Brief Summaries - Substance Abuse Prevention Projects - Prairies

Table of Contents

Introduction

When examining the pathways of young people, it has been established that early, persistent delinquent behaviour accompanied by substance abuse, is a strong predictor of adult criminal behaviour. When combined with increases in the rates of self-reported problem use of illegal substances and higher levels of acceptance of drug use among youth, concerns from a crime prevention perspective are warranted. (for more information, see http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/sclbsd-drgbs/index-eng.aspx)

As a result of these linkages, the NCPC supports projects that include addressing and preventing substance abuse.

The following brief project descriptions provide information on some of the projects funded by the NCPC in the Prairies between 2009-2014 that, to varying degrees, worked to prevent substance abuse as a risk factor for criminal behaviour.

These projects may help inspire those concerned about these issues and provide a way to explore approaches to prevention that will be a good fit in communities.


Organization: Centre for Race and Culture
Project Title: Bamboo Shield
Duration: October 1, 2009 – September 30, 2013

Bamboo Shield is modelled after Lions-Quest: Skills for Adolescence. Lions-Quest is a Canadian model that offers a comprehensive prevention program for at-risk youth. The program addresses multiple risk factors, including drug use, negative parent-child relationships, lack of cultural pride and low positive cultural identity, and exposure to high rates of crime and violence.

The project is implemented in three inner-city junior high schools in Edmonton, Alberta, and is offered to high-risk immigrant youth between 13 and 17 years of age. The project works with the same youth over a period of three years, beginning in grade 7. Youth are provided with alternatives for substance abuse and aggression through the support and engagement of teachers, police officers, elders, and mentors. The components of the project include classroom instruction, mentoring, conflict resolution, violence and substance abuse prevention, positive parental involvement, and cultural supports.

For more information on the Bamboo Shield program, visit: http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/bmb-shld/index-eng.aspx

Centre for Race and Culture
#4, 10865 – 96 Street
Edmonton, AB
T5H 2K2
Tel: 780-425-4644
Fax: 780-421-0490


Organization: West Region Child and Family Services Inc.
Project Title: Roots and Wings (RAW)
Duration: February 1, 2010 – April 30, 2013

To reduce substance abuse, drug-related crime and interpersonal violence exhibited by high-risk Aboriginal youth aged 12 to 15 years, Roots and Wings (RAW) administers a combination of the Botvin Life Skills Training along with the Bimaadiziwin training program. RAW operates in five West Region First Nation Communities in the city of Winnipeg: Ebb and Flow, Gambler, Keeseekoowenin, Skownan and Waywayseecappo First Nations.

The Botvin Life Skills Training program is a school-based prevention program that targets drug abuse among youth. It educates youth through knowledge and skill development designed to help them resist peer pressure, build a positive self-image, develop effective problem-solving skills, and nurture healthy relationships. The Bimaadiziwin training program is designed to address the specific needs of a high-risk Aboriginal population, including the impact of historical trauma on cultural identity and the facilitation of high-risk groups with trauma, alcohol and drug-related behaviours. The key activities of this project include training and workshops in the areas of drug-resistance skills, personal self-management skills, and general social skills.

West Region Child and Family Services
Box 280
Erickson, MB
R0J 0P0
Tel: 1-866-636-6100


Organization: Strong Heart Teaching Lodge
Project Title: Seeing Oneself Initiative
Duration: January 1, 2010 – March 31, 2012

The Seeing Oneself Initiative delivered a school-based curriculum designed to prevent youth substance abuse in Aboriginal communities. The project aimed to enhance the health and well-being of at-risk Aboriginal youth, increase community safety, and reduce crimes associated with youth substance use/abuse. This project aimed to reach 360 high-risk youth, 13-17 years of age, who had existing or emerging substance-abuse issues. Key activities were coordinated in 4 schools located in neighbourhoods with multiple risk factors in various school divisions in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

To further meet the aim of the project, this initiative incorporated culturally-appropriate substance education programming within a bi-cultural competence approach to skills training. This approach was designed to equip young people with skills required to negotiate between mainstream culture and Aboriginal cultures. In addition, the project also offered conventional cognitive-behavioural skills development programming, which included culturally tailored content and activities.

Strong Heart Teaching Lodge
715 Main St.
Winnipeg, MB
R3B 3N7
Tel: 204-779-8863
Fax: 204-940-424


Organization: Prince Albert Outreach Program Inc.
Project Title: Youth Alliance against Gang Violence (YAAGV)
Duration: August 15, 2007 – March 31, 2012

Youth Alliance against Gang Violence (YAAGV) was built on promising practices from the Warrior Spirit Walking program. Warrior Spirit Walking is a program that focuses on assisting gang members with exiting the gang lifestyle and becoming law-abiding citizens.

In implementing the Warrior Spirit Walking program, YAAGV used a youth engagement model to work with Aboriginal youth involved in gangs, youth living in gang-active families and neighbourhoods, and youth who were at high risk of recruitment, exploitation and victimization by gangs. Key partners in the project included Aboriginal agencies, health services, school boards, criminal justice services and employment development services. These partners helped provide specific programming for gang members who were parents, had drug abuse issues, or exhibited violent and destructive behaviours. The project focused on three main groups: youth aged 9-12 years old, youth of age for criminal charges with histories of criminal behaviour, and 14-19 year olds wanting to disengage from gang activity and at risk of violence from within their current gang or from other gangs. The project aimed to reach approximately 380 youth annually.

For a more detailed summary of this project, please visit:
http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/yth-llnc/index-eng.aspx

Prince Albert Outreach Program Inc
1211 – 1st Ave West
Prince Albert, SK
S6V 4Y8
Tel: 306-763-3552 or 953-4822
Fax: 306-763-0156


Organization: Paskwawaskihk Administration
Project Title: Capturing Our Youth: A Crime Prevention Initiative Project for the Youth of the Little Red River Reserve #106B
Duration: September 15, 2009 – December 31, 2012

The Capturing Our Youth project engaged approximately 120 First Nation youth, 8 to 16 years of age, to reduce their involvement in high-risk and criminal behaviour. The project was based on the Botvin Life Skills Training program with additional cultural and recreational components. The Botvin Life Skills Training program is a school-based prevention program that targets tobacco, alcohol, and drug abuse among youth. It helps youth build the knowledge and skills they need to resist peer pressure, increase positive self-image, develop effective problem-solving skills, and maintain healthy relationships. The cultural and recreational components consist of activities such as sweat lodges, traditional dances, pipe ceremonies, sharing circles, rites of passage, unity rides, drumming, teepee building, and sacred teachings. These activities are designed to strengthen positive attitudes and pride in Cree culture and to facilitate the acquisition of pro-social skills through experiential learning.

This project was implemented on the Little Red River Reserve of the Montreal Lake Cree Nation in Saskatchewan, which had seen an increase in alcohol and drug abuse, acts of vandalism, break and enters, theft, common assaults, property damage, bullying, and mischief among the 8 to 16 year old youth.

Paskwawaskihk Administration
Little Red River Reserve #106B
Montreal Lake Cree Nation
Box 152
Christopher Lake, SK
S0J 0N0
Tel: 306-982-3030
Fax: 306-982-4545


Organization: Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation
Project Title: Pelican Narrows Life Skills Training Project
Duration: December 1, 2009 – September 30, 2012

The Pelican Narrows Life Skills Training Program aimed at working with approximately 500 First Nation youth between 9-15 years of age, to reduce high-risk and criminal behaviour. The project was based on the Botvin Life Skills Training program. The Botvin Life Skills Training program is a school-based prevention program that targets tobacco, alcohol, and drug abuse among youth. It helps youth build the knowledge and skills they need to resist peer pressure, increase their positive self-image, develop effective problem-solving skills, and maintain healthy relationships. In the Pelican Narrows project, the Botvin Life Skills Training program was supplemented by cultural and recreational components designed to ensure that the training was modified to be relevant to the needs of at-risk First Nation youth.

The project was implemented in Pelican Narrows, Saskatchewan, within the Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation on the Opawikoscikan Reserve. Increases in drug and alcohol use and related mischief, vandalism, theft, and interpersonal violence among youth were a catalyst for starting the program.

Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation, Opawikoscikan Reserve
#201, 2300 – 10th Avenue West
P.O. Box 2320
Prince Albert, SK
S6V 6Z1
Tel: 306-960-9877


Organization: Okanese First Nation #82
Project Title: Okanese Youth Lifeskills Project
Duration: June 1, 2010 – June 30, 2013

The Okanese Youth Lifeskills Project is targeting 50 First Nation youth, between 9-18 years of age, to reduce their engagement in high-risk behaviour and involvement, or potential involvement in criminal activities. This crime prevention project will use the Botvin Life Skills Training program, and will be supported by cultural activities. The Botvin Life Skills Training program is a school-based prevention program that targets tobacco, alcohol and drug abuse among youth. It educates youth through knowledge and skills development specifically designed to help youth resist peer pressure, build a positive self-image, develop effective problem solving skills, and build healthy relationships. The core life skills training components consist of drug-resistant skills, personal self-management skills and social skills development. Participants develop knowledge in self-image, self-improvement, myths and realities around the use of marijuana, alcohol and cigarettes. Program-learning fosters skills in decision-making, coping with anxiety and peer pressure, communication and social skills, and assertiveness techniques. Additional lessons will be used to address interpersonal violence and to reinforce messages on issues such as Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other mental, emotional, and behavioural issues.

The Botvin Life Skills Training program utilized by this project is supplemented by a cultural component designed to ensure that it meets the needs of the at-risk First Nation youth. Adding the cultural component is critical for the project to successfully engage the youth. The cultural component will strengthen the protective factors of at-risk youth by fostering a sense of belonging and attachment to the community, and will ensure that issues are addressed in a holistic manner.

The project will take place on the Okanese First Nation #82 within the established 'After School homework and Extracurricular Program' and will address the increase in substance-related break and enters theft, and interpersonal violence among targeted youth.

Okanese First Nation #82
P.O. Box 759
Balcarres, SK
S0G 0C0
Tel: 306-539-3461
Fax: 306-585-7239

Date modified:

Courts sommaires – Projets de prévention de l'abus de substances – Prairies

Table des matières

Introduction

Lorsqu'il s'agit des chemins que prennent les jeunes, il est établi que le comportement délinquant précoce et continuel, accompagné de l'abus de substances, constitue un fort prédicteur du comportement criminel à l'âge adulte. Lorsque ce comportement est combiné avec l'augmentation des taux d'abus autodéclaré de substances illégales et l'acceptation répandue de l'abus de substances chez les jeunes, les préoccupations du point de vue de la prévention du crime sont justifiées. (Pour en savoir davantage, voir le site suivant : http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/sclbsd-drgbs/index-fra.aspx)

À la lumière de ces liens, le CNPC appuie des projets qui visent à lutter contre l'abus de substances et à le prévenir.

Les courtes descriptions de projet suivantes contiennent de l'information sur certains des projets financés par le CNPC dans les Prairies entre 2009 et 2014. À divers degrés, ces projets se sont employés à prévenir l'abus de substances en tant que facteur de risque associé au comportement criminel.

Ces projets peuvent inspirer les personnes préoccupées par les questions relatives à l'abus de substances et offrir une avenue vers l'exploration d'approches de la prévention qui conviendront aux collectivités.


Organisation : Centre for Race and Culture
Titre du projet : Bamboo Shield
Durée : Du 1er octobre 2009 au 30 sepbembre 2013

Le projet Bamboo Shield suit le modèle de Lions-Quest: Skills for Adolescence, un projet canadien qui offre un programme de prévention exhaustif pour les jeunes à risque. Le programme s'attaque à de multiples facteurs de risque, notamment la consommation de drogue, les relations parent-enfant négatives, le manque de fierté culturelle et la faible identité culturelle positive, ainsi que l'exposition à des taux élevés de criminalité et de violence.

Le projet est mis en œuvre dans trois écoles intermédiaires du noyau central de la ville d'Edmonton, en Alberta, et est offert aux jeunes immigrants à risque élevé âgés de 13 à 17 ans. Le projet intervient auprès des mêmes jeunes sur une période de trois ans à compter de la septième année. Les jeunes se voient offrir des solutions de rechange à l'abus de substances et à l'agressivité grâce au soutien et à la participation d'enseignants, de policiers, d'aînés et de mentors. Le projet inclut la formation en salle de classe, le mentorat, la résolution de conflits, la prévention de la violence et de l'abus de substances, la participation positive des parents et les soutiens culturels.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le programme Bamboo Shield, rendez-vous à l'adresse suivante : http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/bmb-shld/index-fra.aspx

Centre for Race and Culture
4-10865, 96e Rue
Edmonton (Alberta)  T5H 2K2
Tél. : 780-425-4644
Téléc. : 780-421-0490


Organisation : West Region Child and Family Services Inc.
Titre du projet : Roots and Wings (RAW)
Durée : Du 1er février 2010 au 30 avril 2013

À Winnipeg, les intervenants du projet Roots and Wings administrent un programme qui s'inspire du projet Botvin Life Skills Training et du programme de formation Bimaadiziwin, dans le but de réduire l'abus de substances, les crimes liés à la drogue et la violence interpersonnelle chez les jeunes autochtones à risque élevé âgés de 12 à 15 ans dans cinq collectivités des Premières nations de la région de l'Ouest : Ebb and Flow, Gambler, Keeseekoowenin, Skownan et Waywayseecappo.

Le projet Botvin Life Skills Training est un programme scolaire de prévention ciblant la toxicomanie chez les jeunes. Il leur permet d'acquérir des connaissances et des aptitudes qui les aideront à résister à l'influence de leurs pairs, à se construire une image de soi positive, à acquérir des compétences efficaces de résolution de problèmes et à nouer de saines relations. Le programme de formation Bimaadiziwin est conçu pour répondre aux besoins particuliers d'une population autochtone à risque élevé. Il cible notamment les répercussions d'un traumatisme historique sur l'identité culturelle, et comporte des interventions auprès de groupes à risque élevé dont les comportements sont marqués par le traumatisme, l'alcoolisme et la toxicomanie. Parmi les principales activités de ce projet, on retrouve une formation et des ateliers sur l'acquisition d'aptitudes permettant de résister aux dangers de la drogue, ainsi que sur l'acquisition de compétences de maîtrise de soi et d'habiletés sociales en général.

West Region Child and Family Services
C.P. 280
Erickson (Manitoba)  R0J 0P0
Tél. : 1-866-636-6100


Organisation : Strong Heart Teaching Lodge
Titre du projet : Seeing Oneself
Durée : Du 1er janvier 2010 au 31 mars 2012

L'initiative Seeing Oneself mettait en œuvre un programme scolaire visant à empêcher les jeunes de consommer de la drogue dans les collectivités autochtones. Le projet visait à améliorer la santé et le bien-être des jeunes autochtones à risque, à accroître la sécurité communautaire et à réduire les crimes associés à la consommation et à l'abus de substances chez les jeunes. Le projet ciblait 360 jeunes à risque élevé âgés de 13 à 17 ans qui étaient aux prises avec des problèmes d'abus de substances nouveaux ou de longue date. Les principales activités étaient coordonnées dans quatre écoles situées dans des quartiers présentant de multiples facteurs de risque, dans diverses divisions scolaires de Winnipeg, au Manitoba.

Afin d'augmenter ses chances d'atteindre son but, l'initiative offrait un programme d'information sur la drogue et l'alcool adapté à la culture dans le cadre d'une approche biculturelle de la formation permettant d'acquérir des compétences. Cette approche visait à doter les jeunes des habiletés nécessaires pour concilier la culture de masse et les cultures autochtones. Le projet offrait également un programme cognitivo-comportemental conventionnel de perfectionnement des compétences dont le contenu et les activités étaient adaptés à la culture.

Strong Heart Teaching Lodge
715, rue Main
Winnipeg (Manitoba)  R3B 3N7
Tél. : 204-779-8863
Téléc. : 204-940-4243


Organisation : Prince Albert Outreach Program Inc.
Titre du projet : Youth Alliance against Gang Violence (YAAGV)
Durée : Du 15 août 2007 au 31 mars 2012

Le projet Youth Alliance against Gang Violence (YAAGV) prenait appui sur les pratiques prometteuses du projet Warrior Spirit Walking, un programme qui vise principalement à aider les membres de gangs à quitter leur gang et à devenir des citoyens respectueux de la loi.

Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre du programme Warrior Spirit Walking, les intervenants du projet YAAGV ont eu recours à un modèle d'engagement des jeunes pour intervenir auprès des jeunes autochtones membres de gangs, des jeunes vivant dans des familles et des quartiers où des gangs étaient présents, et des jeunes qui couraient un risque élevé d'être recrutés, exploités et victimisés par des gangs. Parmi les partenaires clés du projet, mentionnons les organismes autochtones, les services de santé, les commissions scolaires, les services de justice pénale et les services de développement de l'emploi. Ces partenaires aidaient à offrir un programme particulier aux membres de gangs qui étaient des parents, qui connaissaient des problèmes de toxicomanie ou qui adoptaient des comportements violents et destructeurs. Le projet s'adressait à trois groupes principaux : les jeunes de 9 à 12 ans, les jeunes en âge d'être accusés au pénal ayant des antécédents de comportements criminels, et les jeunes de 14 à 19 ans souhaitant quitter un gang et courant le risque d'être victimes de violence aux mains de leur gang actuel ou d'autres gangs. Le projet ciblait quelque 380 jeunes par année.

Pour voir un résumé plus détaillé de ce projet, rendez-vous à l'adresse suivante : http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/yth-llnc/index-fra.aspx

Prince Albert Outreach Program Inc.
1211, 1re Avenue Ouest
Prince Albert (Saskatchewan)
S6V 4Y8
Tél. : 306-763-3552 ou 953-4822
Téléc. : 306-763-0156


Organisation : Administration Paskwawaskihk
Titre du projet : Capturing Our Youth: A Crime Prevention Initiative Project for the Youth of the Little Red River Reserve #106B
Durée : Du 15 septembre 2009 au 31 décembre 2012

Le projet Capturing Our Youth était mis en œuvre auprès de quelque 120 jeunes des Premières nations âgés de 8 à 16 ans et visait à réduire leurs comportements criminels et à risque élevé. Le projet s'inspirait du programme Botvin Life Skills Training, mais comportait des volets culturels et récréatifs additionnels. Le projet Botvin Life Skills Training est un programme scolaire de prévention qui cible la consommation de tabac, d'alcool et de drogue chez les jeunes. Il leur permet d'acquérir des connaissances et des aptitudes qui les aideront à résister à l'influence de leurs pairs, à se construire une image de soi positive, à acquérir des compétences efficaces de résolution de problèmes et à nouer de saines relations. Les volets culturels et récréatifs consistent en des activités comme les sueries, les danses traditionnelles, les cérémonies du calumet, les cercles de partage, les rites de passage, les chevauchées pour l'unité, les tambours, la construction de tipis et les enseignements sacrés. Ces activités sont conçues pour renforcer les attitudes positives et la fierté à l'égard de la culture crie et pour faciliter l'acquisition de compétences prosociales grâce à l'apprentissage par l'expérience.

Ce projet était mis en œuvre dans la réserve Little Red River de la Nation crie du lac Montréal, en Saskatchewan. La réserve Little Red River avait connu une augmentation de l'alcoolisme et de l'abus de substances, du vandalisme, des entrées par effraction, du vol, des voies de fait simples, des dégâts matériels, de l'intimidation et des méfaits chez les jeunes de 8 à 16 ans.

Administration Paskwawaskihk
Réserve Little Red River 106B
Nation crie du lac Montréal
C.P. 152
Christopher Lake (Saskatchewan)
S0J 0N0
Tél. : 306-982-3030
Téléc. : 306-982-4545


Organisation : Nation crie Peter Ballantyne
Titre du projet : Projet Pelican Narrows Life Skills Training
Durée : Du 1er décembre 2009 au 30 septembre 2012

Le projet Pelican Narrows Life Skills Training ciblait quelque 500 jeunes des Premières nations âgés de 9 à 15 ans et visait à réduire leurs comportements criminels et à risque élevé. Le projet s'inspirait du modèle Botvin Life Skills Training, un programme scolaire de prévention qui cible la consommation de tabac, d'alcool et de drogue chez les jeunes. Il leur permet d'acquérir des connaissances et des aptitudes qui les aideront à résister à l'influence de leurs pairs, à se construire une image de soi positive, à acquérir des compétences efficaces de résolution de problèmes et à nouer de saines relations. Le projet Pelican Narrows ajoutait à ce modèle des volets culturels et récréatifs permettant de s'assurer que la formation répondait aux besoins des jeunes à risque des Premières nations.

Le projet était mis en œuvre à Pelican Narrows, en Saskatchewan, au sein de la Nation crie Peter Ballantyne dans la réserve Opawikoscikan. L'augmentation de l'abus de substances et de l'alcoolisme chez les jeunes ainsi que les méfaits, le vandalisme, le vol et la violence interpersonnelle qui s'y rattachent ont servi de catalyseurs pour le projet.

Nation crie Peter Ballantyne,
réserve Opawikoscikan
201-2300, 10e Avenue Ouest
C.P. 2320
Prince Albert (Saskatchewan)
S6V 6Z1
Tél. : 306-960-9877


Organisation : Première nation Okanese 82
Titre du projet : Projet Okanese Youth Lifeskills
Durée : Du 1er juin 2010 au 30 juin 2013

Le projet Okanese Youth Lifeskills cible 50 jeunes des Premières nations âgés de 9 à 18 ans et vise à réduire leurs comportements à risque élevé et leur participation, réelle ou potentielle, à des activités criminelles. Ce projet de prévention du crime s'inspirera du modèle Botvin Life Skills Training et prévoira des activités culturelles. Le modèle Botvin Life Skills Training est un programme scolaire de prévention qui cible la consommation de tabac, d'alcool et de drogue chez les jeunes. Il leur permet d'acquérir des connaissances et des aptitudes qui les aideront expressément à résister à l'influence de leurs pairs, à se construire une image de soi positive, à acquérir des compétences efficaces de résolution de problèmes et à nouer de saines relations. Les principaux volets de formation sur les compétences de vie sont la résistance aux dangers de la drogue, la maîtrise de soi et le perfectionnement des habiletés sociales. Les participants apprennent au sujet de l'image de soi, de l'amélioration personnelle et des mythes et réalités entourant la consommation de marijuana, d'alcool et de cigarettes. Le programme favorise l'acquisition d'aptitudes pour ce qui est de prendre des décisions, de lutter contre l'anxiété et de résister à l'influence des pairs, ainsi que l'acquisition d'habiletés sociales et de communication et de techniques permettant de gagner de l'assurance. D'autres leçons traiteront de la violence interpersonnelle et viendront renforcer les messages sur des questions comme l'ensemble des troubles causés par l'alcoolisation fœtale et d'autres problèmes mentaux, émotifs et comportementaux.

Le projet complète le modèle Botvin Life Skills Training par un volet culturel permettant de s'assurer que le projet répond aux besoins des jeunes à risque des Premières nations. Ce volet culturel est essentiel à la mobilisation des jeunes. Il renforcera les facteurs de protection des jeunes à risque en favorisant un sentiment d'appartenance et d'attachement à la collectivité, et fera en sorte que les questions soient abordées de manière holistique.

Le projet sera mis en œuvre dans la Première nation Okanese 82, dans le cadre du programme établi de devoirs après l'école et d'activités parascolaires, et s'attaquera à l'augmentation de la consommation de substances chez les jeunes et aux entrées par effraction, aux vols et à la violence interpersonnelle qui s'y rattachent.

Première nation Okanese 82
C.P. 759
Balcarres (Saskatchewan)
S0G 0C0
Tél. : 306-539-3461
Téléc. : 306-585-7239

Date de modification :