The Monetary Cost of Criminal Trajectories for an Ontario Sample of Offenders - Research Summary

PDF (212 Ko)

Background

Since the mid-1990s, there has been a growing interest in efforts to estimate the monetary costs of crime. This increase is likely the result of significant methodological advances and the increasing recognition that such information could be used to conduct cost-benefit analyses of crime reduction programs. Estimating the cost of criminal offending also helps justify investments in developmental crime prevention programs. Being able to gather strong estimates of crime will allow us to determine the cost benefit which is necessary for making evidence-based decisions when allocating scarce resources. As a result of a steady accumulation of cost esti­mates that have become available to researchers, it is now more efficient to derive high quality estimates across jurisdictions and with different populations.

The present report aims to contribute a Canadian perspective to existing literature on the cost of crime. The primary objective of the present study was to estimate the monetary cost of the crimes committed by a sample of 386 male offenders in Ontario. Estimates of the costs of crime associated with 7 subgroups of offenders, based on their longitudinal pattern of offending was used to provide a more detailed analysis.

Another objective was to add to the Canadian body of literature by replicating three studies of offence trajectories that have recently been conducted in the United States, the United Kingdom, and Australia.

Method

Researchers from Ryerson University and the Ontario Correctional Institute utilized a detailed criminal history dataset, a 15 year follow-up period and a more extensive list of criminal types to allow for more precise calculations. The sample was derived from 386 male juvenile offenders who were sentenced in two open custody facilities between January 1986 and December 1997. Costs were calculated for 7 criminal trajectory groups ranging from low persisters to moderate later persisters.

Offence trajectories were followed for an average of 16.4 years with the average age at the end of the follow-up period being 32 years of age. In the present study, offence costs were calculated for a uniform 15 year interval between ages 12 to 26.

Cost estimates were obtained and aggregated for areas related to victims, disposition-based correctional costs, police, court prosecution, legal and costs associated with undetected crimes. Published and grey literature sources were used to provide supporting information about victim costs, criminal justice system costs and undetected crimes.

Findings

The aggregated cost of offending according to official convictions in court for the 386 males over the 15 year follow up interval was $671 million. Victim costs accounted for $182,602,699, correctional costs totaled $122,179,765 and other criminal justice system costs amounted to $366,539,294. The average cost per person is $1.74 million over 15 years or $115,945 per person per year.

Of the victim costs incurred by the sample, crimes involving violence accounted for the largest proportion of costs. Together, homicide, rape, serious assault, robbery and common assault accounted for 72% or $131,473,943 of the total victim crime costs.

The most costly period was between the ages of 15 and 17 which accounted for forty percent of the total costs, not including the higher costs of undetected crimes. This finding reflects the high rate of criminal activity of this cohort during this period.

In the present study, federal costs accounted for one tenth of all correctional costs, yet offenders who spent time in federal custody alone, accrued substantially higher average costs of 4.55 million per person compared to 1.64 million per person in the provincial system.

Implications

Given that the highest aggregate cost of crime for this sample of males occurred between the ages of 15 and 17, investments in strategic prevention and early intervention programming have a high potential of offsetting the costs incurred.

Efforts to identify and implement evidence-based programs for children under the age of 12 years of age will reduce the amount of offenders that enter the criminal justice system. Evaluation studies conducted by both Public Safety Canada and Farrington et al have demonstrated that an evidence-based program for children under the age of 12 has been able to demonstrate that for every dollar spent up to five dollars is saved.

Source

Day, David; Koegl, Christopher, The Monetary Cost of Criminal Trajectories for an Ontario Sample of Offenders, Public Safety Canada Report, 2014.

Smith-Moncrieffe, Interim Evaluation Findings of the Stop Now and Plan Program, Public Safety Canada, 2013.


For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:

Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Coûts des trajectoires criminelles d'un échantillon de délinquants de l'Ontario - Sommaire de recherche

PDF (263 Ko)

Contexte

Depuis le milieu des années 1990, l'estimation des coûts de la criminalité suscite un intérêt grandissant, sans doute parce que les méthodes de calcul ont beaucoup évolué et qu'il est de plus en plus admis que ces estimations peuvent être utilisées pour réaliser des analyses coûts-avantages des programmes de réduction de la criminalité. L'estimation des coûts de la criminalité aide aussi à justifier les investissements dans les programmes de prévention développementale de la criminalité. La capacité d'établir des estimations fiables nous permettra de déterminer le rapport coûts-avantages nécessaire à la prise de décisions fondées sur des données probantes quant à l'affectation de ressources limitées. Grâce à l'accumulation régulière d'estimations des coûts accessibles aux chercheurs, il est désormais plus efficient d'établir des estimations de grande qualité pour l'ensemble des administrations et pour différentes populations.

Le rapport vise à apporter une perspective canadienne à la documentation portant sur le coût de la criminalité. L'étude avait pour principal objectif d'estimer les coûts des activités criminelles d'un échantillon de 386 délinquants de sexe masculin de l'Ontario. Les chercheurs se sont servis des estimations des coûts de la criminalité selon sept sous-groupes de délinquants, suivant leur trajectoire de délinquance longitudinale, pour présenter une analyse approfondie.

L'étude avait également pour objectif d'ajouter au corpus canadien en reproduisant trois recherches récentes sur les trajectoires criminelles réalisées aux États-Unis, au Royaume-Uni et en Australie.

Méthode

Les chercheurs de l'Université Ryerson et de l'Institut correctionnel de l'Ontario ont utilisé un ensemble de données très détaillées sur les antécédents criminels, une période de suivi de 15 ans et une liste allongée de types d'infraction afin de préciser leurs calculs. L'échantillon consistait en un groupe de 386 jeunes délinquants de sexe masculin condamnés à une peine de détention dans deux établissements de garde en milieu ouvert entre janvier 1986 et décembre 1997. Les coûts ont été calculés pour sept groupes de trajectoire criminelle, des délinquants chroniques présentant un taux faible de criminalité aux délinquants chroniques tardifs présentant un taux modéré de criminalité.

Les chercheurs ont suivi les trajectoires criminelles sur une période de 16,4 ans en moyenne, l'âge moyen des sujets à la fin du suivi étant de 32 ans. Ils ont calculé les coûts des infractions pour un intervalle uniforme de 15 ans, soit entre l'âge de 12 et 26 ans.

Des estimations des coûts ont été obtenues et regroupées dans les catégories suivantes : coûts pour les victimes; coûts des services correctionnels calculés en fonction des décisions; coûts des services policiers, des tribunaux, des poursuites et de l'aide juridique; et coûts des infractions non détectées. Les données tirées de publications et de la documentation grise sont venues compléter les données sur les coûts pour les victimes, les coûts pour le système de justice pénale et les coûts des infractions non détectées.

Constatations

Si l'on examine les infractions ayant donné lieu à une déclaration de culpabilité en bonne et due forme par un tribunal, le coût total de la délinquance pour les 386 délinquants de sexe masculin s'établit à 671 millions de dollars pendant les 15 années de suivi. Les coûts pour les victimes représentaient 182 602 699 $, les coûts des services correctionnels totalisaient 122 179 765 $, et les autres coûts pour le système de justice pénale s'élevaient à 366 539 294 $. Le coût moyen par personne est de 1,74 million sur 15 ans, ou 115 945 $ par année.

C'est dans la catégorie des infractions criminelles avec violence que se trouve la plus grande partie des coûts pour les victimes imputables à l'échantillon. Ensemble, les homicides, les viols, les voies de fait majeures, les vols qualifiés et les voies de fait simples représentent 72 % des coûts totaux pour les victimes, soit 131 473 943 $.

La période la plus coûteuse est celle allant de 15 à 17 ans, qui représente 40 % des coûts totaux, sans compter les coûts des infractions non détectées. Cette constatation reflète le taux élevé d'activité criminelle de la cohorte pendant cette période.

Selon l'étude, les coûts du système correctionnel fédéral équivalaient au dixième de tous les coûts des services correctionnels, pourtant les délinquants détenus dans un établissement fédéral seulement ont engendré des coûts moyens beaucoup plus élevés que les délinquants détenus dans un établissement provincial, soit 4,55 millions contre 1,64 million par personne.

Répercussions

Étant donné que le coût global de la criminalité pour cet échantillon de délinquants de sexe masculin était le plus élevé entre 15 et 17 ans, les investissements dans des programmes de prévention stratégique et d'intervention précoce offrent un grand potentiel de compensation des coûts engagés.

En s'efforçant de recenser des programmes fondés sur des données probantes et de les mettre en œuvre auprès d'enfants de moins de 12 ans, on réduira le nombre de délinquants ayant des démêlés avec le système de justice pénale. Des études d'évaluation menées par Sécurité publique Canada ainsi que par Farrington et coll. montrent qu'un programme fondé sur des données probantes destiné aux enfants de moins de 12 ans peut conduire à des économies de cinq dollars pour chaque dollar investi.

Source

Day, David, et Christopher Koegl. Coûts des trajectoires criminelles d'un échantillon de délinquants de l'Ontario, rapport présenté à Sécurité publique Canada, 2014.

Smith-Moncrieffe, Donna. Interim Evaluation Findings of the Stop Now and Plan Program, Sécurité publique Canada, 2013.


Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la recherche,
Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :