Family-Based Risk and Protective Factors and their Effects on Juvenile Delinquency: What Do We Know?

PDF (236 KB)

ISBN: 978-0-662-48400-4

Table of Contents

Available scientific knowledge indicates that, depending on context and circumstances, families can be both a risk factor and a protective factor for juvenile delinquency.Footnote 1

Risk factors

Some of the risk factors associated with family are static, while others are dynamic. Static risk factors, such as criminal history, parental mental health problems or a history of childhood abuse, are unlikely to change over time. However, dynamic risk factors, such as poor parental behaviour, family violence or parental drug addiction, can be modified through appropriate prevention and treatment programs.

Risk factors have a cumulative and interactive effect: a family exposed to several risk factors is considered a high-risk family. Furthermore, children and adolescents exposed to several risk factors will also be considered at high risk of embarking on a life path that will lead to delinquent behaviour.Footnote 2 This is because not only do the effects of risk factors accumulate, but the factors also interact with each other: the effects of one multiply the effects of another and so on. For example, parental alcoholism causes family conflicts, which then increase the risks of substance abuse.

Risk factors associated with family dynamic and functioning

Ineffective parental behaviour

Parental criminality

Mistreatment during childhood and family violence

Parental substance abuse

Risk factors associated with family characteristics

Risk factors associated with area of residence

Table 1 - Juvenile delinquency risk factors associated with family according to age of children and adolescents

Cumulative and interactive effects of risk factors
  6-12 years 13-17 years 18 and older
Family dynamic and functioning
  • Poor parental practices
  • Parental and/or sibling criminality
  • Anti-social parents with attitudes that support violence
  • Family conflicts
  • Parents with substance abuse problems
  • Physical abuse and neglect
  • Family violence
  • Poor parental practices
  • Parental and/or sibling criminality
  • Family violence
  • History of poor treatment
Family characteristics
  • Unstable family income
  • Broken home
  • Family mobility
  • Mental health of parents
  • Young mother
  • Number of children in the family
  • Single parent family
  • Parental past
  • Unstable family income
  • Broken home
  • Family mobility
  • Unstable family income
Area of residence
  • Poor area
  • Presence of young offenders
  • Poor area
  • Crime in the area
  • Presence of youth gangs
  • Availability of drugs and firearms
  • Poverty
  • Crime
  • Youth gangs
  • Drugs and firearms

Protective factors

Protective factors help us to better understand the characteristics and situations that protect and distance youth from delinquent behaviour.Footnote 26 Protective factors are characteristics or conditions that act as risk moderators, i.e., they help reduce the negative effects associated with risk factors and help youth better handle their situation.Footnote 27

Protective factors are cumulative and interactive. However, they are not necessarily always the opposite of risk factors; for example, growing up in a poor area can be attenuated by parental involvement, participation and support.Footnote 28

Table 2 illustrates the protective factors associated with family;Footnote 29 some examples are listed below.

Table 2 - Protective factors associated with family

At every ageFootnote 33
Family dynamic and functioning Family characteristics Area of residence
  • Relationship based on family bond
  • Positive support within the family
  • Adequate parental supervision
  • Respect for friends by parents
  • Closeness between parents and children (affection)
  • Consistent disciplinary methods
  • Adequate parental behaviour and practices
  • Parental level of education
  • Financial stability
  • Stability of the family unit
  • Integration of families into the life of the community
  • Relationships established with neighbours
  • School activities involving the family

Conclusion

Families that present risk factors for juvenile delinquency must be considered as a complex reality, influenced by various risk factors. The concept of the "at-risk" family must be understood as a whole. Furthermore, we must not forget that family is at the crossroads of many other areas of influence: circle of friends, school and the community.

Families play a key role in the development of children and adolescents. It is therefore important to address those who are at risk by focusing on protective factors and offering training to parents and youth, family therapy, integrated treatment plans or other effective strategies to prevent and reduce juvenile delinquency.Footnote 34


References


Footnotes

  1. 1McVie and Holmes, 2005; Welsh and Farrington, 2007; Leblanc, 1999; Lacourse et al., 2006; Thornberry, Huizinga, and Loeber, 2004; Wyrick and Howell, 2004; Farrington et al., 2006; Loeber, Farrington and Petechuk, 2003; Hoeve et al., 2007; Claes et al., 2005; Shader, 2003; Wasserman and Seracini, 2001; Wasserman et al., 2003; Éthier et al., 2006; Éthier et al., 2007.
  2. 2The duration of exposure to risk factors and the nature of the factors are also variables that must be considered in order to understand the links between risk factors, family and delinquency (Wasserman et al., 2003); see also Schonert-Reichl, 2000.
  3. 3In general, supervision refers to the control parents exert over their children's comings and goings, social network, homework, pastimes, knowing whether they smoke or use drugs (Mucchielli, 2001).
  4. 4Claes et al., 2005 ; Lacourse et al., 2006.
  5. 5Smith, 2004; McVie and Holmes, 2005
  6. 6See Claes et al. 2005; Dornbush and Wood, 1989.
  7. 7Claes et al., 2005; Lacourse et al., 2006. See also Phelan et al., 2004; Hill et al., 1999; Le Blanc and Lanctot, 1998; Thornberry, 1998; Thornberry et al., 2003.
  8. 8Hoeve et al., 2007
  9. 9Savoie, 2007
  10. 10Loeber et al., 1998
  11. 11Farrington, 2006; see also Farrington et al. 1996; 2001; 2002.
  12. 12Farrington, 2002; Farrington et al. 2006
  13. 13This fact is supported by several other researchers (notably CCSJ, 2006; Carlson, 1991; Dauvergne and Johnson, 2001; Hotton, 2003; Jaffe et al., 1986; Ristock 1995; Rodgers, 1994; Health Canada, 1997; Health Canada, 2004; Widom and Maxfield, 2001) in Hotton, 2003.
  14. 14McVie and Holmes, 2005
  15. 15Ibid
  16. 16Hotton and Haans, 2004
  17. 17See notably Mucchielli, 2000; Smith, 2004
  18. 18Farrington et al., 2006
  19. 19"Family transitions" refers to a group of events associated with change: for example, in terms of the family structure (divorce, re-marriage) or family mobility (moving). As the researchers have pointed out, these results must be considered in the context of prevention programs: youth who are undergoing family transitions are more likely to have trouble handling their emotions; therefore, one of the solutions is to improve their skills and ability to control them. (Thornberry, T. et al., 1999).
  20. 20Ibid
  21. 21Ibid
  22. 22Sampson, 1997
  23. 23Smith, 2004
  24. 24Sampson in Turner et al., 2007
  25. 25Turner et al., 2007; See also Larzelere and Patterson, 1990.
  26. 26Garmezy, 1985; Rutter, 1985; Werner and Smith, 1982; 1992
  27. 27Shader, 2003; Lawrence, et al., 2001
  28. 28Ibid
  29. 29Slee P., 2006; Claes et al., 2005; Lawrence, 2001; Smith, 2004; Mucchielli, 2000; Barbara et al., 2001; Herman et al., 1997; Allen and Land, 1998; Kobak and Sceery, 1984; Rice, 1990.
  30. 30Claes et al., 2005; See also Barbara et al., 2001; Herman et al.., 1997
  31. 31Claes et al., 2005; See also Allen & Land, 1998; Kobak and Sceery, 1984; Rice, 1990
  32. 32Mucchielli, 2000; Sampson et al., 1997; Slee, 2006;
  33. 33Current research on protective factors is not detailed enough to allow us to distinguish them based on age.
  34. 34See the research report by Savignac, Julie. Families, Youth and Delinquency: the State of Knowledge, and Family-Based Juvenile Delinquency Prevention Programs. Available in English and in French. Ottawa: Public Safety Canada, National Crime Prevention Centre, 2008.
Date modified:

Facteurs de risque et de protection dans les familles et leurs effets sur la délinquance juvénile : qu'en savons-nous?

PDF (280 Ko)

ISBN: 978-0-662-08678-9

Table des matières

D'après les connaissances scientifiques dont nous disposons, la famille représente, selon les contextes, à la fois un facteur de risque et un facteur de protection de la délinquance juvénile.Footnote 1

Les facteurs de risque

Parmi les facteurs de risque associés à la famille, certains sont statiques et d'autres dynamiques. Les facteurs de risque statiques sont peu susceptibles de changer avec le temps, par exemple les antécédents criminels, les problèmes de santé mentale des parents ou les situations d'abus durant l'enfance. Quant aux facteurs de risque dynamiques, ils peuvent être modifiés grâce à des programmes de prévention et de traitement appropriés; c'est le cas, par exemple, des conduites parentales inadéquates, de la violence familiale ou de la toxicomanie des parents.

Les facteurs de risque ont un effet cumulatif et interactif : une famille exposée à plusieurs facteurs de risque sera considérée comme étant une famille à risque élevé. De même, les enfants et les adolescents exposés à plusieurs facteurs de risque seront également considérés comme étant à risque élevé d'adopter une trajectoire de vie orientée vers la délinquance.Footnote 2 Ceci, non seulement parce que les facteurs de risque additionnent leurs effets, mais aussi parce qu'ils interagissent entre eux, les effets de l'un multipliant les effets de l'autre et ainsi de suite; par exemple, l'abus d'alcool de la part des parents provoque des conflits familiaux qui, à leur tour, ont comme effet une augmentation des risques d'abus de substances.

Facteurs de risque en lien avec la dynamique et le fonctionnement de la famille

Les conduites parentales inefficaces

La criminalité des parents

Les mauvais traitements durant l'enfance et la violence familiale

Les problèmes de toxicomanie des parents

Facteurs de risque en lien avec les caractéristiques de la famille

Facteurs de risque en lien avec le quartier de résidence

Tableau 1 - Facteurs de risque de délinquance juvénile associés à la famille selon l'âge des enfants et des jeunes

Effet cumulatif et interactif des facteurs de risque
  6-12 ans 13-17 ans 18 ans et plus
Dynamique et fonctionnement de la famille
  • Pratiques parentales inadéquates
  • Criminalité des parents et/ou fratrie
  • Parents antisociaux et attitudes favorables à la violence
  • Conflits familiaux
  • Toxicomanie des parents
  • Abus physique et négligence
  • Violence familiale
  • Pratiques parentales inadéquates
  • Criminalité des parents et/ou fratrie
  • Violence familiale
  • Histoire de mauvais traitements
Caractéristiques de la famille
  • Revenu familial précaire
  • Rupture familiale
  • Mobilité familiale
  • Santé mentale des parents
  • Jeune âge de la mère
  • Nombre d'enfants dans la famille
  • Un seul parent à la charge de la famille
  • Le passé des parents
  • Revenu familial précaire
  • Rupture familiale
  • Mobilité familiale
  • Revenu familial précaire
Quartier de résidence
  • Pauvreté du quartier
  • Présence de jeunes ayant des comportements délinquants
  • Pauvreté du quartier
  • Criminalité du quartier
  • Présence de gangs de jeunes
  • Disponibilité des drogues et des armes à feu
  • Pauvreté
  • Criminalité
  • Gangs de jeunes
  • Gangs de jeunes

Les facteurs de protection

Les facteurs de protection aident à mieux comprendre les caractéristiques et les situations qui protègent et éloignent les jeunes de la délinquance.Footnote 26 Les facteurs de protection sont des caractéristiques ou des conditions qui agissent en tant que modérateur des risques c'est-à-dire qu'ils permettent de réduire les incidences négatives associées aux facteurs de risque et aident les jeunes à mieux faire face à leur situationFootnote 27.

Les facteurs de protection sont cumulatifs et interactifs. Par contre, ils ne sont pas nécessairement et toujours l'opposé des facteurs de risque; par exemple, les effets négatifs de grandir dans un milieu pauvre peuvent être atténués par l'implication, la participation et le support des parentsFootnote 28.

Le tableau 2 illustre les facteurs de protection associés aux famillesFootnote 29; en voici quelques exemples.

Tableau 2 - Facteurs de protection associés à la famille

À tous les âgesFootnote 33
Dynamique et fonctionnement de la famille Caractéristiques de la famille Quartier de résidence
  • Relation basée sur l'attachement familial
  • Support positif au sein de la famille
  • Supervision parentale adéquate
  • Respect des ami(e)s de la part des parents
  • La proximité parents-enfants (affection)
  • Méthodes de disciplines cohérentes
  • Conduites et pratiques parentales adéquates
  • Niveau d'éducation des parents
  • Stabilité financière
  • Stabilité de l'unité familiale
  • Intégration des familles à la vie du quartier
  • Tissu relationnel établi dans le voisinage
  • Activités scolaires qui impliquent la famille

Conclusion

Les familles qui présentent des facteurs de risque de délinquance chez les jeunes doivent être envisagées comme une réalité complexe, influencée par différents facteurs de risque. De fait, la notion de famille dite à risque doit être comprise en tant que totalité. De plus, il ne faut pas oublier que la famille se situe à la jonction de plusieurs autres domaines d'influence : le groupe d'amis, l'école et la collectivité.

La famille est un acteur clé dans le développement des enfants et des adolescents. Il importe donc d'agir auprès de celles qui présentent des risques, en misant sur les facteurs de protection et en offrant de la formation aux parents et aux jeunes, des thérapies familiales, des plans de traitement intégrés ou d'autres stratégies efficaces de prévention et de réduction de la délinquance juvénile.Footnote 34.


Références


Notes

  1. 1McVie et Holmes, 2005; Welsh et Farrington, 2007; Leblanc, 1999; Lacourse et al., 2006; Thornberry, Huizinga, et Loeber, 2004; Wyrick et Howell, 2004; F arrington et al., 2006; Loeber, Farrington et Petechuk, 2003; Hoeve et al., 2007; Claes et al., 2005; Shader, 2003; Wasserman et Seracini, 2001; Wasserman et al., 2003; éthier et al., 2006; éthier et al., 2007.
  2. 2La durée d'exposition aux facteurs de risque et la nature de ceux-ci sont également des variables qui doivent être prises en considération dans la compréhension des liens entre facteurs de risque, famille et délinquance (Wasserman et al., 2003); voir aussi Schonert-Reichl, 2000.
  3. 3En général, la supervision fait référence au contrôle que les parents exercent sur les sorties de leurs enfants, leurs fréquentations, leur travail à l'école, leurs activités de loisir, le fait de savoir s'ils fument ou se droguent (Mucchielli, 2001).
  4. 4Claes et al., 2005; Lacourse et al., 2006.
  5. 5Smith, 2004; McVie et Holmes, 2005
  6. 6Voir Claes et al. 2005; Dornbush et Wood, 1989.
  7. 7Claes et al., 2005; Lacourse et al., 2006. Voir aussi les travaux de Phelan et al., 2004; Hill et al., 1999; Le Blanc et Lanctot, 1998; Thornberry, 1998; Thornberry et al., 2003.
  8. 8Hoeve et al., 2007
  9. 9Savoie, 2007
  10. 10Loeber et al., 1998
  11. 11Farrington, 2006; voir aussi Farrington et al. 1996; 2001; 2002.
  12. 12Farrington, 2002; Farrington et al. 2006
  13. 13Ce fait est appuyé par plusieurs autres chercheurs (notamment CCSJ, 2006; Carlson, 1991; Dauvergne et Johnson, 2001; Hotton, 2003; Jaffe et al.,1986; Ristock, 1995; Rodgers, 1994; Santé Canada, 1997; Santé Canada, 2004; Widom et Maxfield, 2001) dans Hotton, 2003.
  14. 14McVie et Holmes, 2005
  15. 15Ibid
  16. 16Hotton et Haans, 2004
  17. 17cf. notamment Mucchielli, 2000; Smith, 2004
  18. 18Farrington et al., 2006
  19. 19Les transitions familiales font références à un ensemble d'événements associés à des changements : par exemple, au niveau de la structure familiale (divorce, re-mariage) ou au niveau de la mobilité familiale (déménagements). Comme le souligne également les chercheurs, ces résultats sont à prendre en considération dans le cadre de programme de prévention : les jeunes en période de transition familiale sont plus susceptibles d'avoir de la difficulté à gérer leurs émotions; l'une des solutions est donc d'améliorer les aptitudes et les habiletés des jeunes à mieux les contrôler. (Thornberry T. et al., 1999).
  20. 20Ibid
  21. 21Ibid
  22. 22Sampson, 1997
  23. 23Smith, 2004
  24. 24Sampson dans Turner et al., 2007
  25. 25Turner et al., 2007 ; Voir aussi Larzelere et Patterson, 1990.
  26. 26Garmezy, 1985; Rutter, 1985; Werner et Smith, 1982; 1992
  27. 27Shader, 2003; Lawrence, et al., 2001
  28. 28Ibid
  29. 29Slee P., 2006; Claes et al., 2005; Lawrence, 2001; Smith, 2004 ; Mucchielli, 2000; Barbara et al., 2001; Herman et al.., 1997; Allen et Land, 1998; Kobak et Sceery, 1984; Rice, 1990.
  30. 30Claes et al., 2005; voir aussi Barbara et al., 2001; Herman et al., 1997
  31. 31Claes et al., 2005 ; voir aussi Allen & Land, 1998; Kobak et Sceery, 1984; Rice, 1990
  32. 32Mucchielli, 2000; Sampson et al., 1997; Slee, 2006;
  33. 33Les recherches actuelles sur les facteurs de protection ne sont pas assez approfondies pour permettre de les distinguer en fonction de l'âge des enfants.
  34. 34Voir le rapport de recherche Savignac Julie, Familles, jeunes et délinquance : portrait des connaissances et programmes de prévention de la délinquance juvénile en milieu familial; disponible en anglais et en français. Ottawa : Sécurité publique Canada, Centre national de prévention du crime, 2008.
Date de modification :