Youth gangs in Canada: What do we know?

PDF (203 KB)

Table of Contents

The National Crime Prevention Centre (NCPC) of Public Safety Canada is committed to developing and disseminating practical knowledge to address the problem of youth gangs. This information sheet is part of a series on youth gangs. It includes highlights from the 2002 Canadian Police Survey on Youth Gangs as well as other sources of information on youth gangs.

To implement effective prevention and intervention strategies, we must start by understanding the nature and scope of the youth gang problem. This document presents an overview of current knowledge about youth gangs in Canada, including their connections with guns and drugs.

What is a youth gang?

Youth gangs typically consist of young people who:

There are other important characteristics of a youth gang that help us to understand the phenomenon. The Montréal Police Service's definition of youth gang explicitly incorporates the anti-social and delinquent behaviours that are distinctive of youth gangs. It defines a youth gang as:

"An organized group of adolescents and/or young adults who rely on group intimidation and violence, and commit criminal acts in order to gain power and recognition and/or control certain areas of unlawful activity Footnote 2."

Who joins youth gangs?

The 2002 Canadian Police Survey on Youth Gangs and other sources suggest that youth gang members cut across many ethnic, geographic, demographic and socio-economic contexts Footnote 3. However, youth at risk of joining gangs or already involved in gangs tend to be from groups that suffer from the greatest levels of inequality and social disadvantage Footnote 4.

Aboriginal youth are more vulnerable to gang recruitment and organized crime than non-Aboriginal youth and they are increasing in numbers and influence in Western Canada Footnote 5.

Many youth who join gangs have also been identified as youth who are using drugs and already involved in serious and violent crime. Furthermore, youth who display higher levels of previous delinquency are more likely to remain in the gang Footnote 6.

The reasons for joining a youth gang are various. Some seek excitement; others are looking for prestige, protection, a chance to make money or a sense of belonging Footnote 7.

Results of the Canadian Police Survey on Youth Gangs

Youth gangs are not just an urban phenomenon. They are active across the country in both large and small communities Footnote 8.

Results of the Canadian Police Survey on Youth Gangs and other sources suggest that youth gangs are a growing concern in many Canadian jurisdictions. Although not to the same extent as in the United States, comparisons between the two countries show that almost twice the percentage of jurisdictions in the United States report active youth gangs as compared with those in Canada (see Table 1).

The Survey asked police officers to estimate the number of youth gangs in their jurisdiction. According to these estimates:

Gangs, crime and violence

The movement of gang members from one jurisdiction to another appears to have an impact on the criminal activities and involvement of youth, as does the return of gang-involved youth or adult inmates from correctional facilities Footnote 14.

From a prevention perspective, it is vital to understand that youth involvement in crime and violence is linked with the experience of the gang itself Footnote 15.

In the United States, studies of large urban samples show that youth gang members are responsible for a large proportion of all violent adolescent offences. On average, 20% of gang members were responsible for committing about 80% of all serious violent adolescent offences Footnote 16.

While similar offence data is not available in Canada, a quasi-national study of the criminal careers of a birth cohort Footnote 17 found that 16% of alleged young offenders who were classified as chronic offenders were responsible for 58% of all alleged criminal incidents Footnote 18.

Gangs, guns and drugs in schools

Gun violence in major cities in Canada has been a growing concern, especially in Toronto, Edmonton, Calgary, Vancouver and Montréal Footnote 19.

Gun violence is also more prevalent among street gangs that involve primarily young men less than 30 years of age Footnote 20.

The Drugs, Alcohol and Violence International (DAVI) study, a joint Canada-U.S. effort, provides important evidence about the relationships between gangs, guns and drugs in Toronto and Montréal. A total of 904 male students (grades 9 to 12), school dropouts and young offenders were interviewed. The results indicate that:

Conclusion

Most youth who join gangs have already been involved in crime, violence and illegal drug use. The prevalence and scope of youth gang involvement varies across the country, but the "gang effect" of increased delinquency, drug use and violence is a common thread.

Integrated, targeted and evidence-based community solutions are necessary to reduce and prevent the proliferation of gangs, drugs and gun violence.

Notes

  1. 1 Canada. Royal Canadian Mounted Police. Environmental Scan: Features: Focus on Youth Gangs. Ottawa: Royal Canadian Mounted Police, 2006.
  2. 2 Montréal. Montréal Police Service. Provincial Action Plan on Street Gangs. Québec: Department of Public Security, National Coordinating Committee, 2004 [Meeting, Toronto, May 25, 2005].
  3. 3 Astwood Strategy Corporation. 2002 Canadian Police Survey on Youth Gangs. Ottawa: Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada, 2004.
  4. 4 Wortley, Scot and Julian Tanner. "Social Groups or Criminal Organizations? The Extent and Nature of Youth Gang Activity in Toronto" in From Enforcement and Prevention to Civic Engagement: Research on Community Safety / edited by Bruce Kidd and Jim Phillips. Toronto: Centre of Criminology, University of Toronto, 2004: 59-80.
  5. 5 Richter-White, Holly. Direct and Indirect Impacts of Organized Crime on Youth, as Offenders and Victims. Ottawa: Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Research and Evaluation Branch, Community Contract and Aboriginal Policing Service, 2003; RCMP, 2006.
  6. 6 Gatti, Uberto, Richard E. Tremblay, Frank Vitaro and Pierre McDuff. "Youth Gangs, Delinquency and Drug Use: A Test of the Selection, Facilitation, and Enhancement Hypotheses," Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry 46(11), (2005): 1178-1190.
  7. 7 RCMP (2006); Wortley et al., 2004.
  8. 8 RCMP (2006); Astwood Strategy Corporation (2004).
  9. 9 Astwood Strategy Corporation, 2004.
  10. 10 Ibid.
  11. 11 Ibid.
  12. 12 Ibid.
  13. 13 Ibid.; Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN) (2003). Alter-Natives to Non-Violence Report: Aboriginal Youth Gangs Exploration: A Community Development Process. Saskatchewan: FSIN, 2003.
  14. 14 Canada. Correctional Service Canada (2002). An Examination of Youth and Gang Affiliation within the Federally Sentenced Aboriginal Population. Ottawa: Correctional Service Canada, 2002; Astwood Strategy Corporation (2004).
  15. 15 Gatti et al., 2005.
  16. 16 Thornberry, Terence P., David Huizinga and Rolf Loeber. "The Causes and Correlates Studies: Findings and Policy Implications," Juvenile Justice 10, 1, (2004): 3-19.
  17. 17 The study used linked data from Statistics Canada's Youth Court Survey and Adult Criminal Court Survey to describe the court careers, up to the 22nd birthday, of Canadians born in 1979/80.
  18. 18 Carrington, Peter, Anthony Matarazzo and Paul deSouza. "Court Careers of a Canadian Birth Cohort," Crime and Justice Research Paper Series, no. 6. Ottawa: Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics, 2005.
  19. 19 Dauvergne, Mia and Geoffrey Li. "Homicide in Canada, 2005" Juristat 26, 6, (2006). Ottawa: Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics.
  20. 20 Canada. Criminal Intelligence Service Canada (CISC). 2006 Annual Report on Organized Crime in Canada. Ottawa: CISC, 2006.
  21. 21 Erickson, Patricia G. and Jennifer E. Butters. Youth, Weapons and Violence in Toronto and Montréal. Report prepared for Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada, Ottawa, 2006.

References

Table 1: Comparison of Youth Gangs in Canada and the United States
  U.S. (2000) Canada (2001)
Source: Astwood Strategy Corporation (2004)
Population 281,421,906 30,007,094
Percentage of jurisdictions reporting youth gang activity 40% 23.7%
Estimated number of youth gangs 24,500 434
Estimated number of gang members 772,500 7,071
Density per 1000 population 2.75 0.24
Table 2: Estimated Number of Youth Gangs and Youth Gang Members, Nationally and by Province, 2002
Area Number of Youth Gangs Number of Youth Gang Members Youth Gang Members per 1,000 pop.
  • * Data was collected on only four police agencies in the Province of Québec. As a result, the percentage of jurisdictions reporting active youth gangs in Québec (i.e., 100%) must not be considered representative of the entire province.
  • Source: Astwood Strategy Corporation (2004)
Canada 434 7071 0.24
British Columbia 102 1027 0.26
Alberta 42 668 0.22
Saskatchewan 28 1315 1.34
Manitoba 15 171 0.15
Ontario 216 3320 0.29
Québec * 25 533 0.07
Nova Scotia 6 37 0.04
New Brunswick 0 0 0
Prince Edward Island 0 0 0
Newfoundland and Labrador 0 0 0
Yukon 0 0 0
Northwest Territories 0 0 0
Nunavut 0 0 0
Date modified:

Les gangs de jeunes au Canada : Qu'en savons-nous?

PDF (228 Ko)

Table des matières

Le Centre national de prévention du crime (CNPC) de Sécurité publique Canada s'est engagé à élaborer et à diffuser des connaissances pratiques afin de lutter contre le problème des gangs de jeunes.

Ce bulletin d'information fait partie d'une série sur l'appartenance aux gangs de jeunes. Il présente les faits saillants de l'Enquête policière canadienne sur les gangs de jeunes de 2002, ainsi que d'autres sources de renseignements sur les gangs de jeunes.

Il est essentiel de comprendre la nature et la portée du problème des gangs de jeunes pour pouvoir mettre en œuvre des stratégies de prévention et d'intervention efficaces. Ce bulletin présente un aperçu des connaissances actuelles sur les gangs de jeunes au Canada et la place qu'y occupent les armes et la drogue.

Qu'est-ce qu'un gang de jeunes?

Habituellement, un gang de jeunes se compose de membres qui :

Il existe d'autres caractéristiques importantes relatives aux gangs de jeunes qui nous aident à comprendre le phénomène.

La définition adoptée par le Service de police de la Ville de Montréal tient clairement compte des comportements anti-sociaux et délinquants qui sont propres à un gang de jeunes. Voici sa définition de l'expression « gang de jeunes » :

« Regroupement plus ou moins structuré d'adolescents ou de jeunes adultes qui privilégie la force de l'intimidation du groupe et la violence pour accomplir des actes criminels, dans le but d'obtenir pouvoir et reconnaissance et/ou de contrôler des sphères d'activités lucratives Footnote 2. »

Qui sont les jeunes qui se joignent à des gangs?

L'Enquête policière canadienne sur les gangs de jeunes de 2002 et d'autres études révèlent que les gangs sont formés de jeunes provenant de divers milieux ethniques, géographiques, démographiques et socioéconomiques Footnote 3. Toutefois, les jeunes susceptibles de se joindre à un gang ou qui en sont déjà membres proviennent généralement de groupes qui souffrent le plus d'inégalités et qui sont les plus désavantagés sur le plan social Footnote 4.

Les jeunes autochtones sont plus vulnérables au crime organisé et aux activités des gangs que les autres jeunes. Le nombre et l'influence des gangs de jeunes autochtones sont en pleine croissance dans l'Ouest canadien Footnote 5.

Bon nombre de jeunes qui adhèrent à un gang sont également connus comme étant déjà des consommateurs de drogues et commettent déjà des crimes graves et des actes de violence. De plus, les jeunes qui affichent les plus hauts niveaux de délinquance antérieure sont les plus susceptibles de rester membres d'un gang Footnote 6.

Les jeunes adhèrent à des gangs pour diverses raisons. Certains sont en quête d'émotions fortes, d'autres recherchent le prestige ou la protection, aspirent à faire de l'argent ou souhaitent éprouver un sentiment d'appartenance Footnote 7.

Résultats de l'Enquête policière canadienne sur les gangs de jeunes

Les gangs de jeunes ne se trouvent pas uniquement en milieu urbain. Ils sont actifs partout au pays, tant dans les grandes que dans les petites collectivités Footnote 8.

Selon l'Enquête policière canadienne sur les gangs de jeunes et d'autres sources, le phénomène des gangs de jeunes est une préoccupation croissante dans beaucoup de régions du Canada, bien que dans une mesure moindre qu'aux États-Unis. Les comparaisons entre les deux pays révèlent qu'aux États-Unis, le pourcentage de collectivités qui signalent la présence de gangs de jeunes actifs est presque deux fois plus élevé qu'au Canada (voir le tableau 1).

Les responsables de l'Enquête ont demandé aux agents de police d'estimer le nombre de gangs de jeunes présents dans leur territoire respectif. Selon ces chiffres approximatifs :

Gangs, crime et violence

Le déplacement des membres des gangs d'un territoire à l'autre et la mise en liberté de membres (jeunes ou adultes) à la suite d'une incarcération semblent avoir une incidence sur les activités criminelles et l'implication des jeunes Footnote 14.

Sur le plan de la prévention, il est essentiel de comprendre que l'implication des jeunes dans des actes de criminalité et de violence est liée à l'expérience du gang lui-même Footnote 15.

Aux États-Unis, des études portant sur de vastes échantillons en milieu urbain révèlent que les membres des gangs de jeunes sont responsables d'une grande proportion de toutes les infractions avec violence commises par des adolescents. En moyenne, 20 % des membres des gangs de jeunes étaient responsables d'environ 80 % de toutes les infractions graves avec violence commises par des adolescents Footnote 16.

Bien qu'on ne dispose pas de données semblables pour le Canada, une étude quasi nationale des carrières criminelles au sein d'une même cohorte de naissance Footnote 17 révèle que 16 % des présumés jeunes délinquants qualifiés de récidivistes étaient responsables de 58 % de tous les incidents de nature criminelle allégués Footnote 18.

Armes à feu, gangs et drogues dans les écoles

La violence armée dans les principales villes du Canada soulève de plus en plus d'inquiétudes, en particulier à Toronto, à Edmonton, à Calgary, à Vancouver et à Montréal Footnote 19. La violence armée est aussi plus répandue dans les gangs de rue composés principalement d'hommes âgés de moins de 30 ans Footnote 20.

L'étude DAVI (Drugs, Alcohol and Violence International), réalisée conjointement par le Canada et les États-Unis, révèle certains liens entre les gangs, les armes et la drogue chez les jeunes à Toronto et à Montréal. Un total de 904 élèves de sexe masculin (de la 9e à la 12e année), décrocheurs et jeunes délinquants ont participé à l'étude. Les résultats de cette étude révèlent ce qui suit :

Conclusion

La plupart des jeunes qui adhèrent à un gang ont déjà commis des crimes et des actes de violence et consommé des drogues illégales. Au pays, l'importance et l'étendue du phénomène des gangs de jeunes varient d'une région à l'autre. Toutefois, l'« effet gang » lié à l'augmentation de la délinquance, de la toxicomanie et de la violence est un fil conducteur.

Des solutions communautaires intégrées, ciblées et fondées sur des données probantes sont nécessaires si on veut réduire et prévenir la croissance des problèmes des gangs, de la drogue et de la violence armée.

Notes

  1. 1 Canada. Gendarmerie royale du Canada. Dossier spécial : les bandes de jeunes et les armes à feu : l'analyse de l'environnement de la GRC. Ottawa, Gendarmerie royale du Canada, 2006.
  2. 2 Montréal. Service de police de la ville de Montréal. Plan d'action provincial sur les gangs de rue. Québec, Ministère de la Sécurité publique du Québec, Comité national de coordination, 2004. [Réunion du 25 mai 2005 à Toronto].
  3. 3 Astwood Strategy Corporation. Résultats de l'Enquête policière canadienne sur les gangs de jeunes de 2002. Ottawa, Sécurité publique et Protection civile Canada, 2004.
  4. 4 Wortley, Scot et Julian Tanner. « Social Groups or Criminal Organizations? The Extent and Nature of Youth Gang Activity in Toronto » in From Enforcement and Prevention to Civic Engagement: Research on Community Safety, publié sous la direction de Bruce Kidd et Jim Phillips. Toronto, Centre of Criminology, Université de Toronto, 2004, p. 59-80.
  5. 5 Richter-White, Holly. Impacts directs et indirects du crime organisé sur les jeunes à titre de victimes ou de contrevenants. Ottawa, Gendarmerie royale du Canada, Direction des services de police communautaires, contractuels et autochtones, Sous-direction de la recherche et de l'évaluation, 2003; GRC, 2006.
  6. 6 Gatti, Uberto, Richard E. Tremblay, Frank Vitaro et Pierre McDuff. « Youth Gangs, Delinquency and Drug Use: A Test of the Selection, Facilitation, and Enhancement Hypotheses », Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry, vol. 46, no 11 (2005), p. 1178-1190.
  7. 7 GRC, 2006; Wortley et al., 2004.
  8. 8 GRC, 2006; Astwood Strategy Corporation, 2004.
  9. 9 Astwood Strategy Corporation, 2004.
  10. 10 Ibid.
  11. 11 Ibid.
  12. 12 Ibid.
  13. 13 Ibid; Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN). Alter-Natives to Non-Violence Report: Aboriginal Youth Gangs Exploration: A Community Development Process. Saskatchewan. FSIN, 2003.
  14. 14 Canada. Service correctionnel Canada (2002). Étude sur l'appartenance à un gang et sur les jeunes au sein de la population autochtone sous responsabilité fédérale. Ottawa, Service correctionnel Canada, 2002; Astwood Strategy Corporation, 2004.
  15. 15 Gatti et al., 2005.
  16. 16 Thornberry, Terence P., David Huizinga et Rolf Loeber. « The Causes and Correlates Studies: Findings and Policy Implications », Juvenile Justice, vol. 10, no 1, (2004) p. 3-19.
  17. 17 On a utilisé des données couplées de l'Enquête sur les tribunaux de la jeunesse et de l'Enquête sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes de Statistique Canada afin de décrire la carrière devant les tribunaux des personnes nées en 1979-1980 jusqu'à leur 22e anniversaire de naissance.
  18. 18 Carrington, Peter, Anthony Matarazzo et Paul deSouza. « Les carrières devant les tribunaux d'une cohorte de naissance canadienne », Série de documents de recherche sur la criminalité et la justice, no 6. Ottawa, Centre canadien de la statistique juridique, 2005.
  19. 19 Dauvergne, Mia et Geoffrey Li. « L'homicide au Canada, 2005 », Juristat, vol. 26, no 6. Ottawa, Centre canadien de la statistique juridique, 2006.
  20. 20 Canada. Service canadien de renseignements criminels. Rapport annuel sur le crime organisé au Canada 2006. Ottawa, Service canadien de renseignements criminels, 2006.
  21. 21 Erickson, Patricia G. et Jennifer E. Butters. Les jeunes, les armes et la violence à Toronto et à Montréal. Rapport préparé pour Sécurité publique et Protection civile Canada. Ottawa, 2006.

Bibliographie

Tableau 1 – Comparaison des gangs de jeunes au Canada et aux États-Unis
  É.-U. (2000) Canada (2001)
Population 281 421 906 30 007 094
Pourcentage d'administrations ayant déclaré la présence de gangs de jeunes 40 % 23,7 %
Nombre estimatif de gangs de jeunes 24 500 434
Nombre estimatif de membres de gangs de jeunes 772 500 7 071
Densité par tranche de 1 000 habitants 2,75 0,24

Source : Astwood Strategy Corporation (2004)

Tableau 2 – Nombre estimatif de jeunes et de membres de gangs de jeunes, au pays et par province, 2002
Région Nombre de gangs de jeunes Nombre de membres de gangs de jeunes Membres de gangs de jeunes par tranche de 1 000 habitants
  • * : Dans la province de Québec, les données ont été recueillies auprès de seulement quatre services de police. Par conséquent, le pourcentage d'administrations du Québec ayant déclaré la présence de gangs de jeunes (c'est-à-dire 100 %) n'est pas représentatif de toute la province.
  • Source : Astwood Strategy Corporation (2004)
Canada 434 7 071 0,24
Colombie-Britannique 102 1 027 0,26
Alberta 42 668 0,22
Saskatchewan 28 1 315 1,34
Manitoba 15 171 0,15
Ontario 216 3 320 0,29
Québec * 25 533 0,07
Nouvelle-Écosse 6 37 0,04
Nouveau-Brunswick 0 0 0
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 0 0 0
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 0 0 0
Yukon 0 0 0
Territoires du Nord-Ouest 0 0 0
Nunavut 0 0 0
Date de modification :