Research Summary: Results of Crime Prevention Programs for 12 to 17 Year Olds

PDF 108 Kb

Background

The research report focuses on the synthesized results of 9 evaluation studies of 10 different crime prevention models implemented for 12 to 17 year olds in 14 sites in Canada and funded under the National Crime Prevention StrategyFootnote 1 between 2009 and 2013. The following programs have been tested: Alternative Suspension (AS: Chilliwack BC, Edmonton AB and Moncton NB), Intervention Rethink Refocus Reintegrate (iR3: Surrey BC), Prevention Intervention Toronto (PIT: Toronto ON), Multisystemic Therapy (MST: Toronto ON), Youth Inclusion Program (YIP: Saint-John NB, North Sydney and Spryfield NS), Leadership and Resiliency (LRP: Hay River and Yellowknife NWT), Velocity (St. John's NL), Life Skills Training (LST: Edmonton AB) and Towards No Drugs (TND: Hamilton ON)Footnote 2.

Most projects were implemented by voluntary not-for-profit organizations, in collaboration with key crime prevention stakeholders such as schools and local police. These organizations offered a variety of services for youth and young adults ranging from individual case management, education and employment support, skill building, and recreational activities. The interventions targeted youth who display multiple risk factors associated with criminal behaviour such as substance abuse, limited attachment to school, association with delinquent peers, violent and aggressive tendencies, and early contact with the justice system. Their risk profile is often complex and many of the youth also have low literacy rates, poor parental supervision, mental health issues, unstable housing, and low academic achievement.

Method

A synthesis of nine evaluation studies was conducted to determine the efficacy of various crime prevention programs. Based on the original studies, a descriptive analysis was conducted for the domains related to knowledge, attitudes, risk and protective factors, and behaviours. Various types of statistics were clustered into four of the following types of categories:

A positive change is defined as a result that demonstrates a statistically significant (p<0.05) reduction in risk factors or offending behaviours or an increase in positive knowledge, attitudes or protective factors. A negative change is defined as a result that demonstrates that there is a statistically significant (p<0.05) increase in risk factors or offending behaviours or it demonstrates a decrease in positive knowledge, attitudes or protective factors. A “neutral” finding is defined as a result that does not demonstrate a statistically significant (p<0.05) change in the outcomes tested prior to and after the program. When an outcome has an equal number of negative and positive outcomes, an equal number of neutral and negative outcomes, or an equal number of neutral and positive outcomes, the findings are classified as mixed.

Information on the individual studies can be reviewed on the Public Safety website. Individual studies are usually based on longitudinal pre and post-test designs with follow-up measures at six or twelve months. In some cases comparison groups were used. Also, evaluators were encouraged to utilize standardized and validated data collection tools, school and police data as well as qualitative techniques to strengthen the findings.

Key Findings

Knowledge and attitudes

Seven of the studies measure knowledge and attitudes with a majority (71%) of the results showing positive changes for the youth in these various interventions (iR3 show neutral results and LST mixed results). A variety of knowledge and attitudes have been positively changed including: 1) being motivated to change; 2) having a better understanding about the negative consequences of substance abuse; 3) having a positive attitude towards the justice system; and 4) having an appropriate attitude towards offending.

Risk and protective factors

Eight of the eleven studies measure risks and protective factors with a majority of them showing positive changes for several variables related to seven domains. As indicated in the report, 43% of the domains show favourable changes (Skills, Education and Academic performance, Parenting and Family relationships), 43% show neutral results (Self-esteem and Emotional regulation, Externalizing behaviours and Pro-social behaviours, Alcohol and Drug abuse) and 14% show mixed results (Anti-social peers and Gang membership).

Skills: Two of the three studies (TND and Velocity) report favourable changes in decision making skills or ability to handle and reduce substance use. The LST program has had neutral trends on skills variables.

Anti-social/Peers/Gang membership: Two of the three studies (PIT and YIP) report mixed trends for this domain. The YIP addresses lifestyle (favourable), neighborhood and friends (neutral). The PIT had favourable changes associated with anti-social peers, but mixed results with regard to the association with gang-involved peers. The MST study reported favourable changes in youth success in academic/vocational settings.

Education/Academic performance: All of the studies measuring education/academic performance (AS, iR3, MST and YIP) demonstrate favourable trends for school-related behaviours. Key variables are related to performance, course completion, attendance, behaviour, disciplinary actions, absenteeism and suspension. PIT has mixed results for school attendance and disciplinary problems.

Self-esteem/Emotional regulation: One of the four studies had a positive impact on outcomes related to self-esteem and self-regulation. The YIP has had a positive impact on perception of self and others, emotional and mental risk factors. The two other studies report neutral results (risk seeking for PIT and ability to handle stress for Velocity). LST has mixed results, with favourable results being demonstrated on self-image but neutral for coping skills.

Parenting/Family relationships: Two (MST and YIP) of the studies that measure parenting and family relationships report favourable changes. PIT's results related to these outcomes are neutral.

Externalizing behaviours/Pro-social behaviours: Impacts of Velocity on aggressive and anti-social behaviours are neutral.

Alcohol and drug abuse: For most of the programs (PIT, TND and YIP), results on substance use are neutral, and results for Velocity are mixed.

Source

D. Laliberté, G. Rosario, L. Léonard, D. Smith-Moncrieffe and A. Warner (2014). Results of Crime Prevention Programs for 12 to 17 Year Olds, Research Report 2014-03. Catalogue number: PS18-18/2014E-PDF. ISBN: 978-1-100-24766-3 © Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2014.

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:
Research Division, Public Safety Canada
269 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@ps-sp.gc.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.



  1. 1

    Overall, since 2010 PS has conducted 11 evaluation studies of 10 different models implemented for 12 to 17 year olds in 16 different sites across Canada; however, evaluation results of Programme de suivi intensif de Montréal/Gangs de rue and Youth Inclusion Program implemented in Montréal and Salaberry-de-Valleyfield were not available at this time.

  2. 2

    AS, iR3, PIT, MST, YIP, LRP, LST and TND.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche : Résultats des programmes de prévention du crime pour les jeunes de 12 à 17 ans

PDF 108 Kb

Contexte

Le rapport de recherche présente la synthèse des résultats de neuf études d'évaluation de dix modèles différents de prévention du crime, mis en œuvre auprès des jeunes de 12 à 17 ans à 14 endroits au Canada et financés dans le cadre de la Stratégie nationale pour la prévention du crimeFootnote 1 entre 2009 et 2013. Voici les programmes ciblés par les études : Alternative Suspension (AS : Chilliwack [C.‑B.], Edmonton [Alb.] et Moncton [N.‑B.]), Intervention, Rethink, Refocus, Reintegrate (iR3 : Surrey [C.‑B.]), Prevention Intervention Toronto (PIT : Toronto [Ont.]), Thérapie multisystémique (TMS : Toronto [Ont.]), Youth Inclusion Program (YIP : Saint John [N.‑B.], North Sydney et Spryfield [N.‑É.]), Leadership and Resiliency (LRP : Hay River et Yellowknife [T.N.‑O.]), Velocity (St. John's [T.‑N.‑L.]), Life Skills Training (LST : Edmonton [Alb.]) et Towards No Drugs (TND : Hamilton [Ont.])Footnote 2.

La plupart des projets ont été mis en œuvre par des organismes bénévoles sans but lucratif, en collaboration avec des intervenants clés de la prévention du crime comme les écoles et la police locale. Ces organismes communautaires offraient une variété de services aux jeunes et aux jeunes adultes, notamment la gestion individuelle des cas, le soutien à l'éducation et à l'emploi, l'appui à l'acquisition de compétences, ainsi que des activités récréatives. Les interventions ciblaient des jeunes qui présentent de nombreux facteurs de risque associés au comportement criminel tels que l'abus de substances, l'attachement limité à l'école, la fréquentation de pairs délinquants, les tendances agressives et violentes, de même que les démêlés précoces avec le système de justice. Le profil de risque est souvent complexe chez ces jeunes, et bon nombre d'entre eux sont aussi aux prises avec un faible niveau d'alphabétisation, un manque de surveillance parentale, des troubles de santé mentale, une instabilité du logement et de mauvais résultats scolaires.

Méthode

Les auteures du rapport ont fait la synthèse de neuf études d'évaluation dans le but de déterminer l'efficacité de différents modèles de prévention du crime. Se fondant sur les résultats des études d'évaluation originales, elles ont procédé à une analyse descriptive des résultats dans les différents domaines liés aux connaissances, aux attitudes, aux facteurs de risque, aux facteurs de protection et aux comportements. Différents types de statistiques ont été regroupés dans les quatre catégories suivantes :

Un changement positif est défini comme un résultat qui montre une réduction statistiquement significative (p<0,05) des facteurs de risque ou des comportements délinquants, ou une augmentation des connaissances ou des attitudes positives, ou encore des facteurs de protection. Un changement négatif est défini comme un résultat qui montre une augmentation statistiquement significative (p<0,05) des facteurs de risque ou des comportements délinquants, ou une diminution des connaissances ou des attitudes positives, ou encore des facteurs de protection. Un résultat neutre est défini comme un résultat qui ne montre pas un changement statistiquement significatif (p<0,05) dans les effets mesurés avant et après le programme. Les résultats sont considérés comme étant mixtes lorsqu'il y a un nombre égal d'effets négatifs et positifs, un nombre égal d'effets neutres et négatifs, ou un nombre égal d'effets neutres et positifs.

De l'information sur chacune des études d'évaluation est fournie dans le site Web de Sécurité publique Canada. Chaque étude reposait habituellement sur un devis longitudinal faisant appel à un prétest et à un post-test, et comportant des mesures de suivi après six ou douze mois. On a eu recours à un groupe témoin dans certaines études. Les évaluateurs étaient encouragés à employer des outils normalisés et validés de collecte de données, des renseignements provenant de la police et de l'école, ainsi que des techniques qualitatives, pour renforcer les constatations.

Constatations Clés

Connaissances et attitudes

Sept des études d'évaluation visées par le rapport de synthèse mesuraient les connaissances et les attitudes, la majorité (71 %) des résultats montrant des changements positifs chez les jeunes participant aux diverses interventions (résultats neutres pour le programme iR3 et mixtes pour le programme LST). Diverses connaissances et attitudes ont connu des changements positifs : 1) motivation à changer; 2) compréhension améliorée des conséquences négatives de l'abus de substances; 3) attitude positive à l'égard du système de justice; et 4) attitude appropriée envers la délinquance.

Facteurs de risque et de protection

Huit des onze études d'évaluation visées par le rapport de synthèse mesuraient les facteurs de risque et de protection, la majorité d'entre eux présentant des changements positifs pour plusieurs variables liées à sept domaines. Tel qu'il est indiqué dans le rapport de recherche, 43 % des domaines affichent des changements favorables (Compétences, Éducation/ rendement scolaire, Rôle parental/relations familiales), 43 % comportent des résultats neutres (Estime de soi/maîtrise des émotions, Comportements externalisés/comportements pro-sociaux, Abus d'alcool et de drogue), et 14 % présentent des résultats mixtes (Pairs antisociaux/adhésion à un gang).

Compétences : Deux des trois études, soit celles portant sur les projets TND et Velocity, font état de changements favorables dans l'aptitude à prendre des décisions ou la capacité de gérer et de réduire la consommation de substances. De son côté, le programme LST a présenté des tendances neutres relativement aux variables de compétences mesurées.

Pairs antisociaux/adhésion à un gang : Deux des trois études (PIT et YIP) font état de tendances mixtes pour ce domaine. Le programme YIP cible le style de vie (résultats favorables), ainsi que le quartier et les amis (résultats neutres). Le programme PIT a entraîné des changements favorables dans la fréquentation de pairs antisociaux, mais des résultats mixtes concernant la fréquentation de pairs membres de gangs. Pour sa part, le programme TMS a fait état de changements favorables au chapitre de la réussite des jeunes dans le milieu scolaire ou professionnel.

Éducation/rendement scolaire : Toutes les études mesurant l'éducation/rendement scolaire (AS, iR3, TMS et YIP) montrent des tendances favorables pour les comportements liés à l'école. Les variables clés touchent le rendement, l'achèvement des cours, l'assiduité, le comportement, les mesures disciplinaires, l'absentéisme et la suspension. Cependant, le programme PIT a obtenu des résultats mixtes pour la fréquentation scolaire et les problèmes disciplinaires.

Estime de soi/maîtrise des émotions : Une des quatre études fait état d'une incidence positive sur l'estime de soi et la maîtrise des émotions, le programme YIP ayant eu une incidence positive sur la perception de soi et des autres de même que sur les facteurs de risque affectifs et mentaux, tandis que deux autres études font état de résultats neutres (recherche du risque pour le programme PIT, et capacité de gérer le stress pour le programme Velocity). Le programme LST a obtenu des résultats mixtes, soit des tendances favorables pour l'image de soi, mais neutres pour la capacité d'adaptation.

Rôle parental/relations familiales : Deux études d'évaluation (TMS et YIP) qui mesuraient le rôle parental et les relations familiales font état de changements favorables, tandis que le programme PIT a obtenu des résultats neutres.

Comportements externalisés/comportements pro- sociaux : Le programme Velocity a eu une incidence neutre sur les comportements agressifs et antisociaux.

Abus d'alcool et de drogue : Les résultats concernant la consommation de substances sont neutres pour la plupart des programmes (PIT, TND et YIP), mais mixtes dans le cas du programme Velocity.

Comportements liés à la criminalité

Les évaluations des impacts ont aussi permis de mesurer les changements dans les comportements liés à la criminalité, et de constater que trois programmes (TMS, Velocity et YIP) avaient eu une incidence favorable sur les arrestations des jeunes ou les contacts avec la police, tandis que le programme TND avait eu une incidence mixte sur le port d'armes, et le programme PIT, une incidence neutre sur les arrestations, les infractions non violentes et la victimisation criminelle.

Source

Laliberté, D., G. Rosario, L. Léonard, D. Smith‑Moncrieffe et A. Warner. Résultats des programmes de prévention du crime pour les jeunes de 12 à 17 ans, rapport de recherche 2014‑03, 2014. Numéro PS18-18/2014F-PDF au catalogue. ISBN : 978-1-100-24766-3 © Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2014.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :
Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
269, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@ps-sp.gc.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.


  1. 1

    Globalement, depuis 2010, Sécurité publique a effectué 11 études d'évaluation de 10 différents modèles mis en œuvre auprès de jeunes de 12 à 17 ans dans 16 lieux différents un peu partout au Canada; toutefois, les résultats de l'évaluation du Programme de suivi intensif de Montréal/Gangs de rue et du Youth Inclusion Program, mis en œuvre à Montréal et à Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, n'étaient pas disponibles au moment de la publication du rapport.

  2. 2

    AS, iR3, PIT, TMS, YIP, LRP, LST et TND.

Date de modification :