaires participent à la prestation d'activités dans le cadre du programme dont:

Conception de l'évaluation

Une évaluation complète du projet est en cours de réalisation par un tiers. L'objet de l'évaluation consiste à fournir une documentation approfondie sur la mise en œuvre et les répercussions du projet afin de déterminer quelles composantes sont les plus efficaces pour prévenir ou réduire la participation aux activités des gangs.

L'évaluation présentera les résultats liés à chaque composante du projet. Les évaluateurs appliqueront un modèle d'évaluation pré-post afin de comparer les changements suite à l'intervention. Un suivi sera effectué auprès de jeunes participant du programme après six mois et un an, et auprès d'un groupe témoin de jeunes ne bénéficiant pas de services ou d'interventions. L'évaluation inclut des données provenant des évaluations des besoins des participants, des entrevues effectuées auprès des participants et de leur famille, des groupes de discussion, des questionnaires, des entrevues effectuées auprès des intervenants (notamment des membres de la collectivité, des écoles, des fournisseurs de service, la police et des membres de comités consultatifs), un examen des rapports et des dossiers de la police ainsi que des feuilles de présence à l'école ou à des activités.

Observations liées à la mise en œuvre

Évaluation et réaction dans la collectivité

Au cours des dernières années, les gens de la région de Waterloo ont reconnu que les gangs de jeunes et les problèmes qui leur sont associés constituent de réelles préoccupations. Cette prise de conscience ainsi que le consensus selon lequel quelque chose doit être fait ont mené à une collaboration nouvelle et efficace entre les fournisseurs de services pour les jeunes qui ont, autant que possible, adapté leurs services afin de mieux répondre aux besoins des jeunes à risque et de relever les lacunes dans les services. Par conséquent, les gens de la collectivité appuient fortement le Projet de prévention ciblant les gangs de jeunes de la région de Waterloo, ce qui lui permet de bénéficier d'une conjoncture favorable et de bases solides.

Ressources liées au développement du projet

Compte tenu de la volonté de la collectivité de résoudre les problèmes liés aux gangs de jeunes, les étapes d'élaboration du projet ont été exigeantes en main-d'œuvre et ont nécessité plus de ressources que ce qui était prévu. Les avantages du grand intérêt des membres de la collectivité entraînent aussi des difficultés. Une de ces difficultés consiste à coordonner six systèmes différents, les partenaires communautaires et les exigences administratives connexes.

Pour obtenir plus d'informations sur ce projet, communiquer avec :

Le Projet de prévention ciblant les gangs de jeunes de la région de Waterloo
Région de Waterloo
150, rue Frederick
C.P. 9051, Succursale C
Kitchener (Ontario)
N2G 4J3

Sécurité publique Canada
Centre national de prévention du crime
Région de l'Ontario
25, avenue St. Clair Est, bureau 401
Toronto (Ontario) M4T 1M2
Téléphone : 416-952-0395
Numéro sans frais : 1-800-830-3118


Notes

  1. 1 Pour obtenir de plus amples informations, communiquer avec le promoteur du projet.
  2. 2 Id.
  3. 3 Id.
  4. 4 Id.
  5. 5 Id.
  6. 6 Pour obtenir de plus amples informations, voir http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/prmsng-mdl-vlm1/index-fra.aspx.
  7. 7 Id.
Date de modification :