Building the Evidence – Project Summaries – Strengthening the Spirit – Oskâyi Kiskinotahn Building a Comprehensive Response to Family Violence in Aboriginal Communities

PDF (194KB)

Table of Contents

Introduction

Strengthening the Spirit-Oskâyi Kiskinotahn: Building a Comprehensive Response to Family Violence in Aboriginal Communities (Strengthening the Spirit) is an innovative prevention program for Aboriginal families at high risk of violent behaviour and contact with the criminal justice system. It was funded by Public Safety Canada's National Crime Prevention Centre (NCPC) from February, 2009 to September, 2012.

The NCPC defines innovative as prevention programs that test new approaches, theories and interventions with at-risk populations. They are based on a strong theoretical framework that links the proposed intervention to the risk factor(s), target population and desired outcomes. Innovative projects verify changes through limited research design, and require causal confirmation using appropriate experimental techniques. These programs are recognized and encouraged with the caution that they must be carefully evaluated. 1

The Strengthening the Spirit program was sponsored by the HomeFront Society for the Prevention of Domestic Violence (HomeFront) in Calgary, Alberta and delivered in the Siksika Nation, Tsuu Tina First Nations, and Morley First Nations communities. Four Calgary-based organizations – Aspen Family Services, Métis Child and Family Services, the Calgary Correctional Centre and YWCA Sheriff King Home – were also central partners in the project.

Goals and Objectives

Strengthening the Spirit was designed to reduce the incidence of domestic violence in families, reduce the risk of violence for children, and support families' healing and wellness.

Participants

The participants came from three First Nations communities surrounding the city of Calgary and four Calgary-based organizations serving a high percentage of Aboriginal people.

Participants were referred by a variety of sources, including police services, shelters, correctional services, family members, Elders, First Nations peacemakers, Aboriginal-serving community agencies, and social services. Once in the program, families' levels of risk were explored using standardized assessment tools. A series of treatment groups and other interventions were then implemented.

A total of 34 treatment groups were held: 10 for men, 21 for women and 3 for children. There were 193 at-risk men and women who participated in the treatment group sessions, with the majority being women (65%) and 97% of participants were of Aboriginal descent (95% First Nations, 2% Métis). Twenty-seven percent (27%) of participants were 18–24 years old and fifty-six percent (56%) were 25–39 years old.

Key Elements of the Program

Strengthening the Spirit's design included adult and children's programs.

Adult men's and women's programs:

Children's program:

Staffing

11 Strengthening the Spirit Mentor Trainers were involved, including the HomeFront Community Mobilization Officer, who provided oversight for the pilot sites. The Community Mobilization Officer was the only salaried employee.

30 Community Facilitators were trained. They were members of the Aboriginal communities and were selected by their leaders. They completed 4–6 hours of orientation in domestic violence counselling and participated as trainees in at least one complete group program. Each of them also received approximately 1–2 hours of direct clinical supervision per month and they were able to access clinical support at anytime during the group process. They received fees for their services.

A Clinical Psychologist was assigned to each pilot site.

24 Elders who acted as role models, teachers, and transmitters of culture and identity were also involved in the program implementation. They received honorariums for their services.

HomeFront provided professional development training sessions for the team of Strengthening the Spirit Mentor Trainers, Psychologists, and Community Facilitators. Social workers from the YWCA Sheriff King Home provided crisis outreach services to client victims and children when required.

Partnerships

A steering committee including representatives from the main project partners and other stakeholders provided oversight and strategic direction to the program.

Members of the local community also created working groups to oversee the pilot projects, and First Nations community leaders were involved in the oversight of the treatment groups.

HomeFront was the financial manager, program initiator and coordinator.

Findings

The main findings for the Strengthening the Spirit pilot project show that:

Implementation Observations

Cost Information

The total cost to implement Strengthening the Spirit was $697,215 (71% funded by the NCPC).

The main in-kind contributions came from the Strengthening the Spirit Committee, the YWCA Sheriff King Home, the Calgary Correctional Centre, and HomeFront.

Additional financial support came from the Urban Aboriginal Strategy, Alberta Health Services, the Safe Community Secretariat, HomeFront, and United Way of Calgary.

Sustainability

The Strengthening the Spirit program continues to run in all of the sites where it was piloted.

All three First Nations communities secured funding, primarily through the Province of Alberta.

This pilot project fostered discussions with the Province on issues of victimization of women and children, and contributed to the development of a standardized domestic violence treatment protocol in Aboriginal communities in Alberta.

HomeFront Society for the Prevention of Domestic Violence
John J. Bowlen Building
501 – 620 7 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB  T2P OY8
Tel: 403–206–2100 ext. 243
Fax: 403–206–2106
Email: info@HomeFrontcalgary.com

End Notes

1 Promising and Model Crime Prevention Programs – Volume I, 2008 – http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/prmsng-mdl-vlm1/index-eng.aspx

Date modified:

L'épreuve des faits – Sommaires de projets – Strengthening the Spirit – Oskâyi Kiskinotahn Building a Comprehensive Response to Family Violence in Aboriginal Communities

PDF (196Ko)

Table des matières

Introduction

Le projet Strengthening the Spirit-Oskâyi Kiskinotahn: Building a Comprehensive Response to Family Violence in Aboriginal Communities (Strengthening the Spirit) est un programme de prévention novateur qui s’adresse aux familles autochtones très vulnérables au comportement violent et aux démêlés avec le système de justice pénale. Il a été financé par le Centre national de prévention du crime (CNPC) de Sécurité publique Canada de février 2009 à septembre 2012.

Le CNPC définit les programmes novateurs comme des programmes de prévention qui mettent à l’essai de nouvelles approches, théories et interventions auprès des populations à risque. Ces programmes prennent appui sur un cadre théorique solide qui fait le lien entre l’intervention proposée et les facteurs de risque, la population cible et les résultats visés. Les programmes novateurs font appel à un devis de recherche limité pour vérifier les changements, et ils nécessitent une confirmation causale à l’aide des techniques expérimentales appropriées. Ces programmes sont reconnus et encouragés à condition d’être soigneusement évalués.Note 1

Le projet Strengthening the Spirit a été parrainé par la HomeFront Society for the Prevention of Domestic Violence (HomeFront) de Calgary, en Alberta, et mis en œuvre dans les communautés des Premières nations de Siksika, de Tsuu T’ina et de Morley. Quatre organismes de Calgary, soit les Aspen Family Services, les Métis Child and Family Services, le centre correctionnel de Calgary et le refuge YWCA Sheriff King Home, ont également joué un rôle central dans la prestation du projet.

Buts et objectifs

Le projet Strengthening the Spirit visait à réduire la violence familiale, à atténuer le risque de violence faite aux enfants, et à soutenir la guérison et le bien-être des familles.

Participants

Les participants provenaient de trois communautés des Premières nations entourant la ville de Calgary, et de quatre organismes de Calgary offrant des services à un pourcentage élevé d’Autochtones.

Les participants ont été aiguillés vers le programme par diverses sources, notamment les services de police, les refuges, les services correctionnels, les membres de la famille, les Aînés, les pacificateurs des Premières nations, les organismes communautaires de service aux Autochtones et les services sociaux. Une fois les familles inscrites au programme, on a mesuré leur niveau de risque au moyen d’outils d’évaluation normalisés. On a ensuite mis en œuvre une série de groupes expérimentaux et autres interventions.

Au total, 34 groupes expérimentaux ont été formés (10 pour les hommes, 21 pour les femmes et 3 pour les enfants), lesquels ont accueilli 193 hommes et femmes à risque, la majorité étant des femmes (65 %). Quatre-vingt-dix-sept pour cent (97 %) des participants étaient de descendance autochtone (95 % de membres des Premières nations, 2 % de Métis). Vingt-sept pour cent (27 %) des participants étaient âgés de 18 à 24 ans, et cinquante-six pour cent (56 %) étaient âgés de 25 à 39 ans.

Éléments clés du programme

Le projet Strengthening the Spirit comportait un volet pour adultes et un volet pour enfants.

Volet pour les hommes et femmes adultes :

Volet pour les enfants :

Dotation

11 formateurs mentors ont apporté leur appui au projet Strengthening the Spirit, notamment l’agent de mobilisation communautaire de la société HomeFront, qui s’est occupé de la supervision des sites pilotes. L’agent de mobilisation communautaire était le seul employé salarié.

30 facilitateurs communautaires ont été formés. Il s’agissait de membres des communautés autochtones sélectionnés par leurs dirigeants. Ils ont suivi une séance d’orientation de 4 à 6 heures portant sur le counseling en matière de violence familiale, et ils ont participé à au moins un programme de groupe complet. Ils ont tous reçu environ 1 à 2 heures de supervision clinique directe par mois, et ont pu accéder à un soutien clinique à tout moment du processus de groupe. Ils ont obtenu des honoraires pour leurs services.

Un psychologue clinique a été affecté à chaque site pilote.

24 Aînés qui ont servi de modèles, d’enseignants et de transmetteurs de la culture et de l’identité, ont aussi pris part à la mise en œuvre du projet. Ils ont reçu des honoraires pour leurs services.

La société HomeFront a donné des séances de formation sur le développement professionnel à l’équipe de formateurs mentors, de psychologues et de facilitateurs communautaires du projet Strengthening the Spirit. Les travailleurs sociaux du refuge YWCA Sheriff King Home ont offert des services mobiles d’intervention en situation de crise aux victimes et enfants clients au besoin.

Partenariats

Un comité directeur composé de représentants des principaux partenaires du projet et d’autres intervenants, a effectué la supervision du projet et lui a donné une orientation stratégique.

En outre, des membres de la communauté locale ont créé des groupes de travail pour superviser les projets pilotes, et les dirigeants des communautés des Premières nations ont contribué à la supervision des groupes expérimentaux.

La société HomeFront a lancé le projet, l’a coordonné et en a géré les finances.

Résultats

Le projet pilote Strengthening the Spirit a donné les principaux résultats suivants :

Observations relatives à la mise en œuvre

Information relative aux coûts

La mise en œuvre du projet Strengthening the Spirit a coûté au total 697 215 $ (71 % du financement provenait du CNPC).

Les principales contributions en nature provenaient du comité Strengthening the Spirit, du refuge YWCA Sheriff King Home, du centre correctionnel de Calgary et de la société HomeFront.

Le programme a également bénéficié de l’appui financier de la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain, des Alberta Health Services, du Safe Communities Secretariat, de la société HomeFront et de Centraide Calgary.

Pérennisation

Le projet Strengthening the Spirit se poursuit dans tous les sites où il a été mis en œuvre comme projet pilote.

Les communautés des Premières nations ont toutes les trois obtenu des fonds, principalement de la Province de l’Alberta.

Ce projet pilote a favorisé les discussions avec la Province sur les questions de la victimisation des femmes et des enfants, et a contribué à l’établissement d’un protocole normalisé d’intervention en matière de violence familiale dans les communautés autochtones de l’Alberta.

Coordonnées de l’organisme promoteur

HomeFront Society for the Prevention of Domestic Violence
Immeuble John J. Bowlen
501–620, 7e avenue Sud-Ouest
Calgary (Alberta) T2P OY8
Téléphone : 403-206-2100, poste 243
Télécopieur : 403-206-2106
Courriel : info@HomeFrontcalgary.com

Notes

1 Programmes prometteurs et modèles pour prévenir la criminalité – Volume I, 2008 - http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/prmsng-mdl-vlm1/index-fra.aspx

Date de modification :