Amalgamation of Police Services Research Summary

The amalgamation of small police services into larger medium-sized regional entities may have efficiency advantages, but there are limited or no cost savings in amalgamating medium to larger police services.

PDF (119 KB)

Background

The issue of the amalgamation, consolidation, regionalization, or merger of police services has been the subject of various local, provincial/state and federal governmental and non-governmental commissions in Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, and the United States for over 50 years.

Debates concerning this issue have been on-going and expressed in terms of whether merging police agencies, particularly those serving smaller communities, will lead to more effective and efficient service delivery, and cost-savings.

While police consolidation has occurred in Canada in the context of the creation of regional governing bodies for large municipalities and contiguous suburban and rural areas, there have been few police consolidations involving First Nation police services.

First Nations band councils have shown an interest in police amalgamation as the demands for policing services are difficult to meet due to high debt levels, deficits, and limited increases in funding under the tripartite policing agreements.

In response to the economic and social challenges of policing First Nation communities, the question of what benefits and/or costs might accrue from the amalgamation of police services in adjacent communities is important for administrators considering how to optimize service delivery and value for money.

This report's objectives are to: 1) study the amalgamation of police services by analyzing the national and international policing literature and by conducting a comparative analysis of selected police services in Canada that have undergone amalgamation with those that have not; and 2) identify the benefits, costs, and challenges of amalgamating policing services in First Nations and Inuit communities.

Method

In reviewing the literature on the consolidation of police services and assessing the potential impact of amalgamation on the First Nations Policing Program (FNPP), both quantitative and qualitative analytic approaches were used. The quantitative analysis consisted of collecting data for five police services that had undergone amalgamation and four that had not.

The qualitative information consisted of interviews with major stakeholders involved in police amalgamation either as a senior police executive, a member of a police board or commission, a provincial government official, or a senior local elected official.

This project is a retrospective study in that it looks at consolidations of services that have already occurred.

Findings

For proponents of police amalgamation the main argument in favour of consolidating resources has been the potential for cost savings. However, the majority of studies focused on economies of scale suggest that there are limited or no cost efficiencies associated with the amalgamation of medium to larger-sized municipal police departments.

There is evidence to suggest that medium sized police services (those policing about 22,000 to 50,000 inhabitants) are more successful in dealing with crime and operational costs than much larger regional police services due to the diseconomies of scale.

If economies of scale do exist, they can be obscured by bureaucracies capturing and spending cost savings. This was evident in interviews with those familiar with policing amalgamation in Canada and has been labelled as “bureau monopoly power” by police researchers. It is the process whereby public employees are capable of quickly responding to capture any savings after a consolidation occurs.

To understand the impact of police amalgamation on Canadian police services, expenditure and crime data for nine Canadian police services were reviewed. The data show that there were no differences between police services that had undergone amalgamation and those that had not.

An interesting new finding (not found in the policing research literature) concerns the issue legislated amalgamations may have negative and long-lasting impact on police personnel emotions, morale, and team cohesion. Potentially, this may negatively affect employee morale for a period of time after amalgamation. Within this context, the human element must be taken into account when amalgamating police services and the appropriate process must be implemented to deal with employee concerns prior to future amalgamations.

In the mid-1990s, many Ontario police services were amalgamated as part of a general municipal restructuring. Interviews were conducted with former senior officials at the police and political level who were directly involved with the amalgamation process.

The interviews revealed that while the argument was put forward that police amalgamation was required to save monies, this was not the case. Additional costs such as new equipment or upward adjustment of salaries and wages for all the police officers and civilian personnel offset any cost savings.

However, some benefits were noted including: the opportunity to streamline information technology and communications systems, and the opportunity to share services in the interest of efficiency and cost-effectiveness.

Implications

The findings on police amalgamation of police services in Canada identified the implications of amalgamation on the FNPP. These included the legal framework for policing, the collective bargaining process, non-union police officers, attrition rates, and the recruitment and retention of First Nations police officers. The report focuses on other options such as:

  1. Shared service agreements;
  2. Full amalgamation;
  3. Municipal agreements; and
  4. Provision of First Nations policing services to adjacent communities.

The above-mentioned four options could be viable policy directions for the FNPP to explore.

Source

Kiedrowski, John, Melchers, Ronald-Frans., Petrunik, Michael, & Ruddell, Rick. (2015) Amalgamation of Police Services. Ottawa: Public Safety Canada.

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:

Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Fusion des services de police Sommaire de recherche

La fusion de petits services de police dans des services régionaux de taille moyenne peut receler des avantages sur le plan de l'efficacité, mais la fusion de services de police de taille moyenne dans de grands services de police engendre des économies limitées, voire aucune.

PDF (109 Ko)

Context

Depuis plus de 50 ans, diverses commissions locales, provinciales ou fédérales – gouvernementales et non gouvernementales – au Canada, au Royaume-Uni, en Australie et aux États-Unis ont abordé la question de la fusion, de la consolidation, de la régionalisation ou du regroupement des services de police.

Les débats liés à cet enjeu portent sur la question de savoir si la fusion des services de police – particulièrement ceux servant de petites collectivités – permettrait d'accroître l'efficacité et l'efficience des services ainsi que de réaliser des économies.

Même s'il y a eu des cas de fusion des services de police au Canada dans le contexte de la création d'organismes de gouvernance régionaux réunissant de grandes municipalités et des zones suburbaines et rurales contiguës, il y a eu peu de fusions des services de police réunissant des services de police des Premières Nations.

Or, des conseils de bande des Premières Nations ont manifesté un intérêt pour les fusions, parce que les demandes en matière de service sont difficiles à combler compte tenu des niveaux de dette élevés, des déficits et de l'augmentation limitée du financement au titre des accords tripartites en matière de police.

En réaction aux défis socioéconomiques liés à la prestation des services de police dans les collectivités des Premières Nations, la question de savoir quels seraient les avantages ou les coûts découlant de la fusion des services dans les collectivités adjacentes est importante pour les administrateurs, qui veulent trouver des façons d'optimiser la prestation des services de même que les ressources.

Les objectifs du rapport sont les suivants : 1) étudier la fusion des services de police grâce à l'analyse de la littérature nationale et internationale sur les services de maintien de l'ordre, de même qu'à une analyse comparative entre des services de police choisis au Canada qui ont été fusionnés, et ceux qui ne l'ont pas été; et 2) cerner les avantages, les coûts et les défis liés à la fusion des services de police dans les collectivités inuites et des Premières Nations.

Méthode

On a misé sur des approches d'analyse quantitative et qualitative pour examiner la littérature sur la consolidation des services de police et évaluer l'impact potentiel des fusions sur le Programme des services de police des Premières nations (PSPPN). Dans le cadre de l'analyse quantitative, on a recueilli des données relativement à cinq services de police fusionnés et quatre services de police indépendants.

Pour ce qui est des renseignements de nature qualitative, on a mené des entrevues auprès de personnes qui ont participé à la fusion des services de police, que ce soit à titre de cadre supérieur au sein d'un service de police, de membre d'un conseil ou d'une commission de police, de représentant d'un gouvernement provincial ou de représentant élu local.

Le projet est une étude rétrospective parce qu'il porte sur des fusions déjà réalisées.

Constatation

Pour les défenseurs de la fusion des services de police, l'argument principal en faveur de la consolidation des ressources concerne les économies possibles. Toutefois, la majeure partie des études qui se sont intéressées aux économies d'échelle donne aussi à penser qu'il y a des économies limitées, voire aucune, associées aux plus grands services de police municipaux.

Par ailleurs, des éléments probants laissent entendre que les services de police de taille moyenne (servant entre 22 000 et 50 000 habitants environ) réussissent mieux à gérer les coûts de la criminalité et les frais opérationnels que les services de police beaucoup plus grands en raison des déséconomies d'échelle.

En fait, s'il y a des économies d'échelle, elles peuvent être gaspillées par des bureaucraties qui accaparent les économies et les dépenses. Cette situation était évidente dans le cadre de nos entrevues avec des personnes qui connaissaient le processus de fusion des services de police au Canada, et est appelée « pouvoir monopolistique du bureau » par les chercheurs dans le domaine policier. Il s'agit du processus en vertu duquel les fonctionnaires publics sont capables de réagir rapidement pour saisir toute économie après une fusion.

Pour comprendre l'impact de la fusion des services de police sur les services de police canadiens, on a examiné les dépenses et les données sur la criminalité de neuf services de police canadiens. Les données recueillies révèlent qu'il n'y avait aucune différence entre les services de police fusionnés et les autres.

Une nouvelle constatation intéressante (qui ne figure pas dans la littérature de recherche sur le maintien de l'ordre) concerne les répercussions négatives et durables que pourraient avoir les fusions prescrites par la loi sur les émotions, le moral et la cohésion d'équipe du personnel policier. En effet, le moral des employés risque d'être affecté pendant un certain temps après la fusion. Dans ce contexte, il faudra prendre en considération l'élément humain et instaurer le processus approprié pour gérer les préoccupations des employés avant toute fusion.

Au milieu des années 90, de nombreux services de police de l'Ontario ont été fusionnés dans le cadre d'une restructuration municipale générale. Des entrevues ont été réalisées avec d'anciens cadres supérieurs de la police et du milieu politique qui ont participé directement au processus de fusion.

Les entrevues ont révélé que l'argument voulant que la fusion des services de police soit nécessaire pour économiser ne tenait pas la route, puisque toute économie a été compensée par les coûts supplémentaires liés, par exemple, à l'achat de nouvel équipement ou au rajustement à la hausse des traitements et salaires de l'ensemble des policiers et du personnel civil.

Certains avantages ont cependant été soulignés, notamment la possibilité de rationaliser les systèmes de technologie de l'information et de communication, de même que l'occasion de partager des services pour accroître l'efficience et la rentabilité.

Répercussions

Les constatations au sujet de la fusion des services de police au Canada ont cerné les répercussions des fusions sur le PSPPN, notamment le cadre juridique des services de police, le processus de négociation collective, les policiers non syndiqués, les taux d'attrition ainsi que le recrutement et le maintien en poste des policiers des Premières Nations. Le rapport se concentre sur d'autres options comme :

  1. des ententes de services partagés;
  2. des fusions totales;
  3. des accords municipaux;
  4. la prestation de services de police des Premières Nations dans les collectivités adjacentes.

Les quatre options susmentionnées pourraient constituer des orientations stratégiques viables pour le PSPPN.

Source

Kiedrowski, John, Melchers, Ronald-Frans, Petrunik, Michael et Ruddell, Rick. (2015). Fusion des services de police. Ottawa : Sécurité publique Canada.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :