Brief Summaries - Substance Abuse Prevention Projects - North

Table of Contents

Introduction

When examining the pathways of young people, it has been established that early, persistent delinquent behaviour accompanied by substance abuse, is a strong predictor of adult criminal behaviour. When combined with increases in the rates of self-reported problem use of illegal substances and higher levels of acceptance of drug use among youth, concerns from a crime prevention perspective are warranted. (for more information, see http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/sclbsd-drgbs/index-eng.aspx)

As a result of these linkages, the NCPC supports projects that include addressing and preventing substance abuse.

The following brief project descriptions provide information on some of the projects funded by the NCPC in the North between 2009-2014 that, to varying degrees, worked to prevent substance abuse as a risk factor for criminal behaviour.

These projects may help inspire those concerned about these issues and provide a way to explore approaches to prevention that will be a good fit in communities.


Organization: Public Denominational District Education Authority (Yellowknife Catholic Schools YCS)
Project Title: Do Edaezhe: YCS Leadership and Resiliency Program
Duration: August 20, 2009 – November 19, 2014

This project is delivered to Aboriginal youth from grades 1-12 who exhibit risk factors such as drug use, anti-social and violent behaviour, parental neglect and truancy. Approximately 650 youth will be engaged over the lifecycle of the project. Based on the Leadership and Resiliency Program (LRP), this initiative seeks to develop positive relationships, coping strategies and assist youth with positive decision-making and goal-setting. Lesson plans to encourage these skills are developed, stored on a database and shared with other LRP projects. Some components of the LRP model have been modified to better respond to the circumstances of Aboriginal youth. The project will operate for five years and will provide interventions to youth in the four schools within the Yellowknife Catholic School District: Weledeh Catholic School, École St. Patrick High School, École St. Joseph School and St. Joseph's Middle School.

Project activities include resiliency groups focusing on substance use, anger management, peer and family relationships, and goal setting. A community service component helps youth broaden their sense of community well-being by providing opportunities to work with elders and persons with disabilities. Other components include recreational activities, such as indoor/outdoor sports, family activities, mentorship and on-the-land cultural camps. Each activity is designed to increase the participants' competence, their perceptions of self-worth, and provide positive role models. Reduced disciplinary actions in school, improved communication and resiliency skills, increased knowledge of the negative effects of substance abuse and attendant risky behaviours are some of the key indicators the project is monitoring.

For more information on the Leadership Resiliency Program, visit: http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/prmsng-mdl-vlm1/index-eng.aspx#toc_5c

Aboriginal Language and Culture Coordinator
P.O. Box 1830
Yellowknife, NWT
X1A 2P4
Tel: 867-766-7400
Fax: 867-766-7401


Organization: Tl'oondih Healing Society
Project Title: A Community Within a Community: A Culture-Based Leadership and Resiliency Program
Duration: November 1, 2009 – January 31, 2015

This project is based on the Leadership and Resiliency Program (LRP), a program designed to enhance internal strengths and resiliency in order to prevent substance use and violence among participants. It addresses youth-related crime issues by responding to multiple risk factors, including drug and alcohol abuse, negative risk taking, aggressive and impulsive behaviours, negative relationships with peers, family and community and negative self-image and self-concept. Each year, the programming will reach approximately 210 youth who are 12 to 19 years of age.

The LRP model contains three main project components. Weekly resiliency groups focus on substance use, anger management, peer and family relationships and goal setting. A community service component helps youth broaden their sense of community engagement by providing opportunities to volunteer with elders, younger children, and pet care. The adventure component includes activities such as indoor/outdoor sports and on-the-land cultural camps. Each activity is designed to increase competence, perceptions of self-worth and introduce participants to positive role models. Reduced disciplinary actions in school, improved communication and resiliency skills, increased knowledge of the negative effects of substance abuse and attendant risky behaviours are some of the indicators being monitored.

For more information on the Leadership Resiliency Program, visit: http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/prmsng-mdl-vlm1/index-eng.aspx#toc_5c

Tl'oondih Healing Society
P.O. Box 30
Fort McPherson, NWT
X0E 0J0
Tel: 867-952-2025
Fax: 867-952-2733


Organization: South Slave Divisional Education Council
Project Title: South Slave Divisional Education Council Leadership and Resiliency Program
Duration: August 20, 2009 – November 19, 2014

This project is based on the Leadership and Resiliency Program (LRP), a program designed to enhance internal strengths and resiliency in order to prevent substance use and violence among participants. It addresses youth-related crime issues by responding to multiple risk factors, including drug and alcohol abuse, risk-taking, aggressive and impulsive behaviours, negative relationships with peers, family and community and negative self-image and self-concept. Each year, approximately 270 youth 12 to 19 years of age will be reached.

Activities include resiliency groups focusing on substance use, anger management, peer and family relationships, and goal setting. A community service component helps youth broaden their sense of community well-being by providing opportunities to work with elders, kindergarten children and persons with disabilities. Other components include recreational activities, such as indoor/outdoor sports and on-the-land cultural camps. Each activity is designed to increase competence, perceptions of self-worth and provide positive role models. Reduced disciplinary actions in school, improved communication and resiliency skills, and increased knowledge of the negative effects of substance abuse and attendant risky behaviours are some of the indicators being monitored.

South Slave Divisional Education Council
C/O Diamond Jenness Secondary School
Hay River, NWT
X0E 0R8
Tel: 867-874-2194
Fax: 867-874-3163


Organization: Inuvik Justice Committee (IJC)
Project Title: Youth and Family support - Inuvik
Duration: June 18, 2010 – September 17, 2015

Inuvik Justice Committee (IJC) is delivering an intervention program based on the Family Group Conference approach that was designed using Aboriginal cultural principles of family integration. The project includes three categories of activities. Family support sessions strengthen vulnerable families through sharing circles, individual support and the development of plans aimed at addressing the specific risk factors affecting each of the youth and their family members. The risk factors addressed include drug use and/or abuse and the consequent negative attitudes and risky behaviours. The conference component will reach 12 to 18 high-risk families per year.

The second component includes a youth outreach service which offers on-going educational awareness and individualized counselling to participants. At-risk youth aged 6-18 years are the focus of this service.

The final component includes a land-based program which offers additional support to youth and their families to heal and reconnect with their heritage and one another in on-the-land settings. There are three streams to this programming – specific sessions for each gender and one intensive stream where the youth and their families spend time together on-the-land with support from the project staff to address issues and work on healing the family.

Through the emphasis on family healing, it is anticipated that drug use and attendant anti-social or criminal behaviour will decline.

Inuvik Justice Committee (IJC)
P.O. Box 2869
Inuvik, NWT
X0E 0T0
Telephone IJC: 867-777-3181
Telephone Aurora College: 867-777-3298 (#30)
Fax: 867-777-3182


Organization: Rae-Edzo Friendship Centre
Project Title: Rae-Edzo Youth Drop-in Centre
Duration: September 8, 2009 – December 7, 2014

This innovative project provides culturally sensitive, direct interventions to aboriginal youth aged 12 to 19 years that are at risk of criminal behaviour and exposed to multiple risk factors, including early drug and alcohol use, negative peer association and parental neglect and abandonment. Between 25 and 30 youth participate in the project on a weekly basis.

The project includes skills-development workshops designed to build positive attitudes and promote the acquisition of skills required to improve lifestyle choices and a sense of self-worth. Additionally, the project includes recreational and outdoor activities as healthy alternatives to substance use and criminal behaviour. The Friendship Centre offers scheduled programs such as movie night, cooking classes and a talking circle for elementary children. This project aims to equip youth with the skills needed to identify and build protective factors to counteract the risk factors that make them susceptible to drug and alcohol use and involvement in criminal activity.

P.O. Box 85
Rae-Edzo, NWT
X0E 0Y0
Tel.: 867-392-6000
Fax: 867-392-6093


Organization: K'atlodeeche First Nation
Project Title: Helping Youth to Help Themselves
Duration: June 1, 2009 – May 31, 2012

This project was an innovative initiative specifically tailored to the needs of the Hay River reserve, a northern, aboriginal community. The project addressed multiple risk factors, including drug and alcohol abuse, aggressive and impulsive behaviour, unemployment and dropping out of school. The project reached approximately 30 aboriginal children from 7 to 12 years of age who were experiencing multiple risk factors, and aboriginal youth from 13 to 18 years of age who were at risk of criminal behaviour.

To achieve its goals, the project delivered a range of activities, including life skills workshops and personal development sessions to assist participants with building effective communication, basic literacy and conflict-resolution skills. These workshops were administered in both individual and group settings. Employment skill workshops were offered to help the youth develop the labour force skills needed to succeed at work and to build capacity for employability. Recreation and outdoor opportunities were provided to encourage the youth to participate in positive and healthy activities, such as swimming and traditional Dene games. Recreational and outdoor activities were based on traditional activities such as drumming, drum making, camping and trapping. These activities assisted participants in increasing their cultural competency and pride in their heritage.

Katlodeeche First Nation
Box 3060, Hay River, NWT
X0E 1G4
Tel: 1-867-874-6701
Fax: 1-867-874-3229

Date modified:

Courts sommaires – Projets de prévention de l'abus de substances – Nord

Table des matières

Introduction

Lorsqu'il s'agit des chemins que prennent les jeunes, il est établi que le comportement délinquant précoce et continuel, accompagné de l'abus de substances, constitue un fort prédicteur du comportement criminel à l'âge adulte. Lorsque ce comportement est combiné avec l'augmentation des taux d'abus autodéclaré de substances illégales et l'acceptation répandue de l'abus de substances chez les jeunes, les préoccupations du point de vue de la prévention du crime sont justifiées. (Pour en savoir davantage, voir le site suivant : http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/sclbsd-drgbs/index-fra.aspx)

À la lumière de ces liens, le CNPC appuie des projets qui visent à lutter contre l'abus de substances et à le prévenir.

Les courtes descriptions de projet suivantes contiennent de l'information sur certains des projets financés par le CNPC dans la région du Nord entre 2009 et 2014. À divers degrés, ces projets se sont employés à prévenir l'abus de substances en tant que facteur de risque associé au comportement criminel.

Ces projets peuvent inspirer les personnes préoccupées par les questions relatives à l'abus de substances et offrir une avenue vers l'exploration d'approches de la prévention qui conviendront aux collectivités.


Organisation : Autorité scolaire du district confessionnel public (Yellowknife Catholic Schools YCS)
Titre du projet : Do Edaezhe: YCS Leadership and Resiliency Program
Durée : Du 20 août 2009 au 19 novembre 2014

Ce projet est mis en œuvre auprès de jeunes autochtones de la première à la douzième année qui présentent des facteurs de risque comme la consommation de drogue, le comportement antisocial et violent, la négligence parentale et l'école buissonnière. Quelque 650 jeunes bénéficieront du projet tout au long de son cycle de vie. Le projet se fonde sur le Leadership and Resiliency Program (LRP) et cherche à aider les jeunes à nouer des relations positives, à apprendre des stratégies pour surmonter leurs problèmes, à prendre des décisions positives et à se fixer des buts positifs. Des plans de cours encourageant l'acquisition de ces compétences sont créés, stockés dans une base de données et transmis aux responsables d'autres projets LRP. Certains volets du modèle LRP ont été modifiés de façon à mieux s'adapter à la situation des jeunes autochtones. Le projet durera cinq ans et offrira des interventions aux jeunes de quatre écoles du district scolaire catholique de Yellowknife : l'école catholique Weledeh, l'école secondaire St. Patrick, l'école St. Joseph et l'école intermédiaire St. Joseph.

Au nombre des activités du projet, on retrouve des groupes de résilience mettant l'accent sur la consommation de substances, la maîtrise de la colère, les relations avec les pairs et la famille ainsi que l'établissement de buts. Un volet bénévolat aide les jeunes à accroître leur sens du bien-être communautaire en leur donnant l'occasion de travailler avec des personnes âgées et des personnes handicapées. D'autres volets incluent des activités récréatives comme les sports intérieurs et extérieurs, les activités familiales, le mentorat et les camps culturels en pleine nature. Chaque activité vise à accroître la compétence et la confiance en soi des participants et à leur donner des modèles positifs. La réduction des mesures disciplinaires à l'école, l'amélioration des habiletés en matière de communication et de résilience, ainsi que l'accroissement des connaissances sur les effets négatifs de l'abus de substances et les comportements à risque connexes, figurent parmi les indicateurs clés faisant l'objet d'un suivi dans le cadre du projet.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le Leadership and Resiliency Program, rendez-vous à l'adresse suivante : http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/prmsng-mdl-vlm1/index-fra.aspx#toc_5c

Coordonnateur de la langue et de la culture autochtones
C.P. 1830
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)
X1A 2P4
Tél. : 867-766-7400
Téléc. : 867-766-7401


Organisation : Tl'oondih Healing Society
Titre du projet : A Community Within a Community: A Culture-Based Leadership and Resiliency Program
Durée : Du 1er novembre 2009 au 31 janvier 2015

Ce projet se fonde sur le Leadership and Resiliency Program (LRP), un programme qui vise à augmenter la force intérieure et la résilience des participants afin de les empêcher de consommer de la drogue et de commettre des actes de violence. Il s'attaque aux enjeux criminels liés aux jeunes en agissant sur de multiples facteurs de risque, notamment la toxicomanie et l'alcoolisme, la prise de risques négatifs, les comportements agressifs et impulsifs, les relations négatives avec les pairs, la famille et la collectivité, ainsi que l'image et la perception de soi négatives. Chaque année, le programme profitera à quelque 210 jeunes âgés de 12 à 19 ans.

Le modèle LRP comporte trois volets principaux. Les groupes de résilience hebdomadaires mettent l'accent sur la consommation de substances, la maîtrise de la colère, les relations avec les pairs et la famille ainsi que l'établissement de buts. Un volet bénévolat aide les jeunes à accroître leur sens du bien-être communautaire en leur donnant l'occasion de travailler avec des personnes âgées et des jeunes enfants et de prendre soin d'animaux. Le volet récréatif inclut des activités comme les sports intérieurs et extérieurs ainsi que des camps culturels en pleine nature. Chaque activité vise à accroître la compétence et la confiance en soi des participants et à leur donner des modèles positifs. La réduction des mesures disciplinaires à l'école, l'amélioration des habiletés en matière de communication et de résilience, ainsi que l'accroissement des connaissances sur les effets négatifs de l'abus de substances et les comportements à risque connexes, figurent parmi les indicateurs faisant l'objet d'un suivi.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le Leadership and Resiliency Program, rendez-vous à l'adresse suivante : http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/prmsng-mdl-vlm1/index-fra.aspx#toc_5c

Tl'oondih Healing Society
C.P. 30
Fort McPherson (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)
X0E 0J0
Tél. : 867-952-2025  
Téléc. : 867-952-2733


Organisation : Commission scolaire de division du South Slave
Titre du projet : South Slave Divisional Education Council Leadership and Resiliency Program
Durée : Du 20 août 2009 au 19 novembre 2014

Ce projet se fonde sur le Leadership and Resiliency Program (LRP), un programme qui vise à augmenter la force intérieure et la résilience des participants afin de les empêcher de consommer de la drogue et de commettre des actes de violence. Il s'attaque aux enjeux criminels liés aux jeunes en agissant sur de multiples facteurs de risque, notamment la toxicomanie et l'alcoolisme, la prise de risques, les comportements agressifs et impulsifs, les relations négatives avec les pairs, la famille et la collectivité, ainsi que l'image et la perception de soi négatives. Chaque année, le programme profitera à quelque 270 jeunes âgés de 12 à 19 ans.

Au nombre des activités, on retrouve des groupes de résilience mettant l'accent sur la consommation de substances, la maîtrise de la colère, les relations avec les pairs et la famille ainsi que l'établissement de buts. Un volet bénévolat aide les jeunes à accroître leur sens du bien-être communautaire en leur donnant l'occasion de travailler avec des personnes âgées, des enfants de la maternelle et des personnes handicapées. D'autres volets comportent des activités récréatives comme les sports intérieurs et extérieurs ainsi que des camps culturels en pleine nature. Chaque activité vise à accroître la compétence et la confiance en soi des participants et à leur donner des modèles positifs. La réduction des mesures disciplinaires à l'école, l'amélioration des habiletés en matière de communication et de résilience, ainsi que l'accroissement des connaissances sur les effets négatifs de l'abus de substances et les comportements à risque connexes, figurent parmi les indicateurs faisant l'objet d'un suivi.

Commission scolaire de division du South Slave
a/s de l'école secondaire Diamond Jenness
Hay River (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)
X0E 0R8
Tél. : 867-874-2194
Téléc. : 867-874-3163


Organisation : Comité de justice d'Inuvik (CJI)
Titre du projet : Youth and Family Support – Inuvik
Durée : Du 18 juin 2010 au 17 septembre 2015

Le Comité de justice d'Inuvik met en œuvre un programme d'intervention fondé sur l'approche de la concertation familiale, qui a été conçue à partir des principes culturels autochtones de l'intégration familiale. Le projet comporte trois catégories d'activités. Les séances de soutien à la famille resserrent les liens entre les membres de familles vulnérables au moyen de cercles de partage, du soutien individuel et de l'établissement de plans visant à agir sur les facteurs de risque particuliers touchant chacun des jeunes et des membres de leur famille, notamment la consommation et l'abus de drogue ainsi que les attitudes négatives et les comportements à risque qui en découlent. Le volet de concertation sera mis en œuvre auprès de 12 à 18 familles à risque élevé par année.

La deuxième catégorie comprend un service de sensibilisation des jeunes qui prévoit l'information continue des participants et offre un counseling individualisé. Ce service s'adresse aux jeunes à risque âgés de 6 à 18 ans.

La dernière catégorie inclut un programme en pleine nature qui offre un soutien additionnel aux jeunes et à leurs familles pour guérir les blessures familiales et leur permettre de renouer avec leur patrimoine, et les uns avec les autres, en pleine nature. Cette catégorie comporte trois volets : une séance particulière pour chaque sexe, et une séance intensive où les jeunes et leurs familles passent du temps ensemble dans la nature et reçoivent l'appui des intervenants du projet pour régler leurs problèmes et guérir les blessures familiales.

La guérison des blessures familiales devrait entraîner une baisse de la consommation de drogue et du comportement antisocial ou criminel connexe.

Comité de justice d'Inuvik
C.P. 2869
Inuvik (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)
X0E 0T0
Tél. CJI : 867-777-3181
Tél. Aurora College : 867-777-3298 (poste 30)
Téléc. : 867-777-3182


Organisation : Rae-Edzo Friendship Centre
Titre du projet : Rae-Edzo Youth Drop-in Centre
Durée : Du 8 septembre 2009 au 7 décembre 2014

Ce projet novateur met en œuvre des interventions directes adaptées à la culture auprès de jeunes autochtones âgés de 12 à 19 ans qui courent le risque d'adopter des comportements criminels et d'être exposés à de multiples facteurs de risque, notamment la consommation précoce de drogue et d'alcool, la fréquentation de pairs négatifs ainsi que la négligence et l'abandon parentaux. Entre 25 et 30 jeunes participent au projet chaque semaine.

Le projet offre des ateliers de perfectionnement des compétences visant à favoriser l'adoption d'attitudes positives et l'acquisition des habiletés nécessaires pour améliorer ses choix de vie et sa confiance en soi. Le projet prévoit également des activités récréatives et extérieures comme solutions de rechange saines à la consommation de substances et au comportement criminel. Le Friendship Centre offre des programmes suivant un horaire établi, comme une soirée film, des cours de cuisine et un cercle de discussion pour les enfants de l'école élémentaire. Ce projet vise à doter les jeunes des habiletés nécessaires pour cerner et consolider les facteurs de protection, afin de contrebalancer les facteurs de risque qui les rendent vulnérables à la consommation de drogue et d'alcool et à la participation à des activités criminelles.

C.P. 85
Rae-Edzo (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)
X0E 0Y0
Tél. : 867-392-6000
Téléc. : 867-392-6093


Organisation : Première nation K'atlodeeche
Titre du projet : Helping Youth to Help Themselves
Durée : Du 1er juin 2009 au 31 mai 2012

Ce projet se voulait une initiative novatrice expressément adaptée aux besoins de la réserve de Hay River, une collectivité autochtone du Nord. Le projet s'attaquait à de multiples facteurs de risque, notamment la toxicomanie et l'alcoolisme, le comportement agressif et impulsif, le chômage et l'abandon scolaire. Le projet profitait à quelque 30 enfants autochtones de 7 à 12 ans qui présentaient de multiples facteurs de risques et jeunes autochtones de 13 à 18 ans qui sont à risque de comportement criminel.

Pour atteindre ses buts, le projet a prévu une vaste gamme d'activités, notamment des ateliers sur les compétences de vie et des séances de développement personnel visant à aider les participants à acquérir des habiletés efficaces en matière de communication, d'alphabétisation de base et de résolution de conflits. Ces ateliers et séances avaient lieu individuellement ou en groupes. D'autres ateliers visaient à aider les jeunes à acquérir les compétences professionnelles dont ils avaient besoin pour réussir au travail et accroître leur employabilité. Des activités récréatives et extérieures encourageaient les jeunes à prendre part à des activités positives et saines, comme la natation et les jeux dénés traditionnels. Ces activités s'inspiraient d'activités traditionnelles comme les tambours, la fabrication de tambours, le camping et le trappage. Elles aidaient les participants à accroître leur compétence culturelle et leur fierté envers leur patrimoine.

Première nation Katlodeeche
C.P. 3060
Hay River (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)
X0E 1G4
Tél. : 1-867-874-6701
Téléc. : 1-867-874-3229

Date de modification :