The CRACOW: A Multi-stage Risk/Needs Instrument for Youth

PDF (215KB)

Research Matters
Issue 2 - April 2011

Issue:

Can the CRACOW accurately and reliably assess the risk and needs of multi-problem youth during the early years of development?

Context:

Until recently, the focus for the understanding and prevention of youth violence has been on the period of adolescence. As such, there exists limited knowledge of the risk factors that may be specific during early years. As a consequence, there are few reliable and valid assessment tools for youth who exhibit problems in various areas that can be used during early childhood.

The CRACOW instrument was designed to measure the risk/needs factors in youth at various developmental stages. This assessment tool takes into consideration the exposure to and accumulation of a number of dynamic factors that may influence the risk of youth violence. It also takes into account that some of these factors operate earlier than others in the child's development.

The current study tests whether the risk/needs factors in early childhood included in the CRACOW help to identify the most physically aggressive preschoolers.

Method:

The data were drawn from the Vancouver Longitudinal Study on the Psychosocial Development of Children. The sample used the first 100 children (boys and girls) recruited in the study. One in-person interview involving a series of tasks and tests informing about the child's cognitive and self-regulation abilities was conducted simultaneously with each child and his/her primary caregiver. The information collected was used to complete the CRACOW instrument for each child. Several other indicators and socio-demographic characteristics of the family environment were also measured to explore potential individual differences in the level of aggression. The frequency of physical aggression in the past year was measured using four items (i.e., kicking, shoving, fighting, and throwing things at others).

Results:

Preliminary analyses suggested the presence of three groups of physically aggressive children: low-, medium- and high-level groups. These groups represented 36%, 34% and 30% of the sample, respectively, and showed few significant differences on descriptive factors (e.g., gender, family income) and socio-demographic characteristics.

Additional analyses indicated that the CRACOW instrument could help identify the three groups of physically aggressive children for the period of early childhood. Taken separately, single risk/needs factors (e.g., maternal substance use, hostile parenting style, attention deficits) had only a small effect on high levels of physical aggression.

However, several important differences emerged when exploring broader domains of risk/needs factors.

The findings showed that the highly aggressive children were more likely than the medium- and/or low- level groups to have risk/needs factors in the pre/prenatal, socioeconomic, family environment, child psychological functioning, and parenting domains. Not surprisingly, the highly aggressive group of children also scored higher on the overall scale than the other two groups. Overall, these results suggest that the CRACOW helps to identify highly aggressive children by differentiating them from other children.

Implications:

  1. Developing and testing a multi-stage risk-assessment instrument is important to assist practitioners in designing and implementing appropriate individual, familial, and community interventions aimed at reducing the risk of youth violence.
  2. The CRACOW is capable of capturing significant individual and environmental risk/needs factors of aggression in pre-schoolers, thus showing promise for the assessment of multi-problem violent youth.
  3. The identification, early in childhood, of risk/needs factors that have been shown to be related to serious and violent delinquency during adolescence suggests that the risk/ needs factors are operating earlier than criminologists and other social scientists have traditionally believed.
  4. Highly aggressive children are those exposed to many different risk/needs factors often acting in combination, reinforcing the need for a comprehensive, wide-ranging preventive strategy starting at the earliest developmental stages and continuing throughout childhood and adolescence.

Source:

Lussier, P., R. Corrado, et al. 2010. The CRACOW Instrument: A New Framework for the Assessment of Multi-problem Violent Youth. Research Report. Ottawa: Public Safety Canada.

Also available on Public Safety Canada's web site at: http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/crcw-nstrmnt/index-eng.aspx

Visit the Public Safety website and add your name to the NCPC Mailing List: www.publicsafety.gc.ca/NCPC

For further information:

Lucie Léonard
National Crime Prevention Centre
Public Safety Canada
269 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0P8
Phone: (613) 957-6362
Fax: (613) 941-9013
Email: Lucie.Leonard@ps-sp.gc.ca

Date modified:

Le Test de Cracovie : un outil d'évaluation des risques et des besoins des jeunes à divers stades de leur développement

PDF (184Ko)

Question de recherche
Numéro 2 - Avril 2011

Question :

Est-ce quele Test de CRACOVIE permet d'évaluer avec précision et de manière fiable les risques et les besoins des jeunes présentant de multiples problèmes pendant les premières années de leur développement?

Contexte :

Jusqu'à récemment, les efforts déployés pour comprendre et prévenir la violence chez les jeunes portaient principalement sur l'adolescence. Nos connaissances sur les facteurs de risque qui pourraient intervenir pendant l'enfance sont limitées. Par conséquent, il y a peu d'outils d'évaluation fiables et valides qui peuvent être utilisés pendant la petite enfance pour les jeunes qui sont aux prises avec divers problèmes.

Le Test de CRACOVIE a été conçu pour évaluer les facteurs de risque et les besoins des jeunes à différentes étapes de leur développement. Cet outil tient compte de l'exposition à divers facteurs dynamiques, de l'accumulation de ces facteurs et de leur lien avec le risque de violence chez les jeunes. Il reconnaît également que certains facteurs interviennent plus tôt que d'autres dans le développement de l'enfant.

La présente étude vise à déterminer si les facteurs de risque et les besoins associés à la petite enfance inclus dans le Test de CRACOVIE permettent de repérer les enfants d'âge préscolaire les plus physiquement agressifs.

Méthode :

Les données ont été tirées de la Vancouver Longitudinal Study on the Psychosocial Development of Children. L'échantillon est formé des 100 premiers enfants (garçons et filles) qui ont été recrutés dans le cadre de l'étude. Une rencontre en personne lors de laquelle les enfants ont eu à effectuer une série de tâches et de tests mesurant leurs habiletés cognitives et leur maîtrise de soi a eu lieu avec chaque enfant et le principal dispensateur de soins de l'enfant. Les informations recueillies ont été utilisées pour remplir le Test de CRACOVIE pour chaque enfant. Plusieurs autres indicateurs et caractéristiques sociodémographiques du milieu familial ont également été évalués pour étudier les différences individuelles possibles dans le niveau d'agressivité. La fréquence des agressions physiques pendant la dernière année a été évaluée à partir de quatre indicateurs (donner des coups de pied, bousculer, se bagarrer et lancer des objets sur les autres).

Résultats :

Les analyses préliminaires montrent la présence de trois groupes d'enfants physiquement agressifs : les enfants peu agressifs (36 % de l'échantillon), moyennement agressifs (34 % de l'échantillon) et très agressifs (30 % de l'échantillon). On note peu de différences importantes entre les facteurs descriptifs (p. ex., sexe, revenu familial) et les caractéristiques sociodémographiques des enfants des trois groupes.

D'autres analyses montrent que le Test de CRACOVIE pourrait aider à distinguer les trois groupes d'enfants physiquement agressifs pendant la petite enfance. Pris séparément, les facteurs de risque et les besoins (p. ex., consommation de substances par la mère, hostilité dans l'exercice du rôle parental, déficit d'attention) n'ont qu'une faible incidence sur les niveaux élevés d'agressivité physique. Cependant, plusieurs différences importantes sont apparues lorsqu'on a examiné les domaines plus vastes liés aux facteurs de risque et aux besoins. Les enfants très agressifs semblent être plus nombreux que les enfants moyennement et / ou peu agressifs à présenter des facteurs de risque et des besoins dans les domaines suivants : période prénatale/périnatale, situation socioéconomique, environnement familial, fonctionnement psychologique et compétences parentales. Comme on s'y attendait, les enfants très agressifs ont obtenu des scores plus élevés que ceux des deux autres groupes au Test de CRACOVIE. Ces résultats montrent que le Test de CRACOVIE peut aider à repérer les enfants très agressifs en les différenciant des autres enfants.

Incidences :

  1. L'élaboration et la mise à l'essai d'un outil d'évaluation des risques à divers stades du développement sont importantes pour aider les praticiens à concevoir et à mettre en œuvre des interventions individuelles, familiales et communautaires visant à réduire le risque de violence chez les jeunes.
  2. Le Test de CRACOVIE permet d'identifier certains facteurs de risque et besoins individuels et environnementaux importants liés à l'agressivité chez les enfants d'âge préscolaire, ce qui est prometteur pour l'évaluation des jeunes violents qui présentent des problèmes multiples.
  3. L'identification, tôt dans l'enfance, de facteurs de risque et de besoins qui semblent être reliés à la délinquance et à la violence à l'adolescence permet de croire que les facteurs de risque et les besoins interviennent plus tôt que ce que croyaient traditionnellement les criminologues et autres spécialistes en sciences sociales.
  4. Les enfants très agressifs ont été exposés à de nombreux facteurs de risque et besoins différents qui interagissent souvent les uns avec les autres, d'où la nécessité d'une stratégie globale de prévention couvrant les premiers stades de développement et se poursuivant tout au long de l'enfance et de l'adolescence.

Source :

Lussier, P., R. Corrado, et al. 2010. Le Test de CRACOVIE : Un nouveau cadre d'évaluation des jeunes violents présentant de multiples problèmes. Rapport de recherche, Ottawa : Sécurité publique du Canada.

Également disponible sur le site Web de Sécurité publique Canada à l'adresse : www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/rsrcs/pblctns/crcw-nstrmnt/index-fra.aspx

Visitez le site Web de Sécurité publique Canada pour ajouter votre nom à la liste de distribution: www.securitepublique.gc.ca/CNPC.

Pour plus de renseignements :

Lucie Léonard
Centre national de prévention du crime
Sécurité publique Canada
269, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0P8
Téléphone : 613-957-6362
Télécopieur : 613-941-9013
Courriel : Lucie.Leonard@ps-sp.gc.ca

Date de modification :