Pilot Project to Implement the Looking After Children (LAC) Approach in Québec

PDF (218 KB)

ISSN: 978-1-100-20513-7

Table of Contents

Building the Evidence - Evaluation Summaries 2012-ES-30

1. IntroductionFootnote 1

The Looking After Children (LAC) project was funded by the National Crime Prevention Centre (NCPC) between March 2004 and February 2009 ($972,126). The project targeted at high risk of offending youth living with foster parents, and under Government responsibility. It implemented a knowledge-based approach inspired by the Wraparound model (Debicki, 2009)Footnote 2.

The project aimed to improve care provided to children and youth placed in foster families in Québec in order to reduce risks of future offences. This project was conducted by the Association des centres jeunesse du Québec (ACJQ) and four youth centres located in the Outaouais, Bas-Saint-Laurent, Chaudière-Appalaches and Montréal (Batshaw Youth and Family Centres) regions.

This approach was developed in England in the early 1990s to improve the quality and effectiveness of substitute care provided by child welfare services (Parker et al. 1991)Footnote 3.

The LAC approach aims in particular to identify the children's needs and potential, as well as the personal aspirations of the children as the basis for intervention planning (Ward 1996)Footnote 4. The goal of the LAC approach is to guide interventions to improve the existing experiences and living conditions of foster children, to promote their optimal development and build resilience.

The LAC approach recognizes that the effectiveness and improvement of services depends on a detailed assessment of the child's needs in each developmental dimension (health, education, family and social relationships, identity, emotional and behavioural development, how they present themselves to others, and self-care skills).

With the Assessment and Action Record (AAR) it is possible to identify the child's needs and plan an intervention that sets out actions to take to achieve the desired objectives. The intervention plan followed on the basis of the information in the AAR makes it possible to more effectively set specific, measurable and realistic objectives, clearly identifying what needs to be done in order to achieve them. This approach also promotes partnership between all those involved with the child (family, foster family, social workers and other professionals) to maximize the quality of care provided.

2. Evaluation of the Program

The process evaluation focused on the implementation of the approach in youth centres, in order to: determine whether the planned resources and activities were put in place; identify factors influencing implementation and explore implementation repercussions.

The impact evaluation aimed to identify LAC's potential impact on the practices of foster parents and caseworkers (intermediate variables) and on the development and well-being of children/young people in foster care (long-term variables).

Telephone and face-to-face interviews were conducted at three points in time with children/youth between the ages of 8 and 16, foster parents and caseworkers (sample size varying from 8 to 72). Some group interviews were also conducted based on a random sample of 17 foster parents, 18 caseworkers, 10 key contacts (local coordinators and trainers), and 14 children and youth.

Lastly, data were collected during implementation advisory committee meetings and from site coordinators. Participants' AARs content analysis was also completed (60 were available all three times). The attrition rates were 51% between the first and second periods and 76.5% between the first and third periods.

In addition to relying on these data, the impact evaluation of LAC also considered how LAC intervention plans (IP) changed over time. It compared the quality of the last IP completed for the experimental group with the control group IP (51 foster children selected randomly). The longitudinal course of the response to participant needs was studied through the AARs.

Objective achievement was measured from the caseworker's point of view, while the views of foster parents provided information on the developmental dimensions. Placement history and incidents occurring over the previous 12 months (before AAR administration) were analyzed for the experimental group (161 cases) and the control group (161). Lastly, the evaluators compared the development of foster children aged 12 and over who participated in LAC with that of 1,103 young people between the ages of 12 and 17 from the general population who had participated in the National Longitudinal Survey of Children and Youth (NLSCY).

3. Evaluation Findings

The process evaluation found that:

The outcome evaluation found that:

4. Lessons Learned and Recommendations

The LAC approach and its AAR tool help take into account the child/young person's perspective and take a different approach to the problems experienced by foster families, although the approaches are sometimes demanding in terms of time management.

The LAC approach and its AAR tool allow youth centres to go beyond protection by fostering development, and improving services available to children and youth placed in foster care. The LAC approach helps caseworkers have a more comprehensive view of all developmental dimensions.

5. Conclusion

In 2009, the LAC approach began to be applied gradually to all youth centres. This paradigm shift is leading to a major change in the intervention practices of foster parents and youth centres.

For more information or to receive a copy of the final evaluation report, please contact the National Crime Prevention Centre by e-mail at ps.prevention-prevention.sp@canada.ca.

If you wish to register for the NCPC mailing list to receive information from the Centre, please visit the subscription page at: http://publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-eng.aspx

Footnotes

  1. 1 In French, the project was called « Projet pilote d'implantation de l'approche s'occuper des enfants (SOCEN) dans les centres jeunesse du Québec ».
  2. 2 Debicki, A. (2009). Wraparound in Canada. Available from: http://www.wrapcanada.org/html/pdf/CanadaWrapOverviewMarch12,2009.pdf.
  3. 3 Parker, R., Ward, H., Jackson, S., Aldgate, J. & Wedge, P. (Eds.) (1991). Looking After Children: Assessing Outcomes in Child Care. The Report of an Independent Working Party established by the Department of Health. London : HMSO, 205 p.
  4. 4 Ward, H. (1996). Constructing and implementing measures to assess the outcomes of looking after children away from home. In J. Algate, & M. Hill (Ed.), Child welfare services: Developments in law, policy, practice and research (p.240-254). London: Jessica Kingsley.
Date modified:

Projet pilote d'implantation de l'approche S'occuper des enfants (SOCEN) au Québec

PDF (230 Ko)

ISSN : 978-1-100-99060-6

Table des matières

L'épreuve des faits : sommaires d'évaluation 2012-SE-30

1. Introduction

Le projet S'occuper des enfants (SOCEN) a été financé par le Centre national de prévention du crime (CNPC) entre mars 2004 et février 2009, au montant de 972 126 $. Ce projet portait sur un groupe de jeunes particulièrement à risque de délinquance, soit les enfants qui sont à la charge de l'État, en placement dans une famille d'accueil. Il mettait en œuvre une approche basée sur les connaissances de type Wraparound (Debicki, 2009)Footnote 1.

SOCEN visait à améliorer la qualité des soins dispensés aux enfants et aux jeunes placés en famille d'accueil au Québec afin de réduire les risques de délinquance ultérieure. Ce projet a été réalisé grâce à l'initiative de l'Association des centres jeunesse du Québec (ACJQ) et à la participation de quatre centres jeunesse (CJ) des régions de l'Outaouais, du Bas-Saint-Laurent, de Chaudière-Appalaches et de Montréal (les Centres de la jeunesse et de la famille Batshaw).

Cette approche a été développée en Angleterre sous le nom de Looking After Children (LAC) au début des années 1990 dans le but d'améliorer la qualité et l'efficacité des soins substituts dispensés par les services de bien-être à l'enfance (Parker et collab., 1991)Footnote 2.

Il s'agit d'une approche qui vise principalement à déterminer les besoins, les potentialités et les aspirations personnelles de l'enfant comme base de planification de l'intervention (Ward, 1996)Footnote 3. Le but de l'approche SOCEN est de guider les interventions afin d'améliorer les expériences et les conditions de vie actuelles des jeunes placés, de façon à promouvoir leur développement optimal et à développer la résilience.

L'approche SOCEN reconnaît que l'efficacité et l'amélioration des services reposent sur une évaluation minutieuse des besoins des enfants dans chacune des dimensions de son développement (santé, éducation, famille et relations sociales, identité, développement affectif et comportemental, présentation de soi et habiletés à prendre soin de soi).

À l'aide du Cahier d'évaluation et de suivi (CES), il est possible d'identifier les besoins de l'enfant pour ensuite planifier une intervention qui propose les actions à prendre pour atteindre les objectifs voulus. Le plan d'intervention réalisé à l'aide des données contenues dans le CES permet de mieux établir des objectifs spécifiques, mesurables et réalistes, tout en identifiant clairement les tâches à accomplir pour les atteindre. De plus, cette approche favorise le partenariat entre tous les acteurs qui gravitent autour de l'enfant (famille, famille d'accueil, travailleurs sociaux et autres professionnels impliqués) afin de maximiser la qualité des soins qui lui sont offerts.

2. Évaluation du programme

L'évaluation des processus portait sur l'implantation de l'approche en CJ et visait; à déterminer si les ressources et les activités prévues ont été mises en place; identifier les facteurs influençant l'implantation; et explorer les retombées de l'approche.

L'évaluation d'impact avait pour but de déterminer les effets potentiels de l'approche SOCEN sur les pratiques des parents d'accueil et des intervenants (variables intermédiaires) et sur le développement et le bien-être des enfants/jeunes placés (variables à long terme).

Des entrevues téléphoniques et en personne ont été effectuées à trois moments différents avec des enfants et des jeunes âgés de 8 à 16 ans, des parents d'accueil et des intervenants (la taille de l'échantillon varie de 8 à 72). Quelques entrevues de groupe ont aussi eu lieu auprès d'un échantillon aléatoire de 17 parents d'accueil, 18 intervenants et 10 informateurs-clés (coordonnateurs locaux et formateurs) et 14 enfants et jeunes.

Enfin, des données ont été collectées durant les rencontres du comité consultatif d'implantation et auprès des coordonnateurs de sites. Les CES des participants ont fait l'objet d'une analyse de contenu (60 étaient disponibles aux 3 moments). Les taux d'attrition sont respectivement de 51 % entre les périodes 1 et 2 et de 76,5 % entre les périodes 1 et 3.

En plus de faire appel à ces données, l'évaluation de l'impact de l'adoption de SOCEN a aussi considéré l'évolution des plans d'intervention (PI) de SOCEN et a comparé la qualité du dernier PI complété pour le groupe expérimental à celle du groupe de comparaison (51 personnes placées choisies au hasard). L'évolution longitudinale de la réponse aux besoins des participants a été examinée à partir des CÉS.

L'accomplissement des objectifs a été mesuré à partir du point de vue de l'intervenant alors que la perspective des parents d'accueil a permis de considérer les dimensions du développement. L'historique de la prise en charge et des événements survenus au cours des 12 mois précédant l'administration du CES a été analysé pour le groupe expérimental (161 dossiers) et le groupe témoin (161). Les évaluateurs ont finalement comparé le niveau de développement des jeunes de 12 ans et plus ayant participé à SOCEN avec celui de 1 103 jeunes âgés de 12 à 17 ans de la population générale ayant participé à l'Étude longitudinale nationale sur les enfants et les jeunes (ELNEJ).

3. Résultats de l'évaluation

L'évaluation des processus a révélé que :

L'évaluation des résultats a révélé que :

4. Leçons retenues et recommandations 

L'utilisation du CES et l'application de l'approche SOCEN favorisent la prise en compte de la perspective de l'enfant/jeune et permettent d'aborder différemment les problèmes vécus par les familles d'accueil. Toutefois, la démarche est parfois exigeante au niveau de la gestion du temps.

L'approche SOCEN et le CES permettent d'aller au-delà de la protection en favorisant le développement et améliorent les services offerts aux enfants/jeunes pris en charge dans le cadre d'un placement. L'approche SOCEN permet aux intervenants de mieux cerner toutes les dimensions du développement.

5. Conclusion

Depuis 2009, la généralisation progressive de l'approche SOCEN à l'ensemble des centres jeunesse a été amorcée. Ce changement de paradigme entraîne un virage dans les pratiques d'intervention des parents d'accueil et des centres jeunesse.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de ce projet, ou pour obtenir une copie du rapport final d'évaluation, veuillez contacter le Centre national de prévention du crime, par courriel, à ps.prevention-prevention.sp@canada.ca.

Pour recevoir des informations sur les activités du CNPC, nous vous invitons à vous inscrire à la liste d'envoi électronique du CNPC en visitant notre page d'enregistrement à : http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-fra.aspx.

Notes

  1. 1 Debicki, A. (2009). Wraparound in Canada. Accessible à : http://www.wrapcanada.org/html/pdf/CanadaWrapOverviewMarch12,2009.pdf.
  2. 2 Parker, R., Ward, H., Jackson, S., Aldgate, J. & Wedge, P. (Eds.) (1991). Looking After Children: Assessing Outcomes in Child Care. The Report of an Independent Working Party established by the Department of Health. London : HMSO, 205 p.
  3. 3 Ward, H. (1996). Constructing and implementing measures to assess the outcomes of looking after children away from home. Dans J. Algate, & M. Hill (Ed.), Child welfare services: Developments in law, policy, practice and research (p.240-254). London: Jessica Kingsley.
Date de modification :