Results from the Alternative Suspension ProgramNote 1

PDF (199 KB)

Table of Contents

Introduction

The Alternative Suspension (AS) program provides tailored interventions and support to youth who have been suspended from school or are at risk of being suspended in order to address their misconduct and help them persevere with their school work. It is based on a program that was first developed in Montréal by the YMCAs of Quebec in 1999 in response to a request from a local school that had noticed its suspended students would spend their time away from school with no supervision, whereas statistics showed crime rates were highest during school hours, with the most likely offenders being school-aged youth.

A national trial of the Alternative Suspension program is being implemented from 2009 to 2014 by the YMCAs of Quebec in Abbotsford and Chilliwack, BC; Edmonton, West and North Edmonton, Alberta; Moose Jaw and Regina, Saskatchewan; Winnipeg, Manitoba; Moncton and Riverview, New Brunswick; Halifax, Nova Scotia; and Corner Brook, Newfoundland, with $6,799,929.52 in funding from the National Crime Prevention Centre (NCPC).

Based on a previous evaluation of pilot AS projects from 2003 to 2005,Note 2 there was enough evidence for the NCPC to deem AS to be a promising program. However, more evidence is needed to assess the ability of AS to achieve its outcomes in a variety of settings, and with different target groups. Consequently, the NCPC is running a multi-site evaluation of AS in three locations: Chilliwack, West Edmonton and Moncton. This summary provides an overview of the multi-site evaluation of AS that is being funded by the NCPC.Note 3 The NCPC contracted the firm Malatest Program Evaluation & Market Research to conduct a multi-site impact evaluation of AS. The impact evaluation study, valued at $612,675, began in 2011 and will end in 2015.

Program Description

Alternative Suspension is an out-of-school program for youth facing school suspensions. The program works with youth 12 to 17 years old (during the 2011-2012 school year, median age calculated at 14 for the three sites) who are registered in school and are experiencing difficulties in their academic and social life on a recurrent or occasional basis. It also engages youth at risk of being suspended. AS provides program activities that help youth resolve conflicts and minimize negative behaviours that lead to suspensions. It aims to help them improve their attitudes toward school and their relationships with others. The AS program served 195 youth in the three sites during its first year of implementation (2010‑2011) and 164 in the 2011‑2012 school year.Note 4

Youth in the program participate in group workshops that encompass a wide range of issues associated with at-risk behaviours and individual sessions that focus on their particular needs. The program's topics may include stress and anger management, responsibility, conflict solving, relating to authority figures, personal organization, self-esteem, violence and bullying, street gangs, and drug and alcohol abuse. Morning sessions are reserved for schoolwork; afternoon sessions are for workshops and individual interventions.

Target Group

Overall, the characteristics of AS program participants at the three sites being evaluated during the 2011‑2012 school year match the broad target group criteria. Two distinct groups are recruited, one characterized by higher risk students facing traditional out-of-school suspension, and a lower risk group consisting of students who may benefit from a time out period spent within the AS program as a preventive intervention. Students are being referred for traditional suspension and/or for other behaviours that are not worthy of suspension. However, the youth characteristics suggest all these students are at risk. Indeed, more than one quarter (27.8%) of students were referred to the program because of disruptive and impulsive behaviours, 22.2% for risky behaviour and 20.0% for physical or verbal violence. As shown in Table 1, most participants (95.2%) had experienced some level of behavioural difficulties prior to the program, 67.6% had previously been suspended and 43.9% were at risk of being transferred to another school when referred to the AS program. The majority had received warnings (86%) and disciplinary actions (81.7%), whereas help and support (76.2%) or referrals to services (40.2%) were provided to some participants prior to being referred to the AS program.

Table 1: School Profile of AS Participants (2011/2012 School Year)
Characteristic

Chilliwack

West Edmonton

Moncton

Total

No.

%

No.

%

No.

%

No.

%

Prior Behavioural Issues

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No behavioural issues

7

10.0%

5

20.8%

5

7.1%

17

10.4%

Minor behavioural issues

25

35.7%

7

29.2%

18

25.7%

50

30.5%

Serious behavioural issues

34

48.6%

12

50.0%

43

61.4%

89

54.3%

Non-functional in the school environment

4

5.7%

0

0.0%

4

5.7%

8

4.9%

Unknown

0

0.0%

0

0.0%

0

0.0%

0

0.0%

Previous Suspension

45

64.3%

11

45.8%

55

78.6%

111

67.6%

In School

36

51.4%

11

45.8%

42

60.0%

89

54.3%

At Home

34

48.6%

7

29.2%

45

64.3%

86

52.4%

None

25

35.7%

13

54.2%

15

21.4%

53

32.3%

Risk of Transfer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No

35

50.0%

21

87.5%

36

51.4%

92

56.1%

Possibly

29

41.4%

2

8.3%

25

35.7%

56

34.1%

Yes

6

8.6%

1

4.2%

9

12.9%

16

9.8%

Previous Interventions

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Warnings

66

94.3%

11

45.8%

64

91.4%

141

86.0%

Disciplinary Actions

61

87.1%

13

54.2%

60

85.7%

134

81.7%

Help and Support

55

78.6%

10

41.7%

60

85.7%

125

76.2%

Referrals to Services

26

37.1%

5

20.8%

35

50.0%

66

40.2%

Total Number of Participants

70

 

24

 

70

 

164

 

Source: AS Program. Essentials Form; Totals may not add to 100% due to multiple responses.

Program fidelity

The impact evaluators assessed the extent to which the implemented intervention adheres to the AS program model. At all three sites, students were hosted in a neutral out-of-school setting and the six-to-one recommended ratio of students to youth workers was rarely exceeded. As part of the fidelity to the program, personalized intervention plans were designed based on information provided by school administrators, youth workers' assessments, and objectives identified by the participants. A balanced intervention was also targeted through a combination of dedicated time to complete school work, group workshops, one-on-one meetings and complementary activities. According to the data, almost half of the participants (48.4%) completed 85% to 100% of their schoolwork, with 26.5% completing 100% of their work. Participation in group workshops has been 95.7%, while 68.3% of program participants received at least one one-on-one session every day, whereas participants received a one-on-one session, on average, 88.4% of the time. Complementary activities, including referrals to other programs/services, recreational activities and educational activities to complement other program components have been held but are not properly tracked in the monitoring system.

Regular communication with the school and parents regarding youth progress and daily activities is also seen as a key component of the program; 65.2% of referred students had some form of contact with the youth worker on day one of the program. The suspension period is typically between three and five days, but could last as long as 15 days to a maximum of three weeks for participants with a long history of behavioural problems and those presenting delinquent behaviours. The duration of the suspension period spent in the program averaged 3.4 days in West Edmonton, 3.8 in Chilliwack and 5.2 in Moncton. Ideally, 90% of program participants would engage in re-integration with the school administrator (and perhaps teacher) accompanied by the youth worker and a parent/guardian. In fact, 78.5% of participants attended a reintegration meeting, and all stakeholders were present only 58.3% of the time. Parental attendance has been challenging across all three sites, happening about 63.2% of the time.

Evaluation Objectives

The objectives of the evaluation are as follows:

The evaluation takes place in three locations: Chilliwack, BC (site started March 2010), West Edmonton, Alberta (site started May 2010) and Moncton, New Brunswick (site started March 2010). These sites were selected to provide a wide range of geographical, cultural and implementation contexts.

Evaluation Methodology

The evaluation is based on a quasi-experimental methodology that uses a pre-post non-equivalent groups design, including two follow-ups after completion of the intervention (6 months and 12 months). The comparison group members include youth who were referred by schools and who were eligible for the program but did not participate. Due to a small number of youth in the comparison group (16), strategies to expand this group are being explored, including adding non-participants from nearby AS program sites.Note 5

The evaluators use a mixed-method approach, integrating quantitative and qualitative data collected through multiple sources of evidence. For instance, program records and data collected by the youth workers are used, as well as school records, key informant interviews (program staff, parents, school administrators and partners), participant exit surveys, focus groups and interviews with youth. However, certain factors precluded the application of the planned design for the midpoint evaluation report due to the timing of the report and other issues related to data availability. As such, the current summary is mainly based on descriptive data collected by the program at entry and partial data for the short-term AS program follow-up period (four to six weeks). The descriptive analysis methods include the calculation of frequencies, cross-tabulations and means/medians to describe program statistics, participants' socio-demographic characteristics, school-related information and outcomes. Qualitative methods include inductive content analysis to identify convergent and divergent themes, drawing on open-ended questions used in various survey instruments and within each key informant group and across the different groups.

Testing for statistical significance (e.g., repeated measures t-test) will be completed by the evaluators once pre-post data is available to explore the extent to which the difference between pre- and post-program outcomes for school attendance, lateness, and school disciplinary actions are statistically significant for the program participant group. The net impact analysis will rely on more sophisticated statistical techniques (e.g. regression analysis) that will determine the within-site differences between the program participants and the control group members, as well as between-site differences.

FINDINGS

Outcomes Measured

The evaluation focuses on several outcomes, including short-term outcomes such as successful re-integration, learning and application of tools learned in the workshops, and involvement in community and school activities. Medium-term outcomes include completion of the school year, decrease of school disciplinary measures, and increased association in pro-social activities. The long-term outcome is to increase attachments and commitment to school. The ultimate goal is to reduce offending in targeted populations. At this point in the evaluation, it is too early to determine achievement of most medium-term and long-term outcomes since the first school year of the evaluation period was not yet complete when the mid-term report was prepared.

Short-term outcomes

Some preliminary findings suggest that behaviours and attitudes of program participants are influenced by what is learned in the AS workshops and interventions. Key indicators are: positive change in student attitudes; improved skills in problem areas; and positive change in student behaviour. According to youth workers, 67.4% of the AS program participants have given at least some thought (whether seriously or lightly) to their school situations and appeared willing (whether willing or having shown some willingness) to work on improving their behaviour. Their assessment of the participants' progress and status at the completion of the AS program is confirmed by 63.3% of the parents who reported that students have demonstrated either a noticeable improvement (9.2%) or a certain degree of change in their situation (54.1%). School behavioural assessments of the current situation of youth at program follow-up have noted an improvement in 65.7% of students, with 8.6% of students having demonstrated a noticeable improvement and 57.1% a certain degree of change in their situation. About 66.7% of AS participants felt they made some degree of improvement in the time since they were in the program as was noted at program follow-up (noticeable improvement: 54.9%; and significant improvement: 11.8%).

Medium-term outcomes

Once information associated with school-related outcomes is available, the evaluators will measure whether youth are more likely to complete the school year/course. Some preliminary key findings are available regarding the reduction of the occurrence of disciplinary actions for participating youth, subsequent suspensions after participation in the AS program, and school-related behavioural improvements.

School administrators noted that one of the outcomes of the AS program is that there are fewer office referrals and disciplinary actions, and that they have fewer negative interactions with the participants in the program. Overall, 15.3% of AS participants were suspended again after completing the program; however, this rate of re-suspension is only an estimate since data is incomplete at all sites. Suspensions were not reliably recorded for participants who did not complete the program, therefore a comparison cannot be made, and follow-ups were not conducted with participants who did not complete at least one day of the AS program. No AS participants had been transferred or expelled from their schools by the time the short-term follow-up occurred.

Based on the information collected from school administrators by youth workers during the post-program follow-up (four to six week after reintegration in school), AS participants seem to improve their academic performance 39.4% of the time. They also noticed that some students demonstrated a noticeable improvement in their situation (8.6%) or a certain degree of change in their situation (56.2%). About 5.7% of the time, student's behaviour deteriorated.

Cost analysis findings

Cost-effectiveness analysis will be conducted when outcome data is available, while preliminary descriptive cost analysis has been carried out. The cost of delivering the AS program at different sites varies due to local factors, involvement of community partners and location of the program. Total costs have been $500,865.13 ($403,212.65 cash cost) in Chilliwack, $446,190 ($444,825 cash cost) in Edmonton, and $383,997.24 ($319,984.99 cash cost) in Moncton. Implementation costs are $31,713.88 in Chilliwack, $26,156.50 in Edmonton and $30,132.11 in Moncton. The average cost per participant is $6,466.52 ($6,446.74 cash cost) in West Edmonton, $2,829.75 ($2,278.04 cash cost) in Chilliwack and $3,173.53 ($2,644.50 cash cost) in West Moncton based on data from 2009/10 (4 months), 2010/11 (12 months) and 2011/12 (12 months). The higher cost in Edmonton is due to a lower participation rate.

Reporting

The results presented in this summary should be considered preliminary and will be completed as more data become available. The final evaluation report is due October 1,  2015.

For more information or to receive a copy of the final evaluation report, please contact the National Crime Prevention Centre by e-mail at ps.prevention-prevention.sp@canada.ca.

If you wish to register for the NCPC mailing list to receive information from the Centre, please visit the subscription page at: http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-eng.aspx

End Notes

1 The Technical authority for this evaluation contract at NCPC is Danièle Laliberté, PhD, Senior Evaluation Analyst.

2 C.A.C. International. (December 2005). Rapport final d'évaluation du programme Alternative Suspension.

3 This summary presents preliminary analysis included in the interim evaluation report submitted to the NCPC on June  30, 2012. More findings included in the upcoming annual reports and final report will be presented in a subsequent summary.

4 The current summary covers the period from September 2011 to May 30, 2012.

5 At the time of this summary, data for the comparison group was not available.

Date modified:

Résultats du programme Alternative SuspensionNote 1

PDF (199 Ko)

Table des matières

1. Introduction

Le programme Alternative Suspension (AS) offre des services d'intervention et de soutien adaptés aux jeunes qui ont été suspendus de l'école ou qui sont à risque de l'être, dans le but de remédier à leur inconduite et de les aider à persévérer dans leurs travaux scolaires. Il se fonde sur un programme élaboré par les YMCA du Québec à Montréal en 1999, en réponse à une demande d'une école locale qui avait remarqué que les élèves suspendus passaient leur temps à l'extérieur de l'école sans supervision. De fait, les statistiques montrent que les taux de criminalité sont les plus élevés pendant les heures de cours, les auteurs de crimes les plus probables étant des jeunes d'âge scolaire.

De 2009 à 2014, les YMCA du Québec procèdent à un essai national du programme AS à Abbotsford et à Chilliwack, en Colombie‑Britannique, à Edmonton, à Edmonton Ouest et à Edmonton Nord, en Alberta, à Moose Jaw et à Regina, en Saskatchewan, à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, à Moncton et à Riverview, au Nouveau-Brunswick, à Halifax, en Nouvelle‑Écosse et à Corner Brook, à Terre‑Neuve‑et‑Labrador, à l'aide d'un financement de 6 799 929,52 $ du Centre national de prévention du crime (CNPC).

À la lumière d'une évaluation antérieure des projets pilotes AS de 2003 à 2005Note 2, les données étaient suffisantes pour que le CNPC considère le programme AS comme un programme prometteur. Toutefois, un plus grand nombre de données sont nécessaires pour évaluer la capacité du programme AS d'atteindre les résultats visés dans divers milieux et auprès de différents groupes cibles. Par conséquent, le CNPC effectue une évaluation multi-sites du programme AS à trois endroits : Chilliwack, Edmonton Ouest et Moncton. Le présent sommaire résume l'évaluation multi-sites du programme AS qui est financée par le CNPCNote 3. Ce dernier a attribué un contrat à l'entreprise Malatest Program Evaluation & Market Research pour qu'elle effectue une évaluation d'impacts multi-sites du programme AS. L'étude d'évaluation, d'une valeur de 612 675 $, a commencé en 2011 et se terminera en 2015.

Description du programme

Le programme AS est un programme parascolaire pour les jeunes confrontés à la suspension scolaire. Il vise les jeunes de 12 à 17 ans (durant l'année scolaire 2011-2012, l'âge médian calculé pour les trois sites était de 14 ans) qui sont inscrits à l'école et qui éprouvent des difficultés récurrentes ou occasionnelles dans leur vie scolaire et sociale. Il vise également les jeunes à risque d'être suspendus. Le programme AS offre aux jeunes des activités qui les aident à régler les conflits et à réduire au minimum les comportements négatifs qui entraînent des suspensions. Il cherche à les aider à améliorer leur attitude à l'égard de l'école et leurs relations avec les autres. Le programme AS a profité à 195 jeunes dans les trois sites durant la première année de mise en œuvre (2010‑2011) et à 164 jeunes au cours de l'année scolaire 2011‑2012Note 4.

Dans le cadre du programme, les jeunes participent à des ateliers de groupe portant sur une vaste gamme de questions liées aux comportements à risque, ainsi qu'à des séances individuelles qui ciblent leurs besoins particuliers. Les sujets abordés peuvent comprendre le stress et la maîtrise de la colère, la responsabilité, le règlement de conflits, la relation avec les figures d'autorité, l'organisation personnelle, l'estime de soi, la violence et l'intimidation, les gangs de rue, ainsi que la toxicomanie et l'alcoolisme. Les séances du matin sont réservées aux travaux scolaires, tandis que les séances de l'après-midi sont destinées aux ateliers et aux interventions individuelles.

Groupe cible

En général, les caractéristiques des participants au programme AS dans les trois sites faisant l'objet d'une évaluation durant l'année scolaire 2011‑2012 correspondent aux critères du groupe cible. Deux groupes distincts sont recrutés, l'un d'eux étant composé d'élèves à risque élevé confrontés à une suspension traditionnelle à l'extérieur de l'école, et l'autre groupe étant composé d'élèves à risque faible qui pourraient bénéficier d'une période d'arrêt passée avec les intervenants du programme AS dans le cadre d'une intervention préventive. Les élèves sont dirigés vers le programme lorsqu'ils reçoivent une suspension traditionnelle ou adoptent d'autres comportements qui ne méritent pas une suspension, mais qui laissent entendre que ces élèves sont à risque. En fait, plus du quart (27,8 %) des élèves ont été dirigés vers le programme en raison de comportements perturbateurs et impulsifs, 22,2 % en raison de comportements risqués et 20,0 % en raison de violence physique ou verbale. Comme l'illustre le tableau 1, la plupart des participants (95,2 %) connaissaient des difficultés comportementales, 67,6 % avaient déjà été suspendus et 43,9 % couraient le risque d'être transférés dans une autre école lorsqu'ils ont été dirigés vers le programme. La majorité avaient reçu des avertissements (86 %) et des mesures disciplinaires (81,7 %), et certains avaient obtenu de l'aide et du soutien (76,2 %) ou été aiguillés vers des services (40,2 %) avant d'être dirigés vers le programme AS.

Tableau 1 : Profil scolaire des participants au programme AS (année scolaire 2011‑2012)
Caractéristiques

Chilliwack

Edmonton Ouest

Moncton

Total

Nbre

%

Nbre

%

Nbre

%

Nbre

%

Problèmes de comportement antérieurs

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Aucun problème de comportement

7

10,0 %

5

20,8 %

5

7,1 %

17

10,4 %

Problèmes de comportement mineurs

25

35,7 %

7

29,2 %

18

25,7 %

50

30,5 %

Problèmes de comportement graves

34

48,6 %

12

50,0 %

43

61,4 %

89

54,3 %

Ne peut fonctionner dans le milieu scolaire

4

5,7 %

0

0,0 %

4

5,7 %

8

4,9 %

Inconnus

0

0,0 %

0

0,0 %

0

0,0 %

0

0,0 %

Suspension antérieure

45

64,3 %

11

45,8 %

55

78,6 %

111

67,6 %

À l'école

36

51,4 %

11

45,8 %

42

60,0 %

89

54,3 %

À la maison

34

48,6 %

7

29,2 %

45

64,3 %

86

52,4 %

Aucune

25

35,7 %

13

54,2 %

15

21,4 %

53

32,3 %

Risque de transfert

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Non

35

50,0 %

21

87,5 %

36

51,4 %

92

56,1 %

Peut-être

29

41,4 %

2

8,3 %

25

35,7 %

56

34,1 %

Oui

6

8,6 %

1

4,2 %

9

12,9 %

16

9,8 %

Interventions antérieures

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Avertissements

66

94,3 %

11

45,8 %

64

91,4 %

141

86,0 %

Mesures disciplinaires

61

87,1 %

13

54,2 %

60

85,7 %

134

81,7 %

Aide et soutien

55

78,6 %

10

41,7 %

60

85,7 %

125

76,2 %

Aiguillage vers des services

26

37,1 %

5

20,8 %

35

50,0 %

66

40,2 %

Nombre total de participants

70

 

24

 

70

 

164

 

Source : Programme AS. Essentials Form. Les totaux ne correspondent peut-être pas à 100 % en raison des réponses multiples.

Fidélité au programme

Les responsables de l'évaluation d'impacts ont déterminé dans quelle mesure l'intervention mise en œuvre était conforme au modèle du programme AS. Dans les trois sites, les élèves étaient accueillis dans un lieu neutre à l'extérieur de l'école et le ratio recommandé de six élèves pour un intervenant a rarement été excédé. Afin de garantir la fidélité au programme, des plans d'intervention personnalisés ont été dressés en fonction de l'information fournie par les administrateurs d'école, de l'évaluation effectuée par l'intervenant et des objectifs cernés par les participants. Une intervention équilibrée a aussi été ciblée par une combinaison d'heures consacrées aux travaux scolaires, aux ateliers de groupe, aux rencontres individuelles et aux activités complémentaires. Selon les données, près de la moitié des participants (48,4 %) faisaient 85 % à 100 % de leurs travaux scolaires, 26,5 % des jeunes faisant 100 % de leurs travaux. Les jeunes ont participé à 95,7 % aux ateliers de groupe, 68,3 % des participants ont pris part à un minimum d'une séance individuelle chaque jour, et les participants ont assisté à une séance individuelle en moyenne 88,4 % du temps. Des activités complémentaires ont eu lieu, notamment des aiguillages vers d'autres programmes ou services, ainsi que des activités éducatives et récréatives venant compléter d'autres composantes du programme, mais elles n'ont pas fait l'objet d'un suivi convenable dans le système.

La communication régulière avec l'école et les parents concernant les progrès et les activités quotidiennes du jeune est aussi perçue comme une composante clé du programme : 65,2 % des élèves dirigés vers le programme avaient été en contact avec l'intervenant la première journée du programme. La période de suspension se situe habituellement entre trois et cinq jours, mais elle peut durer jusqu'à 15 jours pour un maximum de trois semaines dans le cas des élèves qui présentent depuis longtemps des problèmes de comportement et dans le cas des élèves qui adoptent des comportements délinquants. La durée de la période de suspension passée dans le programme a avoisiné les 3,4 jours à Edmonton Ouest, les 3,8 jours à Chilliwack et les 5,2 jours à Moncton. Idéalement, 90 % des participants au programme prendraient part à une réunion de réintégration avec l'administrateur de l'école (et peut-être l'enseignant) et y seraient accompagnés de l'intervenant et d'un parent ou tuteur. Dans les faits, 78,5 % des participants ont assisté à une réunion de réintégration et les intervenants étaient tous présents seulement 58,3 % du temps. La participation des parents a représenté une difficulté dans les trois sites, les parents étant présents environ 63,2 % du temps.

Objectifs de l'évaluation

Les objectifs de l'évaluation sont les suivants :

L'évaluation a lieu dans trois  sites : Chilliwack, en Colombie‑Britannique (début en mars 2010), Edmonton Ouest, en Alberta (début en mai 2010) et Moncton, au Nouveau‑Brunswick (début en mars 2010). Ces sites ont été sélectionnés en raison du large éventail de contextes géographiques, culturels et de mise en œuvre.

Méthode d'évaluation

L'évaluation se fonde sur une méthodologie quasi expérimentale faisant appel à un devis de groupes non équivalents prétest et post-test comprenant deux suivis après l'intervention (six mois et douze mois). Les membres du groupe de référence incluent des jeunes qui ont été dirigés par les écoles et qui étaient admissibles au programme, mais qui n'y ont pas participé. En raison du petit nombre de jeunes faisant partie du groupe de référence (16), des stratégies pour élargir ce groupe sont étudiées, notamment l'ajout de non participants de sites environnants où le programme AS est mis en œuvreNote 5.

Les évaluateurs emploient une approche mixte, qui combine des données quantitatives et qualitatives recueillies auprès de multiples sources. Nommons par exemple les dossiers du programme et les données recueillies par les intervenants, ainsi que les dossiers scolaires, les entrevues auprès d'informateurs clés (intervenants du programme, parents, administrateurs d'école et partenaires), les questionnaires de départ, les groupes de réflexion et les entrevues auprès des jeunes. Toutefois, certains facteurs ont empêché l'application du devis prévu pour le rapport d'évaluation de mi-parcours, notamment le moment du rapport et d'autres questions liées à la disponibilité des données. Par conséquent, le présent sommaire se fonde principalement sur les données descriptives recueillies par les responsables du programme à l'admission, et sur les données partielles pour la période de suivi à court terme du programme AS (de quatre à six semaines). Les méthodes d'analyse descriptive incluent le calcul des fréquences, les tableaux croisés et les moyennes/médianes pour décrire les statistiques du programme, les caractéristiques socio-démographiques des participants, les renseignements scolaires et les résultats. Les méthodes qualitatives comprennent une analyse inductive du contenu visant à repérer les thèmes convergents et divergents, d'après les réponses aux questions ouvertes utilisées dans les divers instruments d'enquête, au sein de chaque groupe d'informateurs clés et dans les différents groupes.

Les évaluateurs effectueront des tests de la signification statistique (p. ex., test t à mesures répétées) lorsque les données du prétest et du post-test seront disponibles afin d'examiner dans quelle mesure la différence entre les résultats avant et après le programme (fréquentation scolaire, retards et mesures disciplinaires) est statistiquement significative pour le groupe participant au programme. L'analyse d'impacts nets sera fondée sur l'utilisation de techniques statistiques plus sophistiquées (p. ex., l'analyse de régression), qui permettront de déterminer les différences propres à un site entre les participants au programme et les membres du groupe témoin, ainsi que les différences entre les sites.

RÉSULTATS

Résultats mesurés

L'évaluation cible plusieurs résultats, notamment des résultats à court terme comme une réintégration réussie, l'apprentissage et l'application des outils acquis dans le cadre des ateliers, ainsi que la participation aux activités scolaires et communautaires. Les résultats à moyen terme comprennent l'achèvement de l'année scolaire, la diminution des mesures disciplinaires prises par l'école et la participation accrue à des activités prosociales. L'objectif à long terme est l'accroissement du sentiment d'appartenance et de l'engagement à l'égard de l'école. L'objectif ultime est la réduction de la délinquance parmi les populations ciblées. À ce moment de l'évaluation, il est trop tôt pour déterminer si la plupart des résultats à moyen et à long terme ont été atteints, puisque la première année scolaire de la période d'évaluation n'était pas terminée lorsque le rapport de mi-parcours a été préparé.

Résultats à court terme

Certains résultats préliminaires donnent à penser que les comportements et les attitudes des participants au programme sont influencés par ce qui est appris au cours des ateliers et des interventions du programme AS. Les indicateurs clés sont le changement positif dans l'attitude de l'élève, l'amélioration de la capacité de résolution de problèmes et le changement positif dans le comportement de l'élève. Selon les intervenants, 67,4 % des participants ont au moins réfléchi (beaucoup ou quelque peu) à leur situation à l'école et se sont montrés disposés (disposés ou montrant une certaine disposition) à améliorer leur comportement. L'évaluation des progrès et de la situation des participants à la fin du programme AS effectuée par les intervenants est confirmée par 63,3 % des parents qui ont signalé que les élèves présentaient une amélioration visible (9,2 %) ou un certain degré de changement dans leur situation (54,1 %). Les évaluations comportementales de la situation courante des jeunes, effectuées par les écoles à l'étape du suivi du programme, ont permis de constater une amélioration chez 65,7 % des élèves, 8,6 % ayant présenté une amélioration visible et 57,1 % un certain degré de changement dans leur situation. Environ 66,7 % des participants au programme AS avaient l'impression de s'être améliorés depuis leur admission au programme, comme il a été noté lors du suivi (amélioration visible : 54,9 %; amélioration marquée : 11,8 %).

Résultats à moyen terme

Une fois l'information associée aux résultats scolaires disponibles, les évaluateurs détermineront si les jeunes sont plus susceptibles de terminer l'année scolaire/le cours. Certains résultats clés préliminaires sont disponibles en ce qui concerne la réduction du nombre de mesures disciplinaires prises à l'égard des jeunes participants, les suspensions subséquentes après la participation au programme AS et les améliorations du comportement à l'école.

Les administrateurs d'école ont constaté que l'un des résultats du programme AS était le nombre réduit de renvois au bureau, de mesures disciplinaires et d'échanges négatifs avec les participants. En général, 15,3 % des participants ont reçu une nouvelle suspension après avoir terminé le programme, mais ce taux n'est qu'une estimation puisque les données sont incomplètes pour tous les sites. Comme les suspensions n'ont pas été consignées de manière fiable pour les jeunes n'ayant pas terminé le programme, une comparaison ne peut être faite, et aucun suivi n'a été effectué auprès des participants qui n'avaient pas terminé au moins une journée du programme AS. Par ailleurs, aucun participant n'avait été transféré ou expulsé au moment du suivi à court terme.

Selon l'information que les intervenants ont recueillie auprès des administrateurs d'école durant le suivi postérieur au programme (quatre à six semaines après la réintégration), les participants semblent avoir amélioré leur rendement scolaire 39,4 % du temps. En outre, certains élèves présentaient une amélioration visible (8,6 %) ou un certain degré de changement dans leur situation (56,2 %). Dans environ 5,7 % des cas, le comportement de l'élève s'était détérioré.

Analyse coût-efficacité

Une analyse coût-efficacité sera réalisée lorsque les données sur les résultats seront disponibles, tandis qu'une analyse descriptive des coûts préliminaire a déjà été effectuée. Le coût de la prestation du programme AS varie selon le site en raison de facteurs locaux, de la participation des partenaires communautaires et du lieu où le programme est mis en œuvre. Les coûts totaux se chiffrent à 500 865,13 $ (coût décaissé de 403 212,65 $) à Chilliwack, à 446 190 $ (coût décaissé de 444 825 $) à Edmonton et à 383 997,24 $ (coût décaissé de 319 984,99 $) à Moncton. Les coûts de mise en œuvre s'élèvent à 31 713,88 $ à Chilliwack, à 26 156,50 $ à Edmonton et à 30 132,11 $ à Moncton. Le coût moyen par participant est de 6 466,52 $ (coût décaissé de 6 446,74 $) à Edmonton Ouest, de 2 829,75 $ (coût décaissé de 2 278,04 $) à Chilliwack et de 3 173,53 $ (coût décaissé de 2 644,50 $) à Moncton Ouest, selon les données de 2009‑2010 (4 mois), de 2010‑2011 (12 mois) et de 2011‑2012 (12 mois). Le coût est plus élevé à Edmonton à cause du taux de participation plus faible.

Rapports

Les résultats fournis dans le présent sommaire devraient être considérés comme préliminaires et seront complétés lorsque d'autres données seront disponibles. Le rapport d'évaluation final doit être livré le 1er octobre 2015.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de ce projet, ou pour obtenir une copie du rapport final d'évaluation, veuillez contacter le Centre national de prévention du crime, par courriel, à ps.prevention-prevention.sp@canada.ca.

Pour recevoir des informations sur les activités du CNPC, nous vous invitons à vous inscrire à la liste d'envoi électronique du CNPC en visitant notre page d'enregistrement à : https://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-fra.aspx.

Notes

1 La responsable technique de ce contrat d'évaluation pour le CNPC est Danièle Laliberté, Ph. D., analyste principale de l'évaluation.

2 C.A.C. International. Rapport final d'évaluation du programme Alternative Suspension, décembre  2005.

3 Le présent sommaire montre les résultats de l'analyse préliminaire inclus dans le rapport d'évaluation provisoire remis au CNPC le 30 juin 2012. Les autres conclusions figurant dans les rapports annuels et le rapport final à venir seront présentées dans un sommaire subséquent.

4 Le présent sommaire couvre la période allant de septembre 2011 au 30 mai 2012.

5 Au moment où le présent sommaire a été rédigé, les données sur le groupe de référence n'étaient pas disponibles.

Date de modification :