Project Early Intervention

PDF (242 KB)

ISBN: 978-0-662-69984-2

Table of Contents

Project Early Intervention (PEI) provided support to high-risk children and youth aged 6 to 12 years, living in a high-needs social housing neighbourhood in Ottawa, Ontario, between 1999 and 2003. The participating community included a large proportion of recent Arabic and Somalian immigrants. The PEI project was initially managed by the Ottawa Police Service's Youth Centre, which merged with the Boys and Girls Club of Ottawa in January, 2002.

By offering a life skills development program, homework club, sports and recreation opportunities and ongoing support, PEI sought to increase participants' resiliency to risk factors related to criminal behaviour. Specifically, the project's expected outcomes were as follows: increased school attendance, reduced crime, violence, anti-social behaviour and calls to police for service.

Priority was given to children and youth who:

Project assessment

Process and outcome evaluations were conducted. The comparison population was composed of individuals who were placed on a waiting list. The members of this waiting-list control group were exposed to the program's supporting elements – such as sports and recreation activities, and the homework club – but were not participants in the project's life skills component. The evaluation sought to determine whether the life skills component had an impact on the children and youth's behaviours.

Evaluation findings reported on 100 children: 82 from the intervention group and 18 from the comparison group.

Key findings

The process evaluation showed that:

The basic factors identified for successful project replication included:

The outcome evaluation showed that:

Lessons learned

Lessons learned included:

Conclusion

Project Early Intervention (PEI) is a promising crime prevention initiative for children and youth at-risk. The project contributed to building knowledge of recreational and life skills programs that help youth become positive members of the community.

For more information or to receive a copy of the final evaluation report please contact the National Crime Prevention Centre at 1-800-830-3118, or visit our website.

For more information on the Boys and Girls Club of Ottawa, visit their website address at: www.bgcottawa.org.

Register for the NCPC mailing list to receive information from the Centre.

Date modified:

Projet d'intervention précoce

PDF (243 KB)

ISBN: 978-0-662-69984-2

Table des matières

Le Projet d'intervention précoce (PIP), en vigueur de 1999 à 2003, s'adressait aux enfants et aux jeunes à risque élevé, âgés de 6 à 12 ans, vivant dans des logements sociaux de quartiers défavorisés à Ottawa, en Ontario. Ce milieu urbain était majoritairement composé de nouveaux immigrants arabes et somaliens. À l'origine, le projet PIP était administré par le service jeunesse de la police d'Ottawa qui, en janvier 2002, a fusionné avec l'organisme Boys and Girls Club d'Ottawa.

Ce projet, en offrant un programme de dynamique de la vie, un club de devoirs, des programmes de sports, des activités de loisirs et un appui continu, visait à accroître la capacité des participants à résister aux facteurs de risque liés au comportement criminel. Le projet visait précisément les résultats suivants : accroissement de la fréquentation scolaire et réduction des crimes, de la violence, du comportement antisocial et des appels à la police.

La priorité était accordée aux enfants et aux adolescents qui se trouvaient dans l'une des situations suivantes :

Évaluation du projet

Une évaluation des processus et des résultats a été menée. Le groupe témoin a été constitué à partir des jeunes placés sur la liste d'attente. Ces derniers avaient accès aux éléments d'appui du programme (sports, loisirs et club de devoirs) mais n'étaient pas des participants au programme de dynamique de la vie L'évaluation visait à déterminer si cette composante a eu un effet sur le comportement des enfants et des adolescents.

Au total, l'évaluation a porté sur 100 enfants : 82 du groupe d'intervention et 18 du groupe de comparaison.

Principaux résultats

L'évaluation du processus a révélé que :

Les facteurs favorisant la mise en application réussie du projet dans une autre collectivité sont :

Les résultats de l'évaluation ont révélé que :

Leçons apprises

Plusieurs leçons ont été apprises de ce projet :

Conclusion

Le Projet d'intervention précoce (PIP) s'est avéré une initiative prometteuse en matière de prévention du crime dans le cas des enfants et des adolescents à risque. Ce projet a aussi permis de recueillir davantage de données sur les programmes de loisirs et de dynamique de la vie susceptibles d'aider les jeunes à contribuer positivement à la société.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou recevoir un exemplaire du rapport final d'évaluation, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre national de prévention du crime au 800-830-3118, ou consulter notre site Web.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur le Club des garçons et filles d'Ottawa, visitez leur site Web à l'adresse suivante : www.bgcottawa.org.

Pour recevoir des informations sur les activités du CNPC, nous vous invitons à vous inscrire à la liste d'envoi électronique du CNPC en visitant notre page d'enregistrement.

Date de modification :