Police Performance Metrics - Research Brief no. 31

PDF (209 KB)

Few police services publicly demonstrate that they apply performance measurement principles in a sophisticated way. Police service board members have indicated little understanding of how to apply performance metrics in decision making. Performance measurement in policing is improving.

Background

Cost-of-service trends are a major concern for the Canadian policing community and the public sector in general. In calendar year 2011 alone, total operating expenditures for Canadian local policing was roughly $12.9 billion. In response, innovative Canadian police services have begun to adopt a new management paradigm focusing on the use of performance indicators to help to: 1) rethink what services are of highest priority; 2) generate improved outcomes; and 3) better control service delivery costs.

Methodology

This paper set out to provide an evidence-based snapshot of publicly-available police performance metrics and how Canadian civilian police boards interpret and apply them. A content analysis of documents collected from police service websites or provided by police boards and structured interviews with police board members across Canada were carried out to assess the extent to which, and the ways in which, police boards use police performance measurement tools.

Findings

Governmental Standards

In Canada, there are no legislative requirements that control or dictate the use of specific performance measures or standards in policing. Some provinces, such as Ontario, do require that police report on specific indicators of performance under municipal reporting regulations. Even scanning internationally, only a handful of American police services apply International Organization for Standardization (ISO) standards to their management of organizational performance. Overall, there are no evidence-based performance standards or existing “industry accepted” measurement frameworks available for police services to follow in Canada.

Police Services

The overall assessment of the selection of police performance metrics outlined by police services reveals that the police services that have the most advanced performance measurement frameworks are generally larger, urban or regional policing services. This study defined performance measurement frameworks as being “balanced” when they were characterized by being comprehensive and sophisticated. Those few police services meeting the criteria for a “balanced” performance framework tended to apply their indicators in a relevant manner. The seven dimensions of a “balanced” framework included tracking performance metrics in the following categories: 1) reduce criminal victimization; 2) call adult and youth offenders to account in appropriate ways; 3) reduce fear of crime and enhance personal security; 4) increase safety in public spaces; 5) use financial resources fairly, efficiently, and effectively; 6) use of force and authority legitimately, fairly, and effectively; and 7) satisfy citizen demands for prompt, effective and fair service.

The research also showed that some individual police services are developing their own performance metrics and business planning structures; however, they are often based on ad hoc peer-to-peer consultations within the policing community. While such peer consultation is useful, adapting new indicators into a coherent performance metrics framework can be a challenge. Although there is some sharing of information on performance metrics between police services, and this sharing is laudable, some of the information on indicator design and selection being shared can be inaccurate. Too often police services have set up their performance metrics in a catch-all fashion trying to measure “everything and anything” related to police work. In fact, much of what is put forward under the rubric of “performance measurement” is more in the nature of broad environmental scanning indicators than those related to effectiveness or efficiency of police services. It is suggested that measurement frameworks consequently require a clearer focus on core policing outcomes.

It is important to note that those police services that scored in the low relevance category in their use of performance metrics were not clear with regard to what was being measured. Further, whole categories of important performance indicators were often absent, most significantly indicators that measured effectiveness, efficiency and quality of service.

Performance Measures

Most police services not using performance metrics or lacking an effective measurement capacity were from smaller municipalities and rural areas. However, there were also a few examples from large urban jurisdictions of police services that demonstrated little capacity to apply performance metrics. In both instances, there were no meaningful regional variations in terms of the size of the police services. Four of the five police services considered to have the best developed performance measurement frameworks represented medium-sized jurisdictions; the fifth was a large urban police service.

The content analysis of police performance metrics indicates that there was no common model or framework for measuring the performance of police organizations. Among the police services studied, each emphasized different dimensions of service delivery performance. A troubling finding was that key dimensions of performance such as effectiveness and efficiency, which are essential to any well-designed performance management model, were rarely applied. When valid and reliable quantitative performance metrics were included they were most often operational indictors. The validity of many of the measurement outputs and outcomes of police performance were difficult to assess in the content analysis, because police publications were unclear as to what type of data were being measured in many of the output, outcome or result metrics.

On the other hand, a positive observation was that many police services used comprehensive methodologies to determine community policing priorities. These priorities were used to develop aspects of most performance measurement frameworks. Common methods for prioritizing policing needs included conducting environmental scans, conducting SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats) and applying SMART criteria (Specific, Measureable, Achievable, Relevant, Timely).

Of the performance measures that were reported by police services many could be classified as being strategic in some way. In fact, many police services do appear to be attempting to focus more on measuring progress towards strategic goals than measurement of operational, tactical objectives.

In some instance, as police improve their performance measurement frameworks, there is an opportunity for tactical or operational performance metrics to be converted into more sophisticated, strategic performance metrics by adding another dimension to the measure, such as reporting the business activity as a rate or proportion of another relevant measure.

The analysis documented that the use of police performance measures is evolving in Canada. At the bottom of the “evolution curve” there is a cluster of police services that have no performance measures in place, while further along the curve some services have implemented rudimentary frameworks, and at the top of the curve a few services are making good progress in developing frameworks that meet appropriate standards. Police services with less experience in the development of performance measures tend to have a large gap between those measurement tools considered to be ideal and the ones that are actually used.

A number of police services appear to track a significant amount of performance data and create performance ratios, but it was unclear as to what, if any, analysis is used to determine whether goals are being achieved. Where ratios or descriptive data were presented, further data analysis and explanation appears to be required to tie the measures to organizational goals. A relatively small portion of police services had a well-designed portfolio of performance indicators that shed light on core policing outcomes, service delivery productivity and overall value. Not surprisingly, where they were present, these indicators were used in a relevant fashion, extending well beyond simple public reporting, in the police service's annual reports.

Police Boards

While many of the boards representing larger urban police services have full- or part-time professional staff, not all the large urban services in the sample had well-developed performance measurement expertise. A lack of understanding of indicators or the structure of decision making processes means that performance metrics often have little or no impact on police board decision making. However, it is evident that members of boards representing larger policing services, with more board members and benefit from full- or part-time professional staff to provide research support, appear to be more aware of the uses and limitations of various performance measurement tools.

The role of some police service boards, and their rapport with police chiefs, does not allow their review to directly lead to reallocations within police budgets or between municipal services. However, the application of more sophisticated police performance metrics could provide useful information to help direct and allocate costs once a budget has been completed and implemented.

The research found that police service board members had no specific training on police performance measurement. However, it is important to note that the individual board members who know the most about police performance measurement tools usually had the benefit of serving more than one term. Moreover, it is notable that the use of performance information is nonetheless becoming an important part of the planning and budgeting process in many jurisdictions. As such, the lack of adequate training can leave board members vulnerable, especially when they are expected to make decisions based on information they do not feel they know how to assess. Although the level of knowledge and understanding of performance measurement is low amongst most members of police service boards, once information is provided on performance metrics, and it is explained how they can be incorporated into planning processes, board members often appreciated the utility of applying such metrics in their oversight and management role.

Moving Forward

Many police boards and police services will make design changes to bring their performance measurement tools into alignment with their outcome based service delivery goals, service level standards, and budgetary decision making. The improvement of police performance measurement will be an ongoing, iterative process occurring over several years and will likely require guidance and support. As police performance measurement tools evolve via real life successes, there will be a better understanding of what kinds of indicator design improvements can be achieved.

Police performance measurement is not an end unto itself. Even the most sophisticated and perfectly considered performance metrics will not improve organizational performance unless they are applied in decision-making. All the data and performance measures are of little use to police boards if these boards lack a clear idea of how to use them to ensure accountability, improve quality of service and reduce costs. There is no one magic performance measure, nor is there a need to be excessively broad in trying to measure all activities.

Performance measures will continue to evolve, and board members will decide on the managerial purposes to which performance measurements may contribute to their organization. To achieve a positive evolution and accomplish cost management results while maintaining policing quality, there appears to be a pressing need to build “best practice” measurement system design and implementation capacity within both the police boards and policing services.

Kiedrowski, John, Michael Petrunik, Todd Macdonald, and Ron Melchers. (2013) Canadian Police Board Views on the Use of Police Performance Metrics. Ottawa, ON: Public Safety Canada.

For more information on research at the Law Enforcement and Policing Branch, Public Safety Canada, please contact the Research Unit at ocr-rco@ps-sp.gc.ca. To get a copy of the full research report, please contact Public Safety Canada at eop-pesp@ps-sp.gc.ca.

Research Briefs are produced for the Law Enforcement and Policing Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Paramètres de rendement pour les services de police - Résumé de recherche no 31

PDF (186 Ko)

Quelques services de police ont démontré publiquement qu'ils appliquent les principes de mesure du rendement d'une manière complexe. Les membres des commissions de police ont précisé avoir une compréhension limitée de la façon d'appliquer les paramètres de rendement dans la prise de décisions. On observe une amélioration de la mesure du rendement au sein des services de police.

Contexte

Les tendances en matière de coût de service préoccupent énormément les services de police canadiens et le secteur public en général. Pour l'année civile 2011 seulement, le total des dépenses de fonctionnement des services de police locaux du Canada s'élevait à environ 12,9 milliards de dollars. Compte tenu de ce montant élevé, des services de police canadiens novateurs ont commencé à adopter un nouveau paradigme de gestion axé sur l'utilisation d'indicateurs de rendement en vue 1) de revoir les services prioritaires, 2) d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats et 3) de mieux gérer les coûts liés à la prestation de services.

Méthodologie

Le présent document donne un aperçu fondé sur des données probantes des paramètres de rendement pour les services de police qui sont accessibles au public et de la façon dont les commissions de police civiles du Canada les interprètent et les appliquent. Le contenu des documents figurant sur des sites Web de services de police ou fournis par des commissions de police a été analysé, et des entrevues structurées ont été menées auprès des membres des commissions de police de partout au Canada dans le but d'évaluer la mesure dans laquelle les commissions de police utilisent les outils de mesure du rendement et la façon dont elles s'y prennent.

Constatations

Normes gouvernementales

Au Canada, aucune exigence législative ne régit les mesures de rendement particulières ou les normes en matière de services de police. Certaines provinces, comme l'Ontario, exigent que les services de police fassent rapport sur des indicateurs de rendement précis conformément aux règlements municipaux relatifs à l'établissement de rapports. Même à l'échelle internationale, seulement quelques services de police américains appliquent les normes de l'Organisation internationale de normalisation (ISO) pour la gestion du rendement organisationnel. Dans l'ensemble, il n'existe au Canada aucune norme de rendement basée sur des faits ni aucun cadre de mesure « reconnu » par le secteur pour les services de police.

Services de police

L'évaluation globale des paramètres de rendement utilisés révèle que les services de police ayant les cadres de mesure du rendement les plus détaillés sont généralement les grands services de police urbains ou régionaux. Dans la présente étude, les cadres de mesure du rendement sont définis comme étant « équilibrés » lorsqu'ils sont considérés comme exhaustifs et complexes. Les rares services de police ayant un cadre de rendement « équilibré » semblaient appliquer leurs indicateurs de manière pertinente. Les sept dimensions d'un cadre « équilibré » comprenaient des paramètres de mesure du rendement dans les catégories suivantes : 1) réduire la victimisation criminelle, 2) prendre à partie les délinquants et les jeunes contrevenants de manière appropriée, 3) atténuer la crainte de la criminalité et améliorer la sécurité personnelle, 4) accroître la sécurité dans les espaces publics, 5) utiliser les ressources financières de manière équitable et efficace, 6) faire preuve d'autorité et avoir recours à la force de manière légitime, juste et efficace et 7) répondre aux exigences des citoyens, qui veulent un service rapide, efficace et équitable.

La recherche a également permis de constater que certains services de police élaborent leurs propres paramètres de rendement et structures de planification opérationnelle, mais ils sont souvent fondés sur des consultations spéciales auprès des pairs dans la collectivité. Même si les consultations auprès des pairs sont utiles, il peut être difficile d'adapter de nouveaux indicateurs et d'en faire un cadre de paramètres de rendement cohérent. Même s'il semble y avoir un échange d'information entre les services de police quant au choix et à la conception des paramètres de rendement, ce qui est louable en soi, certaines de ces informations peuvent être inexactes. Il arrive trop souvent que les services de police établissent des paramètres de rendement « fourre-tout » pour mesurer tout et n'importe quoi relativement à leurs activités. En fait, bon nombre des éléments placés sous la rubrique « mesure du rendement » touchent davantage l'analyse environnementale que l'efficacité des services de police. On propose que les cadres de mesure soient davantage axés sur les principaux résultats des services de police.

Il est important de souligner que les services de police ayant obtenu une note faible au chapitre de l'utilisation pertinente des paramètres de rendement manquent de précision en ce qui a trait aux éléments mesurés. En outre, des catégories entières d'indicateurs de rendement importants étaient souvent absentes; il s'agissait particulièrement des indicateurs de mesure de l'efficacité et de la qualité du service.

Mesures du rendement

La plupart des services de police qui n'utilisent aucun paramètre du rendement ou ceux qui n'ont aucune capacité de mesure efficace sont principalement les services de petites municipalités et de régions rurales. Cependant, on observe quelques exemples de services de police provenant de grandes administrations urbaines qui font preuve d'une faible capacité à appliquer des mesures du rendement. Dans tous les cas, il n'y a pas de différences significatives entre les régions pour ce qui est de la taille des services de police. Quatre des cinq services de police considérés comme ayant les meilleurs cadres de mesure du rendement représentaient des administrations de taille moyenne, et le cinquième était un grand service de police en milieu urbain.

L'analyse du contenu des paramètres du rendement des services de police indique qu'il n'existe aucun modèle ou cadre commun pour mesurer le rendement. Tous les services de police qui ont fait l'objet de l'étude se concentrent sur des aspects différents du rendement de la prestation de services. Il est troublant de constater que les éléments clés du rendement (p. ex. efficacité), essentiels à tout modèle de gestion du rendement bien conçu, étaient rarement mesurés. Lorsque les services de police utilisaient des mesures du rendement quantitatives valides et fiables, il s'agissait le plus souvent d'indicateurs opérationnels. La validité de nombreux extrants et résultats quant à la mesure du rendement des services de police était difficile à évaluer dans le cadre de l'analyse du contenu, car les publications policières étaient plutôt vagues quant au type de données évaluées dans bien des extrants, des résultats ou des mesures de résultats.

D'un point de vue plus positif, de nombreux services de police utilisaient des méthodes exhaustives pour établir les priorités des services de police dans la collectivité. Ces priorités ont été utilisées pour élaborer les éléments de la plupart des cadres de mesure du rendement. Parmi les méthodes communes d'établissement des priorités qui ont été utilisées relativement aux besoins des services de police, mentionnons les analyses environnementales, les analyses FFPM (forces, faiblesses, possibilités et menaces) et les critères SMART (spécifiques, mesurables, atteignables, réalistes et temps donné).

Les mesures du rendement déclarées par les services de police pourraient dans de nombreux cas être considérées comme stratégiques, d'une certaine façon. En fait, de nombreux services de police semblent vouloir se concentrer davantage sur la mesure de la réalisation d'objectifs stratégiques que sur la mesure d'objectifs opérationnels ou tactiques.

Dans certains cas, les services de police qui améliorent leur cadre de mesure du rendement ont l'occasion de transformer leurs paramètres de rendement tactiques ou opérationnels en paramètres de rendement stratégiques complexes, en ajoutant une autre dimension à la mesure, comme considérer l'activité opérationnelle comme un taux ou une proportion d'une autre mesure pertinente.

L'analyse a permis de constater que l'utilisation de mesures du rendement des services policiers évolue au Canada. Au creux de la « courbe de l'évolution » se trouvent les services de police qui n'utilisent aucune mesure du rendement, à mi-chemin, quelques services ayant mis en œuvre un cadre rudimentaire et, au sommet, quelques services en train d'élaborer un cadre satisfaisant aux normes appropriées. Les services de police ayant moins d'expérience au chapitre de l'élaboration de mesures du rendement ont tendance à présenter un écart important entre les outils de mesure considérés comme idéaux et ceux réellement utilisés.

Certains services de police semblent recueillir une quantité importante de données sur le rendement et établir des ratios de rendement, mais il est difficile de savoir quel type d'analyse a été utilisé pour vérifier si les objectifs ont été atteints. Lorsque des ratios ou des données descriptives sont présentés, une analyse des données ou des explications plus approfondies semblent nécessaires pour aligner les mesures sur les objectifs opérationnels. Une proportion relativement faible de services de police disposaient d'un ensemble d'indicateurs du rendement bien conçus jetant la lumière sur les principaux résultats des services de police, le rendement en matière de prestation de services et la valeur globale. Il n'est pas surprenant de constater que ces indicateurs étaient utilisés de manière pertinente et dépassaient de loin les simples rapports publics dans les rapports annuels des services de police.

Commissions de police

Même si de nombreuses commissions représentant les grands services de police urbains disposent de professionnels travaillant à temps plein ou à temps partiel, ce n'était pas tous les grands services urbains de l'échantillon qui possédaient une expertise de la mesure du rendement. Un manque de compréhension des indicateurs ou de la structure des processus décisionnels signifie que les paramètres de rendement ont souvent peu d'incidence sur la prise de décisions des commissions de police, voire aucune. Toutefois, il est évident que les membres des commissions représentant les grands services de police, qui sont plus nombreux et bénéficient des services continus ou occasionnels de professionnels affectés à la recherche, semblent être plus au courant de l'utilisation et des limites des divers outils de mesure du rendement.

Compte tenu de leur rôle et de leur relation avec les chefs de police, certaines commissions de police ne sont pas en mesure, par leur examen, d'entraîner directement la réaffectation de fonds dans les budgets des services de police ou entre services municipaux. Cependant, l'application de paramètres du rendement plus complexes fournirait des renseignements utiles qui permettraient de répartir les coûts de manière appropriée après l'achèvement et la mise en œuvre du budget.

Selon les résultats de la recherche, aucun membre de commission de police n'avait reçu de formation sur la mesure du rendement des services de police. Cependant, il est important de mentionner que les membres de commissions qui en savaient le plus sur les outils de mesure du rendement des services de police avaient habituellement l'occasion de remplir plus d'un mandat. En outre, il convient de souligner que l'utilisation d'information sur le rendement constitue néanmoins un élément important du processus budgétaire et de planification de nombreuses administrations. Par conséquent, le manque de formation adéquate peut rendre les membres de commissions vulnérables, particulièrement lorsqu'ils doivent prendre des décisions en se fondant sur des renseignements qu'ils ne savent pas comment évaluer. Peu de membres des commissions de police connaissent et comprennent les mesures du rendement, mais, si l'information pertinente à cet égard leur est fournie et qu'on leur explique comment l'intégrer aux processus de planification, ils en reconnaissent souvent l'utilité et appliquent ces paramètres à leurs fonctions de surveillance et de gestion.

Voie à suivre

Bon nombre de commissions et de services de police modifieront leurs outils de mesure du rendement en vue de les harmoniser avec leurs objectifs en matière de prestation de services fondés sur les résultats, les normes de niveau de service et le processus décisionnel quant au budget. L'amélioration de la mesure du rendement des services de police constitue un processus itératif continu étalé sur plusieurs années qui exige sans doute une orientation et un soutien appropriés. Au fur et à mesure que les outils de mesure du rendement des services de police évolueront en fonction des progrès réalisés, il sera plus facile de déterminer quelles améliorations peuvent être apportées aux indicateurs.

La mesure du rendement des services de police n'est pas une fin en soi. Même les paramètres de rendement les plus complexes et les plus réfléchis n'amélioreront pas le rendement de l'organisation s'ils ne sont pas intégrés au processus décisionnel. Toutes les données et les mesures du rendement sont peu utiles aux commissions de police, si ces dernières ne savent pas comment les utiliser dans un contexte de reddition de compte, d'amélioration de la qualité et du service et de la réduction des coûts. Il n'existe pas de mesures du rendement magiques, et il ne faut pas non plus exagérer et mesurer toutes les activités. La mesure du rendement est en constante évolution, et les membres de commissions détermineront quelles mesures du rendement peuvent contribuer à la gestion de leur organisation. Afin d'obtenir des résultats positifs et de bien gérer les coûts tout en maintenant la qualité des services de police, il semble y avoir un besoin urgent de renforcer la capacité de conception d'un système de mesure et d'application de « pratiques exemplaires » au sein des commissions et des services de police.

Kiedrowski, John, Michael Petrunik, Todd Macdonald, and Ron Melchers. (2013) Points de vue des commissions de police canadiennes sur l'utilisation des paramètres de rendement pour les services de police. Ottawa, ON : Sécurité publique Canada

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la recherche au sein de Secteur de la police, et de l'application de la loi, Sécurité publique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec l'Unité de recherche à l'adresse ocr rco@ps sp.gc.ca. Pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, veuillez communiquer avec Sécurité publique Canada à l'adresse eop-pesp@ps-sp.gc.ca.

Les résumés de recherche sont rédigés pour Secteur de la police, et de l'application de la loi, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent résumé sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement les opinions de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :