Research Summary: Behaviours and Beliefs Related to Cannabis Before Legalization: A Public Safety Perspective

PDF (239 Kb)

Background

Over the past few years, the government of Canada has been preparing to legalize, regulate and restrict access to non-medical cannabis. In 2016, the Task Force on Cannabis Legalization and Regulation identified nine policy objectives, which served as a basis for the recent legalization. Three of the main policy objectives that are of particular importance to Public Safety Canada’s mandate are 1) “protect young Canadians by keeping cannabis out of the hands of children and youth;” 2) “keep profits out of the hands of criminals, particularly organized crime;” and 3) “protect public health and safety by strengthening, where appropriate, laws and enforcement measures that deter and punish more serious cannabis offences, particularly selling and distributing to children and youth, selling outside of the regulatory framework, and operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of cannabis.” (McLellan et al, 2016: 11)

Understanding the changes in perceptions and behaviours of those who use cannabis before and after the change in regime is important, as it will help to develop public safety policy and program initiatives, including education and crime prevention activities.

Method

The 2017 Canadian Cannabis Survey (CCS) was developed through a collaboration between Public Safety Canada and Health Canada, with a view to collecting detailed information on cannabis use in Canada before legalization. In particular, CCS participants were asked about their driving habits after cannabis use, cannabis use in combination with alcohol or other drugs, interaction with police services because of possession of cannabis, sources of cannabis (i.e., where users obtained their cannabis), methods of consumption, as well as the price they paid for their cannabis and the amount of cannabis they consumed.

The CCS was designed to fulfill certain quota requirements for people who used cannabis in the 12 months prior to the survey. Therefore, due to a potential participation bias, the survey is not meant to provide general population prevalence estimates for cannabis use, but rather to obtain detailed information about the habits of respondents who said they used cannabis and behaviours relating to their cannabis use.

The analyses that follow describe the self-reported behaviors of cannabis users for non-medical purposes (cannabis use for non-medical purposes is defined as use for a range of non-medical reasons (e.g., socially for enjoyment, pleasure, amusement or for spiritual, lifestyle and other non-medical reasons) in the 12 months prior to the survey.

The survey collected data from March 13, 2017 to May 24, 2017. In total, 9,215 respondents aged 16 years and older across all provinces and territories responded to the online survey. The sample included responses from 2,650 people who said that they had used cannabis in the 12 months prior to the survey for either non-medical or medical purposes.

Findings

The analyses highlight a number of important findings, which will serve as a benchmark for future studies examining the trends following the implementation of the law in the fall of 2018.  In particular, the results of the 2017 CCS show:

Implications

It is critical to understand the current perceptions and behaviours of those who use cannabis, as well as the possible behavioural and opinion changes after legalization, as it will help to develop public safety policy and program initiatives, including education and crime prevention activities. These aforementioned initiatives will ensure the main policy objectives of legalization, whether it is to reduce the involvement of organized crime in the cannabis industry or keep cannabis out of the hands of children and youth, are upheld. 

 Ongoing data and research will be needed to continue monitoring cannabis use and other public safety metrics following legalization. Public Safety Canada will continue to work in partnership with its federal partners to sustain appropriate data collection that examines driving habits after cannabis use, interaction with law enforcement because of cannabis possession, sources of cannabis, methods of consumption, price for cannabis, as well as new areas of interest that will arise with legalization. 

Source

Koundakjian, K., Maslov, A., Ellingwood H.  (2019). Behaviours and Beliefs Related to Cannabis Before Legalization: A Public Safety Perspective. Research Report (2018-R005).  Ottawa, Ontario: Public Safety Canada

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:

Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario 
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors’ findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de Recherche : Comportements et croyances entourant le cannabis avant la légalisation : La sécurité publique en perspective

PDF (244 Ko)

Contexte

Ces dernières années, le gouvernement du Canada s’est préparé à légaliser le cannabis à des fins non médicales, à le réglementer et à y restreindre l’accès. En 2016, le Groupe de travail sur la légalisation et la réglementation du cannabis a cerné neuf objectifs en matière de politique qui ont jeté les bases de la légalisation récente. Trois de ces grands objectifs revêtent une importance particulière pour le mandat de Sécurité publique Canada : 1) « protéger les jeunes Canadiens et Canadiennes en gardant le cannabis hors de la portée des enfants et des jeunes »; 2) « enlever les profits des mains de criminels, en particulier du crime organisé »; et 3) « protéger la santé et la sécurité publiques en renforçant, le cas échéant, les lois et les mesures d’exécution de la loi qui punissent ou dissuadent les infractions plus graves liées au cannabis, en particulier la vente et la distribution aux enfants et aux jeunes, la vente en dehors du cadre réglementaire et la conduite d’un véhicule à moteur sous l’influence du cannabis » (McLellan et al., 2016:11).

Il est important de comprendre les changements dans les perceptions et les comportements des personnes qui consomment du cannabis avant et après le changement de régime, car cela contribuera à l’élaboration de politiques et de programmes de sécurité publique, et notamment à la réalisation d’activités d’éducation et de prévention du crime.

Méthode

Sécurité publique Canada et Santé Canada ont collaboré à l’élaboration de l’Enquête canadienne sur le cannabis (ECC) de 2017, dans le but de recueillir des renseignements détaillés sur la consommation de cannabis au Canada avant la légalisation. Pour être plus précis, l’ECC interrogeait les répondants sur leurs habitudes de conduite après avoir consommé du cannabis, leur consommation de cannabis en combinaison avec l’alcool ou une autre drogue, leur interaction avec les services de police pour possession de cannabis, leurs sources d’approvisionnement en cannabis (c.-à-d. l’endroit où ils s’étaient procuré leur cannabis), leurs méthodes de consommation ainsi que le prix qu’ils avaient payé pour leur cannabis et la quantité qu’ils avaient consommée.

L’ECC devait respecter certains quotas quant au nombre de répondants qui avaient consommé du cannabis au cours des douze mois l’avant précédée. Ainsi, en raison d’un biais de participation potentiel, l’ECC ne visait pas à présenter des estimations de la prévalence de la consommation de cannabis chez la population générale, mais plutôt à obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur les habitudes des répondants qui ont dit avoir consommé du cannabis et sur les comportements liés à cette consommation.

Les analyses qui suivent décrivent les comportements autodéclarés des répondants qui avaient consommé du cannabis à des fins non médicales (on entend par « consommation de cannabis à des fins non médicales » la consommation de cannabis pour un éventail de raisons autres que médicales [p. ex., à des fins sociales, pour le plaisir ou l’amusement, ou pour une raison spirituelle, de mode de vie ou autre]) dans les douze mois ayant précédé l’enquête.

Les données de l’enquête ont été recueillies durant la période allant du 13 mars 2017 au 24 mai 2017. Au total, 9 215 répondants âgés de 16 ans et plus dans l’ensemble des provinces et territoires ont répondu au questionnaire en ligne. L’échantillon comportait les réponses de 2 650 personnes qui ont dit avoir consommé du cannabis au cours des douze mois ayant précédé l’enquête, soit à des fins médicales ou non médicales.

Constatations

Les analyses font ressortir un certain nombre de conclusions importantes, qui serviront de point de référence pour les futures études examinant les tendances par suite de l’adoption des nouvelles mesures législatives à l’automne 2018. Plus particulièrement, les résultats de l’ECC de 2017 montrent ce qui suit :

Répercussions

Il est important de comprendre les perceptions et les comportements actuels des consommateurs de cannabis, de même que les changements de comportement et d’opinion qui pourraient survenir après la légalisation, car cela contribuera à l’élaboration de politiques et de programmes de sécurité publique, et notamment à la réalisation d’activités d’éducation et de prévention du crime. Les initiatives susmentionnées nous permettront de nous assurer de maintenir les principaux objectifs en matière de politique de la légalisation, qu’il s’agisse de réduire la participation du crime organisé à l’industrie du cannabis ou de garder le cannabis hors de la portée des enfants et des jeunes.

 Des données et des recherches continues seront nécessaires pour poursuivre le suivi de la consommation de cannabis et des autres mesures de la sécurité publique après la légalisation. Sécurité publique Canada continuera de travailler avec ses partenaires fédéraux afin de soutenir la collecte de données appropriées qui examinent les habitudes de conduite après la consommation de cannabis, l’interaction avec les agents d’application de la loi pour possession de cannabis, les sources d’approvisionnement en cannabis, les méthodes de consommation, le prix du cannabis ainsi que les nouveaux domaines d’intérêt dans la foulée de la légalisation.

Source

Koundakjian, K., Maslov, A. et Ellingwood, H. (2019). Comportements et croyances entourant le cannabis avant la légalisation : La sécurité publique en perspective. Rapport de recherche (2018-R005). Ottawa (Ontario) : Sécurité publique Canada.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :