Programme de suivi intensif de Montréal – Gangs de rue

PDF (116KB)

The Programme de suivi intensif de Montréal – Gangs de rue (Gangs de rue) project works with teenagers and young adults 15-25 years who are involved in or at high risk of becoming involved in criminal gang activity. The continuum of interventions provided includes clinical supports and the provision of opportunities for employment, education and other supports. Gangs de rue is supported by Public Safety Canada, National Crime Prevention Centre's Youth Gang Prevention Fund and is delivered by The Centre jeunesse de Montréal – Institut universitaire. The project started in August 2009, and will be piloted and evaluated under the YGPF until March 2011.

Montréal has a high concentration of street gang activity.Footnote 1 According to the City of Montréal Police Service, there are at least thirty street gangs operating on the Isle of Montréal with approximately 500 active members at any given time.Footnote 2 The City of Montréal Police Service estimates that 1400 people are associated with the criminal activities of gangs in the City including full gang members and those on the fringes.Footnote 3

Over the last several years, street gang activity has extended to areas bordering the Isle of Montréal and increases in sex trade activity, drug trade activity and property damage have been reported.Footnote 4 Youth at risk have become increasingly vulnerable to the recruitment of gangs and the Gangs de rue project focuses on those youth clearly becoming associated with gang activity to provide them with intensive support to move away from gangs and in to productive life styles.

The Gangs de rue project combines intensive monitoring with social integration activities and relies on the coordination of resources from multiple organizations. The involvement of families is crucial to the success of the project and to the goal of positive re-integration of the youth in to the community.

The Evidence Base

The Gangs de Rue project is based on evidence from the Philadelphia Youth Violence Reduction Partnership (YVRP) and the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) Comprehensive (or “Spergel”) Model.

Philadelphia Youth Violence Reduction Partnership (YVRP)

The Philadelphia Youth Violence Reduction Partnership is an intervention project involving members of street gangs in police precincts where the homicide rate among young people is the highest. The project was implemented in the first precinct in 1999 and was later extended to two additional precincts; essentially, the program aims to reduce violent crime-particularly homicide-committed by or against young people.

The YVRP is a result of the close partnership between various public agencies (police, probation) and community organizations (street workers, religious organizations) who work with the client group. Rather than working independently, the YVRP focuses on cooperation and coordination between the organizations. The joint action that results intensifies interventions with young people and further discourages them from engaging in crime. Another goal of this work is to promote social reintegration.

The evaluation data show that the homicide rate attributable to street gangs decreased overall in the precincts where YVRP was implemented and that close surveillance made it possible to detect a large number of offences that were subsequently penalized. The front-line workers were able to persuade a significant number of young people to attend assistance or rehabilitation programs.Footnote 5

OJJDP Comprehensive Gang Prevention (or “Spergel”) Model

The Spergel Model is a balanced, three-pronged approach that encompasses prevention, intervention and suppression activities. The model presumes that gangs become chronic and serious problems in communities where key organizations are inadequately integrated and sufficient resources are not available to target gang-involved youth. To address these problems, the Comprehensive Gang Model calls for community institutions - including law enforcement, social welfare agencies, and grass roots organizations - to work together to achieve a more integrated, team-oriented approach. The main goal of the Spergel Model is to reduce and prevent gang crime and violence.

The model was piloted in the Little Village neighbourhood of Chicago, Illinois, starting in 1992. With some subsequent modifications, this design gave rise to the OJJDP Comprehensive Community-Wide Gang Model in 1995 which has been implemented and tested in 5 sites across the United States.

The evaluation concluded that:

Program Participants

The project focuses on youth aged 15-25 who are either already involved, or at high risk of becoming involved, in gang activity.

Key Partners

The Gangs de Rue project involves many partnerships in the community. Some of the key organizations involved include:

Program Components

Once youth are identified, an assessment of their risks and needs is conducted to fully understand any legal conditions they are under and their own unique combination of risk and protective factors.

Individual Action Plans

A focused, intensive plan of action is developed for each of the youth participants and their families. Three to four meetings a week between the youth, family and project staff are normal and this is augmented with other contacts in community organizations arranged through the project staff.

Participants in the program spend 20-40 hours per week involved in activities related to the project. These can include school, professional training, employment skill development, job searching, volunteer work and recreational activities.

Street Outreach

Project staff are engaged in street outreach to identify and support youth in the program.

Workshops

Group workshops are held once a week and cover topics such as communication skills, alternatives to violence, conflict resolution, empathy and problem solving.

Evaluation Design

A comprehensive process and impact evaluation of the project is planned. Pending finalization, the impact evaluation will be conducted by a third party evaluator. The purpose of the evaluation will be to thoroughly document the Gangs de Rue project implementation and impacts, in order to contribute to the knowledge of what project components work best to prevent or reduce gang involvement.

Preliminary Results

The Gangs de rue project has not been implemented long enough to gather information on preliminary results.

Implementation Observations

Project Development

The adaptation of a comprehensive model like the Youth Violence Reduction Partnership (YVRP) requires extensive planning and time to fully draw upon lessons learned from years of experience in Philadelphia relevant to how cities and other jurisdictions can plan and carry out a similar initiative.Footnote 7

The development of the Gangs de rue project has been intensive and included:

For more information on this project please contact:

Centre jeunesse de Montréal – Institut universitaire
4675, rue Bélanger
Montréal, QC H1T 1C2
Tél.: 514-896-3439

Public Safety Canada
National Crime Prevention Centre
Québec Region
800 De la Gauchetière St. W
Montréal, QC H5A 1L6
Tel.: 514-283-2018
Toll Free: 1-800-830-3118

If you wish to register to receive crime prevention information please visit the subscription page at: https://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-eng.aspx.


Footnotes

  1. 01 For more information about SPVM and gang prevention visit: http://www.spvm.qc.ca/EN/service/1_4_3_1_phenomene.asp.
  2. 02 Contact the sponsor organization for more information.
  3. 03 For more information about SPVM and gang prevention visit: http://www.spvm.qc.ca/EN/service/1_4_3_1_phenomene.asp.
  4. 04 Ibid.
  5. 05 For more information visit: http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/prmsng-mdl-vlm1/index-eng.aspx.
  6. 06 Ibid.
  7. 07 Jucovy, Linda and Wendy S. McClanahan (2008) Reaching Through the Cracks. A Guide to Implementing the Youth Violence Reduction Partnership, Public/Private Ventures, Philadelphia.
Date modified:

Programme de suivi intensif de Montréal – Gangs de rue

PDF (116Ko)

Le Programme de suivi intensif de Montréal – Gangs de rue (ci-après appelé « Gangs de rue ») s'adresse aux adolescents et aux jeunes adultes âgés de 15 à 25 ans qui participent à des activités criminelles liées aux gangs ou qui présentent un risque élevé de prendre part à de telles activités. Les différentes interventions offertes comprennent du soutien clinique, des possibilités d'emploi, de l'éducation et d'autres mesures de soutien. Le projet Gangs de rue est financé par le Fonds de lutte contre les activités des gangs de jeunes (FLAGJ) du Centre national de prévention du crime, qui fait partie de Sécurité publique Canada, et est offert par le Centre jeunesse de Montréal – Institut universitaire. Ce projet a été lancé en août 2009 et il sera mis à l'essai et évalué en vertu du FLAGJ jusqu'en mars 2011.

Montréal est aux prises avec un taux élevé d'activités liées aux gangs de rueFootnote 1. Selon le Service de police de la Ville de Montréal (SPVM), il y a en tout temps sur l'Île de Montréal au moins 30 gangs de rue comptant environ 500 membres actifsFootnote 2. Le SPVM estime que 1 400 personnes sont associées aux activités criminelles liées aux gangs dont des membres à part entière et des personnes qui gravitent autour d'euxFootnote 3.

Depuis quelques années, les activités liées aux gangs de rue s'étendent dans les localités avoisinantes de l'Île de Montréal, et un accroissement de la prostitution, du commerce de la drogue et du vandalisme a été signaléFootnote 4. Les jeunes à risque sont de plus en plus vulnérables face au recrutement des gangs, et le projet Gangs de rue cible les jeunes qui sont visiblement associés aux activités d'un gang en vue de leur offrir un soutien intensif visant à les éloigner du gang et à les inciter à adopter un mode de vie productif.

Le projet Gangs de rue comprend des activités de suivi intensif et d'intégration sociale et s'appuie sur la coordination de ressources provenant de différents organismes. La participation des familles contribue énormément à la réussite du projet et à la réalisation de l'objectif de réinsertion positive des jeunes dans la collectivité.

Sources des données scientifiques

Le projet Gangs de rue s'inspire de données scientifiques issues du Philadelphia Youth Violence Reduction Partnership (YVRP) et du modèle exhaustif de l'Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) (ou modèle Spergel).

Philadelphia Youth Violence Reduction Partnership (YVRP)

Le Philadelphia Youth Violence Reduction Partnership est un projet d'intervention ciblant les membres de gangs de rue dans les districts de police où les taux d'homicides chez les jeunes sont les plus élevés. Il a été mis en œuvre en 1999 dans un premier district de police, avant d'être repris dans deux autres districts. Essentiellement, ce projet vise à réduire le nombre de crimes avec violence – en particulier les homicides – commis par ou contre les jeunes.

Le projet YVRP est le résultat d'une étroite collaboration entre divers organismes publics (services de police, services de probation) et communautaires (travailleurs de rue, organismes religieux) qui interviennent auprès de la clientèle ciblée. Le projet YVRP privilégie la collaboration et la coordination entre les différents organismes plutôt que le travail réalisé de façon indépendante. Les efforts concertés qui en découlent permettent d'intensifier les interventions ciblant les jeunes, ce qui a pour effet de les dissuader de commettre des crimes. Ces efforts ont aussi pour but de favoriser la réinsertion sociale des jeunes.

Les données d'évaluation révèlent qu'en général, le taux d'homicides attribuable aux gangs de rue a diminué dans les districts où le projet a été mis en œuvre. L'étroite surveillance exercée sur les jeunes a aussi permis de découvrir de nombreuses infractions qui ont été sanctionnées par la suite. Enfin, les intervenants de première ligne ont réussi à persuader un nombre important de jeunes de participer à des programmes d'aide ou de réadaptationFootnote 5.

Modèle exhaustif de l'OJJDP (ou modèle Spergel)

Le modèle Spergel est une approche triple et équilibrée qui fait appel à des activités de prévention, d'intervention et de répression. Le modèle repose sur l'hypothèse selon laquelle la présence des gangs devient un grave problème chronique dans les collectivités où les organisations clés sont mal intégrées et où il n'y a pas suffisamment de ressources pour cibler les membres des gangs. Pour résoudre ces problèmes, le modèle exhaustif de Spergel compte sur des organismes de la collectivité, notamment des organismes d'application de la loi, des organismes de services sociaux et des organismes locaux, afin de mettre en place une approche collective mieux intégrée. Le principal objectif du modèle Spergel consiste à réduire et à prévenir les crimes et les actes violents commis par des gangs.

Le modèle a été mis à l'essai dans le quartier Little Village à Chicago, en Illinois, à partir de 1992. Après avoir été modifié, il est devenu le Comprehensive Community-Wide Gang Model de l'OJJDP en 1995 et il a été mis en œuvre et testé dans cinq villes aux États-Unis.

L'évaluation du modèle Spergel a permis de tirer les conclusions suivantes :

Participants au programme

Le projet cible les jeunes âgés de 15 à 25 ans qui sont déjà membres d'un gang ou qui présentent un risque élevé de le devenir.

Partenaires clés

Le projet Gangs de rue repose sur de nombreux partenariats dans la collectivité. Voici certains des organismes clés qui participent au projet :

Composantes du programme

Une fois les jeunes sélectionnés, on procède à une évaluation de leurs risques et besoins pour bien comprendre toutes les conditions juridiques auxquelles ils sont soumis et l'ensemble de leurs facteurs de risque et de protection.

Plans d'action personnalisés

Un plan d'action intensif et bien défini est élaboré pour chaque participant et sa famille. En général, on tient trois ou quatre réunions par semaine entre le jeune, sa famille et le personnel du projet, auxquels s'ajoutent d'autres rendez-vous avec des organismes communautaires, organisés par les responsables du projet.

Les participants consacrent de 20 à 40 heures par semaine aux activités liées au projet. Il peut s'agir d'activités scolaires, de cours de formation professionnelle ou de perfectionnement professionnel, de recherche d'emploi, de bénévolat et d'activités récréatives.

Travail de rue

Le personnel du projet fait du travail de rue afin de sélectionner et d'appuyer les jeunes dans le cadre du programme.

Ateliers

Des ateliers de groupe ont lieu une fois par semaine. Ils portent sur des sujets comme les aptitudes en communication, les solutions de rechange à la violence, le règlement de différends, l'empathie et la résolution de problèmes.

Modèle d'évaluation

Une évaluation exhaustive des processus et des répercussions du projet est prévue. L'évaluation des répercussions sera réalisée par un évaluateur tiers. L'objectif de l'évaluation consistera à recueillir des données exhaustives sur la mise en œuvre et les répercussions du projet Gangs de rue afin de déterminer quelles sont les composantes du projet qui sont les plus efficaces pour prévenir ou réduire la participation des jeunes aux activités de gangs.

Résultats préliminaires

Le projet Gangs de rue a été mis en œuvre récemment. Par conséquent, il n'a pas été possible de présenter des résultats préliminaires.

Observations relatives à la mise en œuvre

Élaboration du projet

L'adaptation d'un modèle exhaustif comme celui du Youth Violence Reduction Partnership (YVRP) nécessite une planification importante qui s'appuie sur les leçons dégagées des nombreuses années d'expérience des intervenants de Philadelphie. Ces leçons indiquent les façons dont les villes et les autres administrations peuvent planifier et mettre de l'avant une initiative semblableFootnote 7.

L'élaboration du projet Gangs de rue s'est déroulée de façon intensive et comprenait les éléments suivants :

Pour en savoir plus sur ce projet, veuillez communiquer avec :

Centre jeunesse de Montréal – Institut universitaire
4675, rue Bélanger
Montréal (Québec) H1T 1C2
Tél. : 514-896-3439

Sécurité publique Canada
Centre national de prévention du crime
Région du Québec
800, rue de la Gauchetière Ouest
Montréal (Québec) H5A 1L6
Tél. : 514-283-2018
Sans frais : 1-800-830-3118

Si vous voulez recevoir de l'information sur la prévention du crime, veuillez consulter la page web suivante : http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-fra.aspx


Notes

  1. 01 Pour obtenir plus d'information sur le SPVM et la prévention ciblant les gangs, veuillez consulter le site web suivant : http://www.spvm.qc.ca/FR/service/1_4_3_1_phenomene.asp.
  2. 02 Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l'organisme qui parraine le projet.
  3. 03 Pour obtenir plus d'information sur le SPVM et la prévention ciblant les gangs, veuillez consulter le site web suivant : http://www.spvm.qc.ca/FR/service/1_4_3_1_phenomene.asp.
  4. 04 Ibid.
  5. 05 Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site web suivant : http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/prmsng-mdl-vlm1/index-fra.aspx.
  6. 06 Ibid.
  7. 07 Jucovy, Linda et Wendy S. McClanahan. 2008. Reaching through the Cracks. A Guide to Implementing the Youth Violence Reduction Partnership. Philadelphie: Public/Private Ventures.
Date de modification :