Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime

PDF (117KB)

The Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime Prevention Project provides a comprehensive approach to understanding and reducing the involvement of immigrant youth in gang criminal activity in Calgary. Key elements of the program include community mobilization, provision of social intervention and opportunities, suppression, social control, and organizational development and change. The Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime Prevention Project is supported by Public Safety Canada, National Crime Prevention Centre's Crime Prevention Action Fund and is delivered by Calgary Mennonite Centre for Newcomers (Centre for Newcomers). The project began in July 2009 and will be piloted and evaluated through December 2011.

The involvement of immigrant youth in criminal gangs in Calgary has been reported by the media since 1980Footnote 1. A disproportionate number of immigrant youth with ties to street gangs are in the justice system and increases in the level of violence, substance abuse and gang activity among this population is a growing concern in CalgaryFootnote 2. Several community studies conducted over the past five to six years have described and called attention to the issues of criminal gang involvement among immigrant youth and consultations with immigrant youth, families, probation, police, researchers and community workers have confirmed the seriousness and escalation of the involvement of immigrant youth in gangsFootnote 3.

Additional studies have also noted a lack of coordinated, comprehensive and culturally responsive services for immigrant youth and recommended increased support and assistance to organizations to develop culturally competent servicesFootnote 4.

The Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime project emerged in response to this growing community awareness, the desire for action to address the needs of immigrant youth and to find ways to divert them from youth gang criminal involvement. The initiative builds on existing work in Calgary and enhances efforts in place to address gang issues.

The Evidence Base

The Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime Project activities were developed and designed based on the U.S. Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), Comprehensive Gang Model also known as the Spergel Model.

The Spergel Model is a balanced, three-pronged approach that encompasses prevention, intervention and suppression activities. The model presumes that gangs become chronic and serious problems in communities where key organizations are inadequately integrated and sufficient resources are not available to target gang-involved youth. To address these problems, the Comprehensive Gang Model calls for community institutions - including law enforcement, social welfare agencies, and grass roots organizations - to work together to achieve a more integrated, team-oriented approach.

The model was piloted in the Little Village neighbourhood of Chicago, Illinois, starting in 1992. With some subsequent modifications, this design gave rise to the OJJDP Comprehensive Community-Wide Gang Model in 1995 and has been implemented and tested in 5 sites across the United States.

The evaluation concluded that:

Program Components

The Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime includes the following activities:

Community Mobilization

The project staff provide outreach to a variety of institutions, service providers, networks and grassroots community groups. They share information regarding the specific risk factors, protective factors, and pathways of immigrant youth involved in gangs and assist the organizations to develop action plans that increase their capacity and responsiveness to meet the needs of vulnerable immigrant youth. As part of the community mobilization, a multi-sector Steering Committee advises on the development of a city wide action plan to support gang-involved and high-risk immigrant youth. The connections made with people, especially those knowledgeable about culture and how to provide services in culturally competent and relevant ways has created a strong network for the development and implementation of direct interventions with immigrant youth.

Provision of Social Interventions and Opportunities

Targeted intervention services and leadership development is provided to gang involved and high-risk immigrant youth. Youth are referred from a number of sources including police, probation, youth services and through individuals in the community. An in-depth assessment to identify their specific risks and protective factors is then conducted and based on these factors personal action plans are developed. Activities include coaching, counselling and referral to appropriate resources and services. Dealing with needs that are unique to immigrant youth is primary and these include intergenerational conflict, racism, discrimination and cultural understanding of systems such as education and criminal justice.

At the group level, youth are involved in a life skills/ pre-employment program and are provided connections to supported employment. Group interventions include programming five half-days per week for a three to six month period, with up to three field trips for community activities, such as outdoor challenge and community services. Participation is re-evaluated after a three month period to ensure activities are still relevant and appropriate and progress is being made. Project staff focus initially on individual support for the youth participants in order to prepare them for group programming.

The project collaborates with the Coalition for Equal Access to Education to provide leadership training for up to 20 immigrant youth who have been in contact with the law and are no longer under parole/probationary supervision. Bi-weekly seminars over three months help the youth develop skills in community organization, mentorship, and organizational and project management. Under the supervision of program staff, these youth then develop and implement initiatives to educate stakeholders and the public about gang issues. The project also includes a mentor program that focuses on high-risk immigrant youth.

Suppression & Control

Supporting the Calgary Police Service with its gang strategy is a major component of the Project. The Project staff use their knowledge and community connections to help the Police devise and implement culturally responsive plans. They assist in the coordination of suppression activities, including: arrest, warning, behaviour modeling, crisis intervention, neighbour patrol, reporting of criminal activities and parole/probation compliance.

Organizational Change and Development

Project staff provide outreach and support to institutions, public services, service providers and community based organizations to develop cultural and organizational competencies to work effectively with gang involved and high risk immigrant youth. They provide individual assistance to approximately 30 organizations and work to increase knowledge of the gang phenomenon in Calgary and guide them through a process of institutional change. A systematic review of the policies, programs and services of each participating organization is conducted and recommendations made to improve access in the areas of education, family support, social services and recreation.

Program Participants

The project works with young immigrant adults aged 18-27 who are currently involved in gangs; immigrant youth aged 12-17 who are at high risk of joining gangs; and young immigrant adults aged 18-27 who have been incarcerated on gang related offenses and are no longer under correctional jurisdiction. On the organizational front, the project works with a wide variety of community organizations to provide support for culturally appropriate services to immigrant youth and their families.

Key Partners

The Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime involves many partnerships in the community, including:

Evaluation Design

A comprehensive evaluation of the project is being conducted by a third party evaluator. The purpose of the evaluation is to document and measure the project implementation in order to contribute to the knowledge of what components work best to prevent or reduce gang involvement.

The evaluation will implement a pre/post test to measure the outcomes following the intervention. Follow up at six months and one year will occur with youth participants as well as with a matched control group of youth not receiving services/interventions. The evaluation will include: participant assessments, participant and family interviews, focus groups, questionnaires, and stakeholder interviews (including community members, schools, service providers, police and advisory committee members), review of police reports/files, and school/activity attendance sheets.

Implementation Observations

Community Organizational Engagement

All of the organizational partners are involved in a collaborative inquiry network where they have been consulted regarding their participation in the strategy. As a result of this network approach, many partners are effectively engaged in the implementation of the program.

For more information on this project please contact:

Manager, Employment Services
Calgary Mennonite Centre for Newcomers Society
#125, 920-36 Street N.E.
Calgary, Alberta, T2A 6L8
Tel.:403-569-3325   Fax:403-248-5041

National Crime Prevention Centre
Prairie Region
700-310 Broadway Avenue
Winnipeg MB R3C 0S9
204-984-5861
1-800-830-3118

If you wish to register to receive crime prevention information please visit the subscription page at: https://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-eng.aspx.


Footnotes

  1. 1 A comprehensive assessment of multicultural youth in the East Calgary area (Community and Neighbourhood Services, City of Calgary, 2004)
  2. 2 Ibid.
  3. 3 Ibid.
  4. 4 Conversation for Change: an Overview of Services for Immigrant Children an Youth in Calgary (Herlock, McCullagh and Schissel, 2004); Immigrant Children and Youth in Focus (Ngo, 2004)
  5. 5 For more information visit: http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/prmsng-mdl-vlm1/index-eng.aspx
Date modified:

Projet Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime

PDF (122Ko)

Le projet de prévention Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime propose une approche pour mieux comprendre et réduire la participation des jeunes immigrants aux activités criminelles des gangs de Calgary. Les composantes clés du programme sont les suivantes : mobilisation de la collectivité, intervention sociale et accès aux services, répression et contrôle ainsi que changement et développement organisationnels. Le projet de prévention Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime reçoit l'appui de Sécurité publique Canada par l'intermédiaire du Fonds d'action en prévention du crime du Centre national de prévention du crime et il est administré par le Calgary Mennonite Centre for Newcomers (Centre for Newcomers). Le projet a d'abord été mis en œuvre en juillet 2009 et il sera testé et évalué jusqu'en décembre 2011.

La participation des jeunes immigrants aux activités criminelles des gangs à Calgary est signalée par les médias depuis 1980Footnote 1. Un nombre disproportionné de jeunes immigrants ayant des liens avec les gangs de rue ont des démêlés avec le système de justice, et l'augmentation de la violence et de la toxicomanie, ainsi que du niveau d'activités des gangs au sein de cette population est une préoccupation grandissante à CalgaryFootnote 2. Plusieurs études réalisées dans la collectivité au cours des cinq à six dernières années ont mis en lumière et décrit le problème de la participation des jeunes immigrants aux activités criminelles des gangs, et des consultations effectuées auprès de jeunes immigrants, de leurs familles, d'agents de probation, de policiers, d'analystes et d'intervenants dans la collectivité ont confirmé l'aggravation de ce problème déjà très sérieuxFootnote 3.

D'autres études ont aussi révélé un manque de services coordonnés, complets et culturellement adaptés pour les jeunes immigrants et ont mené à des recommandations pour augmenter le soutien et l'aide aux organisations afin qu'elles offrent des services culturellement adaptésFootnote 4.

Le projet Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime a été élaboré en réponse à cette sensibilisation croissante de la collectivité ainsi qu'au désir de prendre des mesures pour répondre aux besoins des jeunes immigrants et trouver des façons de les détourner des activités criminelles des gangs de jeunes. L'initiative prend appui sur le travail déjà effectué à Calgary et permet d'intensifier les efforts déployés afin de résoudre les problèmes liés aux gangs.

Fondements scientifiques

Les activités du projet Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime ont été conçues à partir du modèle exhaustif sur les gangs de l'U.S. Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), aussi appelé le modèle Spergel.

Le modèle Spergel est une approche équilibrée en trois volets qui comprend des activités de prévention, d'intervention et de répression. Le modèle repose sur l'hypothèse selon laquelle la présence de gangs devient un problème chronique et grave dans les collectivités où les organisations clés sont mal intégrées et où il n'y a pas suffisamment de ressources pour cibler les jeunes faisant partie de gangs. Afin de résoudre ce problème, le modèle exhaustif sur les gangs compte sur la collaboration entre des organismes d'application de la loi, des organismes de services sociaux et des organismes locaux, pour mettre en place une approche collective mieux intégrée.

Le modèle a été mis à l'essai dans le quartier Little Village de Chicago, en Illinois, à partir de 1992. Après avoir été modifié, il est devenu le Comprehensive Community­Wide Gang Model de l'OJJDP en 1995 et il a été mis en œuvre et testé dans cinq autres villes des États-Unis.

L'évaluation a permis de tirer les conclusions suivantes :

Composantes du programme

Le projet Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime comprend les activités suivantes :

Mobilisation de la collectivité

Les employés du projet fournissent des services de liaison à divers organismes, fournisseurs de services, réseaux et groupes communautaires locaux. Ils échangent des renseignements sur les facteurs de risque, les facteurs de protection et les cheminements particuliers des jeunes immigrants faisant partie de gangs, et ils aident les organisations à élaborer des plans d'action visant à augmenter leur capacité de répondre aux besoins des jeunes immigrants vulnérables. Dans le cadre des efforts de mobilisation de la collectivité, un comité directeur multisectoriel donne des conseils au sujet de l'élaboration d'un plan d'action à l'échelle de la ville pour soutenir les jeunes immigrants qui font ou pourraient faire partie de gangs. Les liens établis avec les gens, particulièrement avec les personnes qui connaissent la culture et la façon de fournir des services pertinents et culturellement adaptés, ont permis de créer un solide réseau pour la conception et l'application de moyens d'intervention directe auprès des jeunes immigrants.

Interventions sociales et accès aux services

Des services d'intervention ciblés et de développement du leadership sont fournis aux jeunes immigrants faisant partie d'un gang ou présentant un risque élevé d'en devenir membres. Les jeunes sont référés par un certain nombre de sources, notamment la police, des agents de probation, des services pour les jeunes et des membres de la collectivité. Une évaluation approfondie visant à déterminer leurs facteurs de risque et de protection particuliers est ensuite menée, et des plans d'action personnalisés tenant compte de ces facteurs sont élaborés. On leur assure un encadrement, un soutien psychologique et des services d'aiguillage vers les ressources et les services appropriés. Il est essentiel de s'occuper des besoins particuliers des jeunes immigrants, notamment au plan des conflits intergénérationnels, du racisme, de la discrimination et de la compréhension des dimensions culturelles des systèmes d'éducation et de système de justice pénale.

Les jeunes participent en groupe à un programme de développement des compétences psychosociales et de préparation à l'emploi, et on les met en contact avec des organismes de soutien à l'emploi. Les interventions de groupe comprennent un programme offert cinq demi-journées par semaine pendant une période de trois à six mois et jusqu'à trois sorties éducatives consistant en des activités dans la collectivité telles que des défis à l'extérieur et des services communautaires. La participation est réévaluée après trois mois afin de vérifier que les activités sont toujours pertinentes et appropriées, et que les jeunes progressent. Les employés du projet mettent d'abord l'accent sur le soutien individuel des jeunes afin de les préparer aux programmes de groupe.

Avec la Coalition for Equal Access to Education, les employés du projet proposent une formation sur le leadership à un maximum de vingt jeunes immigrants qui ont eu des démêlés avec la justice et qui ne sont plus sous surveillance dans le cadre d'une libération conditionnelle ou d'une probation. Des séances tenues toutes les deux semaines pendant trois mois aident les jeunes à développer des compétences dans les domaines de l'organisation communautaire, du mentorat ainsi que de la gestion d'organisations et de projets. Ensuite, sous la direction d'employés du programme, ces jeunes élaborent et mettent en œuvre des initiatives visant à sensibiliser les intervenants et le public aux problèmes relatifs aux gangs. Le projet comprend aussi un programme de mentorat axé sur les jeunes immigrants à risque élevé.

Répression et contrôle

Le soutien apporté au Service de police de Calgary et à sa stratégie de lutte contre les gangs est un élément fondamental du projet. Les employés du projet utilisent leurs connaissances et leurs liens dans la collectivité pour aider le service de police à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre des plans culturellement adaptés. Ils aident à la coordination d'activités de répression, notamment des arrestations, des avertissements, des techniques de modification du comportement, des interventions en situation de crise, des patrouilles dans les quartiers ainsi que le signalement d'activités criminelles et du respect des conditions de libération conditionnelle ou de probation.

Changement et développement organisationnels

Les employés du projet fournissent des services de liaison et du soutien aux organismes, aux services publics, aux fournisseurs de services et aux organisations communautaires afin qu'ils acquièrent les compétences culturelles et organisationnelles leur permettant de travailler efficacement auprès des jeunes immigrants faisant partie de gangs ou présentant un risque élevé d'en devenir membres. Ils fournissent une aide personnalisée à une trentaine d'organisations, travaillent à améliorer la connaissance du phénomène des gangs à Calgary et les guident tout au long d'un processus de changement organisationnel. Un examen systématique des politiques, des programmes et des services de chaque organisation participante est effectué, et des recommandations sont formulées afin d'améliorer l'accès à l'éducation, au soutien familial, aux services sociaux et aux loisirs.

Participants du programme

Le projet vise les jeunes immigrants âgés de 18 à 27 ans qui participent actuellement aux activités de gangs, les jeunes immigrants de 12 à 17 ans qui présentent un risque élevé de devenir membres de gangs et les jeunes immigrants de 18 à 27 ans qui ont été incarcérés pour des infractions liées aux gangs et qui ne sont plus sous la responsabilité des services correctionnels. Pour ce qui est des organisations, l'équipe du projet travaille avec de nombreuses organisations communautaires afin d'encourager la prestation de services culturellement adaptés aux jeunes immigrants et à leurs familles.

Partenaires clés

De nombreux partenariats avec la collectivité ont été établis dans le cadre du projet Effective Community Response to Immigrant Youth Gang Crime dont :

Conception de l'évaluation

Une évaluation complète du projet est en cours de réalisation par un tiers. L'objet de l'évaluation consiste à documenter et mesurer la mise en œuvre et les impacts du projet afin de déterminer quelles composantes du projet sont les plus efficaces pour prévenir ou réduire la participation aux activités de gangs.

Les évaluateurs appliqueront un modèle d'évaluation pré-post permettant de comparer les changements suite à l'intervention. Un suivi sera effectué auprès des jeunes participant au programme après six mois et un an et auprès d'un groupe témoin de jeunes ne bénéficiant pas de services ou d'interventions. L'évaluation comprendra des évaluations par les participants, des entrevues effectuées auprès des participants et de leur famille, des groupes de discussion, des questionnaires, des entrevues avec les intervenants (notamment des membres de la collectivité, des écoles, des fournisseurs de service, la police et des membres de comités consultatifs), un examen des rapports et des dossiers de la police ainsi que des feuilles de présence à l'école ou à des activités.

Observations liées à la mise en œuvre

Participation des organismes communautaires

Tous les organismes partenaires font partie d'un réseau d'information et de collaboration dans le cadre duquel on les a consultés au sujet de leur participation à la stratégie. Ce réseau permet à de nombreux partenaires de participer de manière efficace à la mise en œuvre du programme.

Pour obtenir plus d'informations sur ce projet, communiquer avec :

Gestionnaire, Services d'emploi
Calgary Mennonite Centre for Newcomers Society
125-920, 36e Rue N. E.
Calgary (Alberta) T2A 6L8
Tél. : 403-569-3325
Télécopieur : 403-248-5041

Centre national de prévention du crime
Région des Prairies
700-310, avenue Broadway
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3C 0S9
Tél. : 204-984-5861
Numéro sans frais : 1-800-830-3118

Si vous souhaitez vous inscrire afin de recevoir des renseignements sur la prévention du crime, veuillez consulter la page d'inscription à l'adresse : http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-fra.aspx.


Footnotes

  1. 1 Community and Neighbourhood Services. 2004. A Comprehensive Assessment of Multicultural Youth in the East Calgary Area. Calgary: City of Calgary.
  2. 2 Id.
  3. 3 Id.
  4. 4 Conversation for Change: an Overview of Services for Immigrant Children and Youth in Calgary (Herlock, McCullagh and Schissel, 2004); Regard sur les enfants et les jeunes immigrants. (Ngo, 2004)
  5. 5 Pour obtenir de plus amples informations, voir http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/prmsng-mdl-vlm1/index-fra.aspx.
Date de modification :