Building the Evidence – Crime Prevention in Action – Walking the Path Together

PDF (190KB)

Table of Contents

Walking the Path Together is a culturally based, innovative, five-year pilot project aimed at reducing the likelihood that Aboriginal children aged 6 to 11 will grow up to use or accept violence in their intimate relationships. It addresses chronic family violence, the foundation of intergenerational violence, and future offending behaviours. The project is being implemented in the Alberta communities of Wabasca, Morley, Hobbema, Fort Chipewyan, and Enilda.

Walking the Path Together is managed by the Alberta Council of Women's Shelters (ACWS), and is supported by Public Safety Canada through the National Crime Prevention Centre's Northern and Aboriginal Crime Prevention Fund. The project began in July 2009 and will be piloted and evaluated through to March 2014.

Objectives of the project include ensuring that the children who are participating:

Program Participants

The primary participants are boys and girls who have witnessed family violence, experience the shelter system, and live on-reserve. These children live with at least one nurturing parent/guardian. Participation is voluntary. Secondary participants include siblings living with the primary participants, and other family members.

In addition to exposure to family violence, Walking the Path Together also addresses risk factors such as:

Program Components

Wisdom from First Nation culture is incorporated into all facets of the project. Intervention activities include case management, individual counseling, talking circles, family counseling, discussions with Elders, and family group conferencing.

The program components are integrated into the ongoing activities at the shelters. The approach includes a careful and thorough assessment of the participants and tailoring services to address their circumstances. Where appropriate, children and families are connected with resources available through Child Welfare, Health or Income Support. Individual and family counseling, talking circles and family group conferencing are key activities, and Elder involvement is highlighted throughout. The project complements these services by coordinating three other types of activities for families:

These activities provide important opportunities for families to have positive experiences together and for staff to create and build opportunities for discussions and therapeutic work.

Staffing

In each of the shelters, one Eagle Feather Worker was hired to apply the F.E.A.T.H.E.R approach. Each Worker supports 10–15 children and their families over a two year period. The F.E.A.T.H.E.R. approach was developed as a foundation for the Walking the Path Together project:

F - Follow the family out of the shelter and into (and around) the community.

E - Earn trust and respect by demonstrating commitment.

A - Adapt to what a family wants and needs (today and as it changes).

T - Be There when and where they need us, for as long as they need us.

H - Use a Holistic understanding of gifts and needs.

E - Empower adults to advocate for themselves.

R - Have Realistic expectations of ourselves and the families we work with.

Partners

In addition to the partnership between the five on-reserve shelters and the Alberta Council of Women's Shelters (ACWS), Walking the Path Together has partnered with the London, Ontario Centre for Children and Families in the Justice System (The London Centre), and Dr. Jacquelyn Campbell of John Hopkins University. The London Centre and Dr. Campbell provide expertise in risk assessment, appreciative inquiry and clinical work with children who have experienced family violence. A Project Guidance Circle involving the partners was established. It guides the implementation of the project and provides a forum for reflection and continual evolution.

Findings

Walking the Path Together is yielding promising results. It has involved 67 primary participants, as well as 10 adult caregivers and 129 siblings.

According to the impact evaluation being conducted with support from the Government of Alberta, 82 children from the primary and secondary participant groups have been prevented from entering government care, and exposure to violence has ended or been reduced for 50% of the primary participants. Twenty four of the caregivers have returned to school or become employed and 70% of the caregivers report being ready to take action, seek help and stay safe.

A Social Return on Investment (SROI) study, also supported by the Government of Alberta, shows an overall social value, or financial saving, of $5.42 for every dollar spent.Note 1

Several tools that may be useful for others have been created or adapted for the project. The “Protection, Options and Planning” or “POP TARTS” is used to guide conversations with women living, or returning to live, with someone violent. The “Danger Assessment Tool” Note 2 is used to determine the level of risk faced by women living with violence.

The extent of the intergenerational trauma experienced by the people in the communities, the depth and scope of economic needs and the low levels of access to systems have been greater than anticipated.

For the project staff, the distances required for travel in order to meet safety concerns in some homes have been challenging.

Barriers to participation in the project have been identified and include a general lack of trust, concerns about confidentiality, fear of losing children to child welfare or of potential impacts on social assistance benefits.

The staff of Walking the Path Together has learned that building trust with participants can take a year or more and is an essential element of success. The family activities and events provide important opportunities to accomplish this.

Some strategies that enhance family engagement are:

Flexible work hours for staff, integration of the program activities with other shelter programs, coordination between First Nations and mainstream agencies, planning for continuity of service, and working with an umbrella network organization such as ACWS are all strategies that have helped with project implementation.

Police are important partners and need to be involved in the day to day activities of the project to help dispel fears of the RCMP and increase feelings of safety.

A computerized data collection system is an important element of the project. It ensures that the information needed to understand and adapt program activities is available and streamlines record keeping for staff.

Regular training and support for the Eagle Feather Workers helps to prevent burnout, and limiting the worker/client ratio to 1:10 helps to balance the intensity of the program with the resources available.

Summary

Walking the Path Together is addressing risk factors and building protective factors to help First Nations children and families move away from the dangers of violence and crime. The lessons learned from the project and the results for the individuals, families and communities involved will be valuable and useful for practitioners and policy makers who want to invest in programs.

Information about what has been learned so far from the Walking the Path Together Project is summarized in a document entitled “Walk Proud, Dance Proud: Footprints on a Healing Journey—A Draft Discussion Guide to Walking the Path Together to Reclaim the Teachings for our First Nations Children (2012)” and is available for use by any community in Canada. For a copy or for more information, contact the Alberta Council of Women's Shelters.

Information on this project can be found on http://www.acws.ca/walkingthepath or by contacting the:

Alberta Council of Women's Shelters
320 ̶ 10310 Jasper Avenue
Edmonton, AB T5J 2W4
Telephone: 780-456-7000

End Notes

1 Social Return on Investment (SROI) Case Study: Safe Communities Innovation Fund – Walking the Path Together, by the Alberta Safe Community and Strategic Policy Secretariat, co-funder of this program. For a copy or for more information, contact the Alberta Council of Women's Shelters.

2 For more information about the Danger Assessment, visit http://www.dangerassessment.org/about.aspx

Date modified:

L’épreuve des faits – Prévention du crime en action – Walking the Path Together

PDF (196Ko)

Table des matières

Le programme Walking the Path Together est un projet pilote quinquennal novateur axé sur la culture, qui vise à réduire la probabilité que les enfants autochtones âgés de 6 à 11 ans grandissent en employant ou en acceptant la violence dans leurs relations intimes. Il se penche sur la violence familiale chronique, le fondement de la violence intergénérationnelle, ainsi que les futurs comportements délinquants. Le projet est mis en œuvre dans les collectivités albertaines de Wabasca, de Morley, d’Hobbema, de Fort Chipewyan et d’Enilda.

Le projet Walking the Path Together est géré par l’Alberta Council of Women's Shelters (ACWS), et financé par Sécurité publique Canada par l’entremise du Fonds de prévention du crime chez les collectivités autochtones et du Nord du Centre national de prévention du crime. Le projet a débuté en juillet 2009; il sera exécuté et évalué jusqu’en mars 2014.

Le projet vise notamment à s’assurer que les enfants participants :

Participants au programme

Les principaux participants sont les garçons et filles qui ont été témoins de violence familiale, qui font l’expérience du système de refuges et qui vivent dans une réserve. Ces enfants habitent avec au moins un parent ou tuteur présent. La participation est volontaire. Les participants secondaires incluent les frères et sœurs habitant avec les principaux participants, ainsi que d’autres membres de la famille.

En plus de l’exposition à la violence familiale, le projet Walking the Path Together agit sur les facteurs de risque suivants :

Composantes du programme

La sagesse de la culture des Première nations est incorporée à toutes les facettes du projet. Au nombre des activités d’intervention, mentionnons la gestion des cas, le counseling individuel, les cercles de la parole, le counseling familial, les discussions avec les Aînés et les conférences avec des groupes de familles.

Les composantes du programme sont intégrées aux activités courantes dans les refuges. Elles prévoient l’évaluation soigneuse et complète des participants, ainsi que l’adaptation des services à leurs circonstances. Selon les besoins, les enfants et les familles sont dirigés vers les ressources disponibles dans les domaines de la protection de l’enfance, de la santé ou du soutien du revenu. Le counseling individuel et familial, les cercles de la parole et les conférences avec des groupes de familles constituent des activités clés, et la participation des Aînés est toujours mise en évidence. Le projet complète ces services en coordonnant trois autres types d’activités pour les familles :

Ces activités représentent des occasions importantes pour les familles de vivre des expériences positives ensemble, et pour les intervenants de créer des circonstances propices à la discussion et au travail thérapeutique.

Dotation

Dans chacun des refuges, une travailleuse « Eagle Feather » (plume d’aigle) a été embauchée pour appliquer l’approche F.E.A.T.H.E.R. Chaque travailleuse appuie 10 à 15 enfants et leurs familles sur une période de deux ans. L’approche F.E.A.T.H.E.R. a été élaborée comme fondement du projet Walking the Path Together:

F - Suivre la famille à l’extérieur du refuge et dans la collectivité (et autour de celle-ci).

E - Gagner la confiance et le respect en faisant preuve d’engagement.

A - Nous adapter aux désirs et aux besoins de la famille (aujourd’hui et à mesure qu’ils changent).

T - Être présents quand et où la famille a besoin de nous, tant et aussi longtemps qu’elle aura besoin de nous.

H - Favoriser une compréhension holistique des cadeaux et des besoins.

E - Habiliter les adultes à défendre leurs propres intérêts.

R - Nous fixer des attentes réalistes envers nous-mêmes et les familles avec lesquelles nous travaillons.

Partenaires

Non seulement il existe un partenariat entre les cinq refuges dans les réserves et l’ACWS, mais les responsables du projet Walking the Path Together ont aussi conclu un partenariat avec le Centre for Children and Families in the Justice System de London, en Ontario (London Centre), et avec Jacquelyn Campbell, Ph. D., de l’Université John Hopkins. Le London Centre et Mme Campbell offrent une expertise dans le domaine de l’évaluation du risque, de l’interrogation appréciative et du travail clinique avec les enfants qui ont connu la violence familiale. Un cercle d’orientation du projet a été formé avec les partenaires, lequel guide la mise en œuvre du projet et fournit un forum de réflexion et d’évolution continuelle.

Résultats

Le projet Walking the Path Together donne des résultats prometteurs. Il a mis en jeu 67 principaux participants, de même que 104 fournisseurs de soins adultes et 129 frères et sœurs.

Selon l’évaluation d’impact menée avec le soutien du gouvernement de l’Alberta, 82 enfants des groupes de participants principaux et secondaires ont évité d’être pris en charge par le gouvernement, et l’exposition à la violence a pris fin ou diminué pour 50 % des principaux participants. Vingt-quatre fournisseurs de soins sont retournés à l’école ou ont trouvé un emploi, et 70 % des fournisseurs de soins se disent prêts à agir, à demander de l’aide et à rester en sécurité.

Une étude sur le rendement social du capital investi, également financée par le gouvernement de l’Alberta, laisse entrevoir une valeur sociale globale, ou une économie financière, de 5,42 $ pour chaque dollar dépensé Note 1.

Plusieurs outils qui pourraient être utiles à d’autres ont été créés ou adaptés pour le projet. L’outil « Protection, Options and Planning », ou « POP TARTS », sert à orienter les conversations avec les femmes vivant ou retournant vivre avec une personne violente. Pour sa part, le « Danger Assessment Tool »Note 2 permet de déterminer le niveau de risque applicable aux femmes victimes de violence.

L’ampleur du traumatisme intergénérationnel vécu par les gens dans les collectivités, l’étendue et la portée des besoins économiques, et les faibles taux d’accès aux systèmes, se sont avérés plus considérables que prévu.

Les intervenants du projet ont trouvé difficile de parcourir les distances requises pour régler les problèmes de sécurité dans certains foyers.

Les intervenants ont relevé des obstacles à la participation au projet, notamment le manque général de confiance, les craintes au sujet de la confidentialité, la peur que les enfants ne soient pris en charge par la protection de l’enfance, ou la peur des répercussions potentielles sur les prestations d’aide sociale.

Les intervenants du projet Walking the Path Together ont appris qu’il pouvait prendre un an ou plus pour gagner la confiance des participants, et qu’il s’agissait d’un élément de réussite essentiel, d’où l’importance des activités et événements familiaux.

Voici des stratégies pour accroître la participation des familles :

Au nombre des stratégies qui ont facilité la mise en œuvre du projet, mentionnons les heures de travail flexibles pour les intervenants, l’intégration des activités à d’autres programmes offerts par les refuges, la coordination entre les Premières nations et les organismes s’adressant au grand public, la planification en vue de la continuité du service, et la collaboration avec un organisme-cadre comme l’ACWS.

Les policiers sont d’importants partenaires; ils doivent prendre part aux activités quotidiennes du projet afin de chasser les peurs de la GRC et d’accroître le sentiment de sécurité.

Un système informatisé de collecte de données constitue un élément important du projet. Il permet de veiller à la disponibilité de l’information requise pour comprendre et adapter les activités du programme, et il simplifie la tenue de dossiers pour le personnel.

La formation et le soutien régulièrement offerts aux travailleuses « Eagle Feather » aident à prévenir l’épuisement professionnel, et le fait de limiter le ratio travailleuse-client à 1:10 permet de maintenir l’équilibre entre l’intensité du programme et les ressources disponibles.

Sommaire

Le projet Walking the Path Together atténue les facteurs de risque et renforce les facteurs de protection, afin d’aider les enfants et les familles des Premières nations à s’éloigner des dangers de la violence et de la criminalité. Les leçons retenues du projet et les résultats pour les individus, les familles et les collectivités, seront des plus utiles aux praticiens et aux décideurs qui veulent investir dans des programmes.

L’information concernant ce que le projet Walking the Path Together nous a appris jusqu’à présent, est résumée dans un document intitulé « Walk Proud, Dance Proud: Footprints on a Healing Journey—A Draft Discussion Guide to Walking the Path Together to Reclaim the Teachings for our First Nations Children (2012) » et est accessible à toutes les collectivités canadiennes. Pour obtenir une copie ou de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l’ACWS.

Pour obtenir de l’information sur ce projet, veuillez visiter le site http://www.acws.ca/walkingthepath ou communiquer avec l’organisme suivant :
Alberta Council of Women's Shelters

320 – 10310, avenue Jasper
Edmonton (Alberta) T5J 2W4
Téléphone : 780-456-7000

Notes

1 Étude de cas sur le rendement social du capital investi : Safe Communities Innovation Fund – Walking the Path Together, par l’Alberta Safe Community and Strategic Policy Secretariat, qui a cofinancé le programme. Pour obtenir une copie ou de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l’Alberta Council of Women’s Shelters.

2 Pour en savoir davantage sur l’évaluation du danger, allez à l’adresse suivante : http://www.dangerassessment.org/about.aspx

Date de modification :