Families at risk: The impact of the familial environment on juvenile delinquency

PDF (188KB)

Research Matters
Issue 3 - July 2011

Issue:

What are the factors within the family environment that contribute to, or prevent, juvenile delinquency?

Context:

Families play a vital role in the development of children and youth. Studies of juvenile delinquency have shown that the family environment can present as either a risk or protective factor.

A risk factor is a characteristic that, when present, promotes the adoption of harmful behaviour (e.g., delinquency). Research has shown that as the number of risk factors to which youth are exposed increases, so does the probability that he/she will engage in delinquent behaviours. Moreover, the presence of one risk factor may promote the existence of another risk factor, which in turn leads to a greater likelihood of problematic behaviour. Families exposed to multiple risk factors are considered "vulnerable families" or "at-risk families." In contrast, a protective factor is a characteristic that offsets the negative effects of risk factors and reduces the likelihood of delinquency.

Being able to identify and understand the effects of these family-based risk and protective factors is important in preventing children and youth from becoming involved in illegal, harmful, and/or inappropriate conduct.

Method:

A literature review was conducted to identify the key risk and protective factors within the family environment that have been examined in prior research in Canada and abroad.

Results:

An analysis of research literature suggests that family-based risk and protective factors vary with respect to the age of the youth. They generally fall into three broad categories:

1. Factors related to family dynamics and functioning

Risk factors in this category include:

Protective factors in this category include:

2. Factors related to family characteristics

Risk factors in this category include:

Protective factors in this category include:

3. Factors related to the neighbourhood or area of residence

Risk factors in this category include:

Protective factors in this category include:

Implications:

Understanding the family-based risk and protective factors that influence delinquent behaviour can help to enhance the design and development of effective crime prevention programs for vulnerable families. At present, there are three categories of family-based interventions that show promise as crime prevention strategies: parental training, family therapy or integrated approach programs that involve several key partners (e.g., health and social services, education, justice, substance abuse, mental health). Research has demonstrated that by targeting family-based risk factors, and/or reinforcing protective factors, these programs can have an impact on reducing the incidence of juvenile delinquency.

Source:

SAVIGNAC, J. (2009). Families, youth and delinquency: The state of knowledge, and family-based juvenile delinquency programs (Research Report 2009-1). Ottawa: National Crime Prevention Centre, Public Safety Canada.

For further information:

Lucie Léonard
National Crime Prevention Centre
Public Safety Canada
269 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0P8
Phone: (613) 957-6362
Fax: (613) 941-9013
Email: Lucie.Leonard@ps-sp.gc.ca

Date modified:

Familles à risque : les répercussions du milieu familial sur la délinquance juvénile

PDF (189Ko)

Question de recherche
Numéro 3 - Juillet 2011

Question :

Quels sont les facteurs familiaux qui favorisent la délinquance juvénile ou qui contribuent à la prévenir?

Contexte :

Les familles jouent un rôle essentiel dans le développement des enfants et des jeunes. Des études sur la délinquance juvénile ont montré que le milieu familial pouvait constituer un facteur de risque ou un facteur de protection.

Un facteur de risque est une caractéristique qui, si elle est présente, favorise l'adoption d'un comportement nuisible (p. ex. la délinquance). Les recherches ont montré que plus le nombre de facteurs de risque auxquels sont exposés les jeunes augmente, plus la probabilité que les jeunes se tournent vers la délinquance augmente aussi. De plus, la présence d'un facteur de risque peut favoriser l'existence d'un autre facteur de risque, ce qui en retour augmente la probabilité que les jeunes adoptent un comportement problématique. Les familles qui présentent de multiples facteurs de risque sont considérées comme étant des « familles vulnérables » ou des « familles à risque ». En revanche, un facteur de protection est une caractéristique qui compense les effets négatifs des facteurs de risque et réduit la probabilité de délinquance.

Il est important de pouvoir cerner et comprendre les effets de ces facteurs familiaux de risque et de protection afin d'empêcher les enfants et les jeunes d'adopter des comportements illégaux, nuisibles ou inappropriés.

Méthode :

Un examen de la littérature a été effectué afin de cerner les principaux facteurs familiaux de risque et de protection qui ont été examinés dans le cadre de recherches antérieures au Canada et à l'étranger.

Résultats :

D'après une analyse des rapports de recherche, les facteurs familiaux de risque et de protection varient en fonction de l'âge des jeunes. Ils peuvent généralement être classés dans une des trois catégories générales suivantes :

1. Facteurs liés à la dynamique familiale et au fonctionnement de la famille

Facteurs de risque de cette catégorie :

Facteurs de protection de cette catégorie :

2. Facteurs liés aux caractéristiques familiales

Facteurs de risque de cette catégorie :

Facteurs de protection de cette catégorie :

Facteurs liés au quartier ou au lieu de résidence

Facteurs de risque de cette catégorie :

Facteurs de protection de cette catégorie :

Répercussions :

Le fait de comprendre les facteurs familiaux de risque et de protection qui influencent les comportements délinquants peut aider à concevoir des programmes de prévention du crime plus efficaces à l'intention des familles vulnérables. Actuellement, trois catégories d'interventions en milieu familial sont prometteuses pour ce qui est des stratégies de prévention du crime : la formation des parents, la thérapie familiale et l'approche intégrée comprenant des programmes auxquels participent plusieurs partenaires clés (p. ex. intervenants dans les domaines des services de santé et des services sociaux, de l'éducation, de la justice, de la toxicomanie, de la santé mentale). Des recherches ont démontré qu'en ciblant les facteurs de risque en milieu familial ou en renforçant les facteurs de protection, ces programmes peuvent réduire le nombre de cas de délinquance juvénile.

Source :

SAVIGNAC, Julie. Familles, jeunes et délinquance : portrait des connaissances et programmes de prévention de la délinquance juvénile en milieu familial (Rapport de recherche 2009-01), Ottawa, Centre national de prévention du crime, Sécurité publique Canada, 2009.

Pour plus de renseignements :

Lucie Léonard
Centre national de prévention du crime
Sécurité publique Canada
269, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0P8
Téléphone : 613-957-6362
Télécopieur : 613-941-9013
Courriel : Lucie.Leonard@ps-sp.gc.ca

Date de modification :