Toronto Drug Treatment Court project

PDF (658 KB)

ISBN : PS4-42/2-2007

Table of Contents

The Toronto Drug Treatment Court, the first of its kind in Canada, has been in operation since 1998. The Toronto Drug Treatment Court (TDTC) was designed specifically to address the unique needs of non-violent offenders who abused cocaine or opiates. Clients were accepted into the project based on a clinically-assessed addiction to either cocaine or heroin. They were also identified as having been actively involved in criminal activities, such as prostitution, possession and trafficking of heroin or cocaine. The initiative involved a number of government departments and agencies in the fields of criminal justice, addiction, mental health and community-based service agencies.

TDTC clients were required to attend court as stipulated by a judge and addiction treatment was provided through the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH). Court and treatment services worked together as a team to supervise clients and provide them with the resources required to successfully complete the treatment program. By providing project participants with treatment instead of punishment, it was hoped that the cycle of repeat offending would be averted and that it would lead to a decrease in substance abuse problems and the costs associated with the prosecution and incarceration of drug-dependent offenders.

Project assessment

Evaluation of the project consisted of a process, outcome and cost-comparison analyses.

The process evaluation focused on several elements including:

The outcome evaluation focused on post-project substance abuse, criminal activity and the physical and psychological health and social stability of TDTC clients compared to a judicial comparison group. The cost analysis examined the direct costs associated with the TDTC project compared to those of traditional judicial adjudication.

The outcome evaluation used a quasi-experimental design involving an experimental group and two comparison groups. Comparisons were also made using sub-groups within the experimental group, both graduates and others. Overall, 593 clients were admitted to the TDTC project and were included in the data analysis.

Key Findings

The process evaluation findings indicated that:

The outcome evaluation findings showed that:

Lessons learned

A number of lessons were learned in the project, including the following:

Conclusion

The reduction in substance abuse and criminal activity among drug dependent offenders of the Toronto Drug Treatment Court can be characterized as promising, given the limitations of the evaluation, such as the small number of graduates, different response rates among groups, and the decrease in program's participation over time.

The evaluation of the TDTC adds to the growing body of research on specialized courts, and in particular, on collaborative justice and community responses to substance abuse by offenders in the criminal justice system.

For more information or to receive a copy of the final evaluation report please contact the National Crime Prevention Centre at 1-800-830-3118.

You can also visit the web site of the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health at: www.camh.net.

Date modified:

Projet Tribunal de traitement de la toxicomanie de Toronto

PDF (689 Ko)

ISBN : PS4-42/2-2007

Table des matières

Le projet Tribunal de traitement de la toxicomanie de Toronto (TTTT), établi en 1998, est le premier du genre au Canada. Il vise expressément à répondre aux besoins spécifiques des délinquants non violents qui ont consommé de la cocaïne ou des opiacés. Dans le cadre du projet, on acceptait les clients qui avaient une dépendance cliniquement évaluée à la cocaïne ou à l'héroïne et qui avaient participé activement à des activités criminelles, comme la prostitution, la possession ou le trafic d'héroïne ou de cocaïne. Un certain nombre de ministères et d'organismes gouvernementaux du domaine de la justice pénale ainsi que des organismes communautaires offrant des services de traitement de la toxicomanie et de santé mentale ont participé à cette initiative.

Les clients du TTTT étaient tenus de se présenter devant le tribunal, conformément à la directive d'un juge, et un traitement de la toxicomanie était offert par le Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale (CTSM). Le tribunal et les services de traitement travaillaient en équipe pour superviser les clients et leur fournir les ressources nécessaires afin de réaliser les objectifs du programme de traitement. En offrant aux participants du projet un traitement plutôt qu'une punition, on espérait rompre le cycle de la récidive, entraînant ainsi une diminution des problèmes liés à la toxicomanie et des coûts associés à la judiciarisation et à l'incarcération des récidivistes toxicomanes.

Évaluation du projet

L'évaluation comprenait une analyse des processus, une analyse des résultats et une analyse comparative des coûts.

L'évaluation des processus portait sur plusieurs éléments, notamment :

L'évaluation des résultats portait sur la consommation de drogues, les activités criminelles, la santé physique et psychologique ainsi que sur la stabilité sociale des clients du TTTT, comparativement à celles d'un groupe témoin du système judiciaire. Dans le cadre de l'analyse des coûts, on a examiné les coûts directs liés au projet du TTTT par rapport à ceux d'une décision judiciaire traditionnelle.

L'évaluation des résultats a été effectuée selon un modèle quasi expérimental comprenant un groupe expérimental et deux groupes témoins. On a également établi des comparaisons entre les sous-groupes du groupe expérimental, soit les diplômés et les autres clients. Au total, 593 clients ont pu participer au projet du TTTT et ont été inclus dans l'analyse des données.

Principaux résultats

L'évaluation des processus a montré que :

L'évaluation des résultats indique que :

Leçons apprises

On a appris un certain nombre de leçons dans le cadre du projet, notamment ce qui suit :

Conclusion

La réduction de la consommation de drogues et des activités criminelles parmi les participants au Tribunal de traitement de la toxicomanie de Toronto peut être considérée comme prometteuse, tout en tenant compte des limites de l'évaluation, notamment du faible taux de diplômés, du manque de suivi et de participation au programme.

L'évaluation du TTTT vient s'ajouter au corpus de plus en plus important de recherches sur les tribunaux spécialisés et, plus particulièrement, sur les interventions judiciaires et communautaires plus concertées relativement à la toxicomanie chez les délinquants dans le système de justice pénale.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou pour recevoir une copie du rapport d'évaluation final, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre national de prévention du crime au 800-830-3118.

Vous pouvez également consulter le site Web du Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale.

Date de modification :